Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Kort'thalis Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Liberation of the Demon Slayer
by Thomas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 09:29:41

Loved it. Best adventure so far, highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liberation of the Demon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Crimson Dragon Slayer
by Thomas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 09:28:20

Unique story, brought me back to the early days when there were no limits.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crimson Dragon Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Revelry in Torth
by Thomas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 09:26:58

Fun product, very well written. Players enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Revelry in Torth
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 22:28:10

This is not a fully detailed setting, yet it is much more than just an adventure. The pdf includes all the info you need to know about Santa Fe Starport (including why the characters don't just arrive and leave). In addition to the starport, the various communities and groups that carve out an existence in the irradiated remnants of the American southwest. Venger gives us plenty of random charts to keep things interesting and it means that honestly you could use this for multiple games and it's never going to be the same.

Content wise, this one is pretty offensive, especially for those that are too sensitive. This has more parody of real world politics and events than is typical for Venger's work. This is not a bad thing though. It's well written and works in context to this project. Also, like his previous work, this one is full of of references to movies. Of all of these, my favourite is the Demolition Man reference with the cantina.

While this is release was written for Alpha Blue, Crimson Dragon Slayer, and Venger's other games, the rules actually are secondary to the fluff. If you don't mind parody and crude humor, thisa a great tool kit for any post-apocalyptic game. If you like radiation, tentacles, mutant sex organs, or hashtags, you should pick this one up.

You should also download Venger's free minigame, Death Race: Fury Road.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Blood Dark Thirst
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 18:12:25

A neuronphaser.com review

Summary

Blood Dark Thirst in a nutshell is Vampire: The Masquerade as distilled through author Venger's propensity for an extra layer of darkness or weirdness (these are blood suckers who are possessed by demons!), and a major streamlining of system and theme. This isn't a game that sells itself on its lavishly developed setting or the complex machinations of vampiric clans or houses, but instead boils everything down to the personal traits that create such beautiful conflict in the modern vampire mythos. For those seeking a quick and dark way to tell vampire stories of personal horror, you can't go wrong. For those looking for more -- more details, more traits, more than just "how does my vampire overcome or succumb to his bloodlust -- this isn't for you. And that's just fine.

Content 4/5

Blood Dark Thirst (BDT for short in this review) is a full RPG in the usual style of Venger's other games: evocative, complete, and succinct all in one package. Somewhat like Crimson Dragon Slayer, BDT is an OSR-style clone of another game, but this time it's a game nominally set in the modern world: Vampire: The Masquerade. Only that BDT stays true to Venger's style, because it's not just vampires, it's demon-possessed vampires!

The game itself borrows the thematic ideas of Vampire: The Masquerade's earliest editions -- that of personal horror -- and spins them in the usual easy-to-start, fast-to-play style that makes all Kort'thalis Publishing games great, rules-lite pick-up games or introductions for new players and groups that like a gonzo style. Though we'll touch on some of the short cuts that make this game so fast, it's important to note that the themes tend towards slightly longer-term play than Crimson Dragon Slayer or Alpha Blue might suggest, and we find most of the mechanics in BDT work well for this, which is a nice surprise in such a sleek, rules-lite system. But that's all vague; let's get to the specifics!

Player Characters

The players characters are folks possessed by blood-drinking demons, so they are vampires, but the hunger that drives them is clearly motivated by another force that lives within them. These characters will have a number of special abilities thanks to their demonic possession, but all of this centers around a careful balance of the blood that sustains them (they gotta feed often), the humanity that allows them to move among humans in order to hunt without being caught (it's inevitable that they'll lose this humanity over time), and their force of will, pushing them to continue on in this endless internal conflict (their willpower allows them to resist base urges, the domination of stronger vampires, or to create new vampires to help them survive).

Narrative & Mechanical Traits. Characters are built from several narrative traits: things they are good at, things they are bad at, and several personality flaws that suggest dark urges they may give into. Then the more mechanical traits are determined: Blood, Humanity, Willpower, and Health are generally equal for all vampires at the start, but can vary wildly as vampires grow older, and even throughout the night if the vampire gets involved in a lot of conflict.

Levels & Supernatural Abilities. Vampires get "levels" that are gauge of age, experience, and power. As they go up in level, they get more Health and also begin to unlock new supernatural abilities from their vampiric nature (or demonic possession, really). All vampires start with incredible strength, reflexes, and the ability to influence the minds of the weaker-willed, and as they level they pick up abilities such as seeing the memories of those they drink blood from, communicating with the dead, moving without a trace, telepathy, and more. All of these are thematic to some version of the vampire mythos, and some are more blatantly supernatural (or even demonic) than others.

Gameplay

BDT uses the VSd6 system. If you're character is especially good at something, they roll 3d6 (sometimes more, if you have special items or powers). If they are average, they roll 2d6. If they suck, they roll 1d6. When you roll dice, you simply look at the highest die rolled, and that's your result: a 1 is terrible, 2 and 3 are generally bad, 4 is okay, 5 and 6 tend to rock. When it comes to dealing damage, multiple 6s mean that you deal more of it. Simple.

As mentioned above, a character has narrative traits that tell you what they are good at and bad at, which determines whether you're rolling more or less d6s. Supernatural abilities sometimes allow you to gain new things you're good at, or increase the benefits of the results of a good roll. For example, you rarely roll more dice, but if you succeed at some supernatural strength attack, you might multiply the damage dealt by 3.

That said, the bulk of the mechanics revolve around the major trait drivers of the characters: Blood, Humanity, Willpower (and to a lesser extent, Health).

  • Waking up at dusk, activating supernatural powers, healing Health points, and turning a mortal into a vampire all cost Blood to use, and since you only have 6, they go fast.
  • Evil acts cost you a Humanity -- no more than one per night -- and low Humanity causes your appearance to become less and less human, veering towards downright demonic at the lowest levels. Especially good acts can be awarded with your Humanity increasing, but the system seems to suggest that these must be pretty serious, virtuous deeds.
  • Willpower can be spent to resist supernatural influence, resist going into a frenzy, turning a mortal into a vampire, or adding 3d6 to your dice pool. Like Blood, you only have 6 points, and you can regain 1 of them (once per scene) by roleplaying your flaws.

There's a section on vampire weaknesses that speak to legends and myth, telling you which ones are "real" and which ones aren't. Rules for the blood bond (gaining mental domination over those that drink your blood), hunting for, grappling and feeding from humans without being seen, and combat round out the book. Notably, seizing a victim and remaining sneaky have random tables based on the VSd6 success table, so they act as great springboards for mixing up the results of hunting. Of course, if you feed on a willing victim, you can ignore them, too!

The Black Envelope

An introductory scenario, "The Black Envelope" is included to provide a quick jumping off point that will force the players together over a shared threat. The scenario is incredibly lightly detailed, instead relying on tables to determine some possible encounters and/or final setting for what's likely to be the climactic encounter, as well as some information (rumors? truths?) about the subject of the players' consternation: the most powerful vampire in the city!

It's the kind of scenario that Kort'thalis is known for: evocative but very loosely detailed. It'll require an experienced GM and either lots of improv or a not-so-small amount of prep to breathe life into the scenario. But let me stress how good it is: SPOILER the head vampire of the city drops a note at each player's home during the day (so, probably not personally delivered) that basically says, "Get out of my city or you're dead." For those familiar with Vampire: The Masquerade, we're literally starting with the players under a Blood Hunt. END SPOILER

Form 5/5

Blood Dark Thirst is a 25-page PDF (including cover page, one page of credits, and a one page character sheet). The layout includes two columns and there is both a full-color version with a cool "bloody parchment" style background that doesn't interfere with legibility, and there's a background-less, printer-friendly version.

There is full-page artwork that breaks up several sections, which really means this is a much smaller document than 25 pages in terms of words, but the artwork throughout is supremely evocative: remember, these aren't just vampires, they are demon-possessed vampires! And that character sheet! It is gorgeous and laid out beautifully: it has everything you'll ever need for a character, plus evocative flourishes in the form of symbols for tracking traits like Humanity and Willpower, as well as background artwork that veers from sensual to horrific. This truly evokes what playing in a world of demonic vampires is all about!

For more reviews, RPG advice, house rules, resources, and more, head over to neuronphaser.com!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dark Thirst
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 15:24:06

So many months ago I agreed to do a review & commentary about Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport from Kort'thalis Publishing aka Venger As'Nas Satanis.

Many months ago I supported the kickstarter on this blog & was really excited to see Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport hit the wild. But here's the thing, go into this understanding that this is a parody of Gamma World's Albuquerque Star Port adventure sort of. What Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport really is a post apocalyptic/ sci fi pop culture parody adventure for both Crimson Dragon Slayer & Alpha Blue.

This is a product with an adult warning on it and it means it. There's sex based factions, horrid tentacle monsters in the background, erotic low humor jokes that are not really necessary, all of the things that you expect to find in a Venger Satanis product. But despite itself this is a really useful product if your into old school apocalyptic gaming. We'll get into why down below but as Rpg Pundit said a little Venger goes a long way. This isn't anyplace near Gamma World first or second edition levels of quality but this book isn't meant to in any way shape or form do that. Instead this is a third tier OSR product intended for post apocalyptic sci fi & fantasy. It is meant to create a working star port/mini adventure location for any post apocalyptic or sci fi based campaigns. It leans heavily toward those systems but there's enough levy way for a DM to really adapt it to their own needs. The layout is clean, crisp, and up to Monkey Blood Design's standards with lots of well done cartography and weirdness thrown in. Do I think you should get Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport in a word yes. But now I'm going to tell you why! This is a South Western flavored star port with lots of interesting NPC's, mutants, random tables, and more. And I think it would make an excellent post apocalyptic domain for your PC's to control aka I think that your PC's should take their star ship or post apocalyptic army and blow the living crap out of it! Time & again throughout post apocalyptic games you see the PC's struggle to make ends meet, adventure through contaminated ruins, face down mutant horrors that would make H.P. Lovecraft have the dry heaves. All for what another day in the irradiated sun? With Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport everything is laid out for the DM to have the PC's carve out their own pound of irradiated & mutated flesh in the desert. There are a ton of random tables of maps, relics, and more all waiting to snare the PC's. Going all the way back to Gamma World first edition there's been a sub game in science fantasy post apocalyptic games of PC's carving out their own empires. There are tons of factions, sex cults, etc all in the hot sweat hog of a space port. But what if the PC's had their own working space port in the wastelands? Could this be done with Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport ? In a word, yes & yes because going all the way back to Original Dungeons & Dragons when a PC was hit ninth level they were expected to create a domain. For many players this was a giant pain in the ass. But when you start looking at the various adventure locations that the PC's have been too they often looked to start cleaning the monsters out and moving right in themselves. This often gave the DM a perfect excuse to launch another monster or adventure their way from the dungeons below. We can introduce the idea of wasteland domains for a post apocalyptic game. This means that the former ruins or wasteland dungeons become the wizard's tower, fighter's strong hold, etc. By the same token there were various Blackmoor modules that used the trope of 'the city of the gods' concept. Here's where Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport comes in. There are a ton of Lovecraftian encounters and ideas mixed into the backdrop. By taking these and creating a cargo cult situation around the star port it can easily be transported over to a traditional Dungeons & Dragons fantasy style world. It also gives the DM the perfect excuse & opportunity to get the PC's off planet if that's his or their plan.

So why does Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport work? Most of it does but I wanted more of it. More post apocalyptic material, more tools, more background, and deeper NPC's but that's not the point. This is a real rpg tool box that depends on the DM to most of the heavy lifting. Well the book only clocks in at thirty four pages plus maps meant to be printed used for play. It does exactly what it sets out to do. That is create a solid and useful post apoclaytic star port for old school play. A five out of five in my book. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery. Want to see more OSR content, original ideas for this and other science fantasy products? Subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
by Stephane R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2017 02:31:58

Google trad : Most definitely THE best campaign to date for me. I am MJ d & d3 / 3.5 30 year old MJ for 23 years. The map is excellent and the groups on each "case" make the world complex and coherent. My readers do not support linear scenarios and the world has explored is beautiful. Adding items from other books on can change places to another campaign for another replayability. Look forward to another open world style campaign.

Original : Très certainement LA meilleure campagne a se jour pour moi. Je suis MJ d&d3/3.5 de 30 ans MJ depuis 23 ans. La carte est excellente et les groupes sur chaque ‘’case’’ rende se monde complexe et cohérent. Mes joueurs ne supporte pas les scénarios linéaire et se monde a exploré est magnifique. En ajoutant des éléments d’autres livres on peut faire changer totalement cet endroit d’une campagne à l’autre permettant une énorme re-jouabilité. Attend avec impatience une autre campagne de style bac-a-sable



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
by Константин . [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2017 04:37:57

The content of this product is very very limited. It is 14 pages in total 2 pages of full page intro images and 1 page of credits. Several one page images and more than a large square boxes. For a reasource that is intended to teach you how to write like a Boss there sure as hell is a lot of empty space.

It is full of unoriginal and uninspired work with no structure or experience that might be useful. quite honestly regret speding the time to review this but I feel like it my obligation to spare everyone the waste of going through this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Blood Dark Thirst
by Niles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 18:40:38

Caveat: I don't like V:tM or V:tR or WoD or anything related. When Venger said he was going to write an OSR heartbreaker based on them I came up with a very involved arguement that involved waves and cycles to show that the Storyteller games couldn't be Old School until 6e D&D comes out.

Turns out I was wrong.

BDT works as well its own thing and, if you're less lazy and burnt out than me, would be a perfect stand alone game for as much material as you can squeeze out of it. To me it does seem to expect a basic knowledge of the WoD stuff, if only to deliberately ignore it. You can get workable characters out of it in about 15 minutes if you're distaractably watching YouTube videos. If you have no intention of running it directly then there's plenty of ideas to drop into your other OSR games.

My only real complaint is that it feels unfinished. Like I've only got a third of a final game here. Hey Venger, if you ever do expansions for Werewolves and Sorcerers then let me know. Meanwhile I'll be over here not publishing my own osr style paranormal/occult heartbreakers. With blackjack and hookers. (Although I'm struggling with the blackjack based task resolution system. And the hookers are expensive.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dark Thirst
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Battle For The Purple Islands
by Tamas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 15:26:41

This is a 22-page booklet, with great b&w interior art (by Fuzzy Big, Monstark, and Craig Brasco). It can be used as a part of your Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence campaign, or as a stand-alone scenario.

In the beginning, there is a section for fleshing out your characters, mostly via random tables (this is usual for Venger's scenarios, and I actually like it - it is perfectly possible to use these snippets and tables as "modules" and use them when running any of the other adventures). The appendix holds some more random tables, e.g. a 1d100 hexcrawl.

The scenario includes three "entry points" (hooks) for PCs, depending on whether they are veterans of the Purple Islands or newcomers, or allowing them to cross over from the Alpha Blue universe. This is very useful stuff. The story itself is then propelled by the appearance of a messenger on a quest to save the universe, none the less... but the island is an arena between various factions and wildcard tribes, who make everything very hard. And very random. With so many agents, the situation can get out of control very fast, which is, by the way, a good opportunity for the players to gain the upper hand. A reptiloid moon priest attacks your cannibal captors? There's your chance for the escape! But be careful, 'cause an ape patrol is just around the corner, looking to slay some nameless cultists of an unnameable god!

So, yeah. This is dense pulp madness. Evocative! And handy, too: the section on local purple tribes allows you to cook up your own Mondo Cannibale. Nods to Heavy Metal and weird fiction all around. And yes, the dude on the cover is exactly who you think he is.

There are some organizational issues, though. Subheadings of the same level can cover factions, random encounters, set pieces... It is roughly in chronological order (the "ending" is in the end), but the middle chunk of the text doesn't provide enough pointers. It is comprehensible, but takes a read-through and copious note-taking. Not for pick-up play. However, while reading it, you can definitely fine-tune it to your own and your players' preferences.

(originally written for eldritchfields.blogspot.com/2017/11/review-battle-for-purple-islands.html)

(A review copy was provided by the author of the game)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle For The Purple Islands
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The S'rulyan Vault II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2017 08:58:31

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a non-prioritized review at the request of one my patreons.

So, the first thing you need to know would be that this product is a map, a massive map, to be more precise. Drafted by the talented Glynn Seal as well as Monstark and Fizzbig, this map comes in two iterations: One would be the classic blue and white – and yes, if you zoom in, you can see the squares. Zoom in? Yeah, this thing is humongous. As in: You can make that a super-sized-poster-monstrosity. The map comes in 300 dpi, so yeah – you can actually make that happen without everything looking bad. For the tablet-users: The blue/white classic version clocks in at about 30 mbs.

Now, here I may be prejudiced, but for me, the true star would be the second version of the map – just as big, the same dungeon, but infinitely more atmospheric. Why? Because it sports a used parchment look with copious amounts of blood spatters – considering the eldritch feel of the complex, that not only seems appropriate – it really made me crave a print version of the map – to shred up and make the PCs hunt for. Now one of the many, many rooms of the map does sport Venger’s name and the triple Kort’thalis dragon heads, so if you’re a stickler regarding that kind of thing, be aware of this peculiarity. This one btw. clocks in at 116 mbs.

On the plus-side, there is a sense of gravity and gravitas to the dungeon: There are rooms, half-shattered by tectonic shifts; tunnels and caverns leading into obviously hand-crafted dungeon rooms…and there are the details. In some rooms, you can spot glyphs – what do they mean? Those things next to the underground river flowing through – what are they? Suckers? Eye-stalks? Those strange toadstools there…or are they spotted, strange rocks or something weirder? There is an underground sea vanishing in the floor to re-emerge; there are yawning, black chasms – some may be wells (Don’t go down!), some may be dimensional vortices. Oh, and this is Kort’thalis Publishing we’re talking about. There are tentacles. Three different types, actually! Altars, what may be weapon stands or mannequins, statues…heck, this one growth may well be a forest…or just some strange, organic growth. The map is precise in what it shows – just enough to jumpstart the imagination without shackling it to one concept. With one obvious exclusion to that rule. Tentacles. Surprise. ;)

If that does not suffice, the map does come with a short, system-neutral dressing booklet, much like its predecessor: This booklet comes in two versions, one of which is more printer-friendly than the other – kudos there. The dressing booklets come with extensive, nested bookmarks and cover 15 pages; of these, 1 page page is devoted to the front cover, 1 to the Kort’thalis glyph and 1 is the editorial, leaving us with 13 pages. As always in Venger’s offerings, the b/w-artworks featured are really nice. Three such full-page artworks are provided – two battling dragons, a weirdly mutated flumph that is kinda looking like an animated, dangerous sextoy for males and a naked woman in chains being held in front of a huge, obese version of a/the devil – and yes, he is sporting a non-erect member. If that (or the cover) offends you, then this may not be for you.

Okay, so far regarding these things, so how do we start this booklet? With actually salient bullet-points regarding dungeon-creation/population that actually helpful! We follow this up with random tables – one to determine the sound of the dungeon – d4-strong. More gonzo would be the 30-entry-table that provides things that happen when you camp in the dungeon. PCs may dream of drinking blood from a witch’s teat (which may curse them), encounter frickin’ murder-clowns, a magic item has gone missing – this table of complications is actually cool and well made – the table does include rocks falling (but sans necessary PC-death), being marked in various ways, being taken prisoner – the table is definitely creative and well-crafted, without being too weird or too tame or too random – it is a helpful, well-made array of strange things. Okay, so the next thing is actually credited to me, though I mentioned it to Venger in the passing – it is something that I figured would suit his tastes and frankly, I wasn’t even aware he ran with it. I am a big fan of using monster parts for magic components etc. – and Kort’thalis Publishing’s books tend to gravitate to the visceral, so yeah – we get a massive meta-table! 30 monster parts (including circuit boards, eyes, etc.), 4 removal difficulties, 12 different effects (all system neutral – increased spell power, virility, healing – you get the idea!!) and 6 entries on how long the benefits last. I really like this table – it is elegant, easy to use in a given rules-lite system and works smoothly.

Speaking of working smoothly: There is also a massive 100-entry-table – and if you#re running an eldritch dungeon/mega-dungeon/underdark, then this table will most assuredly help you. You see, we get faction quirks! From never or always using a peculiar weapon type, drinking the embryonic water of giant worms, covering the underside of their feet to not looking others in the eye, writing haikus after each brush with death…there are also weird ones: Like ritualistic combat with demon dungeon vultures strapped to them. So yeah, from the exotic t the more regular eccentricities, the table is rather nice.

Of course, most smart PCs will enter and leave most dungeons at least once – 6 entries for restocking dungeon, 4 additional effects (traps reset, evidence of sorcery (with a brief 12-entry sub-table, etc.) – nice ones. There are also 20 sample, fluff-only hirelings and 4 degrees of hireling loyalties – Name, race, class and miscellaneous notes are provided.

Now, the ardent reader may have noted that this book has the “Almost system neutral”-tag on my homepage – well, there is a reason for that: We get a new creature (most suitable for Crimson Dragon Slayer, but converted easily enough); 6 hp, armorless, 1d6 atk dice pool, ascending atk – the glitter worm, aka gem slug. These dangerous vermin lair among treasure and those bitten risk turning into them within 24 hours on a failed save. There also would be a new magic material – Zoth, which may be the liquefied remains of a Lovecraftian deity: It can enchant items, can be made into alchemist’s fire, animate objects, causes mutations – in short, it is a fun chaos-infusion.

Okay, so, the maps are amazing. But more importantly, the booklet this time around is INSPIRING. One of my criticisms of the first Vault was that it tried to at once tell a VERY specific story and then mixed the super-specific with the really widely-applicable. This booklet is much smarter – it is basically a great companion piece to the aesthetics of the maps: It shows you just enough to kickstart your imagination; it is smart, precise and its rules, where present, are as concise as possible within the paradigms set for such a system-neutral dressing file. It also retains Venger’s trademark characteristics and in fact, represents perhaps one of the best dressing-collections he’s produced – the material ranges from the mildly raunchy to the grounded; it does not drown the reader in weirdness, but still leaves plenty of stuff to go around. In short, it represents one of his best dressing-collections to date. It is unique and saturated with his distinct voice, to the point where it is pretty obvious that you won’t encounter significant overlap with other dressing files. As a whole, we thus get an inspiring supplemental booklet and well-made, high-quality maps. In short: This is cool and worth checking out. My final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The S'rulyan Vault II
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Alpha Blue
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2017 21:31:40

I revived a free copy of Alpha Blue for review. I recently posted that review on my blogger site here: https://withinthedungeon.blogspot.com/search/label/Alpha%20Blue

Long story short, if you're not too sensitive to sexual themes I don't think you can go wrong. A lot of elements in Alpha Blue are largely system neutral or plug and play, which should work in most OSR space fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Blood Dark Thirst
by Thomas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 17:15:03

Being someone who has always wanted a simplified VtM, when I saw Blood Dark Thirst, I was intrigued. Already a fan of Venger's different take on RPGs, I bought this PDF right away!

Firstly, I will go over what I like about this product. It really does a good job making the Vampire RPG concept much easier than what I have played before. The tedium of having to look up which abilities to add to what attributes in order to know what to roll to accomplish whatever I'm trying to do... is gone! The rolls that are made for skills and attacks are simple and intuitive. An awful lot of the fat has been trimmed here. Also, I could care less about Vampire politics and factions and endless metaplot. It appears that Venger feels the same, as this game seems to focus much more on being a vampire and doing vampire things. The world and plot are firmly in the grips of the Gamemaster. I do like the similarities to White Wolf's systems where they do appear, such as Blood Points, Willpower and Blood Bonds. It feels familiar but simplified. Mostly in a good way. This game is also easily house ruled for whatever one might not care for or wish to add in.

Now I'll go over what I am not all that fond of. I know that the system purposely keeps things simple but there is one area where I don't feel that shines. Powers. As has been mentioned by a previous reviewer, just an extra line or two on how some of them work would be great. Yes, I can sit down and take the extra time to house rule the powers that are extremely vague or have no system associated with them but it really feels like this particular section is unfinished. I'd also love to see more of them and perhaps Kort'thalis might release more in a future supplement. Another complaint of mine is the very low Blood Point cap. Six just doesn't feel like enough when you consider you must spend one just to wake up. Then there are all of the other uses for them that a character is going to need to be spending them on, like powers and healing. Add to that the fact that you begin having to worry about frenzying when you are down to 3 and that makes for an awful lot of feeding, at least with my group. I also didn't notice any ability to earn more through leveling. That's one I will house rule and it won't be hard in the least but I felt it was worth the mention. Finally, the lack of a character sheet is a bummer. It's a small bummer but a bummer none-the-less. Even in a super, extremely rules lite game like Blood Dark Thirst, I think a character sheet should be included with the core rules book.

So do I feel that this game is worth the $4 price tag? Absolutely! Venger has written the start of one of the RPGs that I've always wanted! It does have what I feel are flaws but nothing that I consider fatal. I do hope that there are more supplements for this game and that powers are expanded upon but if not, I can add to it myself. I just wish I didn't have to.

In closing, if you are a fan of VTM or VTR but really just want a simple system that allows you to make customized vampires and play them, then this might be the game for you. Just know that you might need to do a little extra work to make it feel 100% playable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dark Thirst
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Good news! An official Blood Dark Thirst character sheet is not only coming, but will be added to this PDF. So, everyone who's already downloaded it will soon have the latest version (with character sheet) at their disposal. Glynn Seal (the guy who did the awesome layout) is working on it as we speak. The PDF update will probably occur early next week...
Blood Dark Thirst
by Gerald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 17:27:48

Okay, so received my copy of Blood Dark Thirst and printed out the Print Friendly version. It's not a huge book, only 12 double-sided pages, for a 24 page count, so it won't kill your printer or break the bank if you have to have it printed out elsewhere.

First, the fonts used print clear and dark. That's important, because if you have older eyes it helps you to read easier. This is often a peeve I run into with new products. Light print and small fonts make game material frustrating for older customers. Thankfully, the folks at Kort'thalis take this into account. Thank you.

I'm a newbie to the system, so I read the rules through as a first time player just learning the ropes. It didn't take long, the rules are pretty straight forward, and not complicated. If you're an experienced tabletop rpg player, then you'll be able to play with a minimum of setup. If you're a newblood (pun intended), you'll still be able to play the game, but it'll take a bit more prep work on your behalf. Not to worry though, the system is solid and laid out well, so you'll do fine.

You'll need one 20-sided die, and three 6-sided (normal) dice. If you don't have a twenty sider, you can find dice apps readily enough for your phone or online. Or simply use take a deck of cards, pull out two suits of cards from Ace (1) to 10, and shuffle them together. One suit will stand for 1-10, while the other suit represents 11-20. Replace and reshuffle the cards after each draw.

The art is amazing. It evokes the imagery of the game, both sensual and sinful. The quality of the artwork reflects the quality of the production value. Kort'thalis takes pride in their work. The customer is getting value for their dollar.

And best of all, the VsD6 is similar to the other Kort'thalis game products, so you learn one, you'll be able to play them all. Or if you play other OSR products, you can add Blood Dark Thirst as a ready drop-in resource to your games without fuss. As either a stand alone game, or an added game resource, you can't fail with this title.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dark Thirst
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 17:09:10

The high priest of Cthulhu, Venger Satanis, has another fantastic stand alone game that comes a warmer color. I was provided with a review copy.

Blood Dark Thirst is a new rules light game of vampiric awesomeness. System-wise it uses the V6 system that all of Venger's other games use, which is really cool because his other horror releases, particularly The Outer Presence, A Green Jewel They Must Possess, and His Flesh Becomes My Key, can serve as good inspiration for Blood Dark Thirst adventures. I already have some ideas for a certain green jewel.

Character creation is really simple, but makes a lot of sense. You pick some things you're good at and some things you're bad at. If you're good at something you roll 3 dice, if you're bad at something you get 1. For everything else, 2 is the standard. You also pick three flaws which come into play during certain instances. Other than that you flesh out who you are, how you act, and when you were turned.

Actions play out just like they do in Alpha Blue and Venger's other games. The difference here is that you're a vampire which comes with cool powers, immunities, and unfortunately drawbacks. The powers are pretty interesting. All vampires get the classic strong/fast/charming abilities, but then you get unique powers every level. My favourite is the aptly named Subspecies which lets you make little demons like Radu from the movie of the same name. Other vampiric rules you might expect from a vamp game (such as vampiric slaves and blood bonds) are here too.

The pdf ends with a short outline introductory scenario. The party all reside in the same rundown house (which I imagine is a lot like the house in What We Do In the Shadows). They find a note from a high ranking vampire in the city telling them to get the fuck out. Is it real? Is it a prank? Do they flee? Do they kill the bastard before they can have him killed? That's up to you and your group.

The artwork is appropriate and appealing. I have a thing for blasphemy, so I love the monstrous nun on the cover.

If you can't tell, I really like Blood Dark Thirst and I think you will too. Do you want to play a game that lets you relive your glory days of classic Vampire: The Masquerade but without all of the overdone metaplot? Never played a vampire game, but have always wanted to be Michael or David from The Lost Boys? This is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 185 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG