Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Wearing the Cape Productions » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2017 14:43:55

I've played numerous instances of Fate campaigns, coming across some interesting Fate Worlds. My group was becoming powerful enough that a Supers campaign just made sense. I saw this a few months ago, noted the price and thought it would come down like so many other books on DTRPG. And since I've bought it, it may very well still come down.

But I'm very glad I purchased this book.

It's written by writer/publishing team. It's a pleasant read on every conceivable level. It also adds some mechanics - such as breaking down skills into characteristics, skills, and resources - which refines Fate Core characters beautifully in a way that doesn't change what Fate characters are and how the game plays. The writing style actually smooths out some mechanics.

It's a game written by a professional writer the way a gamer that loves both writing and games would write it. I'd write a game module this way if I had the writing skill; I certainly love Fate this much.

Without becoming too fan-ish: thank you. I'll be checking out the books from which the game springs as well.

Kudos and well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Christian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 10:47:07

I haven't played FATE before, but after a couple videos I think it is pretty easy. When I had trouble downloading the game, the creator responded quickly to get me my copy I kickstarted. He always responded quickly and checked in until I was satisfied. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2017 15:14:02

The best Super hero skin for FATE. I highly recommend reading the books then having your session 0 with the players. The ideas will pour out of you. Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Chase W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2017 18:58:00

A great game based on a great book series. The system is built on narrative rather than hard rules so that might turn some players away it can also draw others in. My suggestion for players is that they have their characters in mind before they even touch the rules in character creation. It can take a little bit to wrap your head around the rules because they are so free form but once you start having an idea of what is supposed to be done then it doesn't take much to understand the rest. Overall it is a great game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Rich P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 15:00:54

First of all, the art in this game is GORGEOUS. I know that's not the most important thing but it really draws you into a superhero world.

I love that this RPG has the backing of a true setting based on the author's actual novels. It's easy to read and laid out really well. I like how you can just have this pdf and not need to refer to anything else, the rules are flexible and this is really the best Fate Supers game released up to this day.

I look foward to see the other books that will be coming out for this RPG. Nice job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 13:31:24

Fun, Fast and Flexible. Yup, this is a Fate book about superheroes, but the nice thing is the world is grounded semi-realistically, in that heroes (capes) are realistic in a way of "How would you expect superheroes to act in the real world". Some see their breakthroughs as a way to get ill-gotten games, some think that they are the next step in humanity, and some just want to help others. If you're expecting Batman v Superman levels of carnage, well.. you may want to look at something else, as the world discourages collateral damage when taking on the bad guy (rules 1 and 2: Get civilians out of the way, and take the fight somewhere where people and property aren't as risky).

What I like is that it can be very tactical. Every type of hero has a niche, and the flexibility allows some to take on the bad guys, where others provide assistance, or prevent innocents from being harmed. It's kinda funny that I'm talking about realism in a world that has someone who believes that she is Ozma (from the Wizard of Oz), and thus has the powers from the Oz series). But it makes it work. It's pretty nice and a kick to read.

So if you like superheroes? Buy this Book. If you like FATE? Buy this book. If you like the wearing the cape book series and want to support the author? Buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Norman T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 20:39:29

A world with lots of great stories and great system for story-driven games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 19:12:54

I think its one of the better superhero adaptations of FATE. It is focused on the official Wearing the Cape post-event world of the wearing the cape novels, but the author deliberately obscures details so even a GM wanting to fully novel-canon compliant world still has room to customize for his own game. Being canon-compliant is of course optional, but the system is optimized for the post-event world. But a FATE veteran who gets a grasp on making new power classes (WtC RPG add-on - make the high concept into a loose-detail character class) could get this to be as flexible as Mutants and Masterminds, but without its character-creation phase crunch (M&M does well in keeping actual gameplay low in crunch, except for invention. FATE & crunch are mortal enemies).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 17:10:57

I am a fan of the WTC novels, and being a new comer to the FATE system, this book is very thorough game book. The book not only covers the FATE system but goes in depth on Mr. Harmon's world.

His chapters about creating superhero teams was especially helpful with my game group and out inability to grasp the concept of Aspects can/will be applied to everything.

I recomend this game for any FATE fans and especially for any fans of Capes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 16:18:52

This is an RPG based on the novel and stories in the Wearing the Cape series using the FATE Core game mechanics.

What is great is that the author of those books, Marion G. Harmon, is the one behind it. It shows in that the background information, the little snippets, all match the stories and setting perfectly. And, it does not leave things out, referring to a specific novel or story, but instead includes everything.

Which is great if you have never read any of the novels and you just want an awesome superhero RPG game.

The art, layout, and writing are top notch that I have seen so far.

I have only one complaint (not enough to knock a star off, you will notice) is that some blocks of text are the width of the page, which for me is hard to read.

The PDF is linked and so far is easy to get around. Disclosure: I got this book (PDF) by backing the Kickstarter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wearing the Cape: The Roleplaying Game
by Lawrence N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 15:45:09

EXcellent game system. A great choice for this game-world. Good books give a lots of background and plot-hooks.

Five stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG