Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 21:45:06

I really enjoyed running this module. While it is a little light on actual roleplay, it offers plenty of opportunities for players to engage in creative problem solving. The fact that the characters enter the mission without a definite way out lends a bleak air to the module, that really pushes some groups to get all of the VIPs as soon as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:51:51

This is the combat module of the 3. The first encounter is rough, particulary if you split the party (or if they split themselves). The second one is very difficult. This is what I would expect from a tier capstone, similar to the big bad of Hartkiller's Horn



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:34:47

IMO, the weakest of the trillogy. I have been running this at 1 1/2 hours, mostly roleplay. I love that the focus is on RP and Exploration, and the mudslide has been enjoyable. Other than that, the module is forgettable



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:33:19

Fun Module! most of my players have enjoyed it, both as a non-combat heavy module and dino racing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:24:08

Nice to see a 5 mini for T2. The module has a little bit of everything, with some chances to use non offensive magic, more crowd control basis. Overall, a good intro to Chult and T2



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:05:52

Wow! It was my first Tier 2 as a n00b DDAL DM. IMO it required quite a bit of prep time to get the timelines/story/scenarios down, but it ran wonderfully. No matter how much I prepared, my players did something different which was exciting. The whole story unfolds at the table - a great opportunity to get to know your players (for better, or sometimes for worse...heh).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:01:39

An excellent module with plenty of RP fun, a hunt, a few exciting encounters with hostiles. Quite a bit of material to digest, but if you know it well, it flows wonderfully.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Jacob M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 10:18:57

I (DM) and my PCs really liked the sluthing and mystory of this module. I added some extra flavor to it in order to suit the campain but in general, this was great. Players specificly commented on how much fun it was for them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 08:25:35

I really enjoyed running the race in this adventure. That mechanic added somthing more than just the combat that most adventures offer



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2017 16:09:12

Whispers in the Dark is a really interesting and dangerous module that throws challenges at both the DM and players.

My only real critique is that this is a module needs some smart prep to keep it under 2 hours. Between the complications that occur during the puzzle solving and the potentially brutal fight in the fane below, I spent almost 3 hours on this mod. I did not want to cut it short because it was my favorite in The Jungle has Fangs Trilogy and the fights were really interesting.

I would suggest that if you're DMing this mod, to think about the way you balance the amount of zombies that flood out from the city toward the obelisk: Too much will mire your party in combat dragging out the puzzle solving and subsequently your total play time, too little and your players will keep trying to fight their way out. This fight became deadly for my group and they used up quite a bit of their utility upstairs before the big fight. They ended up begging for a short rest after getting into the Fane. I would recomend 1 or 2 zombies from a random side of the map per round. They have a considerable health pool so they are almost unkillable in a single round for tier 1 players. 1 or 2 should be enough to give the players impetus to solve the puzzle without over encumbering them.

The Fane of the Fang is an amazing setting for the final battle. The Queen is an imposing challenge and the most interesting boss I've had the chance to run as a DM which could account for the foundation for my excitement. DMs should get to know her spells befor running, some are pretty neat and rarely seen. Also the majority are concentration so watch your overlap. She also has legendary actions so get brushed up on how they work if you don't know already. I would advise throwing in a second enemy just to take some of the inital blows even if its a very low CR Yuan-ti. You may want to be prepared to force some of the Queen's dialogue. Think about it like a villain in a Bond movie that tells 007 their whole evil plot right before they inevitably escape. Will add some drama and roleplay to an otherwise combat heavy and intense module.

Really loved the trilogy and this module in particular. My players enjoyed the puzzle/combat and the challenge of the fight with the Queen. As a DM it was a blast to run.

P.S. I am ignoring completely the rediculous and uncharacteristic "betrayal" that was written for Wadumu. Writing Wadumu as some kind of cunning trickster is utterly pointless. Not to mention his motives for "tricking" the players are mostly altruistic. He just wants to save his people from being murdered by Yuan-ti! I suggest instead, having Wadumu show the characters the exit in the snakes mouth at the end of the encounter and allowing for a heart felt goodbye. It will make so much more sense to your players. Alternatively, you could have him just bolt during the fight through the snake's mouth and cast him as a coward which makes a bit more sense then the way it was written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2017 14:22:24

A Walk in the Park is mostly a filler module for the trilogy, The Jungle has Fangs, it's plagued by little issues that amount to a generally forgettable experience, but can be saved through a bit of preparation by the DM.

My first issue with this mod as it introduces the emerald enclave to the party rather than continuing with Soggy Wren and the Harpers as A Day at the Races leaves you. It is unclear why Screaming Wind shows up out of no where. As a DM, you may want to stitch this connection by bringing in the co-operation between the factions in 07-01, A City on the Edge and say she was sent by Wren. In addition, you may also want to add hooks for Lords Alliance and Zhentarim while the characters are in the city too, that way they aren't blindsided by their involvement in Whispers in the Dark.

The fishing kids adds a fun mechanic, although losing 1-10g may not be enough to motivate the players to chase orphans through the street. If you're DMing and aren't constrained for time, have them actually steal more money or a critical item to inspire the players to chase (which leads them to the encounter with the thugs)

I found that the Satchel Shop will almost always devolve into a violent interogation as it's hard to believe that the shop's owner isn't involved in the illicit trade. Seperating the shop owner from the production of the goods and/or bringing Wadumu in sooner can help difuse any confrontations for you.

During the next part of the adventure I would add two additional dialogues with Wadumu. Maybe split up his story over the course of three nights, add to the build up/investment of the characters to help free this guy's village. Maybe even some grewsome details about how the Wanderlust is made could add some much needed hooks for the player. Wadumu will most likely be beloved and trusted implicitly because his cute frogginess and the gift of a magic item in the first 30 seconds of meeting him. However, the PCs will want to know more about him and it will help to add some more heart to the mostly mundane adventure.

Also, the mudslide encounter could use some time to prep and envision. The event lacks the kind of description of the scene and encounter mechanics that can leave the players confused.

The biggest missed opportunity is the lack of an antagonist. The blame rests solely on the faceless Yuan-ti threat. Having a named villian with some kind of personality and hooks to the direction of the Queen in Whispers in the Dark would help to tie the adventures together.

Over all, the adventure suffers from a few issues, but nothing damning. Mostly they are muddled plot points and missed opportunities that can be easily changed/enhanced by a DM that has more than 2 hours to run this mod. Wamumu really makes this adventure fun, try to capitolize on his energy and your players will walk away happy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2017 12:56:47

Really love the Trilogy! As a starting adventure for tier 1 play A Day at the Races delivers an interesting and different experience for players, but will require a creative and prepared DM to ensure a high caliber experience.

I like the diversity of the experience, the betting, the race and the battle; however, each could use a bit more flavor. The experience of this adventure is almost completely in the hands of the DM. Without the DM adding flair to the races--having to fill in mechanical flaws, describing a short series of checks to add drama and coming up with more detail to add to the extremely general winning conditions--this adventure will most often fall flat for the players.

I would suggest any DMs prepping this adventure to reuse or reference mechanics from 07-01's race to fill in the gaps, especially with the final stretch of the race.

I also prepped some bookie/betting tickets to add some flair to the first part. If I had more time to prep I would have maybe made some ribbon tokens to give to each player in the second leg, as they have a gold value, and some scrabble type pieces to represent the bricks they fetch from the harbor to make the experience more tactile for the players.

In the final fight I maxed the encounter challenge as the players had no prerequisite combat. It also adds a more satisfying crunch to the finale with a better XP award for their mostly roleplay experience.

This is neatly wrapped in a 2 hour session. The timing for the module never really feels rushed as the DM holds all the sway on the pacing.

The Trilogy, The Jungle Has Fangs is great as a whole, a well paced hook to get new players invested in season 7.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2017 22:25:17

I DMd this module for 3 groups at Philly PAX Unplugged and we had a great time. The module has two main set pieces: the first part is a really well-integrated puzzle and battle. There is a real sense of suspense and increasing panic as the group realizes that fighting the enemy is futile. One group was very clever and made excellent use of the 20 ft monster movement to dash around towards the key puzzle components. The second part is a climatic battle with a legendary monster (for 3rd level).

Some tips:

  • To really heighten the sense of dread in the players, I spent a little more roleplaying time up front with Wudumu and the merchant prince to foreshadow the final battle. This is a great opportunity to use the relevant monster section in the Volo's guide to add really fine details to the coming encounters. Have the merchant prince describe the enemy, to his knowledge, especially 'snakes'. Let the party ask questions about the nature of their enemy. New players will enjoy the Yuan-ti mythology. On the way to the temple, have Wudumu tell the players a myth about Dendar the night serpent devouring the sun. Later on, when the players enter the temple, you can describe an waterfall image of Dendar being seeing devouring the sun for special effect!
  • The nightmare speaker has a wonderful special fear ability. I wrote down on an index card 'What is your greatest fear' and gave it to one of my players, unseen by the other players. One player, a cleric, wrote that his greatest fear was an absent and uncaring god. The nightmare played out perfectly: An image of Lathandar beckoning the player and then turning his back on him. Player rolled for insanity!
  • For stuck players, Wudumu should help with the puzzle. Don't let this part drag on. Add zombies to the map each round - at least 100 ft away for weak parties. This should make it explicitly clear to the 'fight everything' players that they need to solve the puzzle quickly.

Thanks for this excellent mod!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

ALQ3 A Dozen and One Adventures (2e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2017 22:19:27

Overall, I believe that this set has some potential for campaign use in an existing D&D campaign (or for conversion into another setting). While the information about the city of Muluk was not as fleshed out as I would have liked, the real gem are the "Dozen and One" adventures that are provided. These are loosely linked together and take characters from starting levels to higher (9th-12th). What I really liked about them were that they were a blend of traditional and non-traditional adventures that I think would provide some entrainment to the right kind of group that really gets into the role-playing aspect of the game- the "Boasting Game" was one of my favorites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ALQ3 A Dozen and One Adventures (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

H2 Thunderspire Labyrinth (4e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2017 22:15:46

This is the adventure I was playing when my foray into D&D 4th Ed. petered out. I don't think it was the system (I had fond memories of the games I played) but my group just started getting sidetracked with life and most of us weren't friends enough to keep the group going once the game started becoming less of a priority. I was a player in that game and we stopped about halfway through the duegar stronghold.

Currently, I am running this game (converted as a 5th Ed. adventure) and the group is having a blast. At the time of this review they have finished their battle with Chief Krand (it was a nail-biter of a battle that had everyone caught up in the suspense of the moment as they achieved victory from the brink of a TPK).

SPOILER: The only gripe I really have with this adventure is that it does not really give a good hook to get the party to attack the duegar stronghold (other than they are evil) even though it's a fourth of the adventure content. The main adventure seems to be the initial Bloodreaver assault and then focusing on the alliance between the gnolls and Paldemar. I'm not even sure if my PCs are even going to attack the duegar because it would seem to go against the wishes and laws of the Mages of Sarunn and their laws enforcing safe commerce for all in the Seven-Pillared Hall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
H2 Thunderspire Labyrinth (4e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3643 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG