Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Skirmisher Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Moat Monsters: A Sourcebook for OGL RPGs
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 19:39:54

These are pretty inventive. The intro actually had a ton of ideas for moats, too. If you have a castle, you'll want this book. In fact, I am playing an adventure with my future headquarters on an island. I think I'll surround it with some of these goodies!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moat Monsters: A Sourcebook for OGL RPGs
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2018 13:09:05

OMG! I want one! I wouldn't even use it to guard anything, except my kids. I just want one for a character companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Dog (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2018 18:08:54
2 made me laugh out! Some were funny, some were so thoughtful they could be used as spinoffs for entire adventures, and some were pure genius. I like all the 100 Oddities, but this one is my favorite. Great job, Skirmisher!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Oddities for a Thieves' Guild
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:37:52

Fun read, made me look over my shoulder more than once.

I'd love to see maps with some of these items from the Oddities, a dark guildhall, with a few alcoves of suspicious items or even people. This works real well if you have players willing to skirt around the laws of your setting and interested in testing their skills against other thieves in a great place filled with these oddities. Fun flavor but I wanted to see more of the fun illustrations of William Thrasher.

Stolen Pie Chart, a must buy for this alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Thieves' Guild
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:05:52

Another interesting 100 Oddities. Well researched and imagined, a good deal of things that could also be illusions created by a spell or the environment of a pyramid or tomb, the original mazes. Hilarious and terrifying illustrations of encounterable creatures and situations. Some interesting eqyptian flare equipment as well.

Im kind of in love with #30, but #00 is the basis for a complete adventure I'd like to see a write up for.

Mummy Table is on point as well, and I like the Scarab Tokens mechanic, wish there was a little more divine interference, never call upon a God in a space dedicated to another.

Great price for these, keep em comin'



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Oddities for an Egyptian Tomb
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 13:35:32

I'm a solid fan of the '100 Oddities' line of prodcuts and this one is no different. This time the people at Skimisher Publishing delve into lost desert tombs and dig up all sorts of odd things. There is a wide variey of Oddities from enchanted canopic jars to a depressed and deeply flaws sphynx.

As always, the idea is to help GM's create points of interest in their campaign. What I really like with this one is many of the Oddities can really be expanded upon beyond a single interaction. Some could generate several sessions of fun. Some can be used as the keystone for entire adventures.

That's the best feature of the '100 Oddities' line... creative ideas.

While the Egyptian astetic isn't one I usualy use, I can certainly glean some fun ideas from this product.

Well worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Reflections on Lovecraft (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2018 11:50:11

Oooo, you guys. This short but useful supplement is a great adaptation and discussion of the works of H.P. Lovecraft, transforming some of his lesser known creations into interesting encounters, spells, and feats. Great conversions, really interesting choices, and a breakdown by the authors of why they chose these elements and how they came to the results. I had never thought about how the Terrible Old Man had dispatched his would be robbers, but really interesting twist that could be the seed for a one off or something to use in your game if the players anger the wrong person. And who doesn't love a Cat Swarm? Worth the price alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Reflections on Lovecraft (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 17:36:39

This is a really beautiful and detailed map. Since I play in a Kos setting I was going to use this to help me navigate my surroundings. However, I am also going to print one out and get it framed. It's that cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aegean Regional Map (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Dinner Party
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 19:23:21

I can't believe I've never read anything like this before. An adventuring party with some free time goes to dinner. What would they talk about? What would they eat? This was funny as it was informative. Reading about this dinner party made them seem very real. The author did a great job with this story and I look forward to reading more by him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dinner Party
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 15:17:15

I love dragons and the Brown might be my new favorite. How can you not love a very social dragon that wants to rule and traces back it's lineage to the primordial serpents as a matter of pride. They even want to be seen as fair by their subjects, but are Lawful Evil. They must be a riot to Game Master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brown Dragon (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2018 17:27:49

These are some extremely detailed characters and strangely realistic. You can almost imagine them in real life, except for the superpowers, of course. They seem fairly balanced as a team with some fantastic possibilities for roleplaying, inter-team dynamics and some really funny, witty back-and-forth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Children (Five Heroic Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Oddities for a Found Car
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 16:03:23

I've recently gotten into the Oddities books. Are they all this good? One entry will have you laughing your butt off and then next one is so weird and off the wall you kind of want to wash your hands and forget you read it. This is definately Game Master gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Found Car
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 13:19:40

This is a really great concept for villian generation. I love them, especially Darklord. DARKLORD!!! Thank you to the BASH superhero roleplaying game people for publishing these four villians. I'm always curious after seeing a character in action in a video or something to see it's official stats. So thanks again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kinder (Four Villainous Characters for BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vintage Stock Art: Fantasy Volume 2
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2018 16:00:13

These old prints are great. I'm going to use them in a book on magic I'm trying to write and make look "old-fashioned". Thanks to Shirmisher for putting them out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vintage Stock Art: Fantasy Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creatures of the Wastelands: Mutational Evolution
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/02/2018 10:34:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This bestiary clocks in at 54 pages, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisements, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 48 pages of content. The front- and back-cover are provided in their own pdf and thus are not part of this tally.

This pdf was sponsored by one of my patreons and moved up in my queue as a prioritized review.

All right, this pdf, while intended for use with Mutant Future, is easily usable in pretty much any OSR-game…IF you have Mutant Futures. (Preferably also Creatures of the Wastelands.) I strongly suggest getting at least the Mutant Future parent book before checking this out – without it, only the methodology and basics of the critters herein will be usable and the respective monsters lose a bit of their depths and plausibility. (And its art-free version is FREE!) Form-wise, we get no. encountered, alignment, 30’ base movement rates, descending AC, and saves are denoted by L + a number – e.g. “L4” – which translates to a character of 4th level; apart from requiring the parent book, adaption is, as a whole, quick and painless.

The bestiary knows a couple of special attack tricks: Acid needs contact with skin and may be taken off by using special substances; once contact is made, no subsequent attack roll is required to inflict damage. Swarming animals and similar creatures may cause confusion, which means you roll, with one of 3 results: Attack the attackers, attack your allies or flail uselessly around. A bit more differentiation would have been nice here. Monsters capable of flight may execute dive attacks, their equivalent of charges. These inflict double damage and on a roll of 18+ and sufficient size provided, the monster can grab and carry off the attacked creature. That is a bit weird, as theoretically, superbly-armored creatures that couldn’t be hit by an 18 would be carried off RAW. On another note, dive attacks are usually not necessarily executed to carry off prey – at least not by all animals. A crush to the ground option would have been neat.

Paralysis duration is standardized at 2d4 turns and the pdf knows 20 classes of poison, which you get, collated, in the back of the book – this list also is d%-friendly for randomly determining the class. Radiation is categorized in 10 classes, with escalating damage and half damage on a successful save. This would be once more an area where I wished that the book sported a bit more differentiation and unique effects. Radiation, as provided here, mainly boils down to damage, though 7 sample mutations are provided -still, this imho would have been a nice way to expand the Mutant Futures-material beyond reference.

Where applicable, less intelligent creatures will have 1d6 +2 WIL, while intelligent adversaries will have 3d6 WIL; super-smart critters may have 2d6 + 9 WIL. Regarding terms, “aggregate” is used to denote a creature fused from multiple beings (or via parasites/symbiosis); base stock denotes the unmutated base critters; elder people are the pre-cataclysm humans; “instar” is the immature stage in the life cycle of insects and plant creatures and the shattered lands are the places where so many weapons struck, only a desolate wasteland remained.

Now, one of the strengths of mutant future would lie within the concept of mutation and how to visualize it: Here, this is provided in a handy, applied manner, via family trees: Subsequent mutations and drawbacks are accumulated and further developed – basically, this is the big unique selling point of this book: While most make-am-monster-books focus on generating a single, odd critter, this one instead focuses on establishing families and genera, adding a sense of biological plausibility to the material within. Indeed, this premise is not just a pretense, but rather a crucial component of the book and its appeal; this sense of authenticity represents one of the best aspects of the supplement.

This btw. extends to the concept of how to portray mutant herds and how accelerated evolution influences the dispersal etc. of the mutants. The creatures themselves, as mentioned before, are organized by family trees – and it should be noted that a few of the creatures sport unique mutations. Furthermore, the design-process of the creatures takes survivability-enhancing factors into account – i.e. better senses, natural armor, etc. are included. Among house sparrow, we can find little creatures that tag targets for others; there are birds that have developed sharp spines. There are birds that can camouflage as giant bees and that can regenerate bodyparts. Where one generation has often bled out, subsequent critters developed tougher skin and aberrant form as well as a lashing tongue; an alternate evolution instead focused on generating colonies with warning shrieks – the further along the generational line we go, the stranger and weirder the critters become. This, ultimately, is perhaps one of the best aspects of this book – by applying logic and some tweaking, it teaches by example on how to potentially develop your own array of truly strange and creative critters.

Beyond the aforementioned bird family, I particularly enjoyed the stinging nettle family – think of them as animated nettles that wail when struck…and that’s generation 1 for you. There is also a lab accident here – a nettle with human eyes and flesh spliced in. Weak. Vulnerable. And prone to throwing FIRE. A lot. Yes, you should not approach that nightmarish plant. Surprise. Yes, it gets weirder. Moving plants. Some that generate misty force fields. And some that sport mouths. Many, toothy mouths. What could be worse? Well, what about flying ones? Or nettles that make their stinging hairs airborne and highly toxic? Yeah, a fun time was had by everyone at that picnic…

Feather scrubs are plants that burrow into…things. Soil. Trees…etc. – When you approach, they like to supplement their diet with protein, by means of lance-like roots…or by becoming plant-mines. Oh, and sentience, hijacking and animating plants – the evolution sketched here sent a shiver down my spine and a smile to my face. The family is interesting, cool, and intensely creepy.

The final and largest family herein deals with wasps – beyond the usual, firebombs, web-using variants…what abot tunnel-dwelling, tentacle-headed wasps? Yeah, creeps you out, right? It goes further and further here, resulting into aquatic variants, vampiric wasps and weirder critters still.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no undue accumulation of hiccups. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard sans frills or grand graphical elements, making the pdf pretty printer-friendly, if not too aesthetically-pleasing. The b/w-artworks provided for some, but not all creatures, are generally okay, if nothing that will get most folks too excited. The pdf comes bookmarked with detailed bookmarks for the respective headers, but not for individual creatures. The book and cover-pdf come in two versions – one high-res (better for printing) and one low-res (better for electronic devices).

Derek Holland and the Skirmisher Game Development Group deliver a book that I ended up liking a LOT more than I figured I would. While I would have loved to see a bit more in the vein of expanding the mutations and attacks beyond the already impressive array of the parent book, I really enjoy the book not necessarily for its creatures (though I did end up smiling a lot while reading the entries!), but for the applied mutation paradigm, for the design-school employed here; with some tweaking, the referee can gainfully apply this strange biology beyond the confines of this book. We have a supplement that teaches by example and does so in a rather impressive manner.

The content here is really neat and made me wish that the book offered a bit more on the aesthetics side as well; however, I have always prioritized content over presentation and the content that is here is really, really neat – hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up for the purpose of this platform…with one caveat: Sans the parent book/and/or a willingness to work with it, you should detract a start and round down instead. You should definitely be familiar with Mutant Futures – while advertised as Labyrinth Lord stand-alone compatible, the critters would lose a TON of their appeal sans Mutant Futures’ rules.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of the Wastelands: Mutational Evolution
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 370 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG