Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Yaruki Zero Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Kagegami High
by Derek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 20:15:53

This game is nuts and I am loving it. It should fit perfectly with the zany antics my gaming group tends to gravitate towards. The charts alone are nuts (if you have ever read it, think the charts in the Human Occupied Landfill supplement, "Butter Wholesomeness" but with less emphasis on "edgy" 90s grossout humour).

If you are looking for a truly ridiculous game that is primarily made up on the fly by rolling on numerous different charts for every applicable situation, this is the game for you. It is not something that you or your group will likely take overly seriously...and that's OK! Not every game is going to go into deep politics, heavy emotions, or life and death combat. The rules are very loose and largely exist just to resolve conflicts and move the plot along. If a player wants to do something, its up to them to ask the GM and see if their PC could do it. It will rely HEAVILY on the players just getting into its bizarre world and running with whatever crazy gets thrown their way. Its going to require the GM to be pretty on their toes, but that can also (in my experience at least) be a very freeing experience. You'll probably not get a very long campaign out of it, but as far as ways to spend a Saturday afternoon with friends, pizza, chips, soda, and beer go, it shouldn't disappoint, and might be a good way to take a break from a more emotionally heavy game of something like "Blades in the Dark", "Unknown Armies", or "Call of Cthulhu".

In terms of absurdity, I'd put this solidly up beside stuff like "Tales from the Floating Vagabond" and "Dinosaurs...in Spaaace". Its worth getting the book just to read, because I've had a good day chuckling at all the random insanity inside (in what other RPG can you generate a character named Wana University who has a television for a head, purple hair (?), and is also a Kamen Rider?).

Setting-wise, the book actually does a great job of throwing a HUGE toolkit of NPCs, locations, factions, and events into the GM's lap to play around with. Also there's a chart to generate over 1200 variations of the author's name. I'm not entirely sure why, but the book also contains a randomized pun generator, so that's just the sort of experience you're in for. Still, it gives you everything you need to bring the eponymous Kagegami High to life and generate a wonderfully nutty world for the players to immerse themselves into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kagegami High
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Schoolgirl RPG
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:49:43

Well, it does what it says on the tin, I'll give it that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Entanglements
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2016 23:23:26

An attempt to add the confused tangles of character interaction from Anime like Tenci Muyo or Ranma1/2, to games like Risus, Fate, D&D, Gurps and others. Helps keep the lines connecting the characters straight, until they switch around in manic fashion. Even between characters and things. Not really a game in itself, though it can be. More likely to be used as an add on to other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Entanglements
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Chosen Visitor - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Taryn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2015 02:50:37

Don't let the schoolgirl fool you -- this is actually a comprehensive treatment of the "person from earth ends up in fantasy world trope," and lets you play characters much more diverse than Kagome from Inuyasha! It falls short on the actual execution in several ways, though.

First, the moves. Most of them are actually really cool and flavourful, and I like how it's designed to make the character stand out for better AND for worse. A lot of the advanced moves seem like basic, character-defining things, though, the kind that you SHOULD get at least one of starting at level 1. (You don't even get a fighting style at level 1, but you DO get to pester the NPC who brought you here literally whenever you want. And it says you get "useful knowledge [or] a boon" every time, with no drawback.)

So, it's roughly half "a handful of different, well-written tropes based on this concept," and half "a grab bag of multiclass stuff." And most of it you only get through leveling up.

Second, the editing. While the prose itself is well-written and I didn't catch any problems with it, there are some pretty noticeable layout errors. The ones I caught: The "Someone's Got To" move's title is merged with one of the bullets from Revered as the Chosen One, and the second page of advanced moves in the playbook itself is labeled "Gear." These aren't really BIG things, but they give the impression of haphazard work.

I don't think it's unsalvageable, though. At the very least, it makes a good starting point for someone who wanted to make this trope their own.

(Also, it's CC-By-SA licensed.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Chosen Visitor - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Ewen's Tables: Wrestling Stuff
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2015 15:17:04

For its really affordable price, this is exactly what it says "on the tin". For a product, it is maybe a little lackluster - no explanations, no accompanying artwork, just black and white tables of the things it says - wrestler gimmicks, objects, match types, etc. If that, specifically, is what you're getting this for, then there can be no complaints - its a package of tables/charts to be rolled randomly, related to wrestling. And its a good, small variety of a handful of things. 100% accurate.

On the upside, it's no-nonsense "here's lists of things". No time wasted flipping past other stuff when you're looking for tables - that's all this is, around 10 pages or so. On the other, there's no flavor or suggestions or little or no other accompanying text at all. No "hey thanks for getting this, this does x" of any length. Just the tables.

In all, can't complain about it being less than it says - just feels like it could have been stretched out a bit and maybe some explanations or something given. I can read it fine because I understand all the stuff with explanation, but even if the author has a differing idea or it includes aspects I don't normally think of, I wouldn't know, in some item, because it's just the tables. I normally hate "fluff" in rpgs and stuff, but a tiny bit would be nice to give it depth.

FINAL: Remarkable in that there aren't any wrestling stuff that isn't part of a larger, more expensive game. Unremarkable in that that's all this is with no context or other info. Rock solid but lackluster.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ewen's Tables: Wrestling Stuff
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Ewen's Tables PDFs Table
by AJ P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 20:02:39

This 'product' is just advertising. A random roll chart for determining which other random roll charts to purchase... this just wasted my time.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ewen's Tables PDFs Table
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Magical Fury
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2015 11:14:05

This is a really rules light game, taking the already pared down *World or Powered by the Apocalypse rule set and making it even tighter, leaner, and faster. Conflict rolls are over once everyone has rolled once, and the outcome decided based on everyone's roll pooled together. The system is almost brutally stripped down, lean and fast.

For those who like lots of juicy setting there's not much here. There are implications and hints about how the world functions, and the character's role in it, but by and large the game is, as the cover suggests, about very angry magical girls who are rightfully upset, since their world has just been turned upside down by their transformation into a magical girl with no help from others. To be clear, this is a very dark world and tone for the magical genre, and the angry magical girl on the cover is probably pretty standard. Your transformation into a magical girl is one way, and doesn't care what you looked like before you became a magical girl. The transformation itself is woven into the rules in a dramatic and traumatic fashion.

In summary: The rules are there for a solid dark themed magical girl game, and include and extremely almost brutally tight rule set for actions both magical and mundane. There's only a very lightly implied setting, and a lot of the outcomes and actions are heavily dependent on GM interpretation. If you like improv, rules lite, and darker themes you'll like this game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magical Fury
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Schoolgirl RPG
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2014 10:29:58

This is an excellent short game that looks like it'll make a great one-shot to fill some time between other sessions. At only 7 pages, the rules are short and sweet, but leave plenty of room for all sorts of oddball scenarios.

The only room for improvement I can see would be the inclusion of an example of play, but for the price and sort of niche the game fills, this isn't a major concern.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Schoolgirl RPG
by Luke G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2014 21:31:44

Before I start- I haven't actually played the game yet. Yes, it's that good.

So, I got an email from DriveThruRPG the other day, and I noticed this ridiculous looking little game in there...

I thought to myself, "What in the world..." and read the description. Then I thought to myself, "What in the... who in the... what... is... this?"

So I bought it.

It's 7 pages of (absurd) awesomeness.

I'm starting up a Play By Post game of this on (A website for PbP) and just seeing the characters everyone is rolling up is hilarious.

After actually playing it, if I like how it works enough, I might have to type up a little expansion- and what I mean by that is a new d100 chart of random events.

Anyway, some bonus feedback that is completely unnecessary- Some more details on how you gain Stress would be nice. I'm just going to be making it up, which works for me. Also, it looks like over half our group is made up of cross-dressers. Which is funny, but maybe I should make another expansion that adds more special qualities as well...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG