Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » AAW Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
5E Mini-Dungeon #010: Candelabra Towers
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2017 06:05:45

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Unlike most 5E Mini-Dungeons, this one does not come with VTT-maps or player-friendly iterations, which is a bit of a bummer.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

...wait...there's...I haven't...Yep! My memory is not betraying me: I have never seen this module before! #10 of PFRPG's mini-dungeons was called "Ghastardly Deeds"! This is a completely new module, designed for 5E!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Rising 85 feet from the ground, the mists brought the mysterious towers to the city...but when the watch tried to enter the complex, they were faced with lightning bolts...and soon tehreafter, the area surrounding the city started turning into lava-like pits of boiling mud!! Action must be taken...enter the PCs! But guess what? Even getting near the towers is a harrowing proposal and once the PCs get close, 1d4 hazards to randomly determine defenses/hazards add a nice dynamic to the approach!

Within the place, the PCs will have to scale several shafts and open latches into the top of the towers - and each of them contains a powerful elemental...while one of the towers contains a control device that may unleash those creatures...and, as mysteriously as it appeared, as mysteriously will it fade away once again...but who sent the tower? Where did it come from, where did it go? Well, looks like you have your sequel adventure cut out for you, right? ;)

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to a nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. Stats, as mentioned above, obviously are hyperlinked to the SRD.

Woa. I...am pretty blown away. This module is so simple in its premise, but it plays very, very well. The defenses and hustle to the adventure-location is deadly and rewarding, the dungeon leitmotif pronounced and the sense of the fantastic and weird, the mysterious, actually shines through here. I really like this mini-dungeon! And, to be honest, the set-up of this dungeon is so simple, it can be played in mind's eye-mode sans issues, so, for once, I am not going to penalize Rory Toma's offering here. I really liked this and consider it perhaps one of the best modules he made - well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #010: Candelabra Towers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #008: Carrionholme
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2017 06:04:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Unlike most 5E Mini-Dungeons, this one does not come with VTT-maps or player-friendly iterations, which is a bit of a bummer.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

In the center of a swamp, a hag-coven in service of Jubilex has created a complex inhabited with slimes and molds - including wandering black puddings. The complex very much is a solid theme-dungeon, yes. However, at the same time, it is not "sunken" - at least the text never mentions any swim-checks, water-depths of intrusions of swamp water - which is a pity, for some terrain-tricks would have helped to set this dungeon apart.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant hiccups. Layout adheres to a nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. Stats, as mentioned above, obviously are hyperlinked to the SRD.

Jonathan Ely's Carrionholme has an evocative title, cool adversaries and a premise I enjoy. At the same time, it does something the format, alas, has no room for - waste words. The reference to other swamp-dwellers unrelated to the complex is pretty long and eats the words that could have been used to provide the unique terrain-features this dungeon practically demands. So, dungeon in the middle of the swamp...why is there no water? No mud? Quicksand? A component of decrepitude, of decay? This mini-dungeon could be so much more unique. As written, it could be literally anywhere and lacks the component that anchors it as a complex as a unique dungeon. While not bad in any way per se, the overall experience of running this one proved my points valid - without modification, it is generic; add some terrain and you get awesomeness. The conversion by Kyle Crider is solid, but unfortunately didn't add much regarding the passive Perception mechanics herein, which, considering the power of the foes and traps, could have made this work better in 5e than in PFRPG.

Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #008: Carrionholme
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #009: Tiikeri's Revenge
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2017 06:02:57

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! The dungeon's number-less version of the map doesn't sport any deceptive trap icons or traps - kudos, though the place where the secret doors are can still be gleaned by proximity...but if you conceal that part, it works well. In short: Full, proper VTT-support and help for guys like yours truly that can't draw maps.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

The PCs have been contracted by a sect of local fanatics on the verge of eradicating weretigers, dangerous lycanthropes (coincidentally, those guys are mostly neutral, but never mind...) - arriving at the locale, the folk tell the PCs that the shrine's been closed for some time...which does not bode well. Exploring the complex, the PCs not only will have to find the various, hidden keys (which a handy table tracks, including Str and Dex DCs to deal with the individual doors!!!), they'll also quickly realize that NOT all is well here - information on the fanatics can be unearthed and what they find shows clearly that some kind of doom has befallen this place. Deadly traps and creatures room the halls and bespeak the revenge wrecked upon the incompetent clergy, visited upon them by Tiikeri, the rakshasa they brought into their midst, who, unsurprisingly, withstood the cleansing rituals and doubles as the big bad boss. It should be noted that the treasure, here mostly in the shape of a sun blade and a horn of blasting, can be considered to be appropriate for the challenge posed by the module.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos! The cartography, with player and GM-VTT-maps, is nice.

Stephen Yeardley does it again - this mini-dungeon is awesome and every DM worth his salt can expand this even further. It breathes the flair of the exotic, of pulp, offers even a tinge of moral conflict - this is awesome. Even better yet, hyperlinking is concise and Kyle Crider has done a great job translating this to 5E, losing nothing of its original appeal. Well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #009: Tiikeri's Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #006: Abandoned Shrine
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2017 10:09:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! The dungeon's number-less version of the map doesn't sport any deceptive trap icons or traps - kudos, though the place where the secret doors are can still be gleaned by proximity...but if you conceal that part, it works well. In short: Full, proper VTT-support and help for guys like yours truly that can't draw maps.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

What formerly was a shrine devoted to a cult of assassins and their foul deity, now hosts an array of nasty gang members and their ogre boss. The complex itself is pretty straightforward and would be rather conservative in its own place. However, blending skeletal minotaurs and remnants of the cult with the new gang-inhabitants makes the dungeon feel interesting and less predictable. A modified gang member on the basis of ogre stats is nice and hyperlinking is generally consistent, though a decanter of endless water, for example, hasn't been hyperlinked.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos! The cartography, with player and GM-VTT-maps, is nice.

Brian Wiborg Mønster delivers an interesting little mini-dungeon, which, on paper, may look none too impressive. In play, the small dungeon felt more dynamic than I would have expected and the brief statblock modification shorthands render this one pretty much plug-and-play-ish, beyond even the other mini-dungeons. It is also a mini-dungeon that was converted well by Kyle Crider and one that, theme-wise, feels more fitting in 5e than in PFRPG - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #006: Abandoned Shrine
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #007: The Pententieyrie
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2017 04:32:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! Something went wrong with the jpg and tif-maps, though: One sports the trap icons, but not the secret doors...and the other sports secret doors noted by the deceptive "S"...but not the trap icons. This makes neither the GM, nor the player maps work ideally.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Okay, beyond the pun-tastic title, this one is interesting - draw a rough image of the map - it should look like an Aztec glyph. The trail leads the PCs to a strange complex, shielded from dimensional intrusion and sporting a hard-to-reach locale -an hermitage, if you will. Within the complex, not only do strange wonders await - there is also a vrock. Yeah, a demon. Only, said demon actually is on the path of redemption! Yes, this may not necessarily be a combat encounter, but rather a module that could help bring unprecedented salvation to a being of pure evil, perhaps serving as a great launching point for PCs endeavoring to redeem a villain or similar foes/morally bankrupt characters. Have I mentioned the option for flight-training and some rather...let's say, unique, properties and dangerous glyph-traps?

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos! The cartography, with player and GM-VTT-maps, is nice.

Okay, this transcends being a mini-dungeon; this one is an AWESOME, unique set-piece - with special ways for avian/flight training and perhaps one of the most far-out potential mentors I've seen in a while, Stephen Yeardley's mini-dungeon delivers more oomph and unique tricks than what one would deem possible within such a restrictive format.

At the same time, this mini-dungeon does lose a bit of its charm in Kyle Crider's translation: It references subdual damage, which does not exist in 5e, and while the hyperlinks are well-made this time around, the lack of a direct flight-based skill in 5e takes a bit away from the complex's unique original property. Add to that the hiccup in the VTTs and we have a conceptually strong pdf hampered by a couple of minor factors - still a good offering, though. My final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #007: The Pententieyrie
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #001: Buried Council Chambers
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2017 09:22:22

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! The dungeon's number-less version of the map does come with iterations sans the deceptive "S" denoting secret doors, but the secret rooms have not been retouched/covered, so players will still know where to look...but then again, 2 bucks for print, 1 buck for pdf.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

This mini-dungeon depicts, surprise, the ruined council chambers, sunk by an odd cataclysm, and as such, does sport a massive dome, wherein magical riddles can be found (quite a few, actually!) as well as the suffocated, now undead remains of the tragedy. Rooms that provided for the heating and cooling add a nice sense of the magical society that inhabited these halls, while surprisingly interesting items (a ring that melts in warm climates, for example and duplicates boots of the winterlands!) complement a nice mini-crawl. That being said, the 5e-iteration does sport one aspect I am not that happy with - the pdf's hyperlinks are not always that consistent and e.g. the pink rhomboid ioun stone found, would probably be better off called Fortitude ioun stone - having to read the entry for the item-class is a bit tedious. Not a big complaint, mind you, just something I noticed. Also, as a very rare magic item, it may be a bit soon to dump such a potent treasure in the PC's lap.

The one structural downside of this module would be the lack of an explanation for ingress beyond finding the opening in the dome's ceiling - while it makes sense, the people herein died from lack of oxygen. Breaking through would have been the icing on the cake - and making the long isolation and thus gathered gasses additional hazards that could have further improved a pretty impressive mini-module.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .jpg version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is nice to have, but I wished it came with covered up secret rooms. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Jonathan G. Nelson knows how to craft truly unique, alive cultures and this knack for indirect storytelling even translates to this exceedingly limited format - pretty impressive! With the exception of the nitpicks mentioned above, this module should be considered a great example for a short, sweet sidetrek. Kyle Crider did a nice job translating the dungeon and while this may not be perfect, it is a worthwhile file. My final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #001: Buried Council Chambers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #005: The Soularium
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2017 07:49:48

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Unlike the first three 5E Mini-Dungeons, this one does not come with VTT-maps or player-friendly iterations, which is a bit of a bummer.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

The Soularium is pretty uncommon in that it does not represent a classic dungeon, but rather a cult's dread operation disguised as a charity - what at first looks like a benevolent organization, quickly turns out to be the soul harvesting operation of a nasty quasit and his faithful cult - including and alignment seeing statue and pretty concise defenses - conceivably well--crafted for such a small module and sporting actual traps and the like herein. Big plus - the hyperlinking this time is pretty consistent and the traps/skill-checks have been translated well into the context of 5e.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. Stats, as mentioned above, obviously are hyperlinked to the SRD.

Rory Toma's Soularium is an interesting, fun sidetrek with cool defenses, nice ideas and a solid cartography to boot. The lack of player-friendly maps once again drags this a bit down, but balance- and treasure-wise, I have no complaints this time around - Kyle Crider did a nice conversion job.There is not much to complain about here - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #005: The Soularium
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #004: Summoner's Remorse
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2017 07:48:45

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Unlike the first three 5E Mini-Dungeons, this one does not come with VTT-maps or player-friendly iterations, which is a bit of a bummer.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Okay, so recently, villagers have been kidnapped by a nefarious cult, HEL-bent (haha) on rescuing a dark naga from the limbo of HEL via terrible human sacrifice. The mini-dungeon kicks off by a maddened villager slitting his throat in front of the PCs, thus conjuring forth scarab swarms - 3 scarab stones need to be destroyed in the complex to thwart the scarab swarm-controlling cult in a surprisingly atmospheric, dark module that has an atmosphere I did not expect to see in this series.

Now, conversion-wise, hyperlinks this time around are mostly consistent - apart from a potion of speed, a potion of heroism and the scarab of protection the links are all consistent and lead where they should. That brings me to one aspect, however - the scarab was a legendary item last time I checked and as such may be a bit too much for the level of the module for some groups

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches apart from an acolyte being referred to as an adept in a conversion relic. Layout adheres to a nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. Stats, as mentioned above, obviously are hyperlinked to the SRD.

Justin Andrew Mason's module was converted rather neatly to 5E by Kyle Crider - the conversion was done rather well and provides a challenging, but fair and atmospheric module that ranks among the better of the early mini-dungeons. While the lack of player maps is lamentable, this still is very much worth the price of admission and should be considered a worthwhile addition for 5e-groups. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #004: Summoner's Remorse
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #003: Shrine of the Earth Barons
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2017 07:47:37

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! The dungeon's number-less version of the map doesn't sport any deceptive trap icons or traps - kudos!

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

The PCs find a capstone that opens to a dome that once housed a cabal of gnomish earth elementalists, now obliterated by a staff of power's breaking by a fanatical adversary. Now what's rather awesome, the dungeon does sport moving teleportation vortexes as well as deadly golems and earth-themed adversaries, often with interesting reskins to add a further sense of unique identity. Less awesome: It should be noted that the treasure for this mini-dungeon contains two ioun stones, one of which is legendary...which may be a bit much for the level...and it should be noted that they are not named for the benefits conveys, but for their shape, which may require reading the description. If you're as picky as I am, that may annoy you slightly.

If PCs are capable, they'll also score two manuals of golems. Speaking of which: Iron Golem adversary. That's challenge 16. Don't get me wrong - that's beatable by a well-coordinated group...but it's also very, very lethal and chances are that the PCs may not even be able to harm this monster!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Stephen Yeardley delivers a concise, golem/earth-themed mini-dungeon I loved in its original iteration. Unfortunately, Kyle Crider did not translate it that well to 5e this time around. The balance of monsters is off and makes this a brutal meat-grinder that will curbstomp all but the hardiest of groups. Moreover, the pdf wastes precious space by noting "CLs" -which do not exist per se: 5e cares about the caster's level in some cases (cantrips, for example), but is more occupied with actual spellslots used...which renders these relics puzzling at best.

The hyperlinks don't work all - while the material can be found on the Open 5e SRD, only a few of the hyperlinks actually point where they should, detracting from the go-play aspect.

As a whole, this module has suffered quite a bit in translation - and while I still like components of it, I consider it to be problematic. My final verdict will hence clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3 due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #003: Shrine of the Earth Barons
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #002: Hobgoblin Lair
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2017 07:46:25

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .jpg-version and a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing! The dungeon's number-less version of the map doesn't come with iterations sans the deceptive "S" denoting secret doors, but at least the trap icons have been purged in these VTT-versions. Still, I wouldn't be able to use them as is, with the deceptive "S" around...but then again, this is really inexpensive.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Herein, we receive the seasonal home of a bunch of goblinoid raiders led by a bugbear - as such, the place is rigged with an array of basic, conservative traps - and yes, their home does hide an old, Dwarven shrine. The details provided for the rooms per se are captivating, and the boss, a bugbear, is a solid choice for a boss.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

There is a big issue I have with this pdf, and it pertains the argument that I'd try to field for its time-saving aspect - apart from one trap and one monster, none of the hyperlinks actually points to its target. Even though the open 5e SRD contains all those stats for the traps etc. featured, the lack of hyperlink functionality is somewhat annoying and mitigates the "Hey, you have no time, just get this and go play!"-aspect. Formally, the conversion by Kyle Crider isn't bad, though.

On a content-level, I loathed this mini-dungeon in PFRPG and I still dislike it in 5e - it's the boring, vanilla anti-gobbo-crawl. I have literally seen this done a gazillion times as a reviewer and while it's not bad per se, I can improvise more compelling material. Still, for the time-starved GM, this may provide some help, though the hyperlinking hiccups can be a bit jarring there. In short, the author Jonathan Ely has since then improved significantly and I'd urge you to check out one of his more recent offerings in the series. My final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded down - unless you really need a vanilla anti-gobbo-crawl.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #002: Hobgoblin Lair
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

One on One #002: The Rats of Verdant Reach
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2017 04:18:41

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. This is a One-on-One mini-dungeon - intended for use by one GM and one player. As such, it obviously has different requirements that other modules

Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

This can be played as a continuation of "Six Feet Under" or on its own - in either case, the PC is hired by Sheriff Dawson Beam, the lawkeeper of the eponymous nearby town, to investigate a gang of local thugs -probably after the lawkeeper has reacted to the night watchman calling for him after the PC's ordeal in the previous module. Good news: The watchmen returns the adventurer's starting gear - which was supposed to pay for the grave plot. Investigating at the sheriff's behalf the nastier sections of town, the PC may play the mini-game Assassin's Breach (if you have it) and deal with some nasty thugs - some extortionists who may actually recognize the PC...and a weird, red-haired half-elf woman may actually help the PC...but why? To be continued...

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf.

Justin Andrew Mason's second one-on-one adventure is slightly less problematic for a wide diversity of PC-classes - caster can now also apply, though they obviously will be pretty fragile: Martials and skill-users are still recommended. That being said, on the DC-side regarding investigation and Stealth, this could offer a bit more meat as well - RAW, this is a pretty linear local exploration that boils down to a couple of combats and no alternate means of conflict resolution. I don't expect much there, mind you...but at least a bit would be nice.

In the end, this is a solid, if not perfect module - how much fun you'll have depends, again, on the class chosen, though slightly less so than in the first one. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One on One #002: The Rats of Verdant Reach
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

One on One #001: Six Feet Under
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2017 04:17:08

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. This is a One-on-One mini-dungeon - intended for use by one GM and one player. As such, it obviously has different requirements that other modules

Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

The PC should have a small, sentimental heirloom.

The PC awakes in utter silence, as an amazing read-aloud text catapults the PC straight into the proceedings: All is silent...and it looks like a goblin was just interrupted while robbing a grave. The PC's grave, for the poor gal/guy has been buried alive - no gear near either and the last several months are just...gone from memory. The adventurer will have different issues, though, for the goblin sets the robbed grave ablaze while fleeing - so it's climbing out of the grave first! After that, the PC will have to deal with the goblins - probably with a shovel, no less, and the nearby mausoleum contains more of the creatures...and they want the PC's loot! In case the PC is overtaxed (very likely for less martial or unlucky characters), a night watchman can provide support - but in the end, the PC will be left with a lot of questions...to be continued...

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf.

Justin Andrew Mason's first one-on-one mini-dungeon is certainly not bad - it is a damn awesome way to kick off a campaign and can easily be used in regular contexts for either a whole group or the first character in the game...but at the same time, it does suffer from trying to be universal: Spellcasters may well burn alive before they escape their grave. Similarly, wizards sans spellbooks, clerics sans holy symbols, etc., may well be pretty screwed. This works well for skill/martial characters that do not rely on tools...and should imho specify the like. Such characters can have an amazing time here. The others...not so much. And unfortunately, as much as I love this otherwise, as a reviewer, I have to take that into account. This drags down what would otherwise be an amazing offering - For item-dependent classes, this can be as bad as 2 stars, for the right classes a 5 star+ seal experience, though. I have to take that range into account for my official final verdict and thus, I can't rate this higher than 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One on One #001: Six Feet Under
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #060: The Unquenched Thirst
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/09/2017 04:00:39

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

This mini-dungeon is a wilderness sidetrek on an island known for stranding folks, where orc watering parties have turned undead, deadly rapids drag towards the cascade that hides a cave; enchanted water, a kawa akago,, the very rocks thirsting for blood - from leshies to all terrain features, the misery and death that has haunted this place is evident, sharply contrasting its dangerous nature with the per se pretty idyllic map for a relatively dark and interesting, if slightly unfocused cursed region.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. This time around, we get not jpgs or player-friendly versions, which is a down-side, particularly considering how good this map is.

Michael Allen provides a region the PCs can happen upon that should be considered to be pretty fun, unconventional wilderness set-piece. The theme of nature as mystic, hostile, makes for a cool change of pace and I like very much how this works. personally, I think the leitmotif could be slightly stronger and focused, but I'm complaining at a high level here. My final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down for the purpose of this platform, but only by a tiny margin.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #060: The Unquenched Thirst
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #059: With a Candlestick
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/04/2017 09:10:24

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

And now for something completely different! Lord and Lady Scarlet are wealthy, well-connected and even pretty popular - the nobles have established a national embassy. When the PCs arrive, however, they come at a rather bad time. Mere minutes before, lord Scarlet was found murdered. There are a couple of guests here...and we have a powerful mastermind, doppelgangers and intrigue...as well as a gorgeously mapped massive mansion. Any GM halfway worth his/her salt can further complicate the scenario with a variety of NPCs, making this an amazing set-up...but if the PCs don't take care, that'll end up bad for them...very bad.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. This time around, we get not jpgs or player-friendly versions, which is a down-side, particularly considering how good this map is.

Michael McCarthy delivers an a nice mini-murder-mystery; the map if great, the details surprisingly pronounced for the length, the whole set-up surprisingly well done, considering the limitations of the wordcount. this deserves respect and is really neat. If you're willing to add a bit of detail, consider this 5 stars; if you want go-play, 4 instead. My official verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #059: With a Candlestick
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #058: The Palace of Ahmad Sahir
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2017 08:57:06

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

Ahmad Sahir was once a great wizard, devotee of the three goddesses or divination and oases, goddesses whom he rescued from a scrupulous sultan - and as such, the fantastic map (alas, not with a player-friendly version) depicts the palace of this man at the palm-covered shore of such an oasis. Cursed by the sultan, madness has consumed poor Sahir and now, he has himself enslaved the minor deities, using the blood of his servants as a means to bind them to his bidding.

Ultimately, the PCs will have to explore his exotic compound and deal with the maddened mage, braving guards mundane and magical.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. This time around, we get not jpgs or player-friendly versions, which is a down-side.

Michael Holland provides a story from 1001 nights; a high-concept fantasy, a unique environment - in short, a great little mini-dungeon. It's a pity we don't get player-friendly jpgs for the map - it's so nice, I'd consider the key-less map worth the price alone. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #058: The Palace of Ahmad Sahir
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 262 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG