Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » The Forge Studios » Reviews
 Quick Find
Find Category
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Forbidden halls #01
by Joseph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 11:30:25

I questioned whether or not I was interested in this product, but the price was under $5 and I love maps so I thought I would give it a try.

There are several maps contained, and I enjoy the look of all of them. Each map is represented three times. The first is a smaller half page image with the bottom half of the page lined for Description and GM Notes. There are two full page images of the maps, one with and one without a grid.

There is also a section of "dungeon features" that includes eighteen different images that are very interesting and gorgeous. Each has a small section for GM Notes next to the image. It is a really cool addition to a book of maps. It reminds me a bit of my original reaction to reading through the Tomb of Horrors and getting to the images at the end of the module, except the up side here is that the GM gets to pick and choose what maps he or she uses and how to incorporate those features how they wish. (There is one minor inconsistency that I’ve noticed where the earlier in the work the term GM Notes are used while here the term DM Notes are used.)

The designs of the maps and features are clean and interesting looking that are reminiscent of old school gaming. The maps are not too clean however and utilize hatching and seemingly hand drawn linework.

The only thing I'm not entirely happy with is the cover. While I do like the drawing, I was turned off by it initially. Looking at the cover I thought that either the contents would be horrible or very nice. I was very happy when I viewed the actual contents. I suggest adding one more preview page of the contents if the seller doesn't see the kind of sales that this piece deserves.

Good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden halls #01
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Forged Locale #1: "The House of the Broken Sky"
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2017 20:46:57

The maps are wonderfully drawn. There is great detail within the structures and it is pretty clear what things are even with it being black ink only. I'm sure anyone with photoshop or any other program that is similar could go through and add color to the maps for personal use. I'm also a fan of having the two different styles of maps: With and Without Grids. I'm more of a Without Grids kind of guy and I know there are others out there that prefer to have Grids on their maps.

The eight pages of content is really all that is needed for this adventure and/or campaign. There is the history/background of what exactly is The House of the Broken Sky that takes place two years before the adventure. The background and setting can easily be placed into an existing world with or without a name change here and there. The background could even be used in your campaign as something that is currently happening and then future sessions could lead up to the aftermath (which is the adventure). The adventure is covered in only four pages. A page for each location being described: Overland, Level 1 & 2 of the House of the Broken Sky and Caves. The maps for the House of the Broken Sky are not keyed but rather there is information on what is going on in that level and what is in that level. The overland and caves are the only maps that are keyed but even then it is just to point out key locations. Then there is also information on what's going on in those locations and what's in those locations. There is a pretty strong foundation that can be used to create the adventure and/or campaign as you see fit. And I keep saying, "campaign," because as I read through it I can already see how this small but extremely useful PDF can be constructed into a larger campaign. There are also two clear factions within this adventure and one of them is already playing the other. So this could lead to some very interesting story development depending on the GM and the players.

Overall, I love the story/background and plus a huge bonus for me is having the maps with no grids on it. So purchase it. Less than $3 so you can't really go wrong. Even if you don't want to use the adventure the maps are really good to be used in your game for something else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forged Locale #1: "The House of the Broken Sky"
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Broken Coin Inn
by Se t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2017 17:48:50

Excellent drawings, a great location that's very flexible (it's an inn with two storeys, but also a hidden thieve's den below). It's got some NPCs and stats and a story hook. It's perfect. I'm using it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Environments: Sewers
by Stephen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2017 16:17:00

Excellent work as always from The Forge, but you can see that for yourself in the preview document :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Environments: Sewers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Skulls and Bones III
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2017 10:45:00

I don't understand why you are reading this review while contemplating if you should buy this product. Are you serious? Yes, buy this product!! Maciej Zagorski captures the esssence of stock art and provides excellent artwork to be used all over your project. So many times if I have a blank space and need to fill it up, I go to my folder of purchased art from The Forge Studios and see what goodies I have to choose from. I personally label this type of art--theme art--because it sets the tone and setting for the reader. Sure, you may move on because of the price..but check out the publisher preview...20 pieces of art in here for that price!!! Absolutely worth it. The art captures that 'Old School' feel. I highly recommend all of the Forge Studios art--it has made the layout phase for my projects a lot easier!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skulls and Bones III
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Free_map#4
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2016 17:10:52

Great map for an unbeatable price. Easily insertable into any fantasy campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free_map#4
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Common places - free map#1
by Antonio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2016 10:59:14

this product offer lots of possibilities... I can manage it like I want and add lots of things of my imagination it's GREAT



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Common places - free map#1
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

10 useful maps #04
by Colin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 02:26:05

Usually I'm a huge fan of products from The Forge Studios. The other three books in the Useful Maps series have been great. The maps in this book are still good, but the layout of this book is very poor.The maps are now much smaller, with two per page, and often two of the maps on a page are not associated with each other. This makes for a layout that is far less consistent than previous volumes, and really lowers the usefulness of this volume. If the layout were the smae as previoous volumes, it would get a 5/5.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
10 useful maps #04
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Temple Of The Horned God
by Zenith C. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2016 11:54:46

The amount if inspiration this product evokes just by looking at the images is amazing! It begs to be fillied with dangers and challenges for your players with some kind of interesting story wrapped around it. The art is superb, the map is clean, and you as GM fill in the rest! A+ product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Temple Of The Horned God
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Broken Coin Inn
by D B. T. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 13:21:05

Nice presentation of an inn that can be dropped into any setting, but it needs a little more "meat" in terms of plot hooks and NPCs to be truly useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Broken Coin Inn
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Free_map#4
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 13:01:28

A nicely made Dungeon entrance for use with any RPG Fantasy games. Easy to use and best of all was free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free_map#4
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Free_map#4
by joseph f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 18:54:31

This is a beautiful map. As much as I appreciate the functionality of grids, I think it would ruin this aesthetic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free_map#3
by Shadow C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2016 14:21:36

Just enough to help get me started on a story for my group and saved me some time on map creation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Free_map#3
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

\'Secrets of the Reich_1_2_3 [BUNDLE]
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2016 11:33:27

I really like the "Secrets of the Reich" Series, even though the naming and formatting here is not really consistent. If you are into well done plans this one is for you. I intended to use these for "Achtung Cthulhu" but have been using them for other scenarios like "Star Wars", too.

The only thing that would make them better, would be the option to turn of the background and decorative stuff, so I as a game master can just print the plans without the smudges, fake paperclips and so on. Sometime stuff like this is unnecessary for the campaign and some of us want to age or alter the plans ourselfs. Lucky there is Photoshop, but just having the option would make it much less labour intensive.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
\'Secrets of the Reich_1_2_3 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Page fillers - future
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 05:48:43

This collection contains eleven scifi themed b/w-drawings. The quality of the drawings allows usage as a front cover, as “water mark” style background picture as well as the page filler use the product title points to.

The scifi-skull that is prominently featured in the advertisement for the product is my favorite, but that might has something to do with me being found of “Warhammer 40k “ and “DarkHeresy”.

While the price is a little higher than those of similar products of The Forge Studious, the number of pictures “bundled” into this set justifies this.

I use artwork from the Forge Studios in both my non-profit projects and commercial products, and I have never been disappointed with what I have bought so far. The license agreement this pictures are sold under grants repeated use and enough freedom in altering the artwork, and the format they are provided in is easy to edit (with the right tools).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Page fillers - future
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 146 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG