Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Fantasy Flight Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Jesse T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 10:14:23

So far, I'm very intrigued.

First, let's address the dice concerns. I like FFG Star Wars, although I've never bought the special dice. There's a lovely free website that rolls and tallies your result for you, and I'm sure the same will exist for this new version L5R. Otherwise, I can buy the app for less than a normal set of dice would cost. I know people really crave that physical sensation of rolling dice, but that's just not important to me.

Here's what I like. This ruleset is really focusing in on the emotional conflicts that drive good samuari stories. The clash of duty and personal desire. The difference between what is proper and what is effective. I adore that stuff, and yes, you can have those things in your stories without mechanical incentive, but by having the mechanics reinforce and drive those themes, they become much more present and important.

I like how school advancement is handled. The worksheets might seem cumbersome, but that advancement method better fits with the story of what's going on than the previous method of totalling everything on your sheet to determine your insight.

Like Star Wars, the rules don't read as elegant. The core mechanic is simple, but there's so many little moving parts that I expect players to wrestle with a learning curve before it clicks.

What I don't like. I know this is a beta so it's imcomplete, but it's ridiculous not to have at least one Bushi school for each Clan. I'm sure the completed product will have more schools, but that was really jarring for me.

Still, I like the direction this game is going and will almost certainly buy in when it's available. I'm also going to try to run a couple of demo sessions with folks experienced with FFG Star Wars, just to see how it works at the table, but I haven't done so at time of writing this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 22:45:06

FFG's new edition for Legend of the Five Rings is a combination of the Roll and Keep system from 4e and the narrative dice system from Star Wars. The system uses two dice (6-sider for Ring rolls, 12-sider for Skll Rolls) instead of six and is quite simple. Target Numbers are similar to 4e, just divided by 10. Dice explosions still exist, which is great!

Overall, the book reads very much like 4e, which is great and there's a lot of content for a Beta, coming in at over 230 pages. I haven't had a chance to play it, but as a die hard fan of L5R 4e and owner of all of the books, the system looks quite smooth and easy to play while having more nuance than 4e could offer. The book also includes an adventure, which is nice.

Don't be scared off by "special dice". If you're ignoring or hating on the system for just that, you're selling yourself short. It's definitely Legend of the Five Rings. It's still Roll and Keep. Honestly, the only controversial part should be the "omission" of the Mantis Clan, but that's due to story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Jonathar M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 16:58:29

Fantasy Flight is the best company available to revive the best setting I've ever played. The beta looks great for now, I can't wait to see where the game goes from here. HIDA!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 11:53:31

Fantasy Flight Games perpetrates another blatant cash grab utilizing a beloved franchise. If we are to go by the example of their Star Wars system, the custom dice they heavily advise utilizing for the L5R system will be ludicrously overpirced per set (I couldn't find a set for less than fifteen dollars for Star Wars) and will require a minimum of two sets for a starting character, with more needed as the character advances. I'll be giving the final product a hard pass.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Bobbie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 02:14:21

Just skimming through the book, the first thing I noticed that instead of using normal dice for a d6 and a d12 they changed it to special dice that has symbols on them instead of numbers. Now I enjoy my dice collection but I really see no reason why they couldn't just use a d6 and a d12 with the numbers instead of these symbols. Now in order to really try out the game or play it as it is written you have to buy these special dice or convert a d6 and a d12 over to work with the symbols such as a roll of a 1 on a d6 is a blank where a roll of a 6 is this symbol. To much work to use basic dice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Timothy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 21:06:44

If you liked what fantasy flight did to starwars RPG then you might like this. If you liked L5R as it was before then this is probably not for you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2017 09:27:35

I love the idea. I love this game's world and its inhabitants. Linear d6 system is also cool. However, now that I'm about to lead a Grimm game, I found what I don't love. The thick maze of intertwined trait advantages and disadvantages, requiring to have read and memorized a lot of the book. Without a concise guidance for newcomers. Will have to make a lot of notes to avoid being lost in the seemingly simple rules. But I'll do it, the game is worth the effort. Damn, maybe I should write a beginner's manual for this game later on?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2017 17:02:29

Fantastic system. My freinds and I have been burned out by D&D lately and this was a great breath of fresh air. The adventure itself is very focused on investigation and a little inflexible about following the bread crumbs, and the resolution leaves a bit to be desired. Aditionally there are a few numbers missing from the pre-gens in back. Aside from that my group had a great time and will be returning to Rokugan with relish.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 17:31:43

I was very pleased I bought the “Imperial Archives” supplement for the Legend of the 5 Rings game. The supplement provided a vast amount of information about the minor clans that was long overdue and not only presented it in a very accessible layout but a graphically pleasing one as well. The amount of detail will not leave the buyer disappointed. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to any other gamer who was interested in this system.

Dwellyn Myrddin



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 15:56:27

Easily the most entertaining to read rulebook of any game I've come across. Whereas the actual rules of play would probably fit comfortably on a single page, they are related in the voice of the Baron himself, and he is predictably prone to digressions, tall tales, deadpan humor and general nonsense. I recommend reading this in an overstuffed chair by the fireplace with a a glass of Madeira ready to hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
by Dominik C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 15:12:33

The pdf is pretty good, but the printed book was sent on 29.12., now is 22.1., so shipping (at least in this case) takes more than 3 weeks . . . I wonder if it will arrive some day . . . and I already read that it comes without the big folded map.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 10:59:35

The fourth edition of Legend of the Five rings features a more streamlined play experience, advances the timeline of the game, and really helps the newer player understand how life in the Emerald Empire functions. Having played the RPG and CCG since 1st edition, I've been waiting to buy an edition this consice for years. That and the artwork is just breathtaking!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2016 16:28:45

I bought it for the traps gallery mainly, and I placed two of them just in the dungeon my party was exploring. It seems to me the players appreciate it very much.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Android: Free Fall
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 10:51:43

This is an excellent example of semi-military sci-fi set in the Android universe. I really enjoyed this book as my first entry into the ficiton of the setting. This book tackles the investigative possibilities of the near future sci-fi with careful thought. It also explores many of the core areas of investigation that the Android universe puts forth, including both bioroids and clones as possible people, or not.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
by Charlie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 17:04:42

Downloaded 3 times, file corrupted all times. Spine of hardback misaligned, otherwise great!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 209 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG