Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Gun Metal Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Interface Zero 2.0: Player's Guide
by Nathaniel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 15:48:21

I like to make sure my players have what they need to play in the genre. Gun Metal Games has been very thorough in their publications of materials. No complaints for quality products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
by Nathaniel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 15:44:32

Come on, man. It is Japan. How else does one explore the world without leaving their gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Club Anyone: An Interface Zero Novel
by jason d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2017 11:22:27

sorry for the crazy formatting near thr end of the review im on my phone and cant fix it at the moment

i picked this up because it appeared to fall squarely within the genres i enjoy, and i'm familiar with some of the author's other work (for TTRPGs).

holy crap am i glad i did! here's my brief breakdown as to why:

1) pacing: great pacing. it starts off ordinary enough, if "ordinary" includes the protagonist arriving on mars to aid in a corporate AI issue and finding out his wife wants a divorce, and from there it gets faster and faster until finally the ride slows down and deposits you at the exit, where you find yourself almost screaming "AGAIN! AGAIN!"

2) tension: the author uses tension throughout the book, both at the end of chapters and at the end of key sections to mercilessly drive you forward to the next page, and the next, and the next, until it's 5 am and you're hearing birds announcing that it's time for you to get your ass into the shower and off to work.

3) characters: GREAT characters. the cast of characters is kept small and the development of the key players is excellent; side characters get exactly the right amount of attention--no pointless exposition about their childhoods, and no glossing-over that's so brief that you are left without even an idea of who the person is or was. you CARE about the main character and his primary interest. you WANT the antagonists to lose, and lose hard. i can't say more because spoilers, but i loved the cast of characters.

4) the tech and setting: what can i say other than cyberpunk action thriller romance on mars that is completely and absolutely different from total recall, but in great ways. i'll leave the cool tech and terminology and the FEEL of the setting for you to discover first-hand; i'll just say that it really made the book for me, and fit the cyberpunk genre neatly and uniquely.

5) last thoughts: the author uses metaphors and similes like a f***in' boss. clever new ones that are spot-on, and clever uses of old favorites with new twists dot the landscape of this book's pages and brought a grin to this reader's face more than a few times.

well worth the cost, and i will be rereading this one in the near future, i am certain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Club Anyone: An Interface Zero Novel
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Extraction with Extreme Prejudice
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2017 07:08:55

This seems like a fairly simple adventure, the players just need to extract a scientist from his lab and deliver him to some Mr. Johnson. What makes this one exciting to me is all the different complications that arise along the way. Almost everything gets complicated in some way, and quite a few lead to very interesting role play decisions for the characters to make.

Its easy to prepare for and run, and is generic enough to easily fit into running campaigns. All of the different endings could easily lead into new contacts or adventures for the players to follow up next.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Extraction with Extreme Prejudice
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by Stephan d. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2017 13:07:44

As close as you can get to Shadowrun with the Savage Worlds rules as you can get without infringing on their copyright. Or you know, doing all the work yourself. Although it doesn't have the magic in the setting that Shadowrun does, so it's purely cyberpunk.

On a more serious note, it's the best cyberpunk implementation in Savage Worlds I've seen and simply one of the best cyberpunk RPGs I've seen. The book looks great with plenty of good looking art and it contains plenty of setting information to get you started. The company/team behind it are also great people, judging from the limited (but positive) contact I've had with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Interface Zero 2.0: Fate Edition
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 21:40:14

This book has some much needed crunch for the Fate System. Lots tech and cybernetics subsystems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Fate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Codex Infernus Action deck
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2016 15:42:12

The Good: The visibile art is good and consistent with the Codex Infernus book. I should first point out that I didn't take a close look at the pics before buying the deck. I loved the book, so I got excited and bought the deck on impulse (that's definitely on me). The Bad:Everything about this deck seems cheap, which isn't consistent with the price point. The art on the front and back of the cards is the same. The only two cards in the deck with additional art are the two jokers, which have a couple (of the least appealing) demons from pictures within the book. It's worth noting that the art in the book is great-- while these aren't bad pics, they're certainly nowhere near the best that the book has to offer. Why they chose these two pictures for the Jokers, I have no idea. Usually, with a SW action deck, you also have art on aces and face cards at least. I would have loved a deck with the demon lords as K,Q,J,A. The suit and card numbers don't really stand out from the art (across a table during a tabletop game, for example), which makes them a little impractical. It was described as being printed on "premium stock". There is nothing "premium" about this card stock. The cardstock on a $3 set of Bicycle playing cards is superior to the stock used here. I love the book, but there's just nothing exciting about this card deck.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus Action deck
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Totems of the Dead: Game Master's Guide to the Untamed lands
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2016 08:42:54

Totems of the Dead : Game Master's Guide begins with a section giving very generic advice for the Gamemaster. I honestly feel disappointed by this section that doesn't give me the answer to "How can I make a ToD adventure different from any adventure in another setting ?" This part of the book looks unorganized : we get one page of "Brief History" while the main details are present... in the Players' guide ! Likewise, the very short summary of (uncredited) Joseph Campbell's The hero with a thousand faces (the "hero's journey") doesn't tell me what is specific to gaming in the Untamed Lands.

The bestiary makes the bulk of the book, as well as its main interest. Here you can find a full menagerie tailored for this fantasy world based on Pre-Columbian America. This is followed by a shorter section with stock characters for all cultures of that world. The adventure generator is quite original, while the "Nameless Horror generator" remains interesting, but it is close to what is already found in some other Savage Worlds settings.

The last main section consists of several Savage Tales set in the different cultures of the Untamed Lands, as well as some plot hooks. Once again, this material is not uninteresting but does it manage to capture the quintessential nature of "Conanesque" Sword & Sorcery tales ? I must say I'm not entirely convinced.

In my opinion, the best thing that setting rules can do is to convey a special atmosphere so that players (and GMs...) can feel it's different from the basic D&D game. A mere description, as in a travel guide, is not enough. I think ToD Game Master's Guide fails this objective since the rare flavouring rules (ex: Pow Wow) are found... in the Player's Guide.

Three stars for the common audience (but this book may fully satisfy gamers adamantly enamoured of Pre-Columbian America).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Totems of the Dead: Game Master's Guide to the Untamed lands
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2016 23:02:58

"Once it goes into POD, I'll send out a discount coupon to customers"....

Soon? Really look forward to getting a print copy.

THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Herman P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 13:15:14

Amazing and useful! Highly recommended! It can be used in any setting as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2016 00:11:15

I very rarely read any gaming supplement from cover to cover, but this was one of the exceptions. I absolutely love this book. As with the IZ core book, there is brilliant side commentary and deep immersion into the setting. I love the way the geography and culture is laid out. It is exactly how I would expect Japan to be, grounded fairly well in modern as well as ancient Japanese culture.

A+ for dropping enough information to make the setting playable. And even more- dropping subtle hints for potential plots and adventure ideas. Even the document's author character is a bundle of plots. The characters in the side commentary are potential plot hooks. All of the area descriptions and cultural info is teeming with potential storylines.

I like the gear, golemmechs, and augments. I thought there could have been a lot more. I would have loved to have seen the Hindrances, Edges, Augments, Exo-Suits, robots, weapons, vehcles and golemmechs double or triple their length and variety of selection. The government agents should statted more upgraded, state of the art gear. Japan is kind of the giant robot capital of the world, after all. And the Japanese are notoriously tech-upgrade crazy.

I should mention there are a few typos here and there. I didn't write them all down, but the "salvery" on page 30. The overall awesomeness of this book far overshadows a few minor editing issues.

Interface Zero in general and this book especially capture a wide variety of staples in the cyberpunk genre. I especially like that I can replicate/emulate several anime/manga that I love. This is very Shirow-punk. Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell especially. You can also do Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Patlabor and Bubblegum Crisis. I also like that the door was opened for kaiju.

One of my mild dislikes of IZ in general is the introduction of psionics. Luckily, this book doesn't delve into a lot of that subject. The zeek population of Japan is small and well contained. Personally, in my campaign, there are no zeeks, but I don't begrudge other people needing that "magic" type element in their game. I thought the presence of hybrids, bioforms, etc bordered on going overboard, also in the medieval fantasy way, but also subject to GM editing, easily avoidable. I got a chuckle out of the knockoff Pokemon/totoro bioforms, though. (Kami-Cuties.)

The only otther addition I thought about would have been Zen archery or even Zen gunslinging. The attitude would be something to the effect of anything worth practicing is worth perfecting. The Zen Master archetype as presented is really not prone to ranged combat.

Overall, other than a little post-editing, completely amazing book. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Japan: Empire of the Setting Sun
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Tim W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 16:54:57

A beautifully put togeather book for anyone working with the infernal or Hell in their campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
by Eric R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2016 12:12:23

Awesome product a great supplament for savage worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
by Fabrizio V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 23:19:31

By far the best Savage Worlds setting, Interface Zero excels at conveying the feeling of a cyberpunk world. It adds some simple but very efficient rules to the standard Savage Worlds system, in order to create a grittier, more specialized and thematic version of the original rpg's generic engine. Furthermore, this very refined and well illustrated handbook gives you all you need to enter a detailed near-futur world: after a satisfying equipment section, there is a huge part that describes the state of the earth (and the solar system). You don't need anything else to play, really. This outstanding product is for those who want a simplier (but not simplistic) Shadowrun rpg without orcs, elves and magic. It is pure XXIth century cyberpunk.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero 2.0: Full Metal Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Republic of Texas Savage Worlds edition
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 20:00:25

TLDR: Aside from a lack of artwork and some information left unclear it's a solid book for the price. Also San Antonion didn't get blown up.

I received this free as part of my kickstarter rewards for backing the 2nd edition rule book. I also happen to be a native Texan who has become quite used to sci-fi games always making Texas out to be either the wild west with oil barons, or some fractured microcosm of dieing America and a reborn Aztec empire. Very rarely do I get to enjoy a book that gives the State (and former nation) more attention beyond those cliches. In fact the last one I liked was Rifts: Lone Star and that was more due to the talking doggies.

So to start things off I'd like to talk about what I liked.

It's not expensive. 8.50 for all that information is quite good value in my opinion. However see my critiques about the art.

The book for took the time to break up the Republic of Texas (the game's name for the nation) based on the notoriously varied geographic regions. There's seven specific areas it focuses in on and each is given about as much attention as the core book gave to the individual nations. Each region gets at least two major cities or other locations talked about. There's also mentions of local gangs, higher ups, corporat interests, and all manner of other things to help inspire adventures in those regions.

If you enjoy your world information delivered from an in universe perspective then you'll be happy to know this sourcebook continues their tradition of that. All the crunchy stuff is set well past the in character portions as well so that game specific stuff doesn't get in the way of in character presentations. We also get the now requisitie online commentary from in universe characters. The mixture of their pro-their thing, anti-other guy viewpoints helps make it seem less like an omniscient text and leaves airs of mystery all over the place. This is handy for GM's as it lets them toss whatever they want in without fretting over 'canon'.

They didn't blow up San Antonio. Seriously go read up any other sci-fi treatise on future Texas and you'll see that my home city inevitably ends up nuked at some point. They also added in an interesting twist that builds on this edition's growing use of AIs to drive the horror element of the setting.

More toys. If you play cyberpunk games you know the strong pull of 'shiny things' and this book has a few. Vehicles, guns (it is Texas), and even golemechs used by The Texas Rangers are all written up. The one with the massive shotgun is my favorite.

We get a lot of new occupations as well. If you've wanted to be a Texas Ranger , elite government coder, garage level gun smith, or even a Golem mech pilot there's all of that and more.

The edges added were also interesting and a quick once over doesn't show any to be to unbalancing or redundant. They server mostly to add a bit of Texas 'flavor' to things though most can be easily slotted into other Savage Worlds games even if they're not Interface Zero.

Now there are things I didn't like of course. However most of this is quibbling, especially considering the vast amount of information packed in such an afforable product.

The one huge issue I take with the sourcebook is the almost complete lack of art. There are maybe seven pictures in the whole thing and almost none of them seem to be about the item, or location under discussion on those pages. One of them is even a reprint of the cover art. If they ever get a chance to do a second edition with a bigger budget this is the one thing I hope they rectify. Even if it will cost more to buy.

There are also a few glaring omission from the setting material presented. For example in the original core rule book much ado is made about the country's development of cloned food meat that isn't just grown in a vat, and is heavily implied as being some form of bovine like animal. However aside from mentioning ranches where the meat is grown, and lots said about the wars waged over genetic codes there's little attention given to just what these Brahmin are. Since the book makes it very clear that most open land is now very much uninhabitable and most people live in huge metropolises it left me uncertain if they've changed things between the original core book , and this release.

Another example is in a character flaw for synths. It's apparently some manner of virus that causes issues for the ones made for military use. However noewhere else in the book is it even brought up. IN fact aside from a brief mention in a couple of areas we see little else said on the matter even though it's made quite clear the nation is quite dependent on them for military purposes.

As you can see those are relatively minor matters, and perhaps evem something we may see rectified if they do an updated PDF sometime.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Republic of Texas Savage Worlds edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 148 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG