Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Dead Gentlemen Productions, LLC » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Grey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 00:53:02

Awesome universe in which the mixture of horror and hilarity is perfect. This updated new edition gives tons of helpful advice for generating scenarios with ease and telling a fantastic story. The 5 Minutes to Mayhem and 60 Minutes to Mayhem sections are great for generating quick Demon Hunter scenarios, or easily tweaked to be used for any system and setting to tell a great story - whether for a role playing game, or just writing fiction!

The tone of the writing in the rule book is perfect for getting you in the right mood to run or play an over-the-top comedic action adventure and makes reading the book cover to cover a joy rather than a chore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2016 11:03:58

Combines some of the best ideas from Fate and Cortex+ into a neat new system. With minor tweating this coudl be used of a wide variety of games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Randy O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 09:47:31

Demon Hunters is a great read on many levels. First, and the most obvious, is the friendly, tongue-in-cheek writing style. It feels like I'm sitting at the table with the author(s) and we're chatting about the game. It sets the tone for the game and explains things wonderfully.

The book is organized incredibly well. The first couple of chapters give an overview of the campaign world and rules without going too deep into things, leaving that up to the chapters dedicated to those things.

Overall this is the best RPG that I've read since Dresden Files.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
by Fox W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2016 02:42:38

Check out our review of this game here!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlN49qMyTWo



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Martin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2016 05:49:26

Not sure how to say. It's awesome. Really.

Not sure if I ever will run any session of it, I'm not especially into "humour games", but it is great as a book for reading, a source of well-thought mechanics and much more. I couldn't stop laughing during reading of that.

Setting: I read original Demon Hunters book previously and despite it was a "work of humour" too, I felt it much more seriously written. Also, Cortex classic mechanics was... well, classic. And not the best one. This one is more witty, full of fanservice and geeky humor (not that about Spock and Kirk one though), and it is the most important added value, because more serious urban fantasy settings are available in hordes, not to mention systems about secret organization created to save the world (from really gritty Esoterrorists to comparably ironic Laundry).

Current mechanics: is somewhere between Fate Core, Fate Accelerated and Cortex Plus Adventure, so it is lightweight, fun to use and unfortunately not for everyone (C+ has somewhat lower entry treshold because in most implementations "aspects" (a.k.a. distinctions) are pre-generated there). So people who don't like Fate-powered and Fate-inspired games won't find this one good too.

So, good piece of RPG, but probably not for everyone.

Mandatory conflict of interests note: Author of this post is a Kickstarter supporter of this game. No other affiliations with Dead Gentelmen Productions, LLc detected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Karsten F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2016 12:46:55

The book contains everything you need to play, from rules for Magic & Mad Science to charts full of random doom and mayhem. I like RPGs that I can play without buying half a library first. The book is fun to read, especially the chapter concerning NPC is full of inspiring or simply hilarious ideas.

The rule system is a mixture of Cortex and Fate. It is easy to learn and fast to play. The Fate elements like aspects and stunts make it easy to emphasize creative and unconventional game play. A very good choice for a setting like Demon Hunters. My personel highlight are the Demon Dice. The players can use this pool of dice to increase their chances of success, but every die has to be handed over to the GM who can use them to increase the thread level of his evil doers. This is a great way to raise the stakes in a game session.

Conclusion: $ 15.00 for hours of fun. Deal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters: A Comedy of Terrors
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 17:47:18

A worthy successor to the original game. Core system is straightforward enough to learn, making good use of elements of the fate system while adding enough of their own touches to stay interesting. Background is well explained and contains plenty of useful ideas. The Dead Gentlemen humour makes its welcome return to make the 'verse easier to get into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2015 21:46:59

One of the best books. Yeah some areas could have use some more information but regardless of all that it allows you to expand in the universe of Demon Hunters adding your own little things and what not. Its still one of the best games I have seen. It is pretty awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/13/2010 16:15:10

A fun little game using Cortex based on the Demon Hunters property. Not as serious as Chill or CoC, but more like Buffy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brotherhood Recruitment Manual
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2009 14:22:45

Introduction to the tongue and cheek Brotherhood of the Celestial Torch, or the Demon Hunters RPG from MWP using the Cortext rules. Everything you would expect in this start up is here. But don't expect this to be your average demo game.

In this you are playing your very first mission, your membership to the Brotherhood. There are the basic rules about combat, doing things and the like, not much on character creation though. There is some background material for those not familiar enough with the original source of the game (I wasn’t) so that is nice.

The rules are Cortex-simplified. Which is saying something. And the character sheets are less than the charactersheets you get with the full Demon Hunters game, but everything is explained on the sheet (a growing trend I have noticed).

All in all a great little pick up game if you are looking for something different to do one afternoon and were curious about Cortex.

The tongue in cheekiness might turn some people off, but I think it is part of the charm.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Brotherhood Recruitment Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2009 18:25:03

I want to like this book better. I really do. It's got a good, intuitive game system. It lets you play just about anything. It doesn't take itself too seriously. It's clever. These are all very, very good things, and you should seriously consider buying this game because of them.

On the other hand, while the game is very clever, it's not especially funny. This is a very, very bad thing, because the game so desperately wants to--and deserves to be--a comedy. But comedy is damned hard to do, especially when you're laying out a system of dry, probabilistic mechanics and writing up a campaign setting that the characters are supposed to take seriously, even if--especially if--the players aren't. For whatever reason, this book just can't take itself seriously enough to be a good comedy. It should be a simple matter to make a Demon Hunters game into a rollicking fun time--that's just the DM'ing part, and that's all in timing and delivery--but it still feels like the authors are passing the buck on to someone else.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Hunters Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG