Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Arms of the Chosen
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 22:26:06

Absolutely love this. The rules for artifacts are a huge improvement over the Core Rulebook. Artifact armor, which I found a little lackluster in the main book, is actually quite thematic and useful now. And the weapons (Stormcaller) are terrifyingly powerful.

Most exciting are the new rules for Warstriders. IMO they are everything that they should be; expensive, powerful, awe-inspiring, but not game-breaking. It also provides some rules for siege weapons, which is nice.

Overall a great addition to 3E.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 23:36:53

A Decent Jump Start and Good Storyteller’s Aid

I purchased Yours to Keep as a pdf. My goal was to compare an official scenario against the idea I wanted to run. What are the expectations of a freehold? What kind of NPCs and conflicts work? What might I be overlooking as I plan a different game? Those were covered really well.

As a standalone adventure, Yours to Keep features plenty to explore and plenty of NPCs to meet along the way.

I regrettably have a couple of concerns. First, the start of this adventure can require the kind of buy-in that some groups won't deliver. Many players will jump on it, but some may not. Without that buy-in, a storyteller may need to really play up a crucial NPC or two. The storyteller can also focus on the the potential for rewards.

Second, there is a wonderful sidebar on page 20 entitled "Instant Dice Pools." Elsewhere, there are short stat blocks for the NPCs. The sidebar and the stat blocks share no common language. I advise taking a moment before your game to match up how “excellent,” “good,” and “poor” in the stat blocks relate to “master,” “dedicated,” “seasoned,” and “average” in the sidebar.

Once you’ve aligned the sidebar and the npc stat blocks, you will also have a fast, useful system for making your own quick NPCs.

Yours to Keep gives you a lot of brief NPC descriptions, a good story with an idea for how Changeling society works, and a brisk overview of the general Changeling setting The five player characters are fully fleshed out and ready for use with the core rulebook. The five player character sheets are each three pages long, fully fleshed out, and ready to play using the core rulebook as well. The NPCs and working example of Changelings in action make for a very valuable resource. This book has some rough spots, but still makes for a great storyteller's resource.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by GEORGIOS M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 05:59:49

I ordered the premium and it came with a minor flaw. On the top side of the book where the pages are glued together, there is some glue spilled over and damaged the upper corner of the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by Talon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 00:35:48

This is a fantastic book. It's one of the best "Art of..." books I've ever seen for an RPG line, and I'm not just saying that as a former White Wolf production intern and sometimes illustrator (alas, never for this iteration of MAGE). Most RPG art collections do just that: they collect artwork, artwork that, if you're a fan of that particular game line, you're likely already pretty familiar with. This volume certainly does that, but it surrounds that artwork with really interesting information not just about the art, but about the individual artists that created it, and about the creation of Mage The Ascension as a whole. Phil Brucato gives us an insightful and entertaining insider's look at how the game was created, including a step-by-step breakdown of the production and publishing process (ah, I remember it well), and tells some fun stories about his days at White Wolf along the way. What's more, the art isn't just randomly placed throughout the book, it's organized by artist, with an introduction to each that puts each artist's work in context. This focus really makes M20: The Art Of Mage feel like a personal journey. It becomes about the artists themselves and the creative spirit that they brought to the game as much as its about the art, and that's something I, as an artsit, really appreciate. Reading this book, you get the sense that Brucato feels very deeply for this material and has a great love and reverence for the artwork that graced its pages. One gets the feeling that the art of Mage: The Ascension played as important a role in the game as the words. And, again, as a former White Wolf illustrator, that notion warms my heart. It's a wonderful feeling to know that we bring something other than just simple decoration to the books and products we help create. Well, done, Phil (or is it Satyros, now? Whichever, you're still awesome).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Storyteller Screen
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:44:42

Useless for me since I was looking for a simplified step by step version of the combat rules



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Storyteller Screen
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:29:34

CtD is a really good game. Its elements and themes are very powerful and flexible. This game can be a lot of really interesting things.

The previoius edition was a mechanically a bit awkward compared to the other 20A books that had been released. I was really hoping for an updated game that would play friendly with the current crop of 20A books like Vampire and Werewolf.

This is it. Its exactly what I needed. Nothing WoD is ever perfect, but this iteration of the game fits together very well with the other games. Its much more playable IMO. I really like the changes. Even the parts that I don't love to death are at least better than they were. Its nothing but improvements for this edition. I'm really happy with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
by Leonard O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 13:08:31

I've had this book for years, and it's still one of the best third party supplements of it's kind- highly recommended both for The Scarred Lands, or just to drop into your own homebrew game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 05:53:11

Of all the world of darkness products I own, and games that I play, this is by far my favourite setting and book. I have not much experience with previous editions so I cannot comment on how it differs, so I can only say that I liked the background material, I liked the volume of in game content available in this book and I really liked the art. I did a full review over on my website if you want to see more of what I had to say. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/10/16/vampire-the-dark-ages-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Fanfare for the Chosen: An Exalted 3rd Edition Music Suite
by Kevin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 16:12:56

I think the music in this suite is beautiful. The one thing is if it is for use in game scenarios to exude atmosphere for a certain Exalted, then unffortunately the songs are too short. My only other complaint is that I am not very computer literate, it makes it difficult to open because I cannot open it through Windows Media Player, but rather use the backdoor enterance which means that my computer will not open the first song and then play through the rest. If there is a way to put it in Windows Media Player, please let me know. If there was a way, then I would enjoy the album more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fanfare for the Chosen: An Exalted 3rd Edition Music Suite
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 19:35:37

at almost 700 pages, this is a massive tome, beautifully printed and lovingly illustrated. if you are a fan of the series, this is worth spending a bit extra to get the high quality print. contains core rules, examples of play, details for both traditions and technocracy mages, magic references, and tons and tons of lore and histories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 13:59:59

This is one of the most haunting, beautiful and poingent of all the White Wolf/Onyx Path's publications and certainly one of the most beautiful RPG's ever published. This latest edition is Changeling's finest hour. I recommend this often over looked RPG to everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 08:20:13

A good game clearing written for young adults and novice roleplayers. It features a seriously slimmed down take on the Fifth Edition SRD, and a level cap of 10. The setting is charming if a bit shallow. The writing is simple, with the author talking in the first person to the audience; this serves the purpose of making the text more affable but also a bit condescending. The two "social commentary" digressions are an apology for the use of the gender-neutral "Man", and a reminder that love isn't constrained by gender or species. Both of these are wholly unncessary and rather tedius, to be honest, especially in this day and age.

Although a young adult game, actual adults can clearly enjoy it as well. It would be especially entertaining diversion from other games, perhaps as a series of loosely interlinked one-shots. Unless you're playing Werewolf: The Acronym, this is great alternative for playing anthropomorphic characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 20:00:12

Nearly Flawless

This is a review of the digital book, purchased on the day of its release.

Things to love: In order:

The opening story is simultaneously the last thing one would expect from Changeling while also very perfectly written. The book balances narrative and rules layout with more finesse than expected.

Naturally, the art is gorgeous. Some of it is recognizable from earlier books but no less effective for it.

Changeling 20th Anniversary presents a very updated Metaplot. This is very different from Vampire 20th Anniversary offering a pick-and-choose approach to world events. In this book, the meta plot feels distant enough to justify story options rather than diminish them.

Rule updates are exciting. The updated Paths to Epiphany provide a great set of options for gaining Glamour/ Unleashing presents a new way to use Glamour. Changelings feel more like their own creatures and less like creatures who must always feed. Nightmare and Bedlam systems are now intertwined. Both, put together, become a mroe focused mechanic than 2nd edition rules. Descriptions for the Scene and Time realms err on the side of verbose, yet end up much clearer than the last edition.

Three kiths and some houses from prior source books are now folded into the core Kithain: Selkies (The Toybox), Piskies (Fool’s Luck), and Clurichaun (Court of All Kings). Sidhe are divided by Arcadian and Autumn, which reflects the expanded plot. True to form with the 20th Anniversary line, the last 120 pages of the main text provide a wealth of other character types. Antagonist characters and rules are provided first, then Gallain and Inanimae. Once the rules are concluded, the book finishes with a roughly 30 page list of Kickstarter backers, a comprehensive 19 page index, then a two page character sheet.

Three separate character sheets are also included with the purchase: A static 2 page sheet is availble for printing. An interactive 2 page sheet and an interactive 4-page sheet allow you to fill in values in Acrobat Reader. Layers such as background images can be turned off in the core rulebook and the static character sheet.

Downsides: A decorative header font has difficult capital letters. The word “Grumps” looks like “Trumps” in those headers, and it’s easy to trip on “Quests” or any word beginning with the letter L. Page 150 has text stating that Selkies can turn into “a sea or sea lion.” Selkies turn into seals or sea lions.

Conclusion: As always, the 20th Anniversary books are a loving compilation of prior resources and a treat to long time players. Character options from across the previous edition are presented in one place. The incredible number of character options, updated rules and background, and even the price made this an absolute delight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Candace P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 17:47:36

Absolutely loving Pugmire. Going to let hubby (who I bought it as a gift for) give review:

I love idiosyncratic games. I love games that fill niches I didn't know I had. I love games that take an idea and make magic out of them. Pugmire is all of those things. I'm aware that Pugmire uses something similar to 5e D&D rules, but to be honest I'm enjoying being introduced to some of those mechanics this way rather than in 5e D&D. Why? Because this world feels perfect with the rules. How do you build a breed? Based off of the role the breed fills. That's how you fit hundreds of different possible breeds (and mutts!) in. Classes? I love the names and the variants. Currency? Plastic coins?? Delightful!

The setting itself is a slice of wonderful. Sort of like Numenera in that it's post-mankind, but not so...serious. The game focuses not on the eternal struggle of good versus evil or the struggle to survive, but instead it focuses on being a Good Dog. If you were a Bad Dog once, you can always be a Good Dog again. It may or may not have been your fault. You may have been given a raw deal in life or you may come from privilege and eat from the finest dishes. You may be educated or you may be a wild dog. But you can always, always, find your way to being a Good Dog. It's beautiful. It's simple. It's elegant. And because it wraps that ethos in the form of dogs, it's easier to get to the core of the matter. You don't get tangled up in human complications when you're playing a bunch of Good Dogs.

This is the sort of game that touches the part of me who still enjoys Disney movies as an adult, the part that loves my own furbabies, the part of me that cries at Old Yeller and gets a little choked up when dogs in movies survive disasters. The part of me who felt for the Rats of NIMH, and has had no problem identifying with dogs in any other media.

And the monsters...Like I said, the setting is Numenera-ish, and without giving anything away I think they found clever ways of fitting posthumanity technology in without ruining the aesthetic. At the same time magic appropriate to the setting is equally present. And if you don't like the posthumanity technology angle, just ignore it. It's a neat idea but it's not absolutely REQUIRED. But it's all awesome. I'll definitely be snapping up the next few products that roll out, as well as the Monarchies of Mau (my wife won't forgive me if I don't get a game that lets you play as cats)

Is it Furry? Well it has a wagging tail and a damp nose, so...eh. Maybe. But it's not necessarily a Furry game. It's not about that. Remember: It's about being a Good Dog.

Be the Good Dog you were always meant to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 06:38:56

I've never played Changeling before, nor read the rules set for it (though am an avid fan of other WOD products) so when this became available to kickstart I was more than happy to do so. I recieved the backer PDF a while ago and read it, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading it was a bit daunting at first but I persevered and encountered so many cool new aspects of the World of Darkness, so I recommend this to any WOD fan -either as a game in its own right, or as an almost monster manual for any of the other WOD products. I wrote a fullr eview on my website, which you can read HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 859 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG