Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
by Preston H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:48:47

If it concerns you, I do spoil some of the endgame information of the module, so be warned.

I think this really is one of the best starting adventures for D&D. You get a town, a mystery, some wilderness exploration, and some not-too-big dungeon crawls. This being an older adventure for 1e, it will require some not insignificant fixes and tweaks. You'll need to figure out stats for NPCs like Father Abramo, Misha Devi, the evil monks, and others, and you'll need to make some serious tweaks to either the 1e spirit naga or the 5e spirit naga to make the final fight both fair and challenging. Fortunately, conversions do exist online that you can use to aid this process.

Additionally, the module probably will have more magic items than your players will know what to do with if you leave it unchanged. While I don't think you should excise them all, as I think even low level player characters should have a handful of interesting magic items in order to evoke excitement and awe at the world's magic, I would advise that one exercise a smidgen caution about how many items they leave in.

Finally, I remain wary of any module that recommends that a high level NPC tag along with the party, as Against the Cult of the Reptil God does with Ramne. However, when I ran the module I was able to simply leave Ramne out (well, the party found him dead, killed by the cult), and they were still able to successfully maneuver the lair of the reptile god. The module even has recommendations on what tweaks to make if the party goes without Ramne.

Overall, Against the Cult of the Reptile God is a great starting adventure, and I'd recommend it to any DM interested in taking the time to work with the module to make it function for 5e (unless you're running a game of AD&D, in which case you're good to go and more power to you). Make the module yours, and you and your party will have a good chance of having a great adventure with a little intrigue, a good heart, and plenty of adventure and danger!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by JEFFREY C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:30:12

I ran this for the first time a week ago and my party had a great time! I do appreciate that there was consequences for just going in and murdering everything and stealing all the treasure. The undead encounters are fun as well as the final room. The module is a bit more combat centric but people had a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:49:09

I really enjoyed this Tier 4 mod. My party, and I, thought the fights were a little lackluster, especially the end, but the flow of the adventure was well paced. I wish there were more (recent) tier 4 mods like this for AL.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:46:06

I really enjoyed running this for my table. Although I think the descriptions on how they got from one room to another, the encounters were amazing, the story was great, and my party had an excellent time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Anthony J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 19:12:46

This was my first AL Module I have ever DM'd. I really liked the ease of setup that was involved using the maps that this came with. The files were easy for me to use on Roll20 as a DM, and the storyline was easy enough to follow. I believe this module can kill parties that are overly cautious, when I ran it my group was a "Very Strong" Party and bum rushed through the Kobold caves so they never were in danger of getting sniped much. The final boss and his fireball did outright kill one PC (Lvl 1 PC) and knocked two others unconcious. For non-very strong parties, this module may have a very difficult ending if they don't spread out. Good module overall, I plan to run this again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 17:27:12

Took another group through this last night. I have been struck by how great this adventure is. It's an excelent start for Level 1 adventurers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 21:29:36

This particular module consists of five scenarios or "mini adventures". WotC seems to think each of those should run in about an hour each. In my experience, they take about an hour and a half to two hours each. The setup for the adventure overall focuses on the rantings of a madman. Somehow, the players realize he is actually prophesying, and they turn that into clues that lead to five separate scenarios. That felt really weak, but I ran with it anyway because, with a public group, we didn't really have time for an in-depth "session zero" to get the group together. I would have liked a better introductory hook.

The scenarios themselves vary. Without getting too far into spoiler territory, the first two felt too much alike: go to a farm and discover a mystery, then halfway resolve it by trying to be heroes. (That first scenario nearly led to a TPK - some of the demonically-affected creatures can present a significant combat challenge!) The third scenario felt even more disconnected from the overall storyline. However, I really liked running the fourth and fifth, and the reactions of the players (especially to scenario four) indicated that they really felt immersed: creepy stuff was happening and they had to work to figure out how to resolve things. 

Grabbing it and making it your own will allow you to deal with that rough setup, which is mostly just a problem in the way the AL set up this particular content. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend running this as an adventure. Think of these instead as five encounters (or maybe just the last two) that you can drop into your campaign to foreshadow some great evil stalking the world or just to set the tone with demons and undead and cultists. 



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:35:18

It is a great intro to the setting and world problems that are introduced in season 5. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures. I especially enjoyed the creativity of reimagined stat blocks for altered creatures, and some new ones not in the MM. I used some of them to liven up my SKT hardcover chapters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:32:03

This set of intro adventures I have mixed views of. They are decently written, but I feel like only the last one really sets the stage for what lies ahead this season. The others have a feeling of going out to rescue people that Darwinism might suggest should just be left to their fate, a comment (or others similar) I have heard a few times running this set.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:27:43

It is a good intro to the city of Hillsfar and what lie ahead for season 3. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures, though I found one can be a bit overwhelming and can punish the players a bit harshly considering it is something usually run for brand new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-01 Harried in Hillsfar (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:25:24

It is a good intro to the city of Mulmaster and what lie ahead for season 2. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them. Each one has its own quirk that challenges the players to prime them for full adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-01 City of Danger (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by David Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2017 08:23:08

It is a good intro to the city of Phlan and to how AL modules are written. The five mini adventures keep it short and make it easy to have players new to 5E and AL sit in on a quick game or two to see if it's something that interests them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 19:23:53

I ran this in a store and played it twice at a con. It is a pretty standard low level dungeon adventure with interesting mechanics. I love the traps and the names of some of the NPC weapons. Make sure the party has plenty of potions of healing because the final boss can easily TPK a party.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2017 19:11:48

I ran this four times at Origins and had a lot of fun with it. My players seemed to enjoy it as well. It is heavy on puzzles and the DM should be very careful about describing them. For example, if a door in the text is described with a golf ball size hole in the center, players will start looking for golf balls. DMs need to be aware that when reading the text to make sure they don't mislead characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 23:54:05

((spoilers below))

As puzzles go, this adventure has them and they're decent. The thinking on some of them are a little out of the box for some groups, so be prepared to either let them die, or push them forward.

It's great that it's tied into the Book adventure, but that unfortunately makes it a lame stand alone adventure. The group I ran it for had no idea they were going to be going into one of the most famous D&D modules following this, so that was quite fun as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2710 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG