Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Atlas Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 15:04:05

A generous ebook. A lot of interesting content. The school itself is strange, coherent, and very well developped. As a Cronenberg fan, I have to say I'm impressed as to how the author has managed to capture the essence of his movies. Spells are powerful, but it will be costly for Strygomancers to charge (not so difficult, but costly. Just read it!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mechanomancy Redux
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 14:57:55

Exactly what I needed for the villains in my mechanomancy-centered campaign! Even though I have all the books of the two previous editions as well as UA3, I think this Redux is still relevant, especially by adapting the school to the new set of rules, and by telling its current development.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanomancy Redux
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Charmancy
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 14:52:56

Wow, this little book is worth every penny and more. It's definitely got the same vibe & mojo than the "official" schools of magick. It's balanced, fun, and expertly written. Kudos to the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Charmancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mechanomancy Redux
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2017 18:51:48

A more well defined version of the mechanomancer from the earlier editions. Its a no brainer, get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanomancy Redux
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Charmancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2017 23:25:59

I was really afraid when I got this that it would be more joking instead of thought out. Oh boy this class is amazing. Cool idea to it, really useful and powerful spells, with just the right dash of humor to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Charmancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Charioteer Archetype
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2017 21:55:52

This is a really short, and well done Avatar type. It makes sense, as really useful powers, and has some fun applications for gameplay. Totally worth the price for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Charioteer Archetype
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

33 Rituals
by Thomas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2017 18:48:29

Rituals are one of my favorite parts of UA, because, as Maichen puts it, "rituals aren’t just ‘spells’ in the traditional D&D sense, but story seeds." Every time I have (or am) a ritualist PC I dig through whatever published or third-party stuff I can find, excited to see what I can dangle in front of them to make them go "gimme!" (or "what." or "yeah, NOPE!"), and from the NPC side I love thinking about/designing/using rituals that make the world feel exciting and strange.

There's a page of talk about the how and why of ritual design from the GM perspective, with an emphasis on that "story seed" idea over "balance." It was well written and on the nose. The other 11 pages of content are dense with rituals. Not all are written exactly the way I would (1), but all of them fit at least one of the hoped-for roles I listed above, and that first page gives you both basis and permission to tinker. I particularly liked the story potential of Mariaj Lwa (wed someone to the nearest incorporeal entity!) and The Doe/Demon Mother pair (make a woman incredibly fertile for life... or put a demon in the drivers seat of her baby). I might not use all of them, but none of them bored me.

If you plan on running UA or are thinking of playing a ritualist PC, this is absolutely worth your buck fifty (and if you're not thinking of playing a ritualist PC, you might after you read this).

(1) Namely, the rituals for teleporting packages, one-way teleportation of the caster to a prearranged place, and making binding contracts. I loved all of them as concepts, but feel I like my usually over-clever player base (...or me as a PC, let's be honest) would leverage them too well. If I threw them in I'd make them some combination of difficult as hell to get, involve more of a PITA ritual, have bigger downsides and/or risks, be significant instead of minor, or some combination thereof.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
33 Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Sunnywoods Wellness Center
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 21:52:24

Neat little add on. Nothing ground breaking but still nice enough too throw into any game if you need help with players going crazy. For two bucks totally worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Sunnywoods Wellness Center
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Game Over
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 16:38:42

I was a little concerned at first that this would be too on the meta side and play itself for cheap laughts. I was wrong. This adept type is amazing. How they work and all the little quirks to each of their spells fits perfectly into the Uknown Armies setting. You can tell the writer must have had their own passion for it cause everything has the weird feel of core developed UA content. Amazing add on, 10/10, get this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Over
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Blighty
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:45:03

This ones got some ups and some downs. All in all a good addition but it has some problems. So first off all the fluff bits added in are solid. It has interesting ideas for how the magical nut jobs of this world survived in the UK. Avatars added into the system are really solid. Despite being only two they are both well thought out and work well for either GM or player. The rituals they add in are fantastic and had me both giggle and cringe at how weird/evil/creative they were. Locations all work well. Opposing groups is one place it really shines too, adding in flare and nods to other books.

Now the make or break for this book is the adepts, cause they are a mixed bag. Of the five new adepts added two of them I would personally call useless, two of them are amazing, and one of them is cool but wicked situational. First adept is the Alienacarnemology, gains powers of animals by consuming their meat. They are fantastic. Flat out cool idea that has strong spells and uses. Second is the Caravanacracy, and these guys are just useless. They're discount car mages from book one and I cant see anyone trying to play one aside from making their charging harder, their spells less effective, and their taboo more ridiculous to make a mage I could never suggest. Third mage added is another fantastic one, the Chronomancy. Thats right a time mage, dont worry not nearly as broken as it sounds. If anything they're maybe a little more powerful then the camera mages from book one. Cool ideas that work well. Fourth class Urbanusexploratiology, and they hit the situational but cool. They are hard to charge and need to be in a game that works for them, but they are a very interesting adept with some different, maybe too situational spells. Fifth and final is the Vetitumtabulasmancy....and I want these to make sense but they dont in a modern setting. Their spells are cool forcing checks on people or social/emtional manipulation, but their charging just doesn't work. Hell the book even says they have a painfully finite sources to charge from and have to jump though a near pointless hoop to charge after that. The spells are cool but this class only really works if you set your game in the 80s or something.

On a side note the section for the final added adept has an oddly poor editing. For some reason all the text is bold for this section, and it breaks the format of the other classes by not listing the type of charge per spell (small mistake but odd to see when everyone else has this in their blocks) that goes on for five pages. The editor really dropped the ball there to miss that big of an error.

All in all this is a good but not perfect addition. Some bits are a little too hard to use, but the world additions, the rituals, artifacts, avatars, and half the adepts feel right at home. For ten bucks this is more then worth it just to get the fun of Unknown Armies in the UK setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blighty
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
UA3: Planetomancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:19:59

Ever want to be the worlds strongest magical hobo? Then say no more for this ones got you covered. Planetomancy hits an idea that makes a lot of sense for Unknown Armies, being a drifter who gains their strange from the journey and not the destination. Though amp that example up to eleven cause the destination ruins the magical high these adepts are after. All in all this is a pretty cool read that I think can fit with how estranged the other mages are. I think the only hard part to note is that these adepts have probably one of the hardest taboos to play with, requiring who ever plays them to get creative in getting around it. Still, all in all this adept is one I really look forward to playing with more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Planetomancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
UA3: Joymancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:12:45

Unknown Armies always delivers weird and interesting ideas for you to play with. Justin Miland makes a fantastic addition to the core system with this new adept type. Its weird, its goofy, and its fun. I hope to see him make a lot of addtion content for UA cause he hit the mark with this one. Offering a very different style of adept to play who needs a little more set up or player agency to really shine. If you want to really flex your creativity to set up a character around the mysticism of battleship and sorry, completely recomend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Joymancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Feng Shui 2
by BENJAMIN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2016 16:44:05

I love this system. I've been GMing it for a while and my players love it. It's quite similar to two other games we love, The Strange and Star Wars: Edge of the Empire.

Feng Shui 2's two strongest points, the Setting and Mechanics, are also a bit difficult to describe simply. I hope the following comparions help inform GMs as they consider buying this book.

Setting-wise, the game is similar to Monte Cook Games' The Strange RPG and Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's book series The Deathgate Cycle.

  • Multiple settings exist in which there are different rules for each, providing a large variety in scenery and situations.
  • A dangerous "space between worlds" exists where the players/protagonists can go and use to travel to different settings.
  • Portals weave the worlds together, and are important strategic points.
  • Many factions exist and often entice the players/protagonists to work for them.

Mechanics-wise, the game mirrors Fantasy Flight Games's Star Wars: Edge of the Empire.

  • In combat (which is the game's main activity), one roll resolves both hitting and damaging the target.
  • Weapons and other attacks have preset damage values, modified by the characters' attributes and attack rolls.
  • Enemies have multiple tiers of difficulty, and the lowest level of enemy (mooks for FS2, minions for EOTE) goes down on any successful hit.
  • Characters advance by choosing "Schticks", closely resembling the perk/talent tree of EOTE in terms of power level or abilities added.

I should mention that the mechanical similarities to Edge of the Empire stop there.

  • No custom dice required. Regular 6-sided dice will do.
  • Actions have binary outcomes.
  • To create a character, you print the archtype you want, add a name, and add a story hook.
  • Advancing a character requires little book-keeping.
  • No huge number of splat books (there are 2 or 3, as opposed to EOTE's 20+). Truthfully, you could buy this book and have everything you need to play a long-term campaign.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Bonin Horse: Cyberpunk 2020 Adventure
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2016 14:44:46

An interesting take on an underwater adventure in the Cyberpunk universe. A few surprises, and concepts that could be borrowed for other adventures as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bonin Horse: Cyberpunk 2020 Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Feng Shui 2: Secrets of the Chi War
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2016 04:18:38

This is a fun read, and so far the only supplement for FS2 which adds new material.

There are three rough sections to the book; a more detailed look at the standard junctures, a list of additional pop-up junctures that were not included in the core book and a pre-written adventure.

The extra details on the fours base junctures plus the Netherworld is very welcome, especially the focus on specific locations. I liked the look at Chang'an in the Ancient juncture, but the most useful is probably the three locations in the Future juncture, since it's the one setting you can't research via Wikipedia. They're all in the same format as similar write-ups in the core book - why you might go there, who you could fight and where, with a list of films for inspiration.

The pop-up junctures are just as fun as they were in the core book, and presented in much the same format. I believe these were originally stretch goals during the Kickstarter, and would have been in the core book if they had been met, though I'm not certain of that. There's no sense that there are the leftovers though, as they are fun mini-settings, and it's easy to see how you could have a great scenarios dipping in to one and playing to the conceits of the period or genre. My only real issue is that there are quite a few 'modern' junctures, and I'd have liked a bit more variety.

The adventure seems serviceable, though it didn't especially grab me. It makes use of the Tokyo setting detailed in the first section of the book, has a little bit of investiagtion, obviously some fighing and some time-travel matchmaking. You might want to tweak it a bit to tie into an ongoing campaign, but then I think that's usually assumed with Feng Shui.

Overall, I enjoyed reading the book and if I do get to run FS2 later, I think this will be a very useful resource to have. I'm hoping there will be more books coming out, even if only in PDF format. There's print version of this available, and it seems unlikely that there will be , but I could see a compilation of this and a few other similar products being sold for print on demand, if there are any others published. Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2: Secrets of the Chi War
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG