Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Arion Games » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Maelstrom Companion
by Keith H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 00:52:57

I can't fathom the original review posted here. I'd like to offer something I feel is more balanced, based on owning the PDF.

Basic Summary: The book is an odds and sods expansion for the original game. This gives it a disjointed feel, but it does what it promises to do: plug gaps in the Maelstrom base game. Layout: Plain. Very easy to read, absolutely no flash for good or ill in the PDF. Crunch: New livings (Agent, Alchemist, Barber-Surgeon, Constable, Farmer, Friar, Hunter, Sailor, Servant, Tavern Keeper, Witch). Firearm rules, a particular gap in the original, are at last added, as is two-weapon fighting and an expanded magic system. Having not played them, I don't feel comfortable stating how well they work. Alchemy is the real treat for me, considering something Maelstrom became well-known for was its superb herbalism rules. Thankfully the author has mixed historical alchemism and the fantastic in equal measure, making it easier to adapt the material to both sorts of campaigns, but the very limited number of recipes (8 historical, 6 magical) may make alchemy feel repetitive after a short while.

There are some additional roleplaying bits throughout, but I generally feel they get pretty short shrift. In particular, the Reformation, an amazing source of conflict, is covered in a hasty 3-4 pages, one page of that being info covering after the game is set. To be fair the game is set early in the English Reformation, but there's a great opportunity for adventuring here that is, if not overlooked, not really explored.

There's a setting for players to work with as well (the town of Bury St Edmonds), at 40 pages the single-most significant portion of the book. You get a decent overview of its personalities, broken down by living (including the new ones, which is nice), but I would have preferred more on the secret societies, myths & legends, and adventure hooks--only three pages of the section--at the expense of some of the mundane detail. Still, a decent enough home base.

It ends with some reference sheets, including a walkthrough for both combat forms (the advanced one being particularly welcome for most, I would think).

Overall: The basic nature of the work, as a grab bag of Maelstrom stuff, makes one wish it was cleanly integrated into a revised edition of the base game. I personally would have preferred more of the town material excised to make room for other things, but I recognize that for others a strongly fleshed out town is exactly what they're looking for. Ultimately I think any Maelstrom player will find this book useful, and I recommend it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Maelstrom Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
by Yann P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 06:28:39

A good bundle for a low price. The artwork is superb and there are many sets for only 2,5 euros !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arion Games 2012 Paper Mini Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

John Kapsalis Female Characters
by Ken F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2017 11:35:43

This is an excellent set of minis. The figures are varied and unique and most of the minis would be equally well suited for either PC or NPC characters in a fantasy game. Mr. Kapsalis exhibits a knack for expressive drawings that fill the individual miniatures with personality, a characteristic frequently lacking in figures that are going to be 1.5 inches tall on your game table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
John Kapsalis Female Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Medieval Villagers Set
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 14:46:37

I thought the images were good, but when printed, I felt they lost much of their detail due to the small size. Also the coloring was a bit dark as well which contributed to the loss (though this could have been a printer issue). I felt that the costuming (especially for the females) was a bit late for the medieval period.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Villagers Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

King Arthur Set
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 14:43:49

Over all, this was a good set, The only real issue I had with them was the "six-pack" abs on the fairey queen. These tended to be a little lighter in color scheme and printed better for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Saxons Set
by Christopher F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 14:39:48

I thought the images were good, but when printed, I felt they lost much of their detail due to the small size. Also the coloring was a bit dark as well which contributed to the loss (though this could have been a printer issue).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Saxons Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Stellar Adventures
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2017 07:11:08

A superb addition to the Advanced Fighting Fantasy RPG. Lots of rules will also fit in perfectly with a fantasy genre. A worthwhile purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stellar Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Egyptians II Set
by Francisc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2017 13:24:56

Nice minis! If you plan to build a palace for the pharaoh, well,then you have to populate it with these nice paper minis!Well done,Arion!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Egyptians II Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Egyptians III Set
by Francisc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2017 12:48:40

**** Nice lively figures,especially the dancers,though Horus and Toth are looking like children compared to Anubis, nothing menacing about them-please update them!.Overall ,very useful!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Egyptians III Set
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
by Cameron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 08:11:29

Simple system, yet plays really well, and covers all the stuff any good fantasy games do. Really feels like an old school fantasy game for all the right reasons!

The Fighting Fantasy gamebooks were my gateway into the world of roleplaying, although by the time of the original publication of these advanced rules (called Fighting Fantasy Dungeoneer back then) I had already moved onto more complex rpgs. It is with renewed eyes that I now look back ot this system, and this current edition of the Advanced Fighting Fantasy rules feels both nostalgic yet fresh at the same time.

No character classes, yet its quick point-build character generation allows you to replicate all the fantasy archetypes, as well as lets you make up your own character concept from scratch.

This system is perhaps the best thing to emerge from the OSR! It really has the flavour of handwaviness, yet none of the restrictions or confounding rules that came with the early editions of many other OSR games such as TSR D&D/AD&D etc.

The world of Titan is pure gonzo Classic Fantasy at its best. It is essientially a High Fantasy setting with lots of old school British Sword & Sorcery elements; all mixed in and underscored with a whimiscal fantasy flavour that would make the likes of Brian Froud, Terry Pratchett, Terry Jones, Tim Burton, or even Lewis Carroll smile.

This game is great for the younger crowd starting to venture into rpgs, but also has enough meat on the bones to attract grognards back for beer & pretzels gaming.

I cant recommend this game highly enough, it simply is a must have rpg for so many reasons, and should not be overlooked by any true fantasy rpg fan!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Out of the Pit
by Matthias S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2016 05:35:44

I love this book, I had it in the 80s accompanying me on my battles through the game books. This PDF is excellent, the text sections are actual text, not scanned, and the quality of the images is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Out of the Pit
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Maelstrom
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2016 09:26:58

Everything about this game feels like a half measure, ideas and concept sounds promising, but are not followed through. The layout is ... simple, with sometimes annoying results. If this was edited and layouted by a proffesional it would be a quarter or something in page count. Awful lot of empty space it is ...

The system is quite vague, with a lot of hand waving, except when it is not and then it is clunky complex backward detailed ...

The resurrection should have included some more attention to the "hardware", the lacking thereof is sad, because the setting is charming and interesting.

Reading this ... product, is as fun as reading your own college notes twenty years later, interesting, but not something you want to do for a long stretch of time. And these 3D-Poser-model illustrations mostly feels awkward and ... sloppy ...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Maelstrom Domesday - Map Book
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2016 06:08:51

A very ... frugal product, may save you five or so minutes of googling to find material of the same or WASTLY better quality.

Maps of Yorkshire and England 1066 (Google English heritage sites instead for more and better material) Plans of an abbey, castle, town and church Plans and drawings of town, village and manor houses Barrow plans (Dyson Logos produces better better, more gorgeous maps for a FREE, but support his Patreon instead) 2 Poetic manor maps (These two are the only thing worth notice herein) 6 vilage maps (These are a pure insult, 5 min with their own icons and a newbie knowledge of paint produced these)

If these where a free addition I would perhaps see a value in downloading these, or as a way to support the designers ... but PWYW or Patreon exists for that kind of things ...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom Domesday - Map Book
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Titan Map
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2016 13:40:40

First, let me say, it's a good map, and it's well scanned and presented. However, it's the same exact map that's in the book "Titan." If you own Titan, you have this map. There's nothing new here per se; no additional information, no new names, no extra detail. Charging $3.00 for the same exact thing you already own seems...a bit steep, I guess.

Now, if you DON'T own Titan, I can see this might be a useful way to see the world, but frankly, I think you'd be MUCH better off buying Titan -- you get the map, AND you get the background information that allows you to effectively run AFF in the world it was set in in the game books; all in all, a much better deal and a much more efficient use of your money.

Anyway, that's why I gave it an overall "3" -- it's a "nice to have," I guess, but for $3.00, not so much. I'd strongly recommend you commit that $3.00 towards the purchase price of the AFF Book Titan instead; you won't regret it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Titan Map
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
It is pretty much the same map, although it is newly drawn. What i would also say is that this is a high-res image that could easily be printed as an A1 poster without any pixelation etc. Whether that is a benefit to you will vary by customer of course!
Maelstrom
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2016 12:06:41

This was clearly not read through after the OCR rip and features numerous faults - additionally all the white space pages from the original book have been pointlessly left in the pdf version - very lazy job.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Maelstrom
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 959 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG