Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Gallant Knight Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Ruben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 22:27:02

Great read and great game. The game is simple and easy to understand but also hasTiny complexity as well. Perfect for anyone that wants to start playing role-playing games but doesn't want to take 3 months to learn the rules beforehand. The fact that you don't have stats but instead use traits to make a character gives infant possibilities to customize a character that truly fits you. And the simple game mechanic has the players really have to role play out alot of the action which I really enjoy. All in all a good buy for players old and new



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 11:52:24

(I am not sure if the Original of this Posted properly so I am sending it again, I will delete the Duplicate if possible)

Many years ago I decided I was done with Dungeons and Dragons not because I fell out of love with the Game. More because I fell out of love with the bloated Rules Set/Monetization of the Business it had been turned in to rather than the Hobby I loved. Zip ahead a few years and I started to learn about the 'revival' of Minimalist Roleplaying and I was thrilled to learn that many others felt the same way I did. I wanted to return to the Game where I had only a few books and a vivid imagination. Tiny Dungeons 2e is that Game and more for me. A single Book, not even the 'usual' RPG Supplement size, easily tossed in to any bag and requiring nothing more than a handful of d6. Gone are the pages of Tables and endless lists of weapons whose only variation is a single point of a Stat.

"Rules Light" is an understatement, and opens up the Game as a hybrid between Board Games and Traditional RPGs that you could easily have up and running across a table of friends in as much time as it would take you to set up a Monopoly Board. Tiny Dungeon 2e gives you back the vastness of your own imagination and won't have you flipping through page after page of obscure 'features' to see what each one does.

As a quick example: I often entertain a couple of friends every other week and we usually throw down with Cards Against Humanity as they are not RPG Folk, just for the giggles I whipped up a few maps and tossed some D6 their way and told them they were going to play a cooperative game where the Goal was to escape alive. They took it like a fish to water and before you know it the evening flew by, I had them running about like crazy people. I let them determine their own Characters by their actions and slipped the mechanics of their choices in as Special Abilities. By the time either of them thought to ask what exactly they were playing the night was almost over and I showed them the book. It took us maybe 25 minutes to set up.

Tiny Dungeon 2e runs $22.33 Canadian right now. My Wife and our friends played for about 4 hours. That's $5ish per person for an evening of Original, genuine fun. As far as price point goes this game is beyond worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2018 23:17:04

I just posted this on my blog (where you can comment or read it with a few added notes). https://liamwrites.com/2018/01/07/rpg-review-tiny-dungeon-2nd-edition/

Today I’m reviewing the Kickstarter edition PDF of Tiny Dungeon 2nd Edition by Alan Bahr.

It’s a minimalist fantasy RPG based on the original Tiny Dungeon by Smoking Salamander Games turned up to ELEVEN. I picked up the original to play with my kids a long while back.

1.) Size and Production Quality 

The Tiny Dungeon 2e book is the largest “tiny” book to date at 194 pages. It maintains the art style from the original game (the same artist in fact), and the new layout is impressive, bringing the game up to standard with the newer Tiny D6 games.

The original Tiny Dungeon is also a great game and only 24 pages total! Hard to believe. I’ll get into the differences below, but the original book is still on sale on DTRPG for $2.99. Second edition is $19.99 ($17.99 as of publishing this article). If you’d like the Player’s Guide only (the first half of the book without the micro settings) it will only run you $9.99.

9/10

2.) Art

The cover art is amazing! The interior art is black and white in the style of the original Tiny Dungeon, and there’s plenty of it spread throughout the book. Some reuse where it made sense, and I’m totally good with that. The critter section is fleshed out and has great art for tons of beasties your party could fight (including the dinosaurs). If I have a critique here, it's only that I'd like more of that beautiful cover art. I'd pay for it.

7/10

3.) Content and Rules

Tiny D6 games are my favorite for minimalist rules games. Any 5 or 6 rolled on1-3d6 (depending on advantage or disadvantage) is a success. So simple. So powerful. This version has the most optional character creation rules of any Tiny D6 game and even has progression options built into the game. I’ll be getting these to the table soon with my daughters Zeep and Zook (not their real names) who started playing Tiny Dungeon when the younger one was only 7. I can’t express how happy it makes me that Tiny Dungeon is growing up with them.

10/10

4.) Game Master Section

As previously mentioned, there is an expanded bestiary in TD2e. 26 pages to be exact.  In addition, there are sections with advice on running games, and the extensive optional rules. I won’t spoil them all, but there is some really fun stuff in here including optional combat rules and old-school adventure generation tables.

9/10

5.) Pre-made Adventure

Not the traditional pre-made adventure, but as has become the tradition with Tiny D6, MICRO SETTINGS. I’ve been waiting for micro settings for the fantasy realm since Tiny Frontiers was initially announced on Kickstarter.  If you aren’t familiar yet, these are a delightful take on creating a ready-to-go world you can grok after a few pages and create interesting and unique new adventures for. They also happen to be written by a super talented group of authors, games designers, and other highly creative people. As a GM, I prefer these to a full adventure since I almost always modify adventures to suit my tastes anyway.

10/10

Total Score: 45/50

A great score in the upper echelons of my scoring criteria.

I’d Kickstart this game again. Twice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 20:35:22

Here's the review I just posted to my blog.

Full disclosure: I backed Tiny Dungeon 2E during the Kickstarter, so I got my copy of the game plus the unlocked extras at the backer cost.

The Journey to a Minimalist Fantasy RPG I wanted something with less crunch.  It was that simple.  Now, don't get me wrong!  I love crunch most of the time.  In fact, I have spend hours and hours simply prepping a character for my next Pathfinder campaign and pouring over the plethora of crunch, but as I continue to look deeper into solo play, all the rules of PF or D&D seemed like too much effort for something I'm only beginning to experiment with.  Enter: Tiny Dungeon.

I somehow found Tiny Dungeon 1st Edition and immediately was enamored with the content.  It was concise yet still represented the basic fantasy RPG genre well.  Shortly after that, I saw the Kickstarter for the 2nd Edition that looked like it would help fix one of my main complaints about the 1st edition which was that all characters felt the same.  Now that 2E is actually out, let me tell you about in more detail.

A Story of Successes The main mechanic of the game, in fact the only mechanic, is rolling 2d6 and looking for a 5 or 6 on a die.  That's called a success, and that's the game in a nutshell.  Want to pick a lock?  Roll 2d6 for success.  Want to attack an orc?  Roll 2d6 for success.  Want to do an acrobatic tumble followed by a dragon-like leap and then swing on the chandelier across the room?  Roll 2d6 for success.

Tiny Dungeon 2E is wonderful at being a quick game to pick up and play.  I would have no qualms with taking this game to my group, explaining the basics, and then getting into a game all in the same night.  The super simple system of rolling for successes and not really needing a bunch of rules for skills opens up the possibility of letting the players role play the exact characters they want, if it's quirky and doesn't fall into the normal fantasy character cookie cutter shapes.

While this simplicity is the game's biggest strength, it is also the game's biggest weakness.  Any character can try to pick a lock, tumble acrobatically, or track a beast through the swamps, and thus, every character can mechanically end up close to the same, especially in 1E, but 2E addressed this in a couple of ways.  One way to differentiate a bit is that there are abilities or circumstances that give characters Advantage (roll 3d6) or Disadvantage (roll 1d6).

Another is that in such a rules light system, there is a lot of encouragement to just use GM fiat on some issues.  For example, it would make total sense to tell a non-rogue type character that they can only attempt to pick a lock at Disadvantage even if there is no written rule for it.

One of the great things about such an extremely minimal rules set is that it implicitly puts the emphasis on playing the character rather than the stats.  I know that in PF, I tend to think about actions in terms of where my highest bonus is (bluff or diplomacy, melee or range, etc.).  TD2E really opens the door to think about what my character would really do in each situation.  I now can ask myself what response to a given situation would fit their personality instead of their stats?

A System without Class...In a Good Way Since everything boils down to the success rolls, character differentiate themselves by picking Traits where they excel.  This is kind of a "build-a-class" approach which I enjoy because you can mix and match to your heart's content.  While the rules as written say that a character can't have more than seven Traits, I feel that you need about four or five traits to really start to see a distinct character, so I'm already bending the rules there. :)

TD1E only had a handful of Traits to choose from, but TD2E added what they call Prestige Traits that more fully expand some the common archetypes.  For example, using magic in 1E was basically completely up to GM fiat, but 2E provides some specific spell-like Traits that a powerful wizard could have.  They do the same thing for martial arts fighting styles and techniques, paladins, and druids by explicitly defining these options.  I think this is one of the best improvements that 2E made because it really allows you to flesh out a bit more of each character.

You also further differentiate your characters by choosing a Heritage (or race), and there are some cool ones!  1E had the standard races and a cool new salamander race that heals by fire or ice, but 2E did a great job expanding that to some not often seen races such as bear people, treefolk, and lizardfolk.

Optional Rules and Micro-Settings Finally, they further solved the "one-size-fits-all" problem of 1E by adding a bunch of optional rules for people who prefer a bit more crunch.  There are optional rules for variable weapon damage, crits, zoned combat movement (instead of speed, which I really grew to enjoy while playing Red Markets), armor, and more.  There are plenty of provided monsters (even ignoring the fact that over half are dinosaurs for some reason) and many of the monsters have unique traits of their own.  (And don't forget the awesome art and layout!)  The optional rules for experience and leveling up provide even another avenue for making your characters stand out from each other.  In essence, 2E gets my "problem solved" stamp of approval for the issue of most characters feeling the same.

On top of this, they added a ton of micro-settings that give seeds of worlds that you can play in.  Whether you choose the wuxia inspried martial arts world or the monsters protecting their cave from the evil heroes world, each micro-settings can re-flavor your game to suit your play style.  There are a ton of good choices here plus many of the micro-settings offer new rules and traits to tack on the base game.

Overall Grade: A- In general, this is a great little game.  The only reason I would drop this game down to a A- from an A is because there are still a unbalanced traits and typos (such as leaving out action types necessary to activate abilities) that make my min-maxing side cringe just a bit.  Mixing those few minor details with the $20 price tag makes me feel it's necessary to downgrade their score.  (All the rest of their Tiny games that represent other genres sell for $10 I believe, and I got them for $5 when they were on sale.)  The book does clock in at 192 pages, which may justify the $20 PDF price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by HAMILTON R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 18:40:25

1/05/2018 Review of Tiny Dungeon, 2nd ed.:

Layout: The production quality of this rule book is Good. It has many pieces of art, but they are duplicated throughout the book. This gives the semblance of more artwork than is actually in the book, but it works really well with the text, so it's not necessarily a bad thing. It's just a fact you need to be aware of. Overall, the actual page layout is Excellent; easy-to-follow, easy to find rules quickly, easy to understand. No fuss - no muss - reading this will be a breeze, you can be up and running in a fraction of the time required for other comparable rulebooks.

Text: The writing is straightforward, to the point. Read the rules - understand the rules - make the characters and world - play the game / all within one day of getting a copy of the rules. There are complete, unique, well-thought-out game-worlds in this edition of the rules.

Game Play: It just can't get any easier, and yet: there is enough crunchiness in the dice mechanic to add thrills and uncertainty. Plus: I like how they finally fixed the Dwarf and Elf / Fay. Dwarves can see in the dark; elves are not in-need of such a feature. That was a welcome bonus - reality in the fantasy world. There are more surprises in the rules, but - shhhh - I won't reveal them here.

Story / Content: There are many fantasy worlds embedded at the end of the book. Take time to read them through, and then: play one! Excellent inclusion, but....

Worth the money? Despite all the good things that this rulebook delivers, at $20 a pop, I feel it is over-priced. Am I extremely upset I paid $20 for it? No, not really, but I am disappointed. It was an OK purchase, and I would have given it 5 stars but for the extreme price. That price needs to come down.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Crescendo of Violence
by Ian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 23:12:48

A cool little step away from usual RPG fair that allows everyone to have a chance to play and run the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crescendo of Violence
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Magnum Vice: Fury Force
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2017 12:07:30

Fast and fun game with the single best initiative rules I have ever seen. Loads of fun for gamers looking to play in an eighties action movie. A bargain at thrice the price



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magnum Vice: Fury Force
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2017 23:59:06

SUPER FUN! Always wanted to play a sweet mech rpg and this fulffills the need and then some. Fits perfectly into an existing Tiny Frontiers campaign. And the art is gorgeous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Frontiers
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2017 23:55:03

I was introduced to Tiny Frontiers through its "expand-alone" companion game, MECHA and MONSTERS, and I am so glad that I was. The Tiny D6 system is genius and great for people who love good story telling and are sick of endless rules searching. Its quick to understand and full of great flavor, and writing, that quickly immerse you in a sweet sci-fi, space opera.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2017 09:28:05

Great minimalist ruleset game. I wrote a full review here: https://liamwrites.com/2017/07/21/rpg-review-tiny-frontiers-mecha-monsters/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Mecha and Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

A Single Moment
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2017 11:59:06

One of the best roleplaying experiences of my life, A Single Moment is a brilliant exploration of character, relationships, pain, trauma, and at the end, acceptance and forgiveness. I had never anticipated such an emotional experience while playing this game, yet while playing, I couldn't help but dive into feeling the heart and soul of this character.

This is one of the best roleplaying games I've ever played and I could not more enthusiastically endorse Tobie's work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Single Moment
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Frontiers
by Nicholas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 10:53:49

I picked this game up on a whim, and haven't had the chance to run it yet, but certainly mean to, as it really appeals to me.

OK, so first of all the layout is crisp and clear, and easy for me to read (even without my glasses on) which is increasingly important for me as an aging gamer.

Character creation is a snap - you choose a race (which determines hit points and gives a couple of extras that usually give you an advantage (see below) in some sorts of tests, select three traits, select wepon proficiency and mastery, assign gear and credits, choose a profession and a drive, and you're good to go.

The system itself is very straightforward - any test are rolled on 2d6, with a 5 or 6 rolled on any of the dice beig a success. Advantages add a die to the pool and disadvantages subtract one - veyr straightforward. If a test falls with the scope of your profession, you will get an advantage, and an appropriate Trait will usually give an advantage.

The trait list is excellent, and covers areas that would be skills in another game (acrobat, chemist, tracker) but also things that woudl be advantages, knacks or even powers in other games (cyborg, prepared, psionic, quickshot).

Combat might not suit some gamers, as all successful attacks do 1 point of damage, and armour is only "flavour" as it has no game effect. There are however rules for special actions such as Focus (essentially aiming), Evade, Supressing Fire, and Cover, so combat is not devoid of tactical decisions. Ammo is not tracked, but a test is made at the end of every fight to see if you are "out".

There are also sections dealing with Xeno-Tech (the equivalent of magic items in a fantasy game) and some good tables for randomply generating enemies, planets and settlements.

There is a good appendix on starships, which allows players to all contribute in any ship on ship action, and for starships to have traits of their own such as scanners, reactors, life support, plasma cannon, swarm missiles and so on. This looks like it would be good in play.

A second appendix does the same for Mecha, and I'm really looking forward to trying this out.

Last (but not least) the bulk of the book (more than twice the amount given to the rules) details 16 "micro-settings" of various type some of which are quite differnet and interesting - I have my eye on Marlowe Station, a crumbllig space station with a noir/mystery/horror vibe (think Babylon 5 gone bad...).

I can see me getting a lot out of this - now if only they produce a Pulp version (I already have my eye on hacking this!). Good effort.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tiny Frontiers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 21:44:25

The rules system seems pretty solid for a very lite game (personally I could see using it for a one shot but not something longer). It's very generic - there isn't anything that's really clever or new - but that's fine.

The included micro settings are not that great. They're mostly pretty generic, which makes them less useful since as micro settings they're also light on detail. I also felt like many of them were just not well written; this doesn't detract from their usefulness in play but does make the book much less fun to go through.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2016 20:12:02

This is awesome. Simple and easy to follow. I love a good story and this foregoes heavy mechanics in presuit of just that....a good story making game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 13:58:13

The system was nice and clean and had a nice host of setting ideas. I also liked the Space Craft and Mecha thoughts. The 'systems for generating planets" really were nothing but a random table or two. The financial system seemed to be an afterthought without any guidance. Unfortunately, for me, the system really failed in two big areas - advancement and equipment.

Most role playing games give players a chance to advance their character and to improve. This system is one that pretty much what you start with is what you end with - there is no advancement. While I think this is fine for short convention games, I believe it falls flat in campaign settings. In addition, due to the limits in weapon use there is no future Seal equivalent, dangerous in long range, short range and melee weapons - only the specialist with one of these areas. There were no skills - only professions - with the onus placed on the GM and player as to coming up with appropriate skills a profession might have. Those with great imaginations and/or good arguments will soon dominate play.

And then there is the equipment - or lack there of. In science fiction equipment and technology is a big deal. In this system you have either "black-box xeno technology" or color. Apearently a buck naked individual is just as able to survive being shot or stabbed as someone in powered armor. As stated in the rules, armor has no mechanical impact on the game. Of course that makes sense when a person with a switchblade, slingshot or crossbow is as equally deadly as someone with a laser sword, blaster rifle or bazooka. And there is no mechanical impact for using inferior technology so the flint dagger armed naked warrior can easily match the plate armored knight or power armored space trooper. Yes, most of these things can be address easily by the GM but a few simple mechanics could have gone a long way to solving these things in a consistent manner.

There are good ideas here, and for $5 you can't really go wrong, but for a science fiction role playing game, in my opinion, this one is best used by experienced GMs for introductionary and convention style games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG