Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » FeralGamersInc » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ghost Ops Early Access
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2018 08:35:40

I have read both the free quick start rules and this plus edition and I am very impressed with both. This pack contains the QS rules as well as character sheets and player handouts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Generic Dungeon
by Jean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2018 15:02:02

I'll admit I haven't actually played the game yet, but this looks GOOD. Of all the RPGs I've encountered in a lifetime of gaming, in feel (though not mechanics) it reminds me more of The Fantasy Trip than anything else. In some ways it's a bit sketchy -- for example, I'm a little unclear on what some of the Statements (attributes of your character, such as "I am tough" or "I have courage") do, though when you consider that out of the 10 pages, 3 are tables (which I'm naturally fond of; I am Wintertree Software, after all!), 1 is a character sheet, and the rather nice art amounts to nearly 2 more, it's actually very impressive how much is in there. It doesn't look it on first glance, but this game is dense. I love it!

In a world where games require multiple $50 books with full-color glossy pages and more art per book than the entire RPG industry produced in 1980, a set of rules that sells for $3, (admittedly, it did also cost me 5 sheets of paper and some amount of toner) and can be understood and played in minutes rather than hours, is a welcome change. It takes me back to when RPGs just required a handful of booklets and a few weird dice, instead of needing a small cart to haul your books around, and we created our own worlds, instead of following a pre-written storyline in someone else's.

Generic Dungeon isn't for the "read the boxed text to your players" style of GM, nor for the kind of players who are always weaseling and rules-lawyering, nor the people who depend on having an official rule for every possible circumstance. It's for people who want to have fun together and need a framework to do it in. That's the kind of GM I am, and the kind of people I want to play with, so this is going to be a great game. I'll be trying it out at a convention in a couple of weeks, and I expect it to be lots of fun.

I think the biggest thing is that it's a game intended to be a game, something you do for fun (hence the popularity of dungeon crawls for decades) rather than storytelling based around a deep psychological exploration of a character. In Generic Dungeon, your character can die pretty easily, but since it's more of a playing piece in a game than a complex fictional creation in a story, you can just make another one. I think that, more than anything, is what really differentiates what the early RPGs were, and the attitudes of the early players and GMs, from the modern day "storytelling" approach. That's what so many OSR games have missed because they focus on old-school mechanics for modern-day gaming styles. Generic Dungeon gets it right.

The negatives are very few: As I said, some of it is a bit sketchy; as much as I like the artwork, I'd have traded it for more explanation of a few things. Nothing I can't fill in myself, but that's because I've been playing and GMing for decades, and even published a little game of my own once upon a time. (If you are one of the people who have the long-ago Legends & Loot with its little dice shaker, treasure it!) It could definitely use the services of a proofreader. And the format is a bit inconvenient; a version formatted for booklet printing, or even 8.5x11 printing, would be nice. But those are very minor quibbles indeed.

I don't generally write reviews anywhere because I'm reluctant to write anything but 5-star reviews, and very few games or supplements merit them. This is one of the exceptions. A good game system for less than the price of a cup of frou-frou coffee is wonderful, and this is better than just "good". Get Generic Dungeon -- you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Generic Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for this terrific review, I really did not expect it. Generic Dungeon was something I did as a break from writing our bigger games like Zombie Squad and Ghost Ops, so it's nice that it warranted a review. As a games designer its refreshing to do something without all the fuss, just create something on the spur of the moment and try a few things differently. To answer some of the negatives: Explanations: I could have explained more stuff but I would prefer the GM to do that, if they want something to mean something else then do it, the Stats I felt stepped away from those standard RPG tropes but still allowed for a bit of uniqueness. Proofreader: It isn't easy to justify a proofreader for a $3 game and rest assured all our other games use both proofreaders and editors :). Design: The format, I have a weird soft spot for landscape RPG's which is just me, maybe next time I will design it into a booklet. Thanks for the review and the pointers it is much appreciated by a struggling indie publisher :)
Small Book of Sci-Fi Weapons
by Pietro d. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 09:28:29

Good list of weapons.

I use it for Savage Worlds and quite all the stats are in line with SW standards (i.e do not disrupt the game) and it's pratical. There is a good range from shootting to close combat weapons and all illustrated one by one. Lots of sci-fi weapons with ammo and not all laser\blaster\pluse\beam. Good work I ejoiyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Small Book of Sci-Fi Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Shelter
by Douglas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2017 09:28:57

This book's page count is ridiculously inflated! Pages upon pages filled with barely 1/3 of text. Very simple images stretched to the point of the absurd just as a poor filler. I have seen several Pay-what-you-want products with much better content and layout. It's hard even to rate the game for its writing or ideas, because i feel like i have fell for a scam. No wonder nobody associated their names to this product.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shelter
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Zombie Squad Directors Cut
by Philip C B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 16:07:08

You're sitting in your cell on Death Row with nothing to lose, when the uniformed Colonel standing across from you throws you a lifeline.

The Zombie Squad Directors Cut is a remake of the popular Zombie Squad RPG using the d20 system. Its a fast and furious ride through Hub controlled space where you character knows if they slip up there's a body bag waiting.

These Quick Start Rules give a real taste of what the Zombie Squad universe is like and the supporting artwork is used to great effect to give the game a authentic sci-fi feel. I've really enjoyed playing Zombie Squad and I am looking forward to many more adventure in the Gamma Celia system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Squad Directors Cut
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Zombie Squad Directors Cut
by Ian F W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2017 14:37:19

This is a fantastic premise for an RPG. Nicely worked out using a D20 system with extra bits to make it unique to the setting. I foresee many hours of sci-fi fun with this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super Secret Spy Agency
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 01:21:40

This game is so bad, it would be the best MST3K review of all time. The front cover is sample art from a website with the watermark ineptly airbrushed over, there are major typos in the graphics ("confidencial"), the formatting is all over the place with bold being used in some cases but not others, spelling and grammar mistakes abound, I still have no idea how the mechanics work, and the interior art is again free samples sized way bigger than the graphics can handle and are a pixelated nightmare. That said, this book is a perfect example of what not to do, and should be downloaded and read to be believed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Super Secret Spy Agency
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Powers Hack
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2016 09:31:01

I've become somewhat enamored with how The Black Hack has reduced the complexity of gaming to what I think is probably the bare minimum required, and I tend to enjoy supers supplements that can be easily bolted to an existing ruleset for added versatility. My hopes for this product weren't quite met with that, as I would give with the following example power descriptions:

  • "Healing – Character has natural healing."
  • "Flight – The Character can fly."

Quite honestly, if I wanted to go THAT light with my gaming, I think I could accomplish it myself. I had hoped to find the powers better fleshed out - some do have actual mechanical effect on the game, but more often than not they are like the above, where then the GM is left to puzzle anything outfor themselves...and I could have done that for free.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Powers Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Powers Hack
by Skraw D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 05:11:00

I think as a Black hack clone this is ok, it builds a foundation from which to build, and it has some cool ideas with out stepping on toes. I like it and looking forward to playing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Raphael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2016 11:23:22

From the outset this game makes no secrets about it's inspiration. It's inspired by the Dark Souls series of computer games. Now I'm not the world's largest fan of that series (in fact I've struggled enough against clunky controls that feel more difficult to defeat than the foes themselves) but many of my players are and I'm sure they'll be expecting me to run this for them at some point. I like the simplicity. I like the honesty. It's not pretending to be anything that it isn't. It says what it is and the contents match the label.

The authors have done a good job of evoking the bleak atmosphere of a hopeless world populated by undead. The concept of using Souls as both a currency and as experience for character advancement is copied directly over from the computer game but this is not necessarily a bad thing. Rather than souls representing a dichotomy, a dual nature if you will, it's simply a choice. A choice regarding how you use them. You could trade some souls with a dodgy individual to improve one of your skills or you could give them to the blacksmith to improve one of your weapons. The freedom of choice - giving players some simple choices regarding character progression, is a good thing. Some more rules heavy systems can flood the player with choice and (for some players) too much chocie can be a bad thing. In this case it's not too much choice. It's just about right.

When it comes to the actual characters we have a handful of core classes - the archetyal four (cleric, fighter, magic user & thief). This is fine. Each is a simple starting point. A bundle or collection to begin with and then build on as the character advancement itself is fairly open. This is quite similar to the computer game wherein each class is merely a starting point and, in fact, can be moulded into a close approximation of any of the other classes. Sadly, in Undeath - A Dark Tale RPG, the character classes are more fixed. Only the Mages and Clerics can cast spells (or work miracles). Mages cannot wear metal armour etc. The restrictions are all fairly standard fantasy tropes and I had hoped that the character advancement system would allow for some of the class restrictions to be bypassed by spending souls to remove or disable restrictions. The cleric, for example, can only use blunt weapons. If I desired to play a Crusader or Holy Knight kind of hero with some minor religious benefits (similar to the Cleric's prayers) it simply could not be done. I would need to play a Warrior or simply play a Cleric and abide by the blunt weapons restriction. This isn't a major problem. It's mostly done for game balance (as trying to come up with a more balanced set of rules with less class restrictions would result in a far more complicated system). Still, as one player pointed out "these restrictions do not feel like they belong in a Dark Souls game". I'm inclined to agree with him but I understand that coming up with a more complicated system or hosue ruling it is likely to be complicated so we might as well play by the rules for a few sessions before deciding if we want to tweak anything.

There are a number of grammatical and spelling errors that prevent me from giving this a perfect score. Also a few of the rules are a little unclear (dodging versus half dodging, for example). In addition a handful of rules were outright missing. When I contacted the authors they cleared everything up and published an errata document within an hour (a document containing artwork and page layouts etc instead of just being a simple text file). They did this on a Sunday! Now that's impressive dedication to customer service right there.

Overall I'd say it's a good product. A bit rough around the edges but nothing your average experienced gm can't work out for themself. I'd like to give it three and a half stars out of five on account of the few minor problems and spelling but I'll happily round that half up to a fourth star as I believe this product deserves it. If you buy this game I hope you enjoy it as much as my players probably will.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Simon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2016 08:59:47

Undeath is creepy and gorey and dark! The idea that you are saving your own soul from oblivion by "harvesting" others is weird and more intersting than just collecting money or mana or xp. I love how everything is connected and your character builds and grows despite being dead. Simple concept that can become as complex as the players and GM want it to be.
Living weapons are awesome - a blade that thinks and feels and is joined to it's user!?! Wild!

Also the artwork is very professional but with a cool "sketchy" quality that really works with the ragged vision for the dark game world. Beautiful pencil work that ranges from heroic (depite the heroes being already dead) to downright frightening. Wait til you get a look at the Ash Daemon- the stuff of nightmares!

Feral games has created another fully realized game world with the ability to jump right in as well as tons of nuance and subtlety for those who love detail. All beautifully presented (including a slick character sheet packet) for less than a the cost of the snacks you will want while staying up all night playing!

Don't hesitate to buy this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undeath - A Dark Tales Rpg
by Skraw D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 04:16:41

I love dark Rpg's and this one is pretty dark, I mean you use souls to cast Magic. I also love the underlying cthulhu mythos thats in the game, you pray to Cthulhu to return Stigmata so you don't become cursed, I mean really whats not to love. I really wanted to see how the Living Weapons thing worked and its cool, the weapon levels up and gains abilities.

For a small and cheap Rpg the artwork is great, the concept is awesome (I love Dark Souls so...) and the magick and items are just weird and horrifying enough to be cool.

Great Rpg from FeralGames and for the price of 2 cups of coffee, awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delve RPG
by Morgan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2016 15:38:10

It was a bit complicated to sort out playing, but it was fun once we got into it. Sorry for the late review



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delve RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Zombie Squad Rpg
by John G W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 13:24:03

Upon 1st perusal I like what I see it has definitely inspired me to make some interesting additions to games I am currently running I am looking forward toa more lengthy read of this materal



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Squad Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Zombie Squad Rpg
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 14:15:27

The game wasn't what I expected from the title, but I was pleasantly surprised on the depth and interesting nature of the premise and backstory of the game. Definitely worth a look if you're looking for a good dark science fiction setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG