Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Atlas Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Sulsul: Korean Liquor Magick
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 10:36:58

Really fun, absoluetly reccomend it to others. Neat little class with some interesting ideas to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sulsul: Korean Liquor Magick
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Feng Shui 2
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/21/2018 05:28:42

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/01/21/ersteindruck-feng-shui-2-kung-fu-kicks-durch-raum-und-zeit-atlas-games/

Vorweg: Nein, es geht bei Feng Shui nicht um die allseits bekannte daoistische Harmonielehre aus China. Vielmehr wirft euch Feng Shui hinein in das wilde Leben in einem 80er Actionfilm. Also holt die Nunchucks raus, es ist Zeit, ein paar Bösewichten in den Hintern zu treten.

Ach was waren die 70er, 80er und 90er für Zeiten für Actionfans. Nicht nur, dass grandiose Schauspieler wie Jean-Claude van Damme, Sylvester Stallone und Bruce Lee auf der Leinwand zu sehen waren, diese Zeit brachte uns auch Filmperlen wie Stirb Langsam, Rocky und Terminator. Unzählige Male versuchte man als Kind, seinen großen Idolen nachzueifern und trat dabei aus Versehen den Fernseher vom Schrank des elterlichen Wohnzimmers. Heutzutage kann man sich zum Glück einfach seine Freunde schnappen und ganz in Ruhe mit Feng Shui 2 am Spieltisch dieses Gefühl zurückholen. Natürlich inklusive Zeitreisen und Cyborg-Affen.

Die Spielwelt

In der Welt von Feng Shui 2 herrscht Krieg! Kein Krieg zwischen Nationen um endliche Ressourcen oder Land, sondern ein Krieg zwischen mysteriösen Organisationen, die um die Kontrolle mystischer Orte konkurrieren. Denn nur wer Orte kontrolliert, in denen das magische Element Chi besonders stark ist, kann den Lauf der Zeit zu seinen Gunsten wenden. Denn zu allem Überfluss muss man sich als Spieler nicht nur mit Bösewichten aus der eigenen Zeit herumschlagen, sondern auch noch mit zeitreisenden Zauberern, Cyborg-Affen oder Halbgöttern. Denn das Gefüge der Zeit ist in Feng Shui 2 löchrig wie ein Schweizer Käse.

Als Hauptschauplatz für Feng Shui 2 dienen asiatische Großstädte der heutigen Zeit bzw. der 80er/90er. Hier fühlt sich das System an wie ein typischer fernöstlicher Kung-Fu Film wie z.B. City Hunter oder Todesgrüße aus Shanghai. Allerdings gibt es geheime Portale in eine mysteriöse Zwischenwelt, die sogenannte Netherworld. Durch diese Netherworld lassen sich die Grenzen der Zeit einfach durchschreiten. So gibt es einige stabile Routen, die in das antike China des 7. Jahrhunderts, die Kolonialzeit des Jahres 1850 und in die verstrahlte und lebensfeindliche Zukunft des Jahres 2074 führen, in der Cyborg-Affen um die Vorherrschaft über die letzten verbleibenden Ressourcen der Erde kämpfen. Zugegeben, das klingt alles erstmal völlig bescheuert und wenn man eh schon die Filmlogik von Zeitreisen hinterfragt, wird man auch mit Feng Shui 2 keinen Spaß haben. Das Grundregelwerk erzählt die ganzen Verstrickungen der einzelnen Zeitepochen mit den jeweils vorherrschenden Fraktionen und deren Fortschritt im Chi-Krieg so spannend, dass man sofort Lust bekommt, an diesem furiosen Blödsinn teilzunehmen. Fans von Trashfilmen werden sofort auf ihre Kosten kommen. Außerdem bietet das Spiel durch den Aspekt der Zeitreisen ein enormes Potenzial an Abenteuern. Wollt ihr diesmal als Cops einen Drogenring im Hong Kong des Jahres 1993 aufmischen, die Herrschaft der Briten im Jahr 1850 durch Sabotage anfechten oder doch lieber versuchen, die beiden Fraktionen der Cyborg-Affen in der Zukunft gegeneinander auszuspielen? Vielleicht wollt ihr auch einfach eigene Zeitlinien aufmachen und versuchen, den 1. Weltkrieg zu verhindern? Ganz egal, was ihr tun wollt, es wird mit Feng Shui 2 auf jeden Fall episch!

Glücklicherweise findet ihr zum Hintergrund der Spielwelt von Feng Shui 2 im Regelwerk jede Menge Hintergrundinformationen über die einzelnen Epochen und die verschiedenen Gruppierungen, die im Chi-Krieg gegeneinander kämpfen. Außerdem bekommt man praktischerweise auch direkt eine Einführung in die Lehre hinter Feng Shui und warum genau dies so wichtig in der Welt und für den Chi-Fluss ist.

Die Regeln Die Regelmechaniken hinter Feng Shui 2 sind einfach gehalten. Jeder Spieler wirft bei einer Probe zwei sechsseitige Würfel (idealerweise mit unterschiedlichen Farben). Ein Würfel steht für negative Einflüsse und der andere für positive Einflüsse. Nun zieht man den negativen Wert vom positiven Wert ab, addiert das Ergebnis zu seinem Fertigkeitswert und vergleicht das Ganze mit der Schwierigkeit der Probe. Ist das Ergebnis höher als die Schwierigkeit, gilt die Probe als Erfolg. Würfelt man eine Sechs auf einem der beiden Würfel, so „explodiert“ dieser. Dies bedeutet, dass man den Würfel noch einmal würfelt und das Ergebnis zu der ursprünglichen Sechs hinzuzählt. Sollte man soviel Glück/Pech haben, zwei Sechsen zu würfeln, könnte es entweder sehr gut oder sehr schlecht ausgehen. Je nachdem, ob die Probe mit dem nachfolgenden Wurf geschafft oder nicht geschafft wird, passiert dann entweder etwas extrem Gutes oder etwas extrem Schlechtes.

Eine kleine Besonderheit in Kämpfen ist die Art und Weise, wie die Reihenfolge der Spieleraktionen in den Kämpfen abgehandelt wird. Am ehesten lässt sich dies wohl mit dem Kampfsystem von Splittermond vergleichen. Hat man seine Initiative ausgewürfelt, beginnt der Spieler mit der höchsten Initiative. Die Initiativen-Schritte werden hierbei Shots genannt. Die Runde beginnt in dem Shot in Höhe der höchsten Initiative und wird dann absteigend bis Shot 1 abgehandelt. Ist ein Spieler an der Reihe, kann er Aktionen ausführen. Diese muss er allerdings je nach Komplexität in Shots „bezahlen“. Startet ein Spieler z.B. in Shot 15 und er führt eine Aktion aus, die ihn drei Shots kostet, so ist er als nächstes im Shot Nummer 12 an der Reihe. So verlässt man sich also nicht nur auf seinen Initiativwurf, sondern muss auch seine Aktionen taktisch genau planen. Dies ist am Anfang etwas unübersichtlich, mit dem im Grundregelwerk abgebildeten Board und entsprechenden Token kann man sich aber schnell an das System gewöhnen. Ansonsten sind die Kämpfe allerdings sehr dynamisch und bieten genug Möglichkeiten für epische Aktionen.

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung ist zwar angenehm unkompliziert, sie ist aber für echte Rollenspieler wahrscheinlich auch das größte Manko an Feng Shui 2. Dies liegt vor allem an den mangelnden Anpassungsmöglichkeiten. Aber der Reihe nach.

Um einen Charakter in Feng Shui 2 zu erstellen, wählt man sich einen der ca. 30 Archetypen aus. Diese bieten eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Charaktertypen, vom Kung-Fu Meister über magische Polizisten und Stuntfahrer bis zu eher seltsamen Erscheinungen wie etwa Tiermenschen, Geistern oder natürlich Cyborgs und Mutanten. Kleine Symbole zeigen hier praktischerweise, in welchen Zeitepochen die jeweiligen Archetypen vorkommen. Dies heißt natürlich nicht, dass man diese nur in diesen Epochen spielen kann. Zusätzlich verfügt jeder Archetyp über die entsprechenden Skills wie z.B. Umgang mit Waffen, Willenskraft etc. und über Spezialfertigkeiten, die bei Feng Shui 2 „Schticks“ genannt werden. Diese Schticks stellen klassenspezifische Sonderfertigkeiten wie z.B. Kampfmanöver oder Sonderaktionen dar. Hiervon lassen sich ein paar bei der Erstellung des Charakters oder beim Level Up austauschen. Das war es leider auch schon mit den eigenen Anpassungen. Natürlich kann man Statur, Hintergrund etc. auch selbst auswählen, was aber z.B. die Startfertigkeiten angeht, sind die Archetypen fest und nicht weiter anpassbar. Dies ist extrem schade. Zwar bieten die Archetypen genug Abwechslung, aber ein bisschen mehr Anpassbarkeit der einzelnen Charaktere hätte es schon geben können. Natürlich kann man als Spielleiter auch einfach eigene Archetypen aus den Schticks und Fertigkeiten erstellen, dafür gibt es aber im Grundregelwerk keine Hilfen, an denen man sich orientieren kann und laut der Autoren ist dies auch nicht vorgesehen gewesen. Da hätte man durchaus zumindest einmal eine kleine Anleitung mitgeben können, wie man eigene Archetypen entwickelt. Für Einsteiger ist die Charaktererstellung allerdings ein absoluter Segen. Man kommt sofort rein, Fans von Actionfilmen werden sofort etwas mit den einzelnen Archetypen anzufangen wissen.

Ansonsten wird bei der Charaktererstellung absichtlich auch vieles offen gelassen, damit Spieler und Spielleiter gemeinsam z.B. über Startausrüstung etc. entscheiden können. Das ist auch gut so, denn allgemein setzt Feng Shui 2 wenig Grenzen. Euer Charakter hat ein Fahrzeug mit eingebauter Minigun? Warum nicht! Schließlich befinden wir uns in einem Actionfilm.

Erscheinungsbild Das Grundregelwerk von Feng Shui 2 ist ein absoluter Hingucker! Das merkt man nicht nur an dem wundervoll bunten Hardcover-Einband, sondern auch an jeder Menge hochwertiger und thematisch absolut passender Illustrationen. Auch wenn der Schriftgrad auf manchen Seiten etwas klein ist, so ist der Rest des Regelwerks durch eine gute Aufteilung wunderbar lesbar. Ich muss außerdem zugeben, dass ich wahrscheinlich noch nie ein Regelwerk so verschlungen habe, wie dieses. Das liegt vor allem an den grandiosen Texten, die den schwierigen Spagat zwischen Information und Unterhaltung schaffen. Dabei merkt man jedem Wort an, dass die Autoren ihr eigenes Regelwerk nicht so ernst nehmen und das passt wunderbar zu dem eh eher trashigen Setting. Die Regeln werden zudem mit passenden Beispielen unterstützt und außerdem gibt es jede Menge Hintergrundinformationen zu der Welt von Feng Shui. So muss ein Regelwerk geschrieben sein!

Auch die Qualität des Drucks und der Bindung ist wunderbar, allerdings kommt dies auch mit einem entsprechenden Preis. Mit rund 60 EUR ist das Regelwerk relativ teuer, allerdings ist das Regelwerk mit 350 Seiten auch entsprechend umfangreich.

Fazit Ich gebe es ohne zu zögern zu: Ich liebe Feng Shui 2! Das Grundregelwerk ist für mich die perfekte Mischung aus einem einfachen, aber dennoch interessanten Regelsystem und einem einzigartigen und spannenden Setting. Da sehe ich gern über die etwas zu simple Charaktererstellung hinweg. Natürlich muss man Bock haben auf das eher trashige Setting, wenn man es aber schafft, eine Gruppe von Freunden mit Lust an dem Setting an einem Tisch zu versammeln, dann wird man unglaublich lustige und coole gemeinsame Abende erleben.

Auch für neue Spieler ist Feng Shui 2 ein super Einstieg in das Tischrollenspiel, denn Anfänger kommen sehr schnell in das Regelsystem hinein und die Archetypen machen den Start extrem einfach. Wer schon ein paar Actionfilme gesehen hat, wird sofort auch mit den Archetypen zurechtkommen und sich schnell einen eigenen Helden erstellen können.

Auch wenn man nur das Regelwerk hat und vielleicht noch keine passende Gruppe findet, das reine Lesen des Regelwerks macht schon extrem viel Spaß. Ich habe noch nie ein Regelwerk so schnell verschlungen wie dieses. Hier kann man nur den Hut vor Robin D. Laws ziehen, der es tatsächlich geschafft hat, ein Regelwerk unterhaltsam zu schreiben. Dies ist heutzutage lange nicht Standard.

Wenn ihr also Fans von Actionfilmen seid und Bock auf Tischrollenspiel habt, dann gebt Feng Shui 2 eine Chance. Ihr werdet es nicht bereuen!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Target System
by Aansgar B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2017 19:52:05

A little gem of a system. The idea is simple but effective, renders hit tables obsolete and silly and replaces it with class and elegance. Particularly useful for combat-oriented gameplay, I found, with the enemy silouettes, though aiming for the heart in a social situation is a good thing too! Learn some french and get in on this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Target System
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 15:04:05

A generous ebook. A lot of interesting content. The school itself is strange, coherent, and very well developped. As a Cronenberg fan, I have to say I'm impressed as to how the author has managed to capture the essence of his movies. Spells are powerful, but it will be costly for Strygomancers to charge (not so difficult, but costly. Just read it!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Armies: Breaking Through: The Strygomancer
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mechanomancy Redux
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 14:57:55

Exactly what I needed for the villains in my mechanomancy-centered campaign! Even though I have all the books of the two previous editions as well as UA3, I think this Redux is still relevant, especially by adapting the school to the new set of rules, and by telling its current development.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanomancy Redux
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Charmancy
by Flo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2017 14:52:56

Wow, this little book is worth every penny and more. It's definitely got the same vibe & mojo than the "official" schools of magick. It's balanced, fun, and expertly written. Kudos to the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Charmancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mechanomancy Redux
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2017 18:51:48

A more well defined version of the mechanomancer from the earlier editions. Its a no brainer, get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechanomancy Redux
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Charmancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2017 23:25:59

I was really afraid when I got this that it would be more joking instead of thought out. Oh boy this class is amazing. Cool idea to it, really useful and powerful spells, with just the right dash of humor to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Charmancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Charioteer Archetype
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2017 21:55:52

This is a really short, and well done Avatar type. It makes sense, as really useful powers, and has some fun applications for gameplay. Totally worth the price for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Charioteer Archetype
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

33 Rituals
by Thomas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2017 18:48:29

Rituals are one of my favorite parts of UA, because, as Maichen puts it, "rituals aren’t just ‘spells’ in the traditional D&D sense, but story seeds." Every time I have (or am) a ritualist PC I dig through whatever published or third-party stuff I can find, excited to see what I can dangle in front of them to make them go "gimme!" (or "what." or "yeah, NOPE!"), and from the NPC side I love thinking about/designing/using rituals that make the world feel exciting and strange.

There's a page of talk about the how and why of ritual design from the GM perspective, with an emphasis on that "story seed" idea over "balance." It was well written and on the nose. The other 11 pages of content are dense with rituals. Not all are written exactly the way I would (1), but all of them fit at least one of the hoped-for roles I listed above, and that first page gives you both basis and permission to tinker. I particularly liked the story potential of Mariaj Lwa (wed someone to the nearest incorporeal entity!) and The Doe/Demon Mother pair (make a woman incredibly fertile for life... or put a demon in the drivers seat of her baby). I might not use all of them, but none of them bored me.

If you plan on running UA or are thinking of playing a ritualist PC, this is absolutely worth your buck fifty (and if you're not thinking of playing a ritualist PC, you might after you read this).

(1) Namely, the rituals for teleporting packages, one-way teleportation of the caster to a prearranged place, and making binding contracts. I loved all of them as concepts, but feel I like my usually over-clever player base (...or me as a PC, let's be honest) would leverage them too well. If I threw them in I'd make them some combination of difficult as hell to get, involve more of a PITA ritual, have bigger downsides and/or risks, be significant instead of minor, or some combination thereof.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
33 Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Sunnywoods Wellness Center
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 21:52:24

Neat little add on. Nothing ground breaking but still nice enough too throw into any game if you need help with players going crazy. For two bucks totally worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Sunnywoods Wellness Center
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Game Over
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 16:38:42

I was a little concerned at first that this would be too on the meta side and play itself for cheap laughts. I was wrong. This adept type is amazing. How they work and all the little quirks to each of their spells fits perfectly into the Uknown Armies setting. You can tell the writer must have had their own passion for it cause everything has the weird feel of core developed UA content. Amazing add on, 10/10, get this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Game Over
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Blighty
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:45:03

This ones got some ups and some downs. All in all a good addition but it has some problems. So first off all the fluff bits added in are solid. It has interesting ideas for how the magical nut jobs of this world survived in the UK. Avatars added into the system are really solid. Despite being only two they are both well thought out and work well for either GM or player. The rituals they add in are fantastic and had me both giggle and cringe at how weird/evil/creative they were. Locations all work well. Opposing groups is one place it really shines too, adding in flare and nods to other books.

Now the make or break for this book is the adepts, cause they are a mixed bag. Of the five new adepts added two of them I would personally call useless, two of them are amazing, and one of them is cool but wicked situational. First adept is the Alienacarnemology, gains powers of animals by consuming their meat. They are fantastic. Flat out cool idea that has strong spells and uses. Second is the Caravanacracy, and these guys are just useless. They're discount car mages from book one and I cant see anyone trying to play one aside from making their charging harder, their spells less effective, and their taboo more ridiculous to make a mage I could never suggest. Third mage added is another fantastic one, the Chronomancy. Thats right a time mage, dont worry not nearly as broken as it sounds. If anything they're maybe a little more powerful then the camera mages from book one. Cool ideas that work well. Fourth class Urbanusexploratiology, and they hit the situational but cool. They are hard to charge and need to be in a game that works for them, but they are a very interesting adept with some different, maybe too situational spells. Fifth and final is the Vetitumtabulasmancy....and I want these to make sense but they dont in a modern setting. Their spells are cool forcing checks on people or social/emtional manipulation, but their charging just doesn't work. Hell the book even says they have a painfully finite sources to charge from and have to jump though a near pointless hoop to charge after that. The spells are cool but this class only really works if you set your game in the 80s or something.

On a side note the section for the final added adept has an oddly poor editing. For some reason all the text is bold for this section, and it breaks the format of the other classes by not listing the type of charge per spell (small mistake but odd to see when everyone else has this in their blocks) that goes on for five pages. The editor really dropped the ball there to miss that big of an error.

All in all this is a good but not perfect addition. Some bits are a little too hard to use, but the world additions, the rituals, artifacts, avatars, and half the adepts feel right at home. For ten bucks this is more then worth it just to get the fun of Unknown Armies in the UK setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blighty
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Planetomancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:19:59

Ever want to be the worlds strongest magical hobo? Then say no more for this ones got you covered. Planetomancy hits an idea that makes a lot of sense for Unknown Armies, being a drifter who gains their strange from the journey and not the destination. Though amp that example up to eleven cause the destination ruins the magical high these adepts are after. All in all this is a pretty cool read that I think can fit with how estranged the other mages are. I think the only hard part to note is that these adepts have probably one of the hardest taboos to play with, requiring who ever plays them to get creative in getting around it. Still, all in all this adept is one I really look forward to playing with more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Planetomancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

UA3: Joymancy
by cody m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2017 22:12:45

Unknown Armies always delivers weird and interesting ideas for you to play with. Justin Miland makes a fantastic addition to the core system with this new adept type. Its weird, its goofy, and its fun. I hope to see him make a lot of addtion content for UA cause he hit the mark with this one. Offering a very different style of adept to play who needs a little more set up or player agency to really shine. If you want to really flex your creativity to set up a character around the mysticism of battleship and sorry, completely recomend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UA3: Joymancy
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG