Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Palladium Books » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Robotech® RDF Manual Sourcebook, 1987 Edition
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 12:32:02

The scan of this book is excellent. The missing star is because a good deal of the book is filled with character sheets. To be fair, most of this material is probably stuff that didn't make the page count of the first book, and Palladium probably had no idea how much of a hit the Robotech RPG would be, their most popular until Rifts.

The heavy hit here is the expanded timeline. My late 80s group used it as a kind of "plot point" campaign. The aircraft carrier stats and floorplans are nice, as are the writeups for main characters not included in the first book, like Claudia Grant, Roy Folker and Capt. Gloval. Descriptions of the "Reconstruction Blues" Earth are expanded, including the indroduction of Palladium's version of the Eastern Block, EBSIS. Although the core book and this one encourage playing in the post Zendradi armada destruction period through to the begining of the Southern Cross, with the material in this book and the Zentradi sourcebook, groups can easily play the three year SDF-1 in space period.

The book also contains missle logs and hit locations for mecha. I can't really speak to these because that's a little too close to war gaming for me.

The most disappointing aspect of the book is the discussion of military rank, which could have been clearer. It doesn't explain why some characters had naval rank and others had air force rank.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech® RDF Manual Sourcebook, 1987 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Robotech® RPG, 1986 Edition
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 13:47:01

I am bias in favor of this game and this line because this book introduced me to roleplaying back in 1987. This system here is what has become known as the Palladium Megaversal System, dirived from first edition AD&D with precentage skill rolls reminecent of RuneQuest and other inovations, like a roll over d20 mechanic, that it would take TSR-Wizards over a decade to innovate on their own.

The best thing about this system is that though it has changed some since 1983, those changes are relatively minute. You can essentially port material from one game or setting into another with little work. My group used to play Robotech with martial arts from Ninjas and Superspises added in.

The scan is excellent, and presents an archival look at scifi-anime gaming and English language anime source material in 1986. One might ask how playable the game is today. My response would be that it depends entirely on the group and the game master. I have yet to play any rpg rules verbatium, and it's doubtful that the founders of the hobby ever intended rules as anything other than a bridge to entertainment. I have never used hit locations or M.D.C. other than Main Body to speed up the game, for instsance.

What makes the 80s-90s line of Robotech RPG books interesting is the degree of latitude Harmony Gold gave Palladium with the licence . In effect, in the 80s and 90s, there were four versions of Robotech that didn't always mesh: Carl Mecek's production for TV and notes for the Sentinels, the novelizations by Jack McKinney, the comics by the Waltrup brothers and Palladium's, which was very much a Cold War version of Robotech influenced by the geo-politcs of the 80s [see the RDF Manual]. This was great! it meant more Robotech. Harmony Gold's current lisencing allows for only the presentation of Tommy Yune's version of Robotech, which, while not at all bad, arguablly restricts the creativity of the RPG authors.

Buy it. Read it. Make it your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robotech® RPG, 1986 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Rifter® #5
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2018 07:53:57

To my knowledge, this is the only issue of the Rifter to contain substantial Robotech RPG content, which makes it interesting to aging folks like me who were introduced to roleplaying through the game in the '80s.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter® #5
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Rifter® #14
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2018 07:48:54

This issue has a bit of everything, but of particular interest is the Atorian Empire article, because the book it previews The Guide to Imperial Space has yet to be published over a decade later. The Ninjas and Superspies adventure is also particularly good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter® #14
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroes Unlimited™ RPG, 2nd Edition
by Stefano A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 14:14:25

I have already a paper copy of it, but having used it beyond limit the PDF version is a good way to prevent it to crumble in pieces. And this version in particular, while surprisingly big, is actually quite good, ideal for cvarrying it over in the tablet. Woork smoothly and i don't see many flaw so far



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Unlimited™ RPG, 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroes Unlimited™ RPG, 2nd Edition
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 19:32:59

if you are into Rifts or the Palladium universe, its a great book. Lots of great powers and great designs for heros. If you like the character creation system for Palladium characters, this is for you! This is a stand alone book to run your own super hero campaign, but also is easy to integrate into any other Palladium campaign. There are plenty of good illustations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Adventurers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 09:29:03

I look forward to using these in my games - I'm glad they exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Dead Boys
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 09:28:49

I look forward to using these in my games - I'm glad they exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Dead Boys
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Extras
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 09:28:36

I look forward to using these in my games - I'm glad they exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Extras
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Men at Arms
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 09:28:21

I look forward to using these in my games - I'm glad they exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Men at Arms
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Practitioners of Magic
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 09:27:58

I look forward to using these in my games - I'm glad they exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Practitioners of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Aftermath
by Derrick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2017 13:33:05

RIFTS Aftermath is probably the most thorough description of the empires, kingdoms, places, and many of the various factions all across RIFTS Earth in a single book. While this book describes all of this following the post Siege on Tolkeen meta-plot, there is other world information here that is not found anywhere else. Although, if you need very detailed information about RIFTS England, your best overall bet is still to pick up the RIFTS England book. RIFTS Aftermath updates the general world information to the year 109 PA in the RIFTS setting. Very useful, and even moreso if you follow the world events of the Siege on Tolkeen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Aftermath
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Ultimate Edition RPG
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 12:12:45

Rifts is a terrific setting, unfortunately shackled to the godawful Palladium RPG system.

There are lots of wonderful creatures and concepts, and I own dozens of the various sourcebooks. The Coalition States are developed in this book, along with a smattering of other nations. The character classes are very diverse and entertaining. But it can be a challenge to balance a party around characters like the Glitter Boy (can shoot through buildings), or a Dragon Hatchling (actual dragon and inherently an MDC creature) and a Rogue Scholar, whose special power is literacy.

The basic tenants of the combat system, and power creep since the first edition, also lead to either a slow combat consisting of whittling down the opponent's hit points/armor, or an over-reliance on called shots. When normal players have hundreds of hitpoints, and boss monsters have thousands or tens of thousands of hitpoints, someting seems a bit off-kilter.

I do recommend buying these books, but only as a sourcebook for other systems such as FATE, GURPS, or Hero with more rational mechanics.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Ultimate Edition RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Dead Boys
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2017 11:41:32

Awesome product. Used everytime we game. They were easy to print, cut out and use. Look forward to more flats from MADMANMIKE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Paper Miniatures: Dead Boys
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Zentraedi Regult Tactical Battlepod Assembly Instructions for Robotech® RPG Tactics™
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2017 16:36:18

Its good just had problems opening the file to veiw it



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zentraedi Regult Tactical Battlepod Assembly Instructions for Robotech® RPG Tactics™
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG