Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Cory D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 19:44:04

Just got the POD ersion last week and finally had a chance to review, the pront is verry blurry amd some pges so blurry that it gives me a headache to read.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by john j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 19:34:37

It is a good module to introduce players to both 5th edition and Adventure league. Very combat focused. It would been better to run with both parts to provide a more balanced module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:36:45

It's been thoroughly discussed here, but Fire, Ash, and Ruin, as-premiered, falls flat on its face as a Tier 3 mod due to total lack of balance in the encounters.

The adventure states it is balanced for five level thirteen adventurers, yet throws a multitude of encounters at the party that do not even register on the encounter-difficulty-by-CR scale. Like, not even "Easy"--they should be nonexistent. This results in confusion on the parts of the players and the adventure rapidly devolves into a slogfest.

With heavy modification of the encounters I was able to present a reasonable number of encounters that each challenged the party to some degree, though I left the final encounter unmodified and, even having missed one of the earlier objectives, it ended up being a total cakewalk.

Were I going to run this again I'd end up combining the encounters even further into just three or four and tripling or even quintupling their CR's. I might also dramatically reduce the impact of the earlier objectives on the final fight. I feel that, as-written, a party a whole tier lower (five level 7's) would have little to no trouble completing this mod, which makes it a poor publication in my book.

Great themes and a fully fleshed-out setting redeem the mod for two stars. Typos in the descriptions are common, but you can describe the scenes in your own words--they're not tough to imagine.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:27:24

While these mods function well as an introduction to Port Nyanzaru's faction representatives and the city itself, some of the adventure lines suffer from poor descriptions that I found myself needing to smooth out or even rewrite altogether.

Run as a linear series of adventures, this module tells a fascinating story full of suspense and intrigue. Run separately, most of the adventures function as short and sweet excursions, though a couple of them do leave the party wondering "ok, but why do we care?" due to lack of greater context. The conclusion is great, and with a little bit of DM modification the storyline can flow very smoothly.

They do tend to run long, but that's no fault of 7-01.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:19:32

A Thousand Tiny Deaths is a very flexible mod, with potential to be a pointed welcome to dungeon delves for newer players or a monstrously oppressive needle-filled challenge for the more deserving.

I do find that, run strictly as-written, character deaths are very likely without a clever idea on how to address the titular environmental hazard. Most of my groups do come up with a creative way to avoid said hazard, however, which lets the dungeon play out as a smooth, interesting, and fun series of encounters culminating in a boss fight with great potential for roleplay, hilarity, and tension.

Definitely a big fan, though some DM intervention is required to keep it fun for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Gregg L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 08:25:15

I ordered the Print On Demand version and got it 2/12/18. Bashed corners due to inadequate packing when mailed (that's what happens with only a cardboard wrapper for protection), and the printing on my spine isn't centered well. I've requested a replacement, so we'll see how it looks when I receive it.

The binding is excellent, and the pages are thick and have a nice weight (but aren't glossy, like the newer rulebooks). While the print quality is good, it's far from perfect. Granted it's perfectly readable, but when you take a close look, you can easily tell it's a scan, since the text is not sharp, and the boxes images are in can have jagged lines since they were not scanned straight (although some pages fair better than others). Take a look at the full sized sample pdf and you'll know what to generally expect.

Be aware that while well organized, it's not as tightly written as modern rulebooks. For example, regaining hit points for resting has been left out (although it's in the Moldvay and Mentzer Basic books). Also, on page 102 it says you can't do two things in one round, and on the next page it says you can move your full speed and attack in the same round. There are many more examples, all thoroughly examined by the community, if you'd like to investigate.

It doesn't matter much to me though. I've spent the weekend going through it, and it's a fun read, especially to see what changes they made between it and older B/X/BECMI rulesets. I own the Moldvay Basic and Cook Expert box sets, and while I'm not sure anyone needs the extra stuff that's in the RC, it is nice to have if you want to experience the history of D&D. So if you want to own a hard copy of this ruleset, and have no interest in spending whatever absurd amount of money people are asking for an original copy, it's a no brainer...get it (4/5 for quality of scan and rules inconsistancies).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 01:39:36

4/5 I really enjoyed the unique characters. I felt the fights weren't tough. My group had a cleric and 2 paladins so the undead never really did stand a chance. The puzzles were more or less just roll a high enough int check. My group didn't have any int and it ended up taking longer then wanted. The encounters were all interesting and I really enjoyed it overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
by Greg K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 09:02:21

This was the first 5e adventure I played in back in 2014 at a con, DMed by Rodney Thomson. I've since run it as a DM. Both times its been great. The main scenarios (jail visit, assault on bandit camp) allow great opportunities for roleplaying, combat, and overall creative thinking. The key NPCs has just enough detail to let a DM fill them out. I'd have liked to see maybe 1 more sentence each on their personality, but what's there is a good start. The open-endedness might be challenging for newer DMs, but for players, its a great experience even for relative newcomers. I'd recommend 2nd level characters though.

Although it is loosly tied to the Tyranny of Dragons storyline, its easy enough to fold it into any campaign. And with minor edits, it doesn't need to even be tied to the Forgotten Realms.

As a player Rodney got us through this in our 4-hour slot. As a DM, we had more time, and the party took 5 hours. Even then I omitted the final Orc attack and just had the bandit meeting break-up based on player actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 07:16:56

A review of the Print On Demand Hardcover: The copy is excellent. Extremely readable, perhaps more so than original printings as the contrast between the background and the text is higher. Images are represtented well, though they're a bit more washed out than original printings. The cover is the only slight disappointment as the image is smaller than the cover and it is framed in black. Same goes with the backcover. However it feels solidly bound and the pages are nice and thick. A great copy if you don't want to shell out the $90 - $100 for a used copy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Nick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:50:41

Easily one of the most fun new character modules I've run. Each of the 5 parts featured varied enemies (undead, bandits, goblins, etc) as well as differing challenges (Puzzles, social challenges, combat).

A wonderful introduction to D&D and I look forward to running it for my players again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by James U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:32:24

I ran this module tonight and there are some major issues. I will not be running this again without some major tweaking. Issue #1-Maw demons: They have so few hit points ( even maxed out) and have such a low "to hit" that they are almost worthless at Tier3. As written, I could not possibly hit two of the characters in my party, even on a 20. Issue #2- "Why are we doing this": You start deep in the center of Chult with no explanation how you got there, no real reason for you to continue, no declaration of reward. The "quest giver" is a young red dragon. I made her start talking instead of attacking because my party would have killed her by accident, unless I "DM fudged" her hit points. Issue #3-The "boss fight" was a balor that supposedly needed to be severely weakened before fighting. No legendary or lair actions. I ran it without weakening the balor at all. The party killed it in less than 2 actions per character. I did not allow even a short rest during the mission. It is not that tough for Tier 3. Issue #4-Quasits. Five Quasits in bat form were the extra defenders for a lieutenant. The frightening presence DC 10 saving throw could not be failed by 4 of the 6 players even if they rolled a 1. It was a party that was well rounded. Rogue,Wizard,Life Cleric,Warlock, Paladin,and Trickery cleric/Rogue. Issue#5-(Spoiler)- There is no way to save the dragon's wyrmling (dragon's child). My party talked for 10 minutes about different methods of bringing it back. They decided against the high cost methods because "I think we can just kill the dragon if she attacks us" (They were correct). They tried Divine Intervention but it failed. I did not say anything during those 10 minutes. All in all, this module should be rated mid tier 2. As a DM, you will need to make reasons for the story to make it work.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:31:55

It adds a race that is different to the standard races, so it is a usefull addition to the core rules. Your Turtle has natural armour and weapons and a few quirks.

This alone makes it valuable.

It also adds a short adventure which can be useful when there is time to fill or you need something simple to run. I wouldn't go out of my way for it though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:28:01

City on the edge is a great introduction to the port and the faction leaders.

As always, simple one hour adventures that are easy for a new DM or player to get through.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:24:31

This module just seemed too short. There are ways the Dm can pad it out and options for the players to do more work, but if you follow the plot, it is over quite quickly.

It probably needed another encounter thrown in and a DM should consider adding something jungle related.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:22:19

This module is fun and different, but perhaps relies too heavily on the idea that there are dinosaur races in Port Nyanzaru. This was already dealt with in City on the edge, ToA hard cover and Peril at the Port so its really only going to spark the imagination of new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4139 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG