Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Dean Spencer Art » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cover template - Blue Leather (landscape image) - RPG Stock Art
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2018 08:11:04

I found this to be a very useful and easy-to use product. Like most cover templates, it includes a front and back. In this case, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it also includes a spine template. For me, this means that I can easily make a title to slip into a notebook binder.

This product has only one drawback, and that is the license. It is a little restrictive for a product that I think many would want to tweak. However, this drawback is easily ignored if you are primarily interested in using the template for personal use only. I believe that the license is a result of an extremely busy artist just using the same license from his artwork for the template.

I have found Dean Spencer to be very willing to work with me in the past. I strongly suspect that if someone wanted to make an exception to the written license, they would just need to ask.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover template - Blue Leather (landscape image) - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review, and you are right about the license in that I used the same one that I use for artwork. If you have any suggestion on how to change it to make it more reasonable for a template then please let me know and I'll see I I can tweak it.
Filler spot colour - viking weapon house - RPG Stock Art
by xianxun l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 20:49:23

This is a very great artwork! Because I made a card game, this artwork has given me very great help!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot colour - viking weapon house - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Drow vs Dwarf - RPG Stock Art
by xianxun l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 20:48:42

This is a very very great artwork! Because I made a card game, this artwork gave me a very big help.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Drow vs Dwarf - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Filler spot - arcane items - RPG Stock Art
by Sevan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2018 20:30:46

This graphic is crisp and clear and perfect for a black and white book. The price can't be beat for such a cool download! I had no issues downloading it, opening the zip or getting it inserted into my campaign. Standard graphic format is used, no pixelation either.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot - arcane items - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Adventurer - RPG Stock Art
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2018 14:56:52

Once again, Dean Spencer brings us another evocative piece that is easy to use in adventure writing. The detail is great, and the scene spurs the imagination. I highly recommend all his art for your projects!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Adventurer - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Character - Melpomene - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2017 23:31:10

This piece is great for a modern fantasy or near sci-fi game setting. Is it magic in the smoke? Smoke and mirrors? A high-tech hologram? You be the judge, and tell the story to match!

Full disclosure: I support Dean Spencer's Patreon and won a social media contest to have input in the creation of this piece. I requested it go well with "Blue Haired Girl" but with the more fantastical smoke effects. In such, I am delighted with how it turned out, but also admittedly biased. Even with my bias tough, I hold that this is a top-notch piece of art!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character - Melpomene - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Blue haired girl - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2017 14:46:17

This is a stunningly vibrant piece with fantastic texture, detail, and raw emotion. This was the piece that convinced me to go join the artist's patreon and support the creation of this kind of art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Blue haired girl - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Filler spot - kraken - RPG Stock Art
by Creighton B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 02:04:41

A great piece perfect for that not-so-random encounter...

;-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot - kraken - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Filler spot - kobold stalker - RPG Stock Art
by Creighton B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 02:04:08

Great piece that came from Dean's Patreon campaign. I recommend joining today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot - kobold stalker - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Campfire - RPG Stock Art
by Arcana G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2017 14:51:50

As usual, Dean Spencer has produced stock art of the highest quality. I stongly reccomend his work for its composition, attention to detail, and generous pricing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Campfire - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Character - Elf Rogue - RPG Stock Art
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2017 02:27:05

The image is great and it's delivered in a .png not a jpg or even PDF as some stock art providers do. About the only downside about the image itself is that she only seems to have two toes on her feet, large ones at that. While it's only noticeable when you zoom in, it's kinda weird looking.

The catch is the license which is rather restrictive, You can use the image once. While that might okay for larger publishers, for a lot of small publishers and hobbyists like me (which are basically the people buying stock art and not commisioning original artwork), you're likely not going to be making the cost of stock art back from just one product

Realistically it's my fault for not reading the publisher preview, but at the same time, I'm not sure why this was hidden in the preview and not written on the product page itself. In fact, it would be really nice if OBS categorized stock art (or art in general) to let the buyer know details of the license as easily as the game system for RPG products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Character - Elf Rogue - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jeremy, Thank you for your review, just to let you know that she is wearing a pair of traditional split toed tabi boots, ideal for rogues. I do often have sales on my stock art and also run a Patreon page where my patrons benefit from vastly reduced prices on all my stock art, hopefully they may be of help with your cost issues on projects. The licensing terms I use are purposefully put in the preview so that they easily accessible before purchase, it would take up too much space on the product page itself. Regards Dean
Cover full page - Elemental Medusa - RPG Stock Art
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 23:33:06

I love this piece! All of dean's work is fantastic, but this elemental medusa just oozes atmosphere from the deep fiery lava that you can almost feel the heat coming off to the look of horror on the barbarian's face.

Its a great take on a classic monster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Elemental Medusa - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Tiefling Pole Dancer - RPG Stock Art
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 23:24:57

Where do demons spend their downtime?

Dean Spencer tackles such weighty questions with his tiefling poledancer piece :)

Unashamedly cheesecake, you can't help but love this dark and wry look at 'sexy fantasy art'.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Tiefling Pole Dancer - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Cover full page - Orc Huntress - RPG Stock Art
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 23:21:25

Dean Spencer continues to make great art accessible with this latest piece of full colour stock art.

Good art for humanoid races is rare, female humanoids rarer, and art that is versatile enough to depict characters that could be heroes or vilains rarer still.

Is she a noble hunter tracking dangerous quarry, or is she a sinister assassin hounding men for sport?

Stunning art, compelling action and thematic backdrops - what more could you want?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Orc Huntress - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Spot Art - Horror Bundle - RPG Stock Art
by Micah W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 23:15:48

The Horror Bundle is a great little collection of genre specific stock art that is easily dropped into almost any piece or publication, whether it be for personal or commercial use.

There are very few high quality stock art collections around at this price - amounting to just over $1 per item.

They are dripping with flavour, and are fantastic illustrations of some iconic horror elements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spot Art - Horror Bundle - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG