Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
V20 Dark Ages Companion
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 02:45:36

I got the PDF as soon as it was available and will be purchasing the print copy once the errata is included. I would categorise this book as a useful supplement, but not a necessary one. I particularly liked the elements to do with Domain Building, including expanded backgrounds and the streamling of combat (which always felt overly dice heavy). The clan apocrypha, particularly the nosferatu apocrypha, was very interesting. I wrote a full review on the following site https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/05/24/v20-vampire-the-dark-ages-companion-review/

If you don't have time to read my conclusion is as already stated. Useful, but in no way necessary to a game. If you enjoy Dark Ages setting and you have the cash, it is a worthy addition



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
by Sandra H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2017 17:11:12

This book is my first gaming book purchase. I absolutely love the artwork and the story-telling. The mechanics are easy to understand and follow for new and experienced gamers alike. I love the way the world is explained.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Muriel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 14:08:55

Amazing! <3 I am totally in love with the game system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
by Jesse S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 22:19:46

Awesome, good quality and super useful. Thanks for making these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

W20 Shattered Dreams
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 12:54:33

Very disappointed by this book.

Pro - excellent art, interesting history, some expanded info on the Camazotz, and detailing of the War of Dragons. The included chronicle looks like a fun romp through time to stop the ascension of Night-Master. The War of Dragons gives good information about that previously undetailed time when Mokole ruled the world.

Con - Virtually no new crunch content, except for chapter 4 and 5, and that's just five rituals for the Camazotz and very bare info for making characters in the time of dinosaurs. This history book offers no useful content for most people. Unless a group chooses to set a campaign 30,000 years ago, this book will be of minimal value. New enemies, gifts, rites, famed people of those eras as ancestors, or anything usable by a pack in the current day would have made this book much better.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Shattered Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2017 00:38:21

I bought this interested in expanding my own ST library / V20 array of items, and partly to see what V20 did with bloodlines like the Baali or Kiasyd (I wish bloodlines like the Noiad might be options, but those can be fairly easily house ruled).

In that, this book did not disappoint. For fans of the earlier lore, there are plenty of references to help Vampire players get into V20 like a pair of favorite jeans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Scion: Frost Giant Butt Warriors
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 14:29:27

I tend to click on free things and download them without paying to much attention so it was when I started to read this that I first saw the image on the front. As an old Scion GM who appreciates off beat humor, I really enjoyed ... well ... whatever this was. I enjoyed it so much that I read it to my girlfriend who proceeded to tell me that she's glad I didn't run more Scion for her. If you're not put off by blatant innuendo and sexual humor, pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Frost Giant Butt Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2017 06:59:01

Lore of the Bloodlines is an excellent addition to any Vampire ST's library. There are both new and old elements here that will make you appreciate the book. From new merits, new flavor, and new disciplines, you are gaining something, no matter what your style of game is like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: the Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2017 06:07:50

Absolutely amazing. It's everything I hoped for and more with a 20th Anniversary Edition of Changeling. It has everything you could need to run a game of Changeling the Dreaming, and it just works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

W20 The Song of Unmaking
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2017 22:26:06

I seriously did not want to put this book down. It has a quality similar to the tribe novels, albiet in a more compact form. Shorter isn't a bad thing though, as the auther paced the story progression well. The dynamics that made the novels based on Werewolf the Apocalypse so enjoyable to me are all there in sufficient details without dragging out and slowing down. The interplay of werewolf society, mysticism, and the raw power. All of it is there.

More importantly, the author displayed their creativity and skill in telling the story. I had my guesses as to how the story would end and what the final events would be, but when it happened I was suprised. Yet at the same time I thought to myself, "Of course, that makes perfect sense." It was a very satisfying conclusion to a very satisfying book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 The Song of Unmaking
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Dawn of Heresies
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2017 19:55:57

Dawn of Heresies was a surprisingly good novel, and if I have any complaint it's that the story flew by so quickly. The book actually intercuts three fast paced smaller stories: a contemporary pair of cultists trying to pick up the pieces of a barely survived tragedy with their distant, yet somehow maternal, Arisen patron; the rebirth and evil adventures of their Shuankhsen enemy; and flashes of the very distant past, in what appears to be a related, but moreover pre-historically significant, series of events that may have led to the original Rite of Return. Cannon??? Since I don't have an encyclopedic knowledge of the Mummy: The Curse rules and game dynamics, most of the world building seemed accurate and appropriate, not to mention exciting and well-crafted. Though there was a small issue regarding how the Shuankhsen operated and spoke about his own creation, it never interfered with the reality (or fantasy) of the overall story. The uses of affinities and utterances were creative, if not infrequent, and the overall mission of the undeniable protagonists was worth turning the next page for. Overall, I would have preferred a bit more character development, as well as a longer epilogue (or epilogue type passage). This is definitively an adventure, and an easy read, but an equally definite page-turner. Totally worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dawn of Heresies
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2017 14:49:10

The wyld behemoth is pretty sweet and the doppleganger is an interesting enemy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Adversaries of the Righteous: The Broker and Ifraja the Librarian
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2017 15:04:43

There are two characters on offer here. The first is a Sorcerer with a couple interesting mechanical bits and bobs (new spell and shaping ritual). However, he's ultimately nothing special, and even his best tricks are going to be fairly useless as a challenge for even starting PCs. I don't just mean in combat, here. I mean he's a total pushover and will be a mere speedbump in any contest with a party of Exalted.

The second is a generic information broker who stepped out of a generic 80's fantasy novel. He's bland, he comes with no itneresting plot hooks, and his stat block could be created by a novice ST in about ten minutes. He doesn't even have the virtue of neat mechanical bits and bobs. The only challenge he will pose for PCs is the debate about whether to simply beat information out of him, or scare him half to death with a single intimidation roll.

To call either of them "adversary" is disengenuous at best. Give these a pass unless you are really hard up for NPC ideas.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous: The Broker and Ifraja the Librarian
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2017 14:55:05

The two beasties provided in this booklet are simply not worth the money. The Ghost's dice pools are quite high for its purpose, and the Behemoth will probably destroy your average PC Circle of Solars. The Ghost is an easy fix; the Behemoth has interlocking mechanics that make fixing it a tear-down job.

While I'm all for tweaking material to suit a group's needs, these diverge significantly from the material and tone with the rest of the game, and I don't think it was worth the money. I can find plenty of great ideas on the internet for free and then pour hours into the mechanics.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

W20 The Song of Unmaking
by Anna R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2017 15:40:51

World of Darkness, and especially Werewolf the Apocalypse novels aren't uncommon. However, one issue they all tend to share is a very varying view on the setting. While minor omissions and mistakes can be forgiven, there are times that the novels' world does not match the Werewolf-setting enough for the reader to understand things in context.

This is not the case with Song of Unmaking. The book takes pains to include things important to the Werewolf the Apocalypse setting and make sure they all matter. The Litany is there, Rank among the garou is there, as are challenges. The reader can easily use their knowledge of the setting to understand the gravity of each scene and the politics present in the sept the story is set at.

However, if the book was just accurate to the setting, it would at max get three stars from me and mostly because setting accuracy is so rare. But Song of Unmaking is also a good story, using the setting material masterfully to craft the story, rather than be hindered by it.

The motif of the novel is loss of a loved one and how grief can drive a person to do awful things. Both One-Song and Czajka have spent years trying to escape their grief in unhealthy ways, and both have to face their faults by the end. The novel does not point fingers on either, however, instead showing how one can heal from their trauma. Or how toxic people can make use of your loss to their own ends.

In the end, even if the book has a lot of violence and gore, the Unmaker and how it is defeated are both spiritual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 The Song of Unmaking
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 774 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG