Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
W20 Pentex Employee Indoctrination Manual
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2018 07:20:40

This is a great, if shorter than expected (90 pages) sourcebook for anyone wishing to use Pentex as an adversary in a World of Darkness game. The Tone is entertaining and there are plenty of plot hooks for a storyteller to get their teeth into. I wrote a more detailed review over at my website which you can find HERE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Pentex Employee Indoctrination Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
by Ali A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 03:57:35

The last week was a wonderful week for me because I was reading this book, whenever I had the chance. For the fans of Vampire the Masquerade, this book is invaluable. Perfect story, excellent advices on how to use the metaplot on your games.

If you are unfamiliar with the Vampire the Masquerade, Beckett is a vampire who hungers not just for blood but also for knowledge. A Historian, Archeologist and Anthropologist... This is his diary which contains his own entries, comments written by his friends, letters, transcriptions of recorded dialogues, etc. This book can be your gateway to World of Darkness.

From a narrative standpoint it is similar to Bram Stoker's Dracula which in my opinion makes the story flow perfectly. I didn't want it to end and I'll definitely use this in my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
by Randford B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2018 22:12:52

This book is essentially a round-up of a huge collection of Old World of Darkness metaplot elements, updating the metaplot for twenty years later and revisiting many locations in the World of Darkness as Beckett wanders around poking his stupid nose into everything.

This is a book full of interesting locations and new takes on old problems, as well as a bunch of fascinating bits of new stuff, including the secrets of the vampires of South America, the Drowned Lineages, and hints at a new take on the vampires of Africa. Other elements get re-envisioned for the modern world, so that the most famous transgender vampire is no longer a tentacled sex murderer, which I think we can all be happy for. (They are now just a regular murderer.)

If you wanted a book where Beckett travels the world and people make fun of him because he prints their emails out and glues them in his diary, this is that book. If you wanted a book that weighs less than one million pounds, this is not that book. Thing is huge. But if you love huge books, that will just make you even happier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Changing Ways
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2018 13:18:41

This is the Werewolf the Apocalypse companion I have waited for for 2 decades! This book has an absolute wealth of knowledge. This book helps storytellers and players alike understand how Metis and Lupus garou feel and act and helps you get their mindset. It also helps understand how other Garou treat them. I recommend this book to veterens and newcomers alike. This is a must own!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Changing Ways
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
by Jordan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 22:19:44

To keep it in perspective, this isn't about the quality of the rules themselves, but about the quality of the premium hardcover POD.

I had high expectations of a tabletop RPG book that costs $60+ that is print on demand, yet I was left disappointed to see that the entirely-adhesive spine (there's no other material reinforcing it) has already begun to split upon the first time opening the book. Considering this is the rulebook that will be present at our table during every game night, I'd expect there to be a bit more resilience to it. Since the cost of production is being leveraged heavily onto the customer, I'm disappointed by the low quality the 'premium' option has to offer.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

W20 Changing Ways
by MacKenzie C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2018 17:43:17

This is one of if not THE best book produced for Werewolf in years.

Many other books will give you shots at tribes, or auspices. Some give you locations. Many have bunches of gifts and fetishes. THIS book tells you what it's like BEING A garou. Not 'here's the stats when you change to glabro' but what it feels like. How you perceive the world. How everything changes. It is "How to be a garou" more than just 'Powers/rites/totems/fetishes.'

It really puts you in the mindset of the garou. It covers a wide swath of the game, as it pertains to playing your character. How it FEELS when you get hurt and more over how it feels as you heal. (Here's a clue. It HURTS). It covers a vast amount of intricacies that are merely glossed over in other books. Going into amazing detail. What does it FEEL like to have rage? How does it express itself? What's it feel like to channel that rage and use it? What does Gnosis feel like? How does it feel to regain it? How does pregnancy affect a garou mother? How do different tribes treat their lupus? How do they treat their metis? How does growing up Metis affect the mindset of the character? All these questions and many more are broached.

Some of us have been playing this game for 20+ Years and some of us have played out these aspects,but in this book they become CANON. And it's Amazing. I cannot describe the amount of validation reading this book has given. So many things that had to be extrapolated, and assumed are now canon.

I can't reccomend this book enough. It should be required reading for people that wish to play garou. It goes into Packs as well. Different dynamics. It goes into how the garou deal with spritis and 'why' rites work.

It would be a deal at twice the price.

As a side note, there are a few aspects that might anger people. Sexuality is addressed and in any conversation about sex, you know SOME people are going to freak. There are some things that make people jumpy. More over there are some things presented that would make you blink. As the war for Gaia winds to a conclusion (Gears up? Winds down? Both at once?) you will see things at both end of the spectrum. Some septs.... might for example kill every metis born. Others.. may be in such need for warriors, any warriors that they turn a blind eye to metis production, because a Garou is a garou and every one is needed. In such cases the book presents the standard, meaty center of the bell curve, but often presents both sides as well. Those that deviate from the norm. Some of those deviations may fit in your games. Some may not.

The book gives you the choices to include them should you wish.

Great book from cover to cover. if I could give it a 10 out of 5 I would.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Changing Ways
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Translation Guide
by Anton G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2017 17:33:34

If you're a die-hard fan of Demon: the Fallen like I am, and practically had a heart attack when you saw that this was getting made, then let my words spare you the coronary: this thing's a bust. What we have here is a valiant, but ultimately slap-dash attempt to construct a translation guide that instead comes across as an incredibly one-sided and imbalanaced. It pains me to write this, as there are some solid things going on in the book, and some neat ideas in play, but Onyx Path simply didn't put in the effort necessary to make this what it needed to be. There is a lot to say, but I'll keep my critique to three main points.

  1. Poor organizaition: The TG attempts to give fluid rules for porting characters between systems, but unfortunately ends up creating a slurry of information, where Descent info blends together with Fallen info, making it hard to keep the two separarate. In addition, there are some strange redundancies with some things, particularly Merits (Pacts are still listed as a Merit, but that Merit has been replaced by the Thrall Merit, which is itself difficult to find). Further, none of the Lores have explicitly spelled-out dice pools, and attempting to decipher which Attributes and Skills are needed for each is tedious and inefficient. Overall, the book shoud have been organized with greater distinction.

  2. A lot of missing data: the TG covers character conversion and basic powers, but says nothing about some of the most critical systems from the old game, such as empowering Thralls, rituals from the old Player's Guide, or rules for exorcism and the devouring of demons by their peers post mortem. These missing pieces of info make attempting to run D: tF with the new rules incredily frustrating, as players have fewer rescources to give their characters, and STs will be left struggling to help their players complete common demon-related tasks.

  3. The Apocalyptic Powers: possibly the most infurating part of the whole book, instead of going through the Demon Player's Guide and methodically converting each power for the sake of clarity and conciseness, and perhaps altering or trimming some away to keep things clean and efficient, OP instead opted to simply convert some powers and treat the rest as rebranded versions of powers from D: tD. This causes a host of redundancies as well as some bizarre alterations to the designs of some powers that in no way mirrors their orginal function or intent, and can potentially derail a character concept. This is the most egregious sin, for not only does it make porting a character over incredibly messy, but it undermines Fallen in favor of keeping Descent at the fore, and makes it seem as though OP is putting Fallen in the backseat in favor of highlighting Descent.

In conclusion, the Demon: Translation Guide is a competent work, and the rule conversions therein are a fitting update for bringing Fallen into the CoD system, but its glaring flaws and poor organization make it difficult to use at best, and an absolute nightmare at worst. I leave here an open statement to the staff at Onyx Path:

Dear Mss. and Messrs.,

I understand that creating works like this is a monumental undertaking, and your efforts must not be overlooked, but if you want to create something that fans will appreciate, and more importantly buy, you must ensure that the necessary effort is put into it. If this means putting more writers on the project, prolonging development, or even making a Kickstarter page for it, then do it, because I guarantee that a legion of loyal patrons and fans like myself are ready and willing to contribute to see the game we love so much be reborn, and you will enjoy both critial praise and financial sucess in the long-run.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Translation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tomb of Dreams an Exalted 3rd Edition Jumpstart
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 22:43:35

A solid introduction to the Exalted setting. Modules like this are sorely needed in the Exalted catelog. I hope we get more



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of Dreams an Exalted 3rd Edition Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Pugmire: Thank You, Darcy Cat
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 22:31:54

This audio drama is a great window into the world of Pugmire. The production values are superb for the cost of the item. The character of Darcy cat was compelling and the story should inspire others to new adventures in the world of Pugmire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire: Thank You, Darcy Cat
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 19:30:12

This is a neat collection of Artifacts for Exalted 3E. There are some very cool weapons and armour, and I haven't really even delved into the section on Warstriders yet. A couple of disappointing things, which for the record aren't things that were done poorly, just things that I had hoped for from the book that aren't present.

  • There are only 5 artifacts that aren't weapons or armour, 7 if you include the two vehicles. EDIT - There are also quite a few hearthstones as well as 5 "natural magic" items, so this point isn't accurate.
  • There's no errata or updates for the artifacts from the core book. I was really hoping for an update on Dauntless, the 5 dot armour, as it really doesn't hold up to 5 dot standards at all - especially the essence 3 evocation, Champion's Fatal Strike.
  • There's about one page of info on creating custom evocations, which pretty much boils down to "make it feel like a combination of the wielder and the artifact's personality, and don't ressurect the dead or enable time travel." This is a little disappointing, as I was hoping for more help on the technical side of balancing artifacts, but I guess the rest of the book helps with that just through providing a large number of examples.

That said, there are some very cool weapons and armour included in this book, including some that I would be afraid to let my players get ahold of due to their sheer game-warping power, and that's speaking from an Exalted standpoint. Also, some neat examples of providing new mechanics, although those frequently boil down to an extra type of "fuel" to track for that particular artifact. Still, some fun ideas. Whether or not you buy this is pretty simple - are you planning on playing Exalted, and do you want more artifact selection than the core book offers? If so, buy this. Don't buy it if you're just looking for more setting info. There's a little of that in here, but not much beyond talking about magical materials, and the strange places that some artifacts come from. There is a neat page-long story written from the perspective of an Abyssal, though, that was cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 05:12:55

This is an ok supplement for Vampire the Dark Ages, with a decent simplified/condensed version of rules and character creation though I felt the startup adventure, whilst interesting, was fairly basic. There were some interesting NPCs, some interesting ideas though the layout for the jumpstart adventure chapters was a bit unforgiving for less experienced storytellers (though perhaps ideal for veterans). You can read my full review on the following link https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/12/04/legacy-of-lies-a-vampire-the-dark-ages-jumpstart-chronicle/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Monarchies of Mau Early Access
by David V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2017 15:15:47

Mechanically sound, and clever in many aspects, but I have to say I'm dissapointed in the lore. I'm tired of the old cliche of "Cats view Humans as their worshippers", when both modern behavioral science and any cat lover will tell you this is not true. Cats view their owners as their parents. Giant, non-hostile, super powerful cats who nurture them and take care of them. The relationship between us and our furry friends is much more parent and child.

So to see the tired old "oh, selfish cats, of course they view man as being their servants" just made me sigh. You could easily have kept the arrogancy/heresey of the cats compared to the dogs in Pugmire, by having them view themselves as being Man's chosen inheritors. "Of course we are meant to control the world, we're their choscen descendants! They groomed us as their children!"

But I digress, the rest of the product is solid, and if that part doesn't bother you like it does my cat loving gamer group, it's a great purchase.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monarchies of Mau Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 17:12:32

While I may have initally knocked off half a point simply for the 'non-stop' layout of the new artifacts in this book, I really can't bring myself to give it less than five stars. The care and attention that's clearly been lavished all the way through, from the writing to art-work, is a pleasure to read. Bursting with lore, plot-hooks and some of the most thoughtfully crafted 'magical items' I've had the pleasure of perusing in just about any gaming system I've played. This book is an inspiring read and a must for Ex3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2017 09:03:45

Really fantastic book which gives players a slew of fun toys to play around with and inspiration for the players to create their own. The weapons all have really awesome Evocations, even at the base level. I still haven't looked as much into the trinkets and armor but what I saw tickled my fancy.

Of course the big selling point is warstriders that are actually both really freaking badass as well as actually playable. More to the point while they are powerful, they're not invincible. They offer players a way to fight similarly massive foes, a way to make a foe or battle more memorable/difficult, or a focus for an entire campaign.

All in all, very much worth the price and I can't wait for the rest of Exalted 3e's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 22:14:29

The book is broadly divided into several sections, covering weapons, armor, hearthstones & miscellaneous items, and warstriders.

I found the book to be an exciting and engaging read. It took me a few pages to warm up to the weapons, but by the time I got to the armor section I was sold. The Warstrider section blew me away.

What I liked most was that the book didn't just provide weapons for killing and armor to prevent being killed - it showed how artifacts could be turned to other purposes beyond their obvious functions, and it did so in interesting and mechanically satisfying ways. The Warstriders chapter sets the gold standard for the book.

An absolute must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 875 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG