Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » AAW Games » Reviews
Close
Close
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Snow White – Digital Art & Map Pack
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/13/2017 04:28:05

An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, I usually don\'t cover packages like this, but here, I consider it to be justified. This art & map pack consists of an archive containing no less than 1.2 GBs of high-res .tif files.

Upon unpacking the archive, you\'ll be presented with 3 general folders - one containing Snow White Artwork, one that features the cartography and one for the puzzles.

Let me elaborate: Inside the artwork folder, you\'ll find sub-folders for flora, fauna, items, locations and NPCs - including three variations of Catsle Morsain in fall, winter and summer, the stunning rendition of the water fall of Pondy Falls, the plants and weird animals of the haunted forest (including the smoking worm and the minitaur - not a typo, btw.) or the desktop-worthy rendition of a certain character\'s kidnapping.

Now Snow-White, in case you do not yet own this gem (Why not? Seriously, it is one super-amazing, unconventional and awesome mega-module!!), does feature some of the best cartography you\'re bound to see in either the 3.X or PFRPG-era - Tommi Salama delivers not only amazing top-down maps, we also get isometric maps of the complexes, from humble cabins to castle Morsain to dungeon-levels. And yes, the player-friendly iterations do not have the annoying keys or big secret door \"S\"-markers. Once again, all maps are presented in high-res .tifs, with two exceptions - the GM\'s maps of Morsain with the numbered key are presented as pdfs - and yes, one actually does feature the district map as well.

Finally, the module excelled by not only engaging the hands, but also the mind - there are a couple of simple, but fun puzzles within the pages of the module and if you want the representation of the graphics of both puzzles and solutions, you\'ll find these in the respective folder, depicted as .jpgs.

How much do you get? Well, over 100 files. Let that sink in. Yes, this book is a gorgeous beauty - and if you\'re looking for a way to drive that home via playing it online or want the art and maps for VTT purposes...well, this ought to do the trick. Now it should be noted that this is not required to run the module in the traditional manner...but those of us who\'re using a lot of tech to game will certainly appreciate this pack. It does what it says on the tin and delivers some truly amazing art and cartography. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snow White – Digital Art & Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Winter's Roar: Vikmordere Bestiary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/12/2017 04:39:55

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This bestiary, spawned as a stretch-goal to the \"Into the Wintery Gale\" mega-adventure, clocks in 62 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 57 pages of content, so let\'s take a look!

Sooo, I\'ve seen A LOT of bestiaries in my years of roleplaying. If you\'ve been following my reviews, you\'ll by now know that the one thing I bemoan most about the current editions of the game would be that the respective creatures don\'t have as much room to shine and be developed as they once had. Well, this bestiary does something interesting in that regard - each creature contained herein is depicted in a two-page spread - this means that, if you get the print copy, you can fold the stats to your side and show the artwork, contained on a hand-out-friendly second page to the players. That is a HUGE deal. Particularly when you consider that Mates Laurentiu\'s art for this book is frankly AMAZING. See that front cover? All those critters? Every artwork within these pages is of that quality. Yes, this is a beautiful book.

Which brings me to the second challenge this faces - I mentioned the lack of space current bestiary-formatting allows for creatures; the sheer size of statblocks means that there is not that much room to develop the flavor of a given adversary, which renders the fluff-writing an exercise in concise writing that is not an easy feat to accomplish. Speaking of statblocks -after more than 5 bestiaries and a vast array of other monster handbooks, it\'s hard to make creatures stand out. We all remember the point in 3.X when slapping a loosely-draconic theme on critters was en vogue...that reminded me of the time when comic books had monkey on the cover. I digress.

I know I\'m rambling, this is going somewhere. Bear with me. So, from a formal point of view, the creatures herein range from CR 7 to CR 16, spanning the reach of the levels the associated mega-adventure deals with. A crucial difference in comparison to similar Norse-themed bestiaries, however, would be that it is crafted to adhere, in style and theme, to the mythology woven for the people of the Vikmordere (hence the title) - in case you are not familiar with this culture, picture them as a thoroughly amazing cultural blend of Vikings and Norse culture with Native Americans. It may sound odd, but it works really well and puts a fresh thematic spin on the subject matter, one that maintains the feeling of being a clear love-letter to both. This is, in some cases, represented by the very nomenclature employed.

Take e.g. the undead revenant-like critter called Aptrgangr, two variants of which are provided (and YES, each of the them has its own statblock and its own full-color art): Lake aptrgangrs not only curse and befoul the bodies of water they\'re in, they may also release a snake from their bodies, constrict foes...but the interesting component here, to me, would be how they establish relevance: Sure, the fluff text talks about their effect and mythology, which is nice and dandy - but the snake provides a visual cue, a plot-device, if you will and a strong visual metaphor; the befouling of water represents a built-in narrative angle for the GM to use and the rest of the build retains combat-relevance. The land-version of the aptrgangr is more straight-forward, though the dark blades, quick coup-de-graces and familiars they gain ultimately mean that they may be fared more in direct combat - but, by virtue of familiar choices, they also retain a sense of foreboding, of omens, if you will. Oh, and rejuvenation.

Woe to any settlement that attracts one of the dread brunnmigi, grotesque fey that lair in wells, who use mimicry to lure their prey in and then drown the unfortunates, spoiling water with sadistic glee. In an age without ready access to running water, one of these predators can easily depopulate a whole thorp if not put in its place! Into these mythological and very real feeling anxieties are realities of the game skillfully woven in - take the elderfey, as an example: This being once was a druid, but one whose unabashed love of life ultimately corrupted him; not ready to accept the cycle of life and death, these beings are tied to a specific tree (which spells doom for them if it is destroyed) - and in order to retain the balance of life and death, they can implant trees in victims, having them grow in a rapid and disturbing pace from those that are unfortunate enough to cross their paths. You know that I like my fey dark and creepy - this one positively qualifies as nightmare fodder as far as I\'m concerned...and I mean that as a complement. It feels like it could have been drawn from mythology.

Or let me talk about the Fafnir dragons - hunted as abominations by their kind, these beings are shapechanging beasts, regal and lethal and have elevated greed and paranoia to a form of art. surrounded by an aura of avarice and capable of teleporting held items to their hoard, these beings are rightfully loathed...but there is more to them. Those that drink the blood of a fafnir may undergo the change into one themselves, somewhat akin to a lycanthrope: As such, they do have a hybrid shape, artfully depicted by Mates Laurentiu. Oh, know what\'s worse? They don\'t breed true. Instead, their unions result in the birth of lindworms, another new creature: Think of these as lethal, serpentine predators with 6 clawed legs that are nigh unerring hunters - not even nondetection will save you from these hunters!

If you\'ve been following northern mythology in its various iterations throughout different editions of the game, you may have noticed that, at one point, the lupine threats in the frigid North have become less pronounced; the Fenris (no, not the oomphteenth build of the original Fenris wolf - these are a whole species) should change that. Black as night, Huge and lethal, these supreme predators can smash you to the ground...and woe to any prone before them - with but a twist of their head, they may tear off limbs of such unfortunates! Frost wisps, harsh, but lawful aberrations in service of winter despise flames - beautiful and alien, mortals to them are magma-blooded devils, which adds a unique spin to any encounter with them. What about a snake-like predator that quite literally is the incarnation of frostbite, with an aura that renders items brittle and hypothermia-inducing cold damage? The visual metaphor, once again, is so obvious I don\'t think I have to explain it.

The horned glacial bear would be another magical beast of ice and snow - and it is, in spite of what I feared at one point, unique - not simply a variant of a bear-like winter-wolf, it can cause avalanches and emit devastating roars. There would also be the høyonde (translates literally to \"high/tall/very\" and \"bad folks/things\"), the spawn of traitorous Vikmordere who consorted with giants, these would be scions of death that not only may channel the forces of entropy (read: negative energy), they also have a nasty death aura that hampers the forces of life. The hidden ones, the huldufólk, also have their representation here - in touch with the very earth and rocks, these fey may animate rocks and sing a bolstering song to the very earth itself...but this connection goes both ways and stone may be used to slay them...

Even what should arguably be lame herein...somehow ends up not being that. Take the icy vigil: A medium construct of a frozen warrior. Stifle your yawns, ladies and gentlemen - they not only generate spawn from the slain, they may employ simulacra, wield equipment of ice and reform after destruction...oh, and put away that staff of fireballs - magic immunity. Disregarding the well-crafted prose, the mechanics of this adversary set it apart as not yet another boring guardian critter. The margygur would be aquatic fey that can sense the currents of destiny and fate like the currents that surround them (cue in Ayreon\'s River of Time) and as such, they may share their prophetic visions with others, making for a cool quest-reward/social interaction...or a deadly foe, should they decide that the PCs will bring doom...

Now the aforementioned vigil would be cool; the treasure golem style Nibelung would be a more straight-forward construct (with cost to create etc., just fyi) - and yes, feeding it treasure will make it grow in potency. You know, I think pretty much all capable dragons in may game have just added a new layer of defenses to their lairs....that aside, the nomenclature-choice is smart here as well, evoking obvious mythological connotations. Now, as is wont to happen, not every creature\'s statblock in a bestiary of this length is necessarily a stroke of genius. The overseer would be one example where that is the case.

Think of these guys as huge oak trees, with 5 dryad-shapes bound within the branches - for these beings are created when 5 dryads bond with one tree: All lose their sentience and become subsumed in the overseer\'s body, its personality wholly independent from the animated fey. This may sound weird, but in spite of the conservative statblock, this is one of my favorite creatures in quite a while - its very existence poses several unique conundrums to ponder: Were the dryads tricked? What threat caused them to undertake this drastic measure? The more interesting aspect, however, pertains the nature of free will: Unwilling to give up its existence, the overseer is understandably opposed to the freedom of its constituent dryads. Then again, they do have a right to reclaim their freedom, a right towards an individual existence, in spite of the fact of their status as \"parents\" of the creature.

The very existence of the overseer is inextricably-linked to the question of free will, it represents an escalation of the phenomenon of parentage as an experience that can deprive one of one\'s self and thus serves as a creature-made warning to retain one\'s sense of self - after all, that does benefit, at least in real life and a case less pronounced, the offspring. Similarly, its existence could be read as a rousing call towards those that continue to leech off their parents to assume an own identity, separate from the parts that constitute it. Of course, you may just shrug and think of it as a \"cool creature with an awesome artwork\" - but that\'s why I adore it. Its straightforward visual metaphor is one that can break abusive and unhealthy relationships by virtue of its impact and puts the creature, at least in my mind, into the rarefied regions where gaming can actually leave people as better persons.

Moving on to less intellectualizing adversaries, the pesta, a horrid monstrous hag armed with a rake, is pretty much a living incarnation of disease, plowing the fields for the reaper - once again, the choice of weapon, while seemingly innocuous, ties in with the visual metaphors we all have consumed, time and again and expands them - by virtue of their arms, they are literally the ones preparing the reaping, much like disease precedes death. If all of that sounded to grim, let me introduce the ratatosk - small fey that love riddles and look a bit like extremely fluffy and cute squirrels with two tails, beings of continuous renewal and destruction...and they\'re good guys. Their artwork is also so cute that I\'d seriously gift one as a plushy to my significant other.

In case you have been disappointed by the potency of sea serpents, the serpent of the depth should change that: At CR 15, these 8-eyed, horned killers not only are majestic - they control the very currents and those caught in their grasp can look forward to being flayed by their lethal, spiky coils. Speaking of disappointment - you know that I\'m pretty much enamored with Norse mythology, so take my word for it when I\'m saying that this book has the better representation of Sleipnir in it: With fire that burns past immunities and the ability to safeguard souls as well as a whopping 100 ft. movement rate, it is an appropriately powerful steed. Snow screechers may look like somewhat fey yeti at first glance...but only at first glance. Beyond the eponymous screech, they can alternate cold or fire damage and generate unsettling sounds, making them perfect ambush predators stalking the camp grounds.

We return to obvious mythological frames of reference with the stag of the whitewood - an alseid-like (think centaur with deer instead of horse-half) and a stag\'s head evoke so many tropes from our real world myths, I do not even know where to start: From the white stag to the alseid-ish angle to the hunter, there is a myriad of connotations and implications to add to these...and that from a guy who usually does not like this type. The tundra troll would be more interesting from a mechanical point of view, with fragile, shoddy shields and armor allowing for some nice tactics against theses beings.

Unique: The vaettir, life-draining undead icy corpses have a draining aura and go into a kind of hibernation sans food - but they also generate haunts! Another undead would be the vereri stalker - who casts his spells via the focus of a severed head! (Yep, you do NOT want to be coup-de-grace\'d by these folks...)...oh, and with a hair or similar part, they can and will track you! They, like 3 other critters here, are one of the few creatures whose art does not get the full-page treatment. While we\'re on the topic - what about a frost-themed banshee-like undead spirit with access to hexes?

If you\'ve noticed an absence of amorphous, strange threats - what about the aquatic vatndökk, a slime whose very touch suppresses magic...and who doubles as a magic-dead zone? Yeah...and they may capsize vessels. Considering the frigid climate, these things will put the fear back into the high-level adventurers...and they represent one of the most delightfully deadly adversaries herein. Then, there would be the winter wyrm and winter wyrmling - both represent basically ice worms. Yeah, I know - there are quite a few of those out there already - but bear with me, their respective builds are actually nice, with pit creation, hibernation and fantastic artworks.

The final creature herein can partially be seen on the cover - the wintertide jabberwock, with its one line- and one cross-shaped pupil that can only be slain be severing both of its heads. With eye-rays, head-regeneration and a fear of vorpal weapons (understandable!), the creature represents a great high note to end the book.

Conclusion:

Editing is top-notch on both a formal and rules-language level - in the instances where I took apart a statblock, I noticed no serious hiccups. Formatting-wise, some very minor aesthetic hiccups can be found - there are instances where the first paragraph of the flavor text is formatted like a statblock ability....hey, come on, I\'m trying to find something to complain about, all right? Layout adheres to an absolutely gorgeous two-column full-color standard with borders that employ graphic elements coded as Norse. The artwork by Mates Laurentiu is absolutely stunning and makes this one of the most beautiful bestiaries I have seen any 3pp put out. Each of these critters could, quality-wise, be found in a Paizo/WotC-book - the artwork alone is worth getting this...and yes, I\'d advise in favor of the softcover: The fact that you can show the one-page monster-illustrations sans spoiling the statblocks to players means that you\'ll spare time and effort printing the art as handouts. The fact that they all have one style adds a great unified visual identity to this book. Oh, and yes, the book comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Justin Andrew Mason and developer Stephen Rowe are both names that I associate with quality; in this instance, however, they delivered something that exceeded my expectations. You see, I get to see a metric ton of monsters. I\'m spoiled beyond belief by Legendary Games\' mythic monsters and bestiaries and my expectations at this point are VERY hard to meet. This book surpassed them by the sheer value of consistency. There is something I consider great (not \"good\", not \"very good\", \"great!\") in every single critter within this book.

Let me elaborate: When we boil it down, monster-design is both an art and a craft: You can string together numbers and components like feats; no problem. The artistry is when it comes together, when you add those unique abilities and give the mathematical construct its own sense of identity, its own story. In the best of cases, though, it does not end there. Take Kobold Press - the Midgard-setting they made is pretty much defined by the mythological resonance it evokes. I do not use the excellent setting lightly as a frame of reference.

We, as human beings, have a rich tapestry of myths that are, if you believe anthropology, to a significant part extensions of our conditio humana, our shared experiences. It is thus that you can find parallels between different cultures and their animism, religion and myths - they serve to illustrate facts, concepts and experiences - often in an anthropomorphized form. These tales continue to evolve with our lives; much like the changed experience of the industrial revolution gave rise to fresh incarnations of horror, much like Web 2.0.\'s slender man and similar creepypastas, we are defined by our mythweaving, by the incarnations of truths and symbols we inherited, by the complex constructs that generate a shared frame of reference to communicate.

One way to excel at monster design lies in mastering mechanics and artfully making the unique; another, less often seen, lies in tapping into this shared frame of reference, into the mythological sphere, and employing the powerful resonance it evokes within us all. There is a reason for that: It\'s hard. You see, the very first thing we usually do when running games is to take that frame of reference and apply it. Thus, straight adaptions feel old, stale, been there, done that to us. The genius of this humble bestiary lies in tapping into the shared frame of reference, the cultural resonance shared, and employing it in a creative and new manner that makes it a cohesive, unique entity.

A cynic may accuse me of over-intellectualizing in this review; my response would be that me actually pausing and analyzing to this extent is not something I do lightly or by accident; one creature that manages this feat is a happy accident; two are a tendency - a whole book full of them, however, is intentional, deliberate craftsmanship and artistry. This book represents one of the best bestiaries I have read in quite a while and its creatures will make plenty of appearances in my games. This is a steal, an exercise in excellent, unpretentious (in spite of my analysis - this is very much a bestiary, not a lecture in academia!) design - and oh boy do I love it to bits. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval and this is furthermore a candidate for my Top Ten of 2016. Get this!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Winter's Roar: Vikmordere Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #041: Feischkammer
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/11/2017 08:05:41

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that\'s pretty amazing

Since this product line\'s goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

So, for all non-Germans out there: \"Fleischkammer\" translates, literally, to Fleshchamber. Does not bode well, now, does it? The complex works best, logic-wise, near a sufficient accumulation of raw material, read: victims, for it is the home of one thoroughly nasty man named Hakkar Wolkennen, also lovingly known by his soubriquet \"Soulflayer\". The mad wizard is obsessed with the creation of, you guessed it, flesh golems and thus, one of the first obstacles will be for the PCs to dismantle to entry doors to the proper complex, for a flesh golem is holding them barred. The complex itself is sensible and features some nasty traps to further deal with the PCs if the golems and the evil wizard do not suffice. As a minor complaint, the latter is not hyperlinked and making a wizard of this level on the fly can be a bit of a challenge. The complex does reward the PCs appropriately for braving its challenges, though.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .tif version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is a huge bonus. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Jonathan Ely\'s Fleischkammer is a generally well-crafted module that, much like the primary antagonists herein, can be summed up as brawn over brains; the nature of the opposition does mean that magic-users won\'t have much to do herein, which is perhaps the one weakness of an otherwise nice mini-dungeon. Having something for these guys to do in the respective combats would have been helpful. That being said, apart from these minor complaints, one can still consider this to be a nice module, particularly to \"reward\" the group\'s melee-characters. As such, this sidetrek receives a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #041: Feischkammer
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #040: The Kabandha's Request
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/11/2017 08:03:05

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that\'s pretty amazing

Since this product line\'s goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

In the middle of the wilderness, the PCs come upon a kabandha - badly wounded, he relays the tale of his tribe being subject to the attack of an evil cyclops and his retinue of ogres. Thus, it falls to the PCs to find the home of the reclusive kabandhas and stop the desecration of this place. From a vine-tangled circle of standing stone on the surface, the PCs will have to open heavy portals towards the small complex and deal with the adversaries within, while gaining some nice insights into kabandha culture: A marut hero depicted, a hall devoted to truth-finding and the eggs (and future) of these beings can be found within - provided the PCs survive the ogres and the deadly cyclops, that is.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .tif version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is a huge bonus. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Jonathan Ely\'s exploration of this complex takes a cool, often-neglected critter and adds a bit of cultural dimension to it; for that, I do like the pdf. Similarly, the flavor of the complex is nice and clever PCs can employ the stone circle outside to level the playing field a bit. At the same time, the module does not have that much going on for it beyond the flavorful tidbits and combat - no social skills, no traps or the like. This does not make the module bad, mind you...but compared to other mini-dungeons, it does render it more straight-forward and less versatile. My final verdict will hence clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #040: The Kabandha's Request
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #039: We All Start Somewhere
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/11/2017 07:59:08

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that\'s pretty amazing

Since this product line\'s goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Let\'s face it - if most of us were to embark upon the life of an adventurer, we\'d not look for Rappan Athuk, the Darkest Dungeon or a similar hell-hole to start off our career. We\'d start looking for something that feels like we can actually survive it, right? Well, the complex near Raakayras is exactly one such place - relatively peaceful, yet manageable...and other adventurers will probably have taken care of all those really nasty threats...right?

Well, things aren\'t always as they seem: The complex depicted still sports some nasty traps and is the result of an aftermath of the deeds of a particularly nasty wererat, who poisoned wyrmling eggs contained in protective vats of acid...well, all but one, who since then proceeded to eliminate said scoundrel as well as the most dire of threats from the vicinity. Relaxing in an acid bath, slaying the remaining wyrmling will be a challenging endeavor...and actually one that may destabilize the region, beginning the campaign already with an emphasis on consequences I tend to enjoy.

Trap and hazard-wise, modifications of effects and unique obstacles are pretty damn cool, though one instance of the word \"damage\" missing constitutes a minor hiccup...or something that got left behind due to word-count-restrictions.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .tif version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is a huge bonus. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Stephen Yeardley\'s introductory complex presented here is challenging and the final boss can be downright brutal...but then again, it can also be a great kickstart of a new campaign, already featuring the potential for Diplomacy, for reaping what one has sown and for a contextualization of the mini-dungeon within one\'s preferred campaign world. Considering the limitations of the series, that is pretty impressive.

Overall, this represents a fun first module to throw at players in a new campaign and thus receives 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #039: We All Start Somewhere
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Into the Wintery Gale: Wrath of the Jotunn
by Jacob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 01:07:23

AAW Games brings us a new adventure with Into the Wintery gale: Wrath of the Jotunn. This adventure was written by Justin Andrew Mason and features a campaign based on classic Norse mythology. For fans of tv shows like Vikings and The Last Kingdom, this adventure will provide ample opportunities to get one\'s Viking on!

The art by Jason Rainville, Mates Laurentiu, and Tommi Salama is utterly breathtaking!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wintery Gale: Wrath of the Jotunn
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

BASIC04: A Miraculous Time
by Dean J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2016 13:17:43

A really Fun yultide adventure. I normally create my own but ran out of time and bought this in desperation. IT was REALLY good and my group thoughly loved it. Aprently this was the highlight of CHristmas! Pair it with mince pies, mulled wine and a good soundtrack. Haunting woodland music, dripping creepy cave music and "It's the most wonderfull time of the year" for the finallale



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASIC04: A Miraculous Time
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #038: The Spinner's Hole
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:16:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing!

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

There is a little village called "Spinner's Folly" - and it may be aptly named, for they have an...interesting local tradition: Thrice a year, nature-affine adventurers are invited to a local dungeon, the selfsame one depicted herein, and given an interesting task: Enter the dungeon known as the eponymous spinner's hole...and subdue the giant spiders therein. You see, the local economy is relying completely on the giant spider silk, so killing them as per the usual adventurer modus operandi just won't do. This also means that this level 1 adventure would make for an interesting "man/womanhood rite" type of introduction to the adventuring life.

Within the dungeon, remnants of animal sacrifice, spider swarms and poison darts can be found and sheets of webbing as well as secret doors contain sections of the dungeon, providing some serious challenge.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .tif version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is a huge bonus. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Jonathan Ely's "Spinner's Hole" is perhaps the most concise of his mini-dungeons that I've analyzed so far: On paper, it may not sound like much; the traps, for example, with their exclusive emphasis on poisoned darts, could be more diverse. In play, however, the module actually works really well. I used it as part of playtesting and the unique entry vector of the scenario with the emphasis on the odd, local economy/custom, alongside with the challenge of dealing with swarms at level 1 made this a fascinating module that turned out to be more fun than its very focused theme would lead you to believe. It is hence that I award this 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #038: The Spinner's Hole
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #037: The Unreachable Terror
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:11:27

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

All right, this mini-dungeon presumes that one PC is subject to some sort of divine quest: A remote and almost unknown shrine of the deity, situated on an island where the eponymously named village of Unreach is found, has been subjected to an unpleasant curse: The island looks like a horseshoe bent almost to closure, with steep cliffs everywhere but on the Southern side, where a shore can be found. The aforementioned village is also known as the edge of the world and the settlement comes with full settlement stats, including fluff-depictions of notable PCs and a box that contains investigation clues to be unearthed. The trail of said clues identifies the plague affecting the village as demon fever and points towards the doing of hags...and indeed, the PCs will have to deal with night hags here...but even after winning, they will not have prevailed; astute PCs will note the bloated corpse of a villager they have probably talked to - said villager would be the final hag, who has infiltrated the village - dealing with her final concludes the curse, with the night hag heartstones providing a means to deal with the plague.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Justin Andrew Mason's "The Unreachable Terror" pushes the envelope of the format in a great way; any halfway decent GM can extend this module with more clues, roleplaying, random encounters etc. to a full-blown adventure situated on an evocative island. While the module is slightly harder to include in a campaign than usual (you need a remote island - no problem in nautical environments, though!), it is also significantly more rewarding than most. In fact, if e.g. your convention-GM fails to show up, this makes for a flavorful, interesting module you can run on the fly. If you're good at roleplaying, you can easily get a whole day's worth of gaming out of this mini-dungeon. Alternatively, you can use this as a kind of backdrop for its nice map/village as well. Nice attention to detail: The settlement's impoverished condition is removed upon the PCs being successful in this adventure. While slightly more skill uses for clues than just Diplomacy would have been the icing on the cake, I found myself really enjoying this mini-dungeon, mainly for the nice level of dressing it manages to cram into its small array of allotted text. Concisely written and flavorful, this is well worth a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #037: The Unreachable Terror
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #036: The Scrag Queen's Sanctuary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:05:46

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

A couple of years ago, this little druidic stronghold has been overrun by a horde of trolls - no in ruins, the subterranean parts of the complex still remain - and actually manage to provide a concise exploration experience: From molds to strange, magical rooms to track the movement of the stars - the flavor of an old magical complex is captured well, with the traps and objects complementing the flavor. Beyond the rank and file trolls, however, it is the boss that deserves special mention, being the eponymous scrag queen...and a black half-dragon, to boot! Attacking from a pool of putrid water and with an actually effective flight plan, taking care of the BBEG of this mini-dungeon is trickier than one would expect...as she escapes in another pool, which is connected to a secret part of the dungeon! Knowledge skills, just fyi, help filling the blanks the PCs may potentially have and yes, the terrain actually is relevant in this one. As a minor complaint electronic users of this file should be aware of: One critter is not hyperlinked; it's a common enough one, though.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. It should be noted that here, I have seen the artwork before in another context, but to make up for that, the map's more beautiful and detailed than usual, which is actually a plus for me.

Jonathan Ely's venture to the scrag queen's sanctuary is a fun, inexpensive sidetrek that sports atmosphere, a challenging boss and thematically fitting obstacles. A statue erected for a traitorous druid may even raise some follow-up questions, if you so desire. Anyhow, this module stands and falls with the boss; don't get me wrong, the rest is nice, but the villain here is the most intriguing component and makes for an nice, fun challenge with some neat tactics. The mini-dungeon can be inserted without much hassle into a given context, just fyi. How to rate this, then? Well...I'd kinda be inclined to settle on a final score of 4.5 stars and round down...but ultimately, particularly considering the limited space available, what has been crammed into these 2 pages is pretty impressive and well worth of rounding up.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #036: The Scrag Queen's Sanctuary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #035: The Queen's Estuary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:04:48

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

It's a marvelous day in the forest; the birds are chirping and all's well...whether by accident or intentionally looking for it ( an adventurer vanished in these parts...), the PCs will notice a branch in the path...and if they investigate, they'll meet a nasty pit trap...and see a campfire burning outside a simple hut, right next to a gorgeous pond....though that one's inhabited by a water elemental. Nearby, there's a stone statue...of the queen of a local swarm of none-too-calm sprites. Why? Well, a hag has turned the queen of the sprites to stone and now, the sprites want the PCs to undo the harm. Of course, they may have already done that, if they ran into the hag before, for she offers them food that nauseates the PCs: No save. No designation as a poison-effect...not a big fan here.

If, however, they attack the sprites, they'll have a harder time getting to the treasure they offer...for that is guarded by liveoak'd bushes that may mutate into a treant when attacked by the foolhardy.

On a minor formal complaint, the pearl reward offered as an aspect of the module does not have a value or precise stats linked.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, but not as tight as usual; I noticed minor formatting hiccups here and there. Oddly, the pdf does not sport the Series' usual bolding for skill checks and the usual italicization for magic effects. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

It should also be noted that the pdf offers some nice read-aloud text for GMs less adept at improvising text. Rachel Ventura's "Queen's Estuary" is a solid on-the-road sidetrek. It is somewhat unspectacular, but thematically concise and thus can be considered to be a solid, if not perfect addition to the series. The villain, usually a creature known from subterfuge, somewhat is restricted by the limited space available, making the villain frankly less effective than usual for the creature. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #035: The Queen's Estuary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #034: Mysteries of the Endless Maze
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:02:26

An Endzeitgeist.com review This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

This is a ready to use portal-maze, but one with a twist: Upon entering one of the segments, you roll 1d4; on a 1, the segment's challenge is a riddle; #2 is a trap (4 of which are presented), #3 is a random monster (6 of which are available) and if a riddle is solved, the PCs can get one of 4 prizes. The riddles presented are brief, but not the lame old classics you will have seen before...unless you're really, really into riddles. If a segment of the maze has been completed, its portals activate. Critters defeated carry keystones and ultimately, these can be used to access the vault, where the nasty boss of the complex is awaiting alongside the sizable treasure. As a minor complaint, only the defeat of monsters will actually net keystones, which could have been handled slightly more flexibly.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Justin Andrew Mason's Mysteries of the Endless Maze is an amazing little puzzle-dungeon; it is not one of the annoying mazes that just frustrates players and has a smooth, nice progression rate, at least in my game it had. That being said, one minor nitpick is that you should carefully read how the dungeon works; due to the limited word-count available, its precise functions require a slight bit more observation on part of the GM. Not that it's opaque, mind you. The dungeon also has a nice replay value and whether as a maze in Sigil, as a sub-level, as the BBEG effing with the players - the complex has a ton of uses and can be inserted literally at any time and any place. All in all, a well-crafted mini-dungeon worth of a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #034: Mysteries of the Endless Maze
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

U03: Death Comes to Stoneholme
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2016 10:09:59

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The third of the underworld-adventures set in the dwarven city of Stoneholme clocks in at 52 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 48 pages of content, so let's take a look!

While it is not required to have played "Dark Days in Stoneholme" and "Murder in Stoneholme" to enjoy this module, I strongly suggest doing so, for this adds a) more player-investment and b) more gravitas to the module's plot.

Since I played the module as Part III of this series of adventures, the following review will contain minor SPOILERS for the previous modules as well as, obviously, SPOILERS for this one. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

The worship of the archdevil Dispater has been prohibited in Stoneholme since its inception, but like the proverbial worm in the apple, it had a way of coming back. After the alliance with a house of devil-worshipping dwarves allied with a tribe of goblins has been squashed by the PCs, ending their quasi-terrorist attacks, the PC's patron, Lord Deppenkht, has risen in prominence. A general, schematic map of the city is provided alongside some rumors.

A friend of said patron, Lord Aldarn Starkherk, reports receiving death threats and since the PCs have a reputation of being capable in dealing with such issues, it is they who'll get the job of securing the good lord - probably after saving him from some nasty dark creeper assassins in the streets. Deppenkhut, after providing a sumptuous feast for the PCs, thus beseeches the PCs of fulfilling their bodyguard duties for the lord. Thus, the PCs are invited into the house of the good lord, which is btw. fully mapped and comes with a player-friendly iteration - kudos!

All right, after foiling an attack of even more of the uncommon assassins, day 2 already goes pretty damn wrong - and astute (or paranoid) PCs may notice an unexplainable gloating component in Starkherk's reception of them. The dwarven lord ventures into his room - and there meets his fate. When the PCs enter, they'll find him dead by an overdose of concentrated hemlock...that and a LOT of incriminating evidence: From letters to diaries, Starkherk's study contains a lot of incriminating evidence that Deppenkhut, the PC's benefactor, is in fact in league with their opposition, leading a double life...

The city guard then begins to investigate and the module becomes pretty freeform; Deppenkhut begs the PCs to clear his name and is actually arrested - making inquiries is something the pdf handles uncharacteristically well, including the means of actually purchasing divination among the notes. Following the trail of the poison, the wine, Deppenkhut and Starkherk all yield pieces of the puzzle. Complicating manners would be a drunken dwarven mob, an elven paladin horribly out of her element and a spreading sickness do not bode well...not to speak of the hit the PC's hard-won reputation may take due to their association with Deppenkhut...

Speaking of the disease, analyzing it may point out that it is an infernal, nastier variant of ghoul fever...which points towards the massive cave adjacent to Stoneholme, the city tombs, a massive necropolis found in two caverns on top of one another - with a nice sideways full-color map depicting this gigantic area as well. In case your PCs are suspecting Deppenkhut themselves (or are stuck), there is a chance of him actually being seen near the metropolis, the options of the PCs witnessing an infernal ghoul transformation...it's impossible to get stuck in this investigation, which is very much a good thing. You see Deppenkhut is pretty much the Dispater-kingpin in the city...and Starkherk, being just as devious, has actually known all along and makes this his bid of power. Deppenkhut, in the meanwhile, can use his cleverly concealed magic power and items to actually react dynamically to the investigation's process with the perfect alibi, namely being in prison. Obviously, he can thus, mastermind style, easily vanish to plague the PCs another day...and frankly, he kinda deserves the chance.

Within the necropolis, capable trackers may follow the trails found there to either a tomb adjacent to Starkherk's sealed tomb or to the hidden lair of the dark folk that had been assailing the PCs and their allies. The dark folk lair not only contains a couple of powerful adversaries (with class levels and an imho underpriced magical club), but also moldants, poisonous, fungoid watchdogs that erupt in spores, potentially infesting whole areas. Area number 2 would pertain the aforementioned tomb complex and has a distinctly infernal theme, with aforementioned infernal ghouls, a devil, a ghoul wizard and the now-undead Aldarn awaiting as the BBEG in a challenging, nice dungeon.

Beyond the already-mentioned moldants, the infernal ghouls used in the adventure also get their stats - not, they are not simply ghouls with the template of the same name added! As before, the complexes in the Necropolis feature player-friendly versions - sans secret door and trap markers and, better yet, even sans headers. You definitely won't have to cut anything out when using the module.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good; while I noticed a couple of minor formatting hiccups, they did not impede in any way, shape or form my ability to run this module. Layout adheres to a nice, two-column full-color standard. The pdf's art employs a combination of previously used and new full-color artwork - nothing to complain about here. The cartography by Tommi Salama and Jonathan G. Nelson is of the usual high quality for AAW Games -and deserves special praise for the neat player-friendly versions and the overview maps that present the side-view of the city tombs - it's little touches like this that separate "good" from "very good." The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Jonathan McAnulty's 3rd trip to Stoneholme is the best so far; in particularly the middle section, the book features a level of detail and consideration for the GM I rarely see in such a set-up. The adversaries the PCs will have to face are pretty powerful and well-crafted and the respective environments are thematically concise. The best thing about this module, though, is honestly that it manages to depict a smart villain who continues to act smart throughout the module; and said villain isn't even the BBEG and may be used by the enterprising GM as a kind of Moriarty-like foil; if your players and PCs are in any way like, mine, this guy may act as a perfect way to lure them anywhere...for after playing Part I - III, they will hate him and be out for blood...or, well, still believe him. This makes the module so fun, at least to me - it is actually a module that dares to play its foes smart and in a way that is both logical and concise. There are modules out there with more far-out concepts, sure; but if you're looking for a module that makes "realistic" sense or a nice investigation, then this most certainly is for you, particularly if your players already enjoyed the first 2 modules in the series. My final verdict for this nice module will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform; however, if you're planning to use this as a stand-alone, it'll lose some of its flair. As a standalone, I'd round down instead.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
U03: Death Comes to Stoneholme
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #033: The Legacy of Theft
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2016 10:07:51

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

When recent construction of an inn revealed the presence of a presumably abandoned complex, the owners of the inn to be constructed, Edwyn and Jackson Cairn decided to explore the complex. Dumb idea. It's been 3 days and now it's up to the PCs to find out what happened. The PCs get into a long corridor with decayed doors; 8 to be more prices. While footpaths can be seen in the dust, there seems to be no discernible pattern. Beyond nasty traps and doors slamming shut, the complex presented may look dull on the map, but it isn't - it manages to evoke a concise, creepy atmosphere supplemented well by the traps and adversaries faced. That being said, this is primarily about the atmosphere that you can generate via the crypt thing herein. The module's theme of an abandoned thieves guild is supplemented well by the traps and secret doors featured, though personally, I consider its rewards to be slightly too generous for the challenge posed by it.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Michael Smith's "Legacy of Theft" is well-presented, manages to evoke a nice atmosphere and is, as a whole, a truly useful mini-dungeon. Its set-up lets you put it frankly just about everywhere, making is very easy to use without any hassle; whether as a dungeon-sub-level, a rescue mission or below any structure, it requires no set-up. As a whole, it is a rewarding, well-made mini-dungeon that is well worth a final verdict of 4.5 stars, though I can't round up for it.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #033: The Legacy of Theft
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Aventyr Bestiary
by Debra L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 01:11:08

Disclaimer: I was a backer on the Kickstarter for this project so I had rather high hopes for this product.

The Aventyr Bestiary states it is a 3.5 OGL and Pathfinder Compatible Product. It is a Pathfinder Product and OGL Compliant but it does not contain dual statistics.

One of the things I really like is that the Table of Contents is linked so you can click and go right to the creature. A+ for that.

The artwork is eyecatching though a tad cartoonish. That's just subjective opinion so if you love the artwork, I'm not going to burst your bubble.

Editing is less than stellar. That said, I'm still rather impressed with the variety of creatures.

I really wanted to like the Icons but Extraplanar is used far too often: It is listed as Climate/Environment AND Twice as Type/Subtype. For Climate/Environment, I would call it Planar so that there is less confusion. .For Type/Subtype, I think the second one was meant to be Outsider. It has the lighter blue circle. Air is also listed as an Environment and as Subtype. I much would have preferred Sky to Air for Environment. Sadly Marsh/Swamp has no icon. (Note the Half-Fiend Dryad may have that icon but it isn't listed). You have a few monsters that could use that. No icon is listed for Ruins/Dungeons for that matter.

What is the Fungus Type or is it a Subtype? There is an icon but no explanation and it is not in the PRD.

I noticed the Augmented Subtype was missing (this is important because I think it was needed for the Fleshdoll Rogue and is lacking though I will comment on that later). While there is an Evil Icon, there is no corresponding Good one. I don't know if this was done on purpose or just an oversight. You have Psionic as a Subtype in a few places but no corresponding Icon. Last of all, there is no Shapechanger icon.

Most of the creatures seem to comply with the standard rules, but I have neither the tiime nor inclination to crunch all the numbers. Suffice to say, unless something jumps out at me, I'm going to presume the stat blocks are correct.

Unique creatures aren't just Solitary. If there is only one of its kind, that should be noted (Exsangunator for example)

Now for the Nit Picks:

Creatures should not have Two Types unless one is an Augmented Type see Elemental Drake and Fleshdoll Rogue. Note: you need to list whch traits they keep and which they lose somewhere, because of conflicts. Immunities should still be listed individually not just as Construct and Undead traits as per Fleshdoll. DMs want the information at their fingertips and don't want to have to look that stuff up.

Creatures do "points of" damage not just a type of damage.

What gives with all the creatures that you couldn't be bothered to add an "s" to make plural. I find this to be just sheer laziness (not to mention it enables illiteracy).

The avatar of Alkumuoto doesn't have a plane of existance listed in Environment. Should an Evil aligned plane at least.

Why does the Biddlytree speak Druidic instead of Sylvan? Druidic is a secret language.

Chicken Coop is a Construct (and no mention of Baba Yaga even) but the Construction section is missing.

The Dark Angel is a wholly wasted Subtype in my not so humble opinion. You could have said this was an evil angel and or at least noted which special abilities are granted by the Subtype. "Subtypes add additional abilities and qualities to a creature." This new subtype is rather lackluster and lackng.

Elemental Drake has two Types. It looks like it should be the Dragon Type with Extraplanar and Native subtypes.

The Draaki has the Graldin Breath Weapon special ability that could have just been noted as Breath Weapon. The phrashing is confusing since it just seems to do fire damage.

Exsanguinator's Ecology section is missing.

Fleshdoll Rogue is all sorts of Confusing: Male Human Fleshdoll Rogue 5. Okay. But then how is it a Construct AND Undead as both are Types? Also, it doesn't need any of the Undead immunities since they are all covered under the Construct immunities. I'd like to see Construction section on this too.

On the other hand, the Forstdeath Dragon is a proper Undead. Sadly, these undead dragons lose their breath weapons entirely.

Fungiant is another favorite of mine. The trunk of a mushroom is properly called a "stipe." Yes, that is particularly nit picky.

Funglet is another Two Type creature. It looks like this is just an Intelligent Plant that happens to have a humanoid appearance. I'd just leave it as a Plant Type and lose the Humanoid Type. Plants are immune to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms). Immunity to paralysis, poison, polymorph, sleep effects, and stunning. What are those Subtypes (audire, funglet)? They should be noted somewhere or at least note some source where they can be found. You completely wasted an advertizing goldmine by not putting the book where this is in the OGL section. How do you think people find these books?

Gitwerc are a nice addition though it would have been nice to have dweorg too since the two are so closely related. And why isn't your book that has those listed in the copyright notice? This is exactly how people find your products because they are listed in your other books.

Goemul's deadspeech ability notes speak with dead, which as a spell should be in italics (really nit pickiing here).

Libreum is also spelled as Liberum. Which one is correct?

The grizzly bear rug is terrific and another one of my favorites as it can be used in many settings. I want this to be a magical beast however. A druid made it after all. Why is this as strong as normal grizzly bear since it is so much thinner? About 1/4 the weight of a male grizzly. Also, grizzly bears have a racial modifier to Swim, which is lacking but not noted so it appears to be a mistake. See here: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/bestiary/bear.html#bear-grizzly

Are gyeongsa warpstorms affected by natural or summoned weather?

I also am quite fond of the Ireful Hellion. A devil that is chaotic. It should retain its Lawful Subtype however even if its alignment is Chaotic. See Lawful Subtype.

I'm also fond of the Hordenheim riot. Thank you for acknowledging where you bend the rules.

Hoyrall warrior is another with two Types. Just because it is humanoid in shape doesn't make it Humanoid. This should just be an aberration.

Jinn Wizards are a bit of a misnomer since they aren't actual wizards at all and don't cast spells. They probably should have the Psionic Subtype since you have the icon for it.

Karz slug and Karz slug queen should also have Psionic subtype since you have an Icon for it. They may also have a Swamp Icon that isn't in the Icon list.

Should kra’tah have Underground icon since it isn't listed in their environments?

Mortdravva is not only Solitary but also seems to be Unique (see Organization).

If mutah can breathe air, then they should not have the Aquatic subtype. Just because a creature lives in an aquatic environment doesn't mean it has to have the Aquatic Subtype.

Naghith also seems to be Unique (See Organization)

Necro-pede's Psychic Vampire ability contains no game mechanics. How long does it take to feed and what happens to the victim it feeds off? Should there be a saving throw for example?

Nitnam also seems to be a Unique creature.

Nogth Ma’klurl’uth also appears to be a Unique creature. Madness Within ability has singular/plural issue. In the stat block the creature is an it (no gender is given) but in the flavor text the creature is noted as HE. Also, the drow witch is female. You should probably clarify this mystery.

Ollphéist should be Magical Beast not Animal as it has an Intelligence of 5.

I'm not sure why Petrous has the elemental subtype: Elementals do not need to breathe, eat or sleep. No elemental immunities are listed. The text contradicts the subtype.

Phoso are kinda slow for their size at 40 ft., even with that many legs.

Pubo should be magical beasts not animals as they are naturally psionic.

Rellum the correct subtype is extraplanar not outsider. Outsider is a Type. Environment should list its home plane.

Snow Roc's Icy Gust probably shouldn't be a free action as it is a supernatural attack. That means that a target can take damage from its Icy gust and from its normal attacks in the same round. It should be a standard action otherwise it seems overpowered.

Rufidier should probably have an "s" as a plural. Also, free actions should not be attacks. Flame gout should be a standard action.

Rust mite swarm is bound to piss off a lot of players. I see this as a Deus Ex Machina to get inappropriate items away from PCs.

I'm not sure I understand the purpose of the salt worm's regenerating maw. Why would it ever lose its maw in the first place? Methinks it needs to be rewritten for clarity. What wound is regenerating? See your other gaping maw ability in Szaboans,

Screaming Severed Skulls melee attack should read 1d2 plus 1 cold. Don't take shortcuts with + signs. I'm not sure why it has a slam attack instead of a bite since it has no limbs. Does it ram its skull into you?

Why should an incorporeal shadow rat be able to bite a corporeal foe, even if it's just to allow a bite that does only Strength damage? That's pretty harsh for a CR 1 encounter. It can immobilize a level one party in an hour. I see a TPK here.

Shield Wardens should have their home plane listed in Environment or at least any lawful plane. What a boon if the party can get this kind of help!

Sigbin have the potential to be a TPK as well. I assume Negative is negative energy damage in the damage. That doesn't see intuitive but I'm willing to let it pass. The party isn't likely to have any items that bypass negative energy damage so this is a bit tougher than would be expected.

Skildpadder(s) should probably be magical beasts rather than animals considering they're the offspring of bulettes.

Cold Mutated Ogre Spiders are a mouthful to say the least. Not a fan of the name.Does this imply that there are other ogre spiders that aren't cold or mutated?

Giant legwater spiders aren't all that swift as they only move 30 ft., which is standard for a medium sized creature. The walking on water thing is just gonna get it called Jesus Spiders. You know that right?

A sloth spider with a hasted burst. Oh, the irony.

That's some black pudding, just saying. I guess there is no real Stone Salve-Shaped Template; pity.

Riding slug? Ewww. Also death from above when it drops on you. How much do these weigh? See falling damage.

Tri-Tongue Horror source material isn't listed in Copyright section. At least you cite to it.

Do ethereal and incorporeal creatures have a diminished sense of smell? See Veinar.

Vestraadi subtype text is missing.

Waspite should do electricity damage not electric damage.

Zvucni (really isn't that pronounced zucchini?). It is NOT an ooze. It's an aberration.

Zwerc.Again with the double Types. It looks like it should be Fey (augmented humanoid, dwarf, zwerc). Again reference to dweorg.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aventyr Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 229 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG