Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » FeralGamersInc » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Super Secret Spy Agency
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 01:21:40

This game is so bad, it would be the best MST3K review of all time. The front cover is sample art from a website with the watermark ineptly airbrushed over, there are major typos in the graphics ("confidencial"), the formatting is all over the place with bold being used in some cases but not others, spelling and grammar mistakes abound, I still have no idea how the mechanics work, and the interior art is again free samples sized way bigger than the graphics can handle and are a pixelated nightmare. That said, this book is a perfect example of what not to do, and should be downloaded and read to be believed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Super Secret Spy Agency
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Powers Hack
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 09:31:01

I've become somewhat enamored with how The Black Hack has reduced the complexity of gaming to what I think is probably the bare minimum required, and I tend to enjoy supers supplements that can be easily bolted to an existing ruleset for added versatility. My hopes for this product weren't quite met with that, as I would give with the following example power descriptions:

  • "Healing – Character has natural healing."
  • "Flight – The Character can fly."

Quite honestly, if I wanted to go THAT light with my gaming, I think I could accomplish it myself. I had hoped to find the powers better fleshed out - some do have actual mechanical effect on the game, but more often than not they are like the above, where then the GM is left to puzzle anything outfor themselves...and I could have done that for free.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Powers Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Powers Hack
by Skraw D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 05:11:00

I think as a Black hack clone this is ok, it builds a foundation from which to build, and it has some cool ideas with out stepping on toes. I like it and looking forward to playing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Raphael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2016 11:23:22

From the outset this game makes no secrets about it's inspiration. It's inspired by the Dark Souls series of computer games. Now I'm not the world's largest fan of that series (in fact I've struggled enough against clunky controls that feel more difficult to defeat than the foes themselves) but many of my players are and I'm sure they'll be expecting me to run this for them at some point. I like the simplicity. I like the honesty. It's not pretending to be anything that it isn't. It says what it is and the contents match the label.

The authors have done a good job of evoking the bleak atmosphere of a hopeless world populated by undead. The concept of using Souls as both a currency and as experience for character advancement is copied directly over from the computer game but this is not necessarily a bad thing. Rather than souls representing a dichotomy, a dual nature if you will, it's simply a choice. A choice regarding how you use them. You could trade some souls with a dodgy individual to improve one of your skills or you could give them to the blacksmith to improve one of your weapons. The freedom of choice - giving players some simple choices regarding character progression, is a good thing. Some more rules heavy systems can flood the player with choice and (for some players) too much chocie can be a bad thing. In this case it's not too much choice. It's just about right.

When it comes to the actual characters we have a handful of core classes - the archetyal four (cleric, fighter, magic user & thief). This is fine. Each is a simple starting point. A bundle or collection to begin with and then build on as the character advancement itself is fairly open. This is quite similar to the computer game wherein each class is merely a starting point and, in fact, can be moulded into a close approximation of any of the other classes. Sadly, in Undeath - A Dark Tale RPG, the character classes are more fixed. Only the Mages and Clerics can cast spells (or work miracles). Mages cannot wear metal armour etc. The restrictions are all fairly standard fantasy tropes and I had hoped that the character advancement system would allow for some of the class restrictions to be bypassed by spending souls to remove or disable restrictions. The cleric, for example, can only use blunt weapons. If I desired to play a Crusader or Holy Knight kind of hero with some minor religious benefits (similar to the Cleric's prayers) it simply could not be done. I would need to play a Warrior or simply play a Cleric and abide by the blunt weapons restriction. This isn't a major problem. It's mostly done for game balance (as trying to come up with a more balanced set of rules with less class restrictions would result in a far more complicated system). Still, as one player pointed out "these restrictions do not feel like they belong in a Dark Souls game". I'm inclined to agree with him but I understand that coming up with a more complicated system or hosue ruling it is likely to be complicated so we might as well play by the rules for a few sessions before deciding if we want to tweak anything.

There are a number of grammatical and spelling errors that prevent me from giving this a perfect score. Also a few of the rules are a little unclear (dodging versus half dodging, for example). In addition a handful of rules were outright missing. When I contacted the authors they cleared everything up and published an errata document within an hour (a document containing artwork and page layouts etc instead of just being a simple text file). They did this on a Sunday! Now that's impressive dedication to customer service right there.

Overall I'd say it's a good product. A bit rough around the edges but nothing your average experienced gm can't work out for themself. I'd like to give it three and a half stars out of five on account of the few minor problems and spelling but I'll happily round that half up to a fourth star as I believe this product deserves it. If you buy this game I hope you enjoy it as much as my players probably will.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Simon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2016 08:59:47

Undeath is creepy and gorey and dark! The idea that you are saving your own soul from oblivion by "harvesting" others is weird and more intersting than just collecting money or mana or xp. I love how everything is connected and your character builds and grows despite being dead. Simple concept that can become as complex as the players and GM want it to be.
Living weapons are awesome - a blade that thinks and feels and is joined to it's user!?! Wild!

Also the artwork is very professional but with a cool "sketchy" quality that really works with the ragged vision for the dark game world. Beautiful pencil work that ranges from heroic (depite the heroes being already dead) to downright frightening. Wait til you get a look at the Ash Daemon- the stuff of nightmares!

Feral games has created another fully realized game world with the ability to jump right in as well as tons of nuance and subtlety for those who love detail. All beautifully presented (including a slick character sheet packet) for less than a the cost of the snacks you will want while staying up all night playing!

Don't hesitate to buy this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Skraw D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 04:16:41

I love dark Rpg's and this one is pretty dark, I mean you use souls to cast Magic. I also love the underlying cthulhu mythos thats in the game, you pray to Cthulhu to return Stigmata so you don't become cursed, I mean really whats not to love. I really wanted to see how the Living Weapons thing worked and its cool, the weapon levels up and gains abilities.

For a small and cheap Rpg the artwork is great, the concept is awesome (I love Dark Souls so...) and the magick and items are just weird and horrifying enough to be cool.

Great Rpg from FeralGames and for the price of 2 cups of coffee, awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by Morgan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2016 15:38:10

It was a bit complicated to sort out playing, but it was fun once we got into it. Sorry for the late review



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delve RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Zombie Squad Rpg
by John G W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 13:24:03

Upon 1st perusal I like what I see it has definitely inspired me to make some interesting additions to games I am currently running I am looking forward toa more lengthy read of this materal



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Squad Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Zombie Squad Rpg
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 14:15:27

The game wasn't what I expected from the title, but I was pleasantly surprised on the depth and interesting nature of the premise and backstory of the game. Definitely worth a look if you're looking for a good dark science fiction setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Zombie Squad Rpg
by SImon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2016 09:34:49

Super detail from beginning to end. Great artwork. Cool aliens.
Another winner by Feral Games!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by Gideon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 16:23:24

I'm a play-tester giving a late review. This game is one of the more innovative Table-Top RPG titles I've played, in a long time. It's all around a great game with some very fresh ideas. I personally love the magic system. 5 Stars, FG team!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delve RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by Kostas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 12:31:40

Fast and simple system, less about roll-keeping and more about role-playing. Delve makes the wait for the Chronicles of Aerthe worthwhile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by crafty c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 06:38:22

Can't wait to see the core game Delve is based on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by sir1 s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2015 06:17:26

Less to do with numbers, more to do with emmersing yourself in roll play, what a rpg should be about



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Delve RPG
by Simon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2015 12:30:14

Great art! Looks like smooth gameplay and the page by page layout is really slick. Can't wait to play. What's next Feral Games?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG