Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » AAW Games » Reviews
Close
Close
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mini-Dungeon #038: The Spinner's Hole
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:16:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM. Oh, and the series now comes in an archive that also contains...drumroll a .tif-version of the map! Yeah, that's pretty amazing!

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

There is a little village called "Spinner's Folly" - and it may be aptly named, for they have an...interesting local tradition: Thrice a year, nature-affine adventurers are invited to a local dungeon, the selfsame one depicted herein, and given an interesting task: Enter the dungeon known as the eponymous spinner's hole...and subdue the giant spiders therein. You see, the local economy is relying completely on the giant spider silk, so killing them as per the usual adventurer modus operandi just won't do. This also means that this level 1 adventure would make for an interesting "man/womanhood rite" type of introduction to the adventuring life.

Within the dungeon, remnants of animal sacrifice, spider swarms and poison darts can be found and sheets of webbing as well as secret doors contain sections of the dungeon, providing some serious challenge.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf. The .tif version included here, which you can easily cut up and hand out to the players as they progress is a huge bonus. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Jonathan Ely's "Spinner's Hole" is perhaps the most concise of his mini-dungeons that I've analyzed so far: On paper, it may not sound like much; the traps, for example, with their exclusive emphasis on poisoned darts, could be more diverse. In play, however, the module actually works really well. I used it as part of playtesting and the unique entry vector of the scenario with the emphasis on the odd, local economy/custom, alongside with the challenge of dealing with swarms at level 1 made this a fascinating module that turned out to be more fun than its very focused theme would lead you to believe. It is hence that I award this 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #038: The Spinner's Hole
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #037: The Unreachable Terror
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/07/2016 09:11:27

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

All right, this mini-dungeon presumes that one PC is subject to some sort of divine quest: A remote and almost unknown shrine of the deity, situated on an island where the eponymously named village of Unreach is found, has been subjected to an unpleasant curse: The island looks like a horseshoe bent almost to closure, with steep cliffs everywhere but on the Southern side, where a shore can be found. The aforementioned village is also known as the edge of the world and the settlement comes with full settlement stats, including fluff-depictions of notable PCs and a box that contains investigation clues to be unearthed. The trail of said clues identifies the plague affecting the village as demon fever and points towards the doing of hags...and indeed, the PCs will have to deal with night hags here...but even after winning, they will not have prevailed; astute PCs will note the bloated corpse of a villager they have probably talked to - said villager would be the final hag, who has infiltrated the village - dealing with her final concludes the curse, with the night hag heartstones providing a means to deal with the plague.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Justin Andrew Mason's "The Unreachable Terror" pushes the envelope of the format in a great way; any halfway decent GM can extend this module with more clues, roleplaying, random encounters etc. to a full-blown adventure situated on an evocative island. While the module is slightly harder to include in a campaign than usual (you need a remote island - no problem in nautical environments, though!), it is also significantly more rewarding than most. In fact, if e.g. your convention-GM fails to show up, this makes for a flavorful, interesting module you can run on the fly. If you're good at roleplaying, you can easily get a whole day's worth of gaming out of this mini-dungeon. Alternatively, you can use this as a kind of backdrop for its nice map/village as well. Nice attention to detail: The settlement's impoverished condition is removed upon the PCs being successful in this adventure. While slightly more skill uses for clues than just Diplomacy would have been the icing on the cake, I found myself really enjoying this mini-dungeon, mainly for the nice level of dressing it manages to cram into its small array of allotted text. Concisely written and flavorful, this is well worth a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #037: The Unreachable Terror
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #036: The Scrag Queen's Sanctuary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:05:46

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

A couple of years ago, this little druidic stronghold has been overrun by a horde of trolls - no in ruins, the subterranean parts of the complex still remain - and actually manage to provide a concise exploration experience: From molds to strange, magical rooms to track the movement of the stars - the flavor of an old magical complex is captured well, with the traps and objects complementing the flavor. Beyond the rank and file trolls, however, it is the boss that deserves special mention, being the eponymous scrag queen...and a black half-dragon, to boot! Attacking from a pool of putrid water and with an actually effective flight plan, taking care of the BBEG of this mini-dungeon is trickier than one would expect...as she escapes in another pool, which is connected to a secret part of the dungeon! Knowledge skills, just fyi, help filling the blanks the PCs may potentially have and yes, the terrain actually is relevant in this one. As a minor complaint electronic users of this file should be aware of: One critter is not hyperlinked; it's a common enough one, though.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. It should be noted that here, I have seen the artwork before in another context, but to make up for that, the map's more beautiful and detailed than usual, which is actually a plus for me.

Jonathan Ely's venture to the scrag queen's sanctuary is a fun, inexpensive sidetrek that sports atmosphere, a challenging boss and thematically fitting obstacles. A statue erected for a traitorous druid may even raise some follow-up questions, if you so desire. Anyhow, this module stands and falls with the boss; don't get me wrong, the rest is nice, but the villain here is the most intriguing component and makes for an nice, fun challenge with some neat tactics. The mini-dungeon can be inserted without much hassle into a given context, just fyi. How to rate this, then? Well...I'd kinda be inclined to settle on a final score of 4.5 stars and round down...but ultimately, particularly considering the limited space available, what has been crammed into these 2 pages is pretty impressive and well worth of rounding up.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #036: The Scrag Queen's Sanctuary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #035: The Queen's Estuary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:04:48

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

It's a marvelous day in the forest; the birds are chirping and all's well...whether by accident or intentionally looking for it ( an adventurer vanished in these parts...), the PCs will notice a branch in the path...and if they investigate, they'll meet a nasty pit trap...and see a campfire burning outside a simple hut, right next to a gorgeous pond....though that one's inhabited by a water elemental. Nearby, there's a stone statue...of the queen of a local swarm of none-too-calm sprites. Why? Well, a hag has turned the queen of the sprites to stone and now, the sprites want the PCs to undo the harm. Of course, they may have already done that, if they ran into the hag before, for she offers them food that nauseates the PCs: No save. No designation as a poison-effect...not a big fan here.

If, however, they attack the sprites, they'll have a harder time getting to the treasure they offer...for that is guarded by liveoak'd bushes that may mutate into a treant when attacked by the foolhardy.

On a minor formal complaint, the pearl reward offered as an aspect of the module does not have a value or precise stats linked.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, but not as tight as usual; I noticed minor formatting hiccups here and there. Oddly, the pdf does not sport the Series' usual bolding for skill checks and the usual italicization for magic effects. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

It should also be noted that the pdf offers some nice read-aloud text for GMs less adept at improvising text. Rachel Ventura's "Queen's Estuary" is a solid on-the-road sidetrek. It is somewhat unspectacular, but thematically concise and thus can be considered to be a solid, if not perfect addition to the series. The villain, usually a creature known from subterfuge, somewhat is restricted by the limited space available, making the villain frankly less effective than usual for the creature. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #035: The Queen's Estuary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #034: Mysteries of the Endless Maze
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2016 09:02:26

An Endzeitgeist.com review This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

This is a ready to use portal-maze, but one with a twist: Upon entering one of the segments, you roll 1d4; on a 1, the segment's challenge is a riddle; #2 is a trap (4 of which are presented), #3 is a random monster (6 of which are available) and if a riddle is solved, the PCs can get one of 4 prizes. The riddles presented are brief, but not the lame old classics you will have seen before...unless you're really, really into riddles. If a segment of the maze has been completed, its portals activate. Critters defeated carry keystones and ultimately, these can be used to access the vault, where the nasty boss of the complex is awaiting alongside the sizable treasure. As a minor complaint, only the defeat of monsters will actually net keystones, which could have been handled slightly more flexibly.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Justin Andrew Mason's Mysteries of the Endless Maze is an amazing little puzzle-dungeon; it is not one of the annoying mazes that just frustrates players and has a smooth, nice progression rate, at least in my game it had. That being said, one minor nitpick is that you should carefully read how the dungeon works; due to the limited word-count available, its precise functions require a slight bit more observation on part of the GM. Not that it's opaque, mind you. The dungeon also has a nice replay value and whether as a maze in Sigil, as a sub-level, as the BBEG effing with the players - the complex has a ton of uses and can be inserted literally at any time and any place. All in all, a well-crafted mini-dungeon worth of a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #034: Mysteries of the Endless Maze
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

U03: Death Comes to Stoneholme
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2016 10:09:59

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The third of the underworld-adventures set in the dwarven city of Stoneholme clocks in at 52 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 48 pages of content, so let's take a look!

While it is not required to have played "Dark Days in Stoneholme" and "Murder in Stoneholme" to enjoy this module, I strongly suggest doing so, for this adds a) more player-investment and b) more gravitas to the module's plot.

Since I played the module as Part III of this series of adventures, the following review will contain minor SPOILERS for the previous modules as well as, obviously, SPOILERS for this one. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

The worship of the archdevil Dispater has been prohibited in Stoneholme since its inception, but like the proverbial worm in the apple, it had a way of coming back. After the alliance with a house of devil-worshipping dwarves allied with a tribe of goblins has been squashed by the PCs, ending their quasi-terrorist attacks, the PC's patron, Lord Deppenkht, has risen in prominence. A general, schematic map of the city is provided alongside some rumors.

A friend of said patron, Lord Aldarn Starkherk, reports receiving death threats and since the PCs have a reputation of being capable in dealing with such issues, it is they who'll get the job of securing the good lord - probably after saving him from some nasty dark creeper assassins in the streets. Deppenkhut, after providing a sumptuous feast for the PCs, thus beseeches the PCs of fulfilling their bodyguard duties for the lord. Thus, the PCs are invited into the house of the good lord, which is btw. fully mapped and comes with a player-friendly iteration - kudos!

All right, after foiling an attack of even more of the uncommon assassins, day 2 already goes pretty damn wrong - and astute (or paranoid) PCs may notice an unexplainable gloating component in Starkherk's reception of them. The dwarven lord ventures into his room - and there meets his fate. When the PCs enter, they'll find him dead by an overdose of concentrated hemlock...that and a LOT of incriminating evidence: From letters to diaries, Starkherk's study contains a lot of incriminating evidence that Deppenkhut, the PC's benefactor, is in fact in league with their opposition, leading a double life...

The city guard then begins to investigate and the module becomes pretty freeform; Deppenkhut begs the PCs to clear his name and is actually arrested - making inquiries is something the pdf handles uncharacteristically well, including the means of actually purchasing divination among the notes. Following the trail of the poison, the wine, Deppenkhut and Starkherk all yield pieces of the puzzle. Complicating manners would be a drunken dwarven mob, an elven paladin horribly out of her element and a spreading sickness do not bode well...not to speak of the hit the PC's hard-won reputation may take due to their association with Deppenkhut...

Speaking of the disease, analyzing it may point out that it is an infernal, nastier variant of ghoul fever...which points towards the massive cave adjacent to Stoneholme, the city tombs, a massive necropolis found in two caverns on top of one another - with a nice sideways full-color map depicting this gigantic area as well. In case your PCs are suspecting Deppenkhut themselves (or are stuck), there is a chance of him actually being seen near the metropolis, the options of the PCs witnessing an infernal ghoul transformation...it's impossible to get stuck in this investigation, which is very much a good thing. You see Deppenkhut is pretty much the Dispater-kingpin in the city...and Starkherk, being just as devious, has actually known all along and makes this his bid of power. Deppenkhut, in the meanwhile, can use his cleverly concealed magic power and items to actually react dynamically to the investigation's process with the perfect alibi, namely being in prison. Obviously, he can thus, mastermind style, easily vanish to plague the PCs another day...and frankly, he kinda deserves the chance.

Within the necropolis, capable trackers may follow the trails found there to either a tomb adjacent to Starkherk's sealed tomb or to the hidden lair of the dark folk that had been assailing the PCs and their allies. The dark folk lair not only contains a couple of powerful adversaries (with class levels and an imho underpriced magical club), but also moldants, poisonous, fungoid watchdogs that erupt in spores, potentially infesting whole areas. Area number 2 would pertain the aforementioned tomb complex and has a distinctly infernal theme, with aforementioned infernal ghouls, a devil, a ghoul wizard and the now-undead Aldarn awaiting as the BBEG in a challenging, nice dungeon.

Beyond the already-mentioned moldants, the infernal ghouls used in the adventure also get their stats - not, they are not simply ghouls with the template of the same name added! As before, the complexes in the Necropolis feature player-friendly versions - sans secret door and trap markers and, better yet, even sans headers. You definitely won't have to cut anything out when using the module.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good; while I noticed a couple of minor formatting hiccups, they did not impede in any way, shape or form my ability to run this module. Layout adheres to a nice, two-column full-color standard. The pdf's art employs a combination of previously used and new full-color artwork - nothing to complain about here. The cartography by Tommi Salama and Jonathan G. Nelson is of the usual high quality for AAW Games -and deserves special praise for the neat player-friendly versions and the overview maps that present the side-view of the city tombs - it's little touches like this that separate "good" from "very good." The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Jonathan McAnulty's 3rd trip to Stoneholme is the best so far; in particularly the middle section, the book features a level of detail and consideration for the GM I rarely see in such a set-up. The adversaries the PCs will have to face are pretty powerful and well-crafted and the respective environments are thematically concise. The best thing about this module, though, is honestly that it manages to depict a smart villain who continues to act smart throughout the module; and said villain isn't even the BBEG and may be used by the enterprising GM as a kind of Moriarty-like foil; if your players and PCs are in any way like, mine, this guy may act as a perfect way to lure them anywhere...for after playing Part I - III, they will hate him and be out for blood...or, well, still believe him. This makes the module so fun, at least to me - it is actually a module that dares to play its foes smart and in a way that is both logical and concise. There are modules out there with more far-out concepts, sure; but if you're looking for a module that makes "realistic" sense or a nice investigation, then this most certainly is for you, particularly if your players already enjoyed the first 2 modules in the series. My final verdict for this nice module will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform; however, if you're planning to use this as a stand-alone, it'll lose some of its flair. As a standalone, I'd round down instead.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
U03: Death Comes to Stoneholme
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mini-Dungeon #033: The Legacy of Theft
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/05/2016 10:07:51

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 2 pages and is a mini-dungeon. This means we get 2 pages content, including a solid map (alas, sans player-friendly version) and all item/monster-stats hyperlinked and thus, absent from the pdf, with only deviations from the statblocks being noted for the GM.

Since this product line's goal is providing short diversions, side-quest dungeons etc., I will not expect mind-shattering revelations, massive plots or particularly smart or detailed depictions, instead tackling the line for what it is. Got that? Great!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

Still here?

All right!

When recent construction of an inn revealed the presence of a presumably abandoned complex, the owners of the inn to be constructed, Edwyn and Jackson Cairn decided to explore the complex. Dumb idea. It's been 3 days and now it's up to the PCs to find out what happened. The PCs get into a long corridor with decayed doors; 8 to be more prices. While footpaths can be seen in the dust, there seems to be no discernible pattern. Beyond nasty traps and doors slamming shut, the complex presented may look dull on the map, but it isn't - it manages to evoke a concise, creepy atmosphere supplemented well by the traps and adversaries faced. That being said, this is primarily about the atmosphere that you can generate via the crypt thing herein. The module's theme of an abandoned thieves guild is supplemented well by the traps and secret doors featured, though personally, I consider its rewards to be slightly too generous for the challenge posed by it.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length. Cartography is full color and surprisingly good for such an inexpensive pdf, but there is no key-less version of the map to print out and hand to your players. The pdf does sport one nice piece of original full-color art - kudos!

Michael Smith's "Legacy of Theft" is well-presented, manages to evoke a nice atmosphere and is, as a whole, a truly useful mini-dungeon. Its set-up lets you put it frankly just about everywhere, making is very easy to use without any hassle; whether as a dungeon-sub-level, a rescue mission or below any structure, it requires no set-up. As a whole, it is a rewarding, well-made mini-dungeon that is well worth a final verdict of 4.5 stars, though I can't round up for it.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mini-Dungeon #033: The Legacy of Theft
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Aventyr Bestiary
by Debra L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 01:11:08

Disclaimer: I was a backer on the Kickstarter for this project so I had rather high hopes for this product.

The Aventyr Bestiary states it is a 3.5 OGL and Pathfinder Compatible Product. It is a Pathfinder Product and OGL Compliant but it does not contain dual statistics.

One of the things I really like is that the Table of Contents is linked so you can click and go right to the creature. A+ for that.

The artwork is eyecatching though a tad cartoonish. That's just subjective opinion so if you love the artwork, I'm not going to burst your bubble.

Editing is less than stellar. That said, I'm still rather impressed with the variety of creatures.

I really wanted to like the Icons but Extraplanar is used far too often: It is listed as Climate/Environment AND Twice as Type/Subtype. For Climate/Environment, I would call it Planar so that there is less confusion. .For Type/Subtype, I think the second one was meant to be Outsider. It has the lighter blue circle. Air is also listed as an Environment and as Subtype. I much would have preferred Sky to Air for Environment. Sadly Marsh/Swamp has no icon. (Note the Half-Fiend Dryad may have that icon but it isn't listed). You have a few monsters that could use that. No icon is listed for Ruins/Dungeons for that matter.

What is the Fungus Type or is it a Subtype? There is an icon but no explanation and it is not in the PRD.

I noticed the Augmented Subtype was missing (this is important because I think it was needed for the Fleshdoll Rogue and is lacking though I will comment on that later). While there is an Evil Icon, there is no corresponding Good one. I don't know if this was done on purpose or just an oversight. You have Psionic as a Subtype in a few places but no corresponding Icon. Last of all, there is no Shapechanger icon.

Most of the creatures seem to comply with the standard rules, but I have neither the tiime nor inclination to crunch all the numbers. Suffice to say, unless something jumps out at me, I'm going to presume the stat blocks are correct.

Unique creatures aren't just Solitary. If there is only one of its kind, that should be noted (Exsangunator for example)

Now for the Nit Picks:

Creatures should not have Two Types unless one is an Augmented Type see Elemental Drake and Fleshdoll Rogue. Note: you need to list whch traits they keep and which they lose somewhere, because of conflicts. Immunities should still be listed individually not just as Construct and Undead traits as per Fleshdoll. DMs want the information at their fingertips and don't want to have to look that stuff up.

Creatures do "points of" damage not just a type of damage.

What gives with all the creatures that you couldn't be bothered to add an "s" to make plural. I find this to be just sheer laziness (not to mention it enables illiteracy).

The avatar of Alkumuoto doesn't have a plane of existance listed in Environment. Should an Evil aligned plane at least.

Why does the Biddlytree speak Druidic instead of Sylvan? Druidic is a secret language.

Chicken Coop is a Construct (and no mention of Baba Yaga even) but the Construction section is missing.

The Dark Angel is a wholly wasted Subtype in my not so humble opinion. You could have said this was an evil angel and or at least noted which special abilities are granted by the Subtype. "Subtypes add additional abilities and qualities to a creature." This new subtype is rather lackluster and lackng.

Elemental Drake has two Types. It looks like it should be the Dragon Type with Extraplanar and Native subtypes.

The Draaki has the Graldin Breath Weapon special ability that could have just been noted as Breath Weapon. The phrashing is confusing since it just seems to do fire damage.

Exsanguinator's Ecology section is missing.

Fleshdoll Rogue is all sorts of Confusing: Male Human Fleshdoll Rogue 5. Okay. But then how is it a Construct AND Undead as both are Types? Also, it doesn't need any of the Undead immunities since they are all covered under the Construct immunities. I'd like to see Construction section on this too.

On the other hand, the Forstdeath Dragon is a proper Undead. Sadly, these undead dragons lose their breath weapons entirely.

Fungiant is another favorite of mine. The trunk of a mushroom is properly called a "stipe." Yes, that is particularly nit picky.

Funglet is another Two Type creature. It looks like this is just an Intelligent Plant that happens to have a humanoid appearance. I'd just leave it as a Plant Type and lose the Humanoid Type. Plants are immune to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms). Immunity to paralysis, poison, polymorph, sleep effects, and stunning. What are those Subtypes (audire, funglet)? They should be noted somewhere or at least note some source where they can be found. You completely wasted an advertizing goldmine by not putting the book where this is in the OGL section. How do you think people find these books?

Gitwerc are a nice addition though it would have been nice to have dweorg too since the two are so closely related. And why isn't your book that has those listed in the copyright notice? This is exactly how people find your products because they are listed in your other books.

Goemul's deadspeech ability notes speak with dead, which as a spell should be in italics (really nit pickiing here).

Libreum is also spelled as Liberum. Which one is correct?

The grizzly bear rug is terrific and another one of my favorites as it can be used in many settings. I want this to be a magical beast however. A druid made it after all. Why is this as strong as normal grizzly bear since it is so much thinner? About 1/4 the weight of a male grizzly. Also, grizzly bears have a racial modifier to Swim, which is lacking but not noted so it appears to be a mistake. See here: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/bestiary/bear.html#bear-grizzly

Are gyeongsa warpstorms affected by natural or summoned weather?

I also am quite fond of the Ireful Hellion. A devil that is chaotic. It should retain its Lawful Subtype however even if its alignment is Chaotic. See Lawful Subtype.

I'm also fond of the Hordenheim riot. Thank you for acknowledging where you bend the rules.

Hoyrall warrior is another with two Types. Just because it is humanoid in shape doesn't make it Humanoid. This should just be an aberration.

Jinn Wizards are a bit of a misnomer since they aren't actual wizards at all and don't cast spells. They probably should have the Psionic Subtype since you have the icon for it.

Karz slug and Karz slug queen should also have Psionic subtype since you have an Icon for it. They may also have a Swamp Icon that isn't in the Icon list.

Should kra’tah have Underground icon since it isn't listed in their environments?

Mortdravva is not only Solitary but also seems to be Unique (see Organization).

If mutah can breathe air, then they should not have the Aquatic subtype. Just because a creature lives in an aquatic environment doesn't mean it has to have the Aquatic Subtype.

Naghith also seems to be Unique (See Organization)

Necro-pede's Psychic Vampire ability contains no game mechanics. How long does it take to feed and what happens to the victim it feeds off? Should there be a saving throw for example?

Nitnam also seems to be a Unique creature.

Nogth Ma’klurl’uth also appears to be a Unique creature. Madness Within ability has singular/plural issue. In the stat block the creature is an it (no gender is given) but in the flavor text the creature is noted as HE. Also, the drow witch is female. You should probably clarify this mystery.

Ollphéist should be Magical Beast not Animal as it has an Intelligence of 5.

I'm not sure why Petrous has the elemental subtype: Elementals do not need to breathe, eat or sleep. No elemental immunities are listed. The text contradicts the subtype.

Phoso are kinda slow for their size at 40 ft., even with that many legs.

Pubo should be magical beasts not animals as they are naturally psionic.

Rellum the correct subtype is extraplanar not outsider. Outsider is a Type. Environment should list its home plane.

Snow Roc's Icy Gust probably shouldn't be a free action as it is a supernatural attack. That means that a target can take damage from its Icy gust and from its normal attacks in the same round. It should be a standard action otherwise it seems overpowered.

Rufidier should probably have an "s" as a plural. Also, free actions should not be attacks. Flame gout should be a standard action.

Rust mite swarm is bound to piss off a lot of players. I see this as a Deus Ex Machina to get inappropriate items away from PCs.

I'm not sure I understand the purpose of the salt worm's regenerating maw. Why would it ever lose its maw in the first place? Methinks it needs to be rewritten for clarity. What wound is regenerating? See your other gaping maw ability in Szaboans,

Screaming Severed Skulls melee attack should read 1d2 plus 1 cold. Don't take shortcuts with + signs. I'm not sure why it has a slam attack instead of a bite since it has no limbs. Does it ram its skull into you?

Why should an incorporeal shadow rat be able to bite a corporeal foe, even if it's just to allow a bite that does only Strength damage? That's pretty harsh for a CR 1 encounter. It can immobilize a level one party in an hour. I see a TPK here.

Shield Wardens should have their home plane listed in Environment or at least any lawful plane. What a boon if the party can get this kind of help!

Sigbin have the potential to be a TPK as well. I assume Negative is negative energy damage in the damage. That doesn't see intuitive but I'm willing to let it pass. The party isn't likely to have any items that bypass negative energy damage so this is a bit tougher than would be expected.

Skildpadder(s) should probably be magical beasts rather than animals considering they're the offspring of bulettes.

Cold Mutated Ogre Spiders are a mouthful to say the least. Not a fan of the name.Does this imply that there are other ogre spiders that aren't cold or mutated?

Giant legwater spiders aren't all that swift as they only move 30 ft., which is standard for a medium sized creature. The walking on water thing is just gonna get it called Jesus Spiders. You know that right?

A sloth spider with a hasted burst. Oh, the irony.

That's some black pudding, just saying. I guess there is no real Stone Salve-Shaped Template; pity.

Riding slug? Ewww. Also death from above when it drops on you. How much do these weigh? See falling damage.

Tri-Tongue Horror source material isn't listed in Copyright section. At least you cite to it.

Do ethereal and incorporeal creatures have a diminished sense of smell? See Veinar.

Vestraadi subtype text is missing.

Waspite should do electricity damage not electric damage.

Zvucni (really isn't that pronounced zucchini?). It is NOT an ooze. It's an aberration.

Zwerc.Again with the double Types. It looks like it should be Fey (augmented humanoid, dwarf, zwerc). Again reference to dweorg.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aventyr Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cloak & Ballot Trilogy 3: Divided Stand
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/04/2016 12:53:22

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The third installment of the Cloak & Ballot trilogy clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 30 pages of content, so let's take a look!

Election is in full swing in Rogail - and things heat up significantly in this module. This being a review of an adventure, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, only GMs left? Great! After the conclusion of Part II, we begin this module with an orc mob torching the HQ of the town militia...which coincidentally also allows notorious Lem Grogh to escape from prison...and things don't get nicer from here: A caravan fills the PCs in that orc raiders have returned and since the city was almost razed by such folk before, dispersing them may be in the interest of the campaigning PCs - this would be an optional sidequest depicted in the appendix, but it also is the end of the Lem Grogh storyline and thus should probably be played - the man has been captured and tortured by the orcs and handing him over to the authorities will get him killed...but does he deserve being set free? Nice little moral conundrum here...and yes, the PCs can prevent Grogh from being executed AND do the right thing!

That being said, the PCs will probably only have the time for that if they managed to take out the gremlins before...if not Willard Maypoll will have handled the threat, which is a minor PR-fiasco for the PCs. Speaking of which: The newspaper accosts Trina Hearth, the PC's patron, of being behind the escape of Grogh...so defusing that one's fallout may well be rather intriguing, but boils down to relatively simple checks On the subsequent day, Trina hosts the Rogail merchant's ball, where PCs act as security and have the chances to mix and mingle...with some presswork, they may eliminate the anti-Trina bias from the newspaper in a bit of backroom politics...oh, and they should handle those protesters, preferably before Maypoll arrives and commits a rather huge blunder, promising to get rid of the United Voice if he wins the election - you know, the very institution that is responsible for the democratic structure here. Yeah, not a smart move and one that may cost him dearly.

Day 9 of the election campaign offers something I wanted to see before - a proper "Tv-duel"-style discussion, moderated and all, between Trina and Willard - with the PC's actions and consequences mattering and some structural guidelines on how to run it. As the discussion is in full swing, it is crashed by assassins, who declare the lord-in-exile Ilin the only "proper" ruler of Rogail - the PCs will have to stop these agitators. Day 10 is election day...and here, the PCs will have to prevent fraud as well, as Willard seeks to replace the proper box with one rigged for him. No matte how the election goes, Willard will NOT go down easy and still has his militia...oh, and if he loses, he'll do the next best thing and throw his support behind the errant lord who seeks to return.

And here, the module becomes pretty epic: You see, now that Trina's (hopefully) in office, the PCs and Rogail's defense force will have to defend the liberties of the town from the approaching lord who wants to reclaim it: And guess what? Yep, it's time for mass-friggin'-combat, baby! NICE! (Though I would have liked to see a tactical map of the battlefield...oh well, can't have everything and the combat does work.)

Provided the armies of Ilin are routed, he'll retreat into the forest, where guerrilla tactics and druidic support provide a nasty advantage and slow down Rogail's forces horribly on their way to his base camp...so the druids must be dealt with...but why are they helping Ilin in the first place? Well, turns out the lord has kidnapped the albino bear cub sacred to the order, so rescuing it from the lord will go a long way to secure their support...and when the PCs finally fall upon Ilin, it'll be hell to pay...particularly, since he's got a Cyclops...and Willard Maypoll will finally get his due as well. Oh, and guess what? Yep, Ilin's camp if fully detailed in appendix #2. A total of no less than 4 pages of gorgeous full-color maps (yes, player-friendly) also help depicting the scenario's respective combats.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good - while e.g. a certain magical axe sports minor rules-aesthetic glitches, that's about the extent of complaints I can muster in that regard. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The artworks contained within are a mix of original and thematically-fitting full-color stock images - no complaints. Cartography by the esteemed Tommi Salama is as excellent as always.

Haakon Sullivan's and Michael Smith's finale of the Cloak and Ballot trilogy does a lot to redeem the series in my book. After the somewhat disappointing 2nd installment, this one ends the saga with a fun and evocative bang that actually managed to captivate me beyond the level the previous installments could; to the point, where I think playing this one may justify the previous two modules.

Let me elaborate: Part I and II aren't bad modules, but their angle is so unique, I would have expected more. The idea of running an election is extremely fresh and creative and there's a TON of stuff to do with it: I'm very interested in politics and the House of Cards-level of backstabbing and narrative potential involved with it is tremendous; there is a whole AP worth of backstabbing, unique tricks and evocative things for adventurers to do just waiting to be unleashed. The central issue of this series, then, would be that is tackles this subject - but only in a rather tangential manner. All the strategies of the PCs and their opposition, all the things you could do on any given day, are reduced to only a few things per day, when they could provide basically tables upon tables of tasks with repercussions, force the PCs to split the party to get everything done, etc.

While this would have probably made the series harder to run, it also would have reflected better the chaos of elections...and allowed for a finer distinction regarding policies and the like. Providing more conflict regarding factions and their interests, actively creating the election promises and program - there is a ton of pure awesomeness you can do with the fresh and untapped subject matter. It is thus, I was left a bit disappointed by the relatively simple way that the whole election is handled - a good GM can make this a phenomenal experience, but if judged on its own, it feels rather railroady in what's happening...and there honestly isn't much happening at any given day. PCs will not be stretched to their limits. Ultimately, the series is the "lite" version of the whole election-drama....and much like a soda, while lite's better than no soda at all, it also leaves this unpleasant aftertaste that leaves you craving a bit more. So that's what I think of the whole series - and I certainly hope there'll be a more detailed election-themed series at one point.

That being said, after the railroady, uninspired 2nd part, I wasn't looking forward to this one...and I should have. The final of the trilogy, while still too railroady for my tastes, manages to eke closer to what I wanted out of this series, with the mass combat insertion, some infiltration and the like and the TV-duel-style discussion managing to hit the right notes and provide a neat sense of diversity regarding the challenges posed. In short: It's still railroady, but it's significantly more fun to play. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that, if you're a capable GM, this finale may well make running the trilogy something rather memorable for your group. It'll take a bit of work, but in the right hands that elevate this the one step further beyond what it provides, this module and thus, the trilogy, can come to a remarkably awesome conclusion. If you're not willing to invest time or effort in the series, then this will probably be a 4-star module and the whole saga a 3.5 star-experience for you; but if you whip out that Ultimate Intrigue and work with the series, it can transcend easily the confines of what it offers; for you, this may well be a 4.5 star or even 5 star-saga...but it can only reach this level of coolness if you do expand it.

Unfortunately, as a reviewer, I can't really rate the expansion-capacity. Instead, I have to rate what's here...but I may, at least, take the unique premise and theme into account...which is why I arrive at a final verdict of 4 stars for this conclusion to the trilogy.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cloak & Ballot Trilogy 3: Divided Stand
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cloak & Ballot Trilogy 2: False Honest, Corrupt Virtue
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/26/2016 06:57:07

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The second part of the Cloak and Ballot trilogy clocks in at 22 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 18 pages of content, so let's take a look!

It's been a while, since we've been to the fair town of Rogail in the first installment "Tyranny of Greed", so let's recap, shall we? Obviously, this recap with contain SPOILERS. From here on out, potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, only GMs left? Great! The order of the unified voice, a quasi-democratic institution erected in the aftermath of a tyrant's regime, allows the people of Rogail to elect their leadership. However, charismatic crimelord Willard Maypoll, has managed to secure the office and, ever since, began expanding his operations. The death of one Raul Teak resulted in Trina Heath hiring the PC to bring an end to his reign.

The issue for the PCs did lie in a) surviving the killers sent for them and b) uncovering issues and trying to outmaneuver Willard and his official apparatus. Alas, the mayor knows his game and tails the PCs, trying to deal with Trina and her help...but alas, next week is election, and now, Trina has nothing left to lose...she'll run for mayor! This is where this module begins, and, as a brief timeline explains, it covers 5 days. After a brief background exposition, if required, the pdf begins with basically a verbal duel of Trina and Willard, one interrupted, however, by a terror golem entering the scene. After the panic, only an elven reporter called Lania Leafdancer, allowing smart PCs to make a potential ally out of the local media - an enemy they can use, for Trina is facing an uphill battle in the election!

Now, the elections themselves begin, with the second day providing an important lynchpin in the campaign - the trial of Blood Blade Grogh, with two sample articles being provided for your convenience...though it, at this point, does not look good for Trina. The 3rd day may potentially change that, for it is the annual Victory Day celebration, where the PCs can participate in a variety of check-based mini-games as well as defeat fireworks-wielding gremlins attempting to sabotage the ceremony. The local racial tensions that haunt the city flare up, incited via magic at the commencing trial, where the militia and half-orc populace is going to come to a bloody fight - one that, alongside its casualties can't seem to be prevented. Some reward for particularly astute and capable player characters would have been in order...but Trina vanishes during the riot and her agenda becomes more apparent in part III.

Now, the aforementioned election rules are collated in an appendix and PCs who want to, can clear out the gremlins from Rogail's sewers, with traps and the like looming in basically an optional mini-level that comes fully mapped for your convenience, including a player-friendly version of the map. Afore-mentioned articles are similarly collected for your convenience and to cut up and present to your players on one page.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to AAW Games' elegant, beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Haakon Sullivan's second part of the Cloak and Ballot trilogy is not a bad module - it is scripted to a high degree, with ample of read-aloud text and cut-scenes available for GMs less adept at improvising fluff text, so that's a plus. On the downside, the module, ultimately, is much more simplistic than its awesome subject matter deserves. The idea of general elections, politics and the like in a fantasy module is damn exciting, but I really wished this actually capitalized on the premise. Instead, we get a couple of cut-scenes, combat challenges (admittedly, sufficiently interesting ones!) and a bunch of relatively simple mini-games...but is that all? I mean, come on - from sabotage to espionage to long-term strategies, with PCs handling negotiations etc., the subject matter has SO MUCH potential...and realizes none of it. Instead of allowing the PCs to walk the tightrope between conflicting groups of interest, unearthing issues etc., the module feels more like a quick sequence of relatively conservative challenges that falls, alas, short of the exceedingly awesome premise it is based on.

This is not bad, mind you - but the frame-work is so innovative, so cool, I really wished it had properly taken account on what it could easily be. This has the potential to be truly a one-of-a-kind experience and didn't realize it. While certainly not bad, this module thus ended up being much less memorable than it imho could and should have been. It's still a solid adventure and I hope the finale of the trilogy makes up for this one, but verdict-wise, I can't go higher than 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 for this one.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cloak & Ballot Trilogy 2: False Honest, Corrupt Virtue
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

(5E) B02: Happiness in Slavery (Fantasy Grounds)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:55:38

this is a .mod file for a particular bit of software, but it isn't at all clear of that. I assumed that it would be something useful as a reference, but it's simply unusable.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) B02: Happiness in Slavery (Fantasy Grounds)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello there, .mod is the file extension for the Fantasy Grounds virtual tabletop and I assure you this is the correct file for this title. Were you looking for the PDF version perhaps? I\'ve already notified DTRPG staff who will hopefully be contacting you to get you the file you seek. Please delete this review as time permits! Thank you, -Jonathan G. Nelson AAW Games
Aventyr Campaign Setting Map
by Nathan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 23:03:24

Great looking map. Both the High-Res and Low-Res are clear and easy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aventyr Campaign Setting Map
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

5E Mini-Dungeon #001: Buried Council Chambers
by Ralph T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 20:00:30

The format and layout of this 2 page "mini-dungeon" is very nice and of excellent quality. Obvisiouly there is a map of the dungeon, but it appears that the maps in each of the serious are set at the top and over layed by the title of the page, and while it gives it a nice artistic and professional look it makes it difficult to include a nice looking map in an online tabletop run. I would like to see, for each mini-dungeon in the series, include a third page that contains a blank map that I could easily load into a table top system, and not have to edit out the description numbers; so my players know some kind of event is going to happen. If a clean map of the area were to be provided I would easily give this a 4 star rating, and if the author would state where the entrance is to the mini-dungeon I would be glad to give this a 5 star rating.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
5E Mini-Dungeon #001: Buried Council Chambers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello Ralph, Thank you for taking your time to review one of our Mini-Dungeons. We've since uploaded both a GM and Player map of this dungeon so you may utilize them. Would you consider revising your review accordingly? Thanks, -Jonathan G. Nelson AAW Games
B15: Rito della Successione
by Linda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 13:57:53

I got B15: Rito della Successione for my son and he really enjoyed it. He wants me to find something like it in the near future. He said, "the author on this one one was pretty darn good and would like to have more from him."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B15: Rito della Successione
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Tales from the Tabletop: Year One
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/29/2016 10:55:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review

Okay, now for something completely different: This book clocks in at 60 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 7 pages advertisement (unless I've miscounted, 1 page back cover, leaving 50 pages of content, so let's take a look!

So how does this book work out? Well, basically, AAW Games publishes Jacob Blackmon's art and leaves speech bubbles open for the fans to fill - the funniest of the respective lines are collected in this book, with the respective authors of the lines credited, including the runner-ups, so even if you dislike one, you certainly will find a smile among the alternatives.

So this, ultimately, is a product of our community...and it is one that made me chuckle and laugh loud while reading this comic: When the party's hanging on a single rope and the characters caution against reminding the GM of maximum load capacity; when a paladin riding into a blackguard convention thinks of the worst blind date ever, when a dragon feeds the PCs a gelatinous cube and tells them to digest it before it digests them, then I got more than a few laughs out of the set-up and the on-point punchlines.

When a charismatic elf is bluffing a troll and a runner-up is "Hey, Billy Mage here with a new, fantastic offer!", I really laughed out loud!

How to rate this, then? Well, to me the artwork by Jacob Blackmon was great and similarly, the funny lines add a cool dimension to the comic itself. Humor, however, is subjective and not everyone will obviously consider every line funny; a couple of these, admittedly, didn't elicit the same sense of excitement than others, but over all, this book indeed provided what its goal was -fun! This collection of comics made me smile and that makes it very much worth it for me. So yes - this very much is worth getting if you're interested in some cool, gamer-humor. This pdf delivered what I wanted from it. Hence, my verdict will clock in at 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales from the Tabletop: Year One
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 222 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG