Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Hotz Stuff » Reviews
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
 Quick Find
 
Advanced Search
 What's New?
Goblin
Goblin
$1.00
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • Troubleshooting - go here if you are having technical problems with the site or your products.
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Roman Seas: Catalog
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:50:25
It is a very fine, color catalog. This is a boon if still on the fence.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Seas: Catalog
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Roman Rural Village Set 1
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2013 13:34:42
I got this my 2mm Ancients project and here's my initial thoughts. First off the price is right
and the models are easy to build. They are also easy to scale up or down so are not limited
to 1/300.
I have Romans in 6mm as well as 2mm so you can see this was a bargain. On the
scaling of things as expected down to 2mm was just too small but I was happy with 50% ,
bit fiddly but the product was designed for 1/300 so more fool me for messing with it.

I will be investing in more models from this range

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Rural Village Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gold Town: The Mining Town Game
by Iain M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2013 07:01:51
It's a fun little game and it makes an effective tie-in with the wonderful 3d card models that re also available. My only gripe would be I would have liked a more C19th look to the actual characters but that's nit picking! Overall it's a pleasure to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gold Town: The Mining Town Game
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City Set 4
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2012 03:13:51
This is another great set for WWC. With WWC you can quickly build a western town. The builds are fairly simple for the first time builder, and with adobe photoshop or just some markers and colored pencils, you can color up the blackline sheets with ease. This was a great group project with my kids.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Set 4
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City Set 8
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2012 03:07:48
Very nice set and perfect for making a western warehouse district.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Set 8
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City Set 4
by Frank P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2012 12:44:00
All the WWC files print nicely on card stock. Simple and effective instructions on every sheet. These are well laid out and quality alternatives to more expensive resin buildings. Another great feature - no painting required! All in all, a great value for a good looking tabletop game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Set 4
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City: The Complete Set
by Rob B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2012 09:03:02
An excellent buy! All the buildings are of a high quality design and once printed will look great for our gaming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City:  The Complete Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City FREE Model Sample
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2012 05:46:43
Great product, well impressed with design and concept

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City FREE Model Sample
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Roman Seas: Fortification Set 6
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 18:40:19
The buildings and such are well designed, and reasonably easy to put together. I'd make the following recommendations, however, that would probably make things easier. There could be added some small tabs to the bottoms of the buildings so they would stand up more easily, and for those to be put into permanent display types, like diorama, etc., make them easier to glue in place on their boards.

Also, the Roman legionary tents--papilio, one is called--were made of brown leather. It could be possible to re-color them on the pdf without too much trouble on your part, if you wanted them to be accurately colored. They were made up of multiple goat hides or cow hides, so there could be small panel lines drawn on also. I have painted mine with water color, but it would be nice not to have to do so.

Great job, and amazingly detailed tiny models. Hats off to Mr. Holz and staff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Seas: Fortification Set 6
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City Pioneer (Starter) Set
by steveust a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2012 03:29:35
Wow what a superb set. These buildings are superb with great detail. I would suggest that when building them cut the tabs off and mount the buildings on 2mm grey board. This gives you plenty of strength. we also found that using evo-Stick contact adhesive works really well as it doesnt cause the ink to run unlike PVA. Get these buildings they will make your cowboys and gals very happy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City Pioneer (Starter) Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City Pioneer (Starter) Set
by Stéphane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2011 12:10:33
Inexpensive and beautiful, i'm not disappointed! I can start building my own town inspired by Bodie, California!
Just add few accessories, barrels, crates, wagons... And i think the result will be awesome. I have bought this set first after trying the Imperial Saloon sample and, at last, now i can play Far West Skirmish Games! I wanted to do that for years! Now I can even fill an entire table without ruining me.
Just watch your favorite serie, take your hobby knife, metallic ruler, pair of scissors, white glue and your first building will be finished soon!

Bon marché et très joli! Je ne regrette pas mon achat et je pense acheter d'autres set dans le futur. Whitewash, c'est du papier certes, mais c'est bien plus beau que certaines maisons en résine que j'ai pu voir. Et là, on peux même remplir une table sans se ruiner! ça fait bien 10 ans que je voulais jouer des règles western sans pouvoir le faire à cause du prix des bâtiments. maintenant je peux commencer à construire ma ville minière.
Mettez votre série préférée, prenez votre cutter, une règle métallique, une paire de ciseaux et de la colle blanche (séchage rapide) et votre premier batiment verra le jour en peu de temps!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Whitewash City FREE Model Sample
by Stéphane M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2011 08:12:01
I always wanted to play Wild West Miniature games but my main problem was the cost of a Western Town! I was pleased with the result of building this Saloon, i downsized it to play with 1/72 plastic figures and replace some few things, like the front pillars, by balsa wood. The result is very nice, i have bought after my first set of Whitewash City! Hurra! I can play Wild West Miniatures now! Paper scenery is a good alternative for Historical or fantasy miniatures wargames. Highly recommended! Thanks Mr Hotz!
Time to build the Starter Set now.... :D

J'ai toujours voulu jouer des jeux d'escarmouches western mais j'ai toujours été arrêté par le prix prohibitif d'une ville en résine. Maintenant, grâce à "Whitewash City" je peux le faire! J'ai tout d'abord essayé l'Imperial Saloon, remplacé les piliers en papier par des tiges en balsa et le résultat m'a convaincu. Le modèlisme en papier, c'est bien mieux que ce qu'on croit. J'ai téléchargé deux sets et je ne suis pas déçu, je peux enfin créer ma ville minière de l'Ouest Sauvage... Les décors en carton sont une excellente alternative pour les tables de jeu historique ou fantastiques. Hautement recommandé! Merci Mr. Hotz! Je retourne à la construction du "Starter Set"!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whitewash City FREE Model Sample
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Roman Seas: Rulebook Deluxe Edition
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 15:43:42
This set is a good investment for those with an interest in ancient naval warfare. It is a complete game, with all of the counters, reference charrts and ship stats you need. It also includes a set of 3D models, which look quite good when assembled. I have not played yet, but I feel confident that I understand the rules and they will give a good game.

I have built several of the models and I am impressed. They look good and are simple models, although due to the close tolerances in the fit of some parts they are not necessarily easy for beginninig modellers to build. I printed some at half size (1/600 scale) and was able to build them without too much trouble, despite the tolerances being even narrower. I think building the models at a scale smaller than that would be quite difficult.

My only real criticism at this point is that the set is limited to the Roman period - sets expanding it for the Greek wars or into the medieval period would be great additions. That said, I think with a little work a person could easily adapt the core rules to play those periods.

Overall, I think this set gives excellent value. I have no regrets about buying it and several of the fleet and terrain packs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Seas: Rulebook Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Roman Seas: Catalog
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2011 23:47:52
Entirely too tempting!

I don't even play anything Roman (Though I like a couple of Naval simulation games of some kinds).

The catalog has loads of good pictures of the models available, and really does its job in explaining the products and making me want to play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Seas: Catalog
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Roman Seas: Roman Merchant Ship Set
by Tom O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2011 13:48:32
This gives your fleet something to escort, reasons to be at sea at the time and place you are gaming. Nice models in their own right. Assembly difficulty is moderate primarily because of the size, but they look great when you get them finished. Do a once-over with the instructions before printing, as there are some parts to be printed on plain paper and others to be printed on card stock.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roman Seas: Roman Merchant Ship Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 92 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Hotz Stuff
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Other products (39)
 Hottest Titles

Roman Building Set 1

01.Roman Building Set 1
02.Roman Building Set 2
03.Roman Seas: Roman Merchant Ship Set
04.Roman Building Set 3
05.Roman Rural Village Set 1
06.Roman Seas: The Roman Navy Set
07.Roman Building Set 4
08.Roman Seas: Mark Anthony Navy Set
09.Roman Seas: Rulebook Deluxe Edition
10.Roman Seas: Catalog
11.Whitewash City FREE Model Sample
 
See All
Powered by DrivethruRPG