Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Martin Caron » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Chill Introductory Insert
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 16:20:31

Appreciate the separate insert to download for free. Very helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Introductory Insert
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Second Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 16:18:43

Excellent condition. Excellent price. Cannot say enough good things.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Introductory Insert
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2015 15:35:01

CHILL RPG is a great game and I love having the introductory insert for new players. However, since I am one the dinosaurs of roleplaying (I still play with pen & paper and with real people sitting across the table from me) it does bother me that the pre-generated character sheets are scanned in such a way that they can not be cut out and used (they are not lined up correctly so when you cut one out you cut through another on the other side if you print them double sided.) I eventually solved this by printing double copies and cutting them out and then pasting (with glue) the back of the sheet to the front of the sheet. Still it makes me wonder if the other books have this problem in .pdf format. Luckily I own print copies of all the books (oddly I did not have the introductory insert as that I bought the books used). Anyway, great game with minor .pdf scanning problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Introductory Insert
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Unknown Providence: SAVE in New England
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/25/2011 21:15:22

Part source guide to New England, part historical treatsie and part adventure Unknown Providence covers a lot of ground. Set firmly in the Chill/SAVE meta-plot this book was one of the first of what was to be the new direction in Chill. Sadly it was also one of the last. The background and history of New England is awesome. Filled with all sorts of facts and ideas to use in any game as well as a cast on NPC, monsters and SAVE agents. The adventure is less good, though perfectly fine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unknown Providence: SAVE in New England
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vampires
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/25/2011 20:58:28

Chill Vampires is the standard to which all vampire related supplements to a horror game must be measured. Any game can produce a bunch of stats, some bad fiction and link them together, Chill: Vampires is a Master's Thesis on combating the undead. Not just notes for the would be vampire slayer (and game masters) but also detailed accounts of the most brazen of the undead. Complete with stats, history, motivations and the notes of previous investigators and SAVE agents. This book is fantastic for any game but essential for a good Chill game. I would recommend it on the basis of the Dracula and Bathory write-ups alone, but there are more and even stranger and deadlier vampires in these pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampires
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Horrors of North America
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/05/2010 21:56:48

What I loved most about Chill was it was American Horror. Not just New England, or even old England, but the Mid-West, the North and all over the place. Horrors of North America is one part travel guide, one part monster manual and all parts awesome. Great even if you are not playing Chill as a guide to whats weird and supernatural out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horrors of North America
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Companion
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2010 12:38:56

A must have if you are playing 2nd Edition/Mayfair Chill, AND a good buy for fans of any horror rpg.

Add more depth to your characters including (and most importantly to me) the use of magic and psionics. Nothing beats Chill and this was one of the best additions to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Introductory Insert
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2009 08:34:04

Chill is a great game. I picked this up to get a glimpse at Mayfair's version of Pacesetter's original creation. In my view the system seems use the same concepts. I will be picking up the full download soon. A+



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Introductory Insert
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Second Edition
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2009 07:01:22

the chill game within itself is a very interesting game this web site on the other hand has some problems which need to be looked at like the down loading of the games needs to be made much easyer



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chill Second Edition
by william w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2009 07:01:18

the chill game within itself is a very interesting game this web site on the other hand has some problems which need to be looked at like the down loading of the games needs to be made much easyer



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Second Edition
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2007 11:37:51

To many role-players around my age their first introduction to Horror roleplaying was the venerable “Call of Cthulhu”, but not me. Mine was Chill. I had the Pacesetter version (1st Edition), which I remember quite fondly, even if I did not get much of a chance to play. The Mayfair version (2nd Edition) is of course superior and it is great to see it here. Picking up a copy of the Mayfair version now I get the impression (true or not) that the makers of Kult saw it and thought, “yes this is good, but what if the world was much, much worse?” I liked Chill also because it had Midwest sensibilities. Pacesetter was from Wisconsin; Mayfair was/is in Niles/Skokie, a suburb of Chicago than is not to far from where I live (and has one of my favorite pizza places). It was while playing Chill that learned that the best horror was horror close to home. I don’t know, or much care really, what Hollywood thinks is horror. How can a place that gets like 350 days of sunshine know what is horror? On the other hand East Coast horror (Lovecraft) has a completely different flavor. It’s almost alien. Chill may have had a global scope, but the horror is home grown. Chill remembers that there is simple horror in the haunted house, or the strange creature from the Unknown. It is not about the bigger-badder-more horror of some games, where every game has to up the ante on the last game. Chill does look dated by today’s standards, but keep in mind that most of it was written in the early 80’s and updated in the 90’s. A lot of the rules in Chill can be found in one way or another in modern horror games. In fact one gets the feeling of seeing evolution in process when comparing similar rules in Chill and Unisystem or World of Darkness. Successes, Fear Checks, even proto-Drama point usage (of a sorts) are all here. If one is more used to modern games, the Chill versions do seem unwieldy and even a bit primitive, but looking at them the other way, the Chill rules were a landmark for the time. Indeed there are a lot of rules in existence today that we take for granted that were still cutting edge in Chill. But that is not to say that Chill does not have something to offer the player of today. If horror is your game, then Chill is worth your time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG