Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Avalon Game Company » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Steel and Glory, Set 1, Mini-Game #45
by alain D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 12:52:45

Hi, I asked for some answers about ambiguities concerning the rules: ''I don't understand how the shields are supposed to work. Did they give a +2 modifier to the attack skill of the wielder (a penalty?). Same question about the leather straps (-1 to ... what? resistance ? combat skill?) And what's the use of a second (inferior) weapon who gives a disavantage (dagger)? Some weapons have a "-" modifier and some a "+0" what is the difference? the strength seems unusefull except, maybe, for some non-combat actions (unexplained)? these rules seems so interesting, but ...''

Obviously, the author behind this "rules' doesn't care. a waste of money, and a lack of consideration for customers. (one more time: all purposes ... from the same author) Disapointing. So 2 Stars, (et encore, parce que je suis gentil). should be 4 with some answers

Bonsoir.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Steel and Glory, Set 1, Mini-Game #45
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Sorry you were disappointed by us here at Avalon not contacting us for your answers, but with almost 3,000 products it is impossible for us to troll the product pages for such communication. We do not recieve any kind of notification when a post in made on the product’s page. If you have a question about any of our games, it is best to either drop us an email, or better yet, post the questions on our forum, which can be found on our web site. As for your questions.... Shields modify the final attack number required to score a hit. If the total number was say 7, and a shield was used, the the final target number would be a “9”. Thus it becomes a bit harder to score a hit and do damage. Armor on the other hand either reduces the damage taken , eh the -1 referred to, or outright stops the damage. Mods to weapons add to the damage felt with a successful attack. +0 means that while the weapon does not have a mod, it can be modified by other means. A “-“ means the weapon’s damage cannot be modified by any means, Why two weapons? well the character might drop or be forced to disarm and so they might need another weapon just in case. Strength comes in with throwing other character’s around. I hope these answer your questions and if you need to contact us do so by means of an email or on our web site. Maybe you might then like to make an update to your rating of this product.
Heroes Wear Masks, Powers!
by Jürgen R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2018 06:18:18

The book have a totall of 187 pages what sound good for this price.

The problem comes as soon you look at the powers as some like Cosmic Power are put in two times in direct follow into this book, something that should never happen if anyone just glanced over the finished PDF before the release.

Then there new Templates like Cosmic that are never mentioned how they work in this book or in Hero Wear Mask it self.

Also some Power complet miss the "Power Activation Skill Check Required: Yes/No" line what make them difficult to handle for the GM.

I think for all Flight powers the maneuverability is complete missing.

But the worst part is that the autor set requirement for a power that I can't find in HWM, this book or my Pathfinder books.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, Powers!
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by roberto b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2018 12:59:43

Worst set of rules ever seen! The cost of wepons in missing. There are a game mechanic called "Armor", but there no cost for this value, worst the "Defense" value (with a cost and different mechanics) came from Armor! Rules confused and non-consistent. A waste of money!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Comic Book Adventures
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 06:29:15

Not a big fan of Pathfinder (HWM), did truely enjoy the superhero sandbox!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Lightspeed
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 12:38:08

Fast and simple point-based ruleset. Lots of gear. Psychic powers. Starship rules. All the basics are covered.

The book includes a 'broad strokes' kitchen sink campaign setting including pastiches of the Empire (Star Wars), the Federation (Star Trek), and a more 'corporate' empire which has a more grey morality. Each region is touched on in brief and campaign ideas are provided for each (rebels vs the Empire, space rangers, free traders, space explorers, etc.). Also many species of humanoid aliens are mentioned in brief, some fairly original but most being pastiches of familiar races from pop-culture (predators, xenomorphs, klingons, hutts, etc.)

The Bestiary and Starship Gallery are extensive. The Art is black and white, but very strong, about as good as black and white art can be, with many illustrations of ships and characters. The PDF is not bookmarked.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lightspeed
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes Book 2
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 15:59:01

These images are not really usable in a professional product. Other art by Michael Wolmarans is amazing, but this doesn't do his other work justice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes
by Joshua P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 15:58:38

These images are not really usable in a professional product. Other art by Michael Wolmarans is amazing, but this doesn't do his other work justice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Michael Wolmarans, Nightmares and Dreamscapes
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
by Danny H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 09:28:28

Poorly executed, and not very well thought out at all. The guidelines for constructing heroes is so linear that it is nearly impossible to create any heroe other than the narrowly defined path. Want a street level hero with lot's of experience? Sorry won't work. Want a young and powerful hero who hasn't learned to control his awesome power? Sorry, can't do that either? This game is a direct reflection of the problem with trying to make actual roleplaying games like video games.

Guardians of Order, and Green Ronin did this idea far better, with 3.5, and the latter eventually had to abandon the D&D system altogether to make it work. Guardian's of Order made it work right off the bat. In short, don't waste your money on this if you want to play anything resembling a non-standardized superhero.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 13:10:31

Bottom line up front: This is a great idea that has been poorly executed. Until a revision is printed that at least corrects the mechanical problems in this game, I can not recommend it.

  • Mechanics Problems: In short, the game has multiple examples of game mechanics that are not part of 5th ed. (neither in the main section nor in the optional rules section). Those mechanics therefore are not useable. The game mentions that it was once based "heavily" (their words) on the Pathfinder rules set. This doesn't exonerate the writers from purging the old material out and making this a truly 5th ed compatible game. As it stands the reader will have to adjust a lot of powers and rules himself to conform to the 5th ed RAW. Also, there are optional 5th ed rules being used in this game (which is well and good), but it would be a nice touch if the writers noted where optional 5th ed rules are being used for the benefit of those unfamiliar.
  • Index of terms: This game needs an index of terms badly. Meanings of words like "Scene", for instance have to be gleaned and are not overtly explained. An index would be a great one stop shop of information.
  • Category of heroes: The authors have done a pretty good job of encompassing the genre, but I don't think their classes and subcategories encompass the totality of the genre. This is merely a personal opinion however.
  • Character creation and conversion: The authors really need a better step by step guide to both character creation and most needed conversion guidelines
  • Super Heroism--Lastly there is a large section of the book that is an explanation of the philosophy of what it means to be a super hero. It pretty much reads like a wordy op-ed piece. I HIGHLY recommend this be edited down.
  • Things I like--the Activation roll is a neat convention. It works well within 5th ed and adds an element of 'comic-bookiness' to the game. The power point / resource point convention is also really good method for 'buying' powers. This game definiatley has a 'Comic Book' feel to it.

In summary, this is a sloppy product in dire need of some editing and revision. Until this happens, again, I cannot recommend. However, I want to be clear if these things were cleaned up I would recommend this product in a heartbeat.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version, Preview
by Danny H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:21:40

As a preview, it was a bit short. There was little to give the reader any idea of how smoothly the game ran, what kind of powers could be developed, or how characters were even created. I would like to have seen something more like the Stingy Gamer's Edition from the old Guardian's of Order. Altough I'm all about superhero roleplaying games, this one would require me to invest in both 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons, something I'm not sure I want to do, plus this game just to find out if it is any good. All in all this preview was a complete waste of my time and effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Wear Masks, 5e D&D Version, Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 3R
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 10:39:23

A good product for those not able to find a superhero game or for a GM needing some story ideas.

The only downsides are a need for better artwork and proofreading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 3R
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 2
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 12:38:01

Artwork could have been a bit better and the editing more thorough but other than that a good adaptation of Pathfinder rules to a Superhero setting. The adventures a great for someone with no way to play otherwise or as cores for group play with a GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 1
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 12:35:40

Artwork could have been a bit better and the editing more thorough but other than that a good adaptation of Pathfinder rules to a Superhero setting. The adventures a great for someone with no way to play otherwise or as cores for group play with a GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures, Mission Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Kung Fu Kuma
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 22:18:04

Personally I love non-european settings and Kung Fu Kuma had me excited as it seemed to be "Jade Claw" for pathfinder. The setting has an intresting premise to the inclusion of various anthropormorphic races found in the campaign setting. Despite the words "Kung Fu" that is not a chinease based setting, but an Oriental blend of both China/Japan. If you do not own any previous Oriental D20 or Pathfinder type rules, the book has you covered by providing flavored classes suited for the setting and races found here in. In addition it provides a rule system of martial arts that characters can take. Overall it is a good introductory package to an Asian Flavored Campaign Setting. The only thing that I found to be lacking was the inconsistant style of artwork, especially when there are tons of anthro avatar makers out there for inspiration.

Give it a chance as a beginer set, especially since there are already a number of support books detailing more races!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kung Fu Kuma
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 05:42:29

NOt bad, but seems to be designed for making smaller craft. I don't think it would work very well for making large starships.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 362 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG