Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Pink Dice Bag Publishing » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Fictional Band Names Part II
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 11:23:55

I'm convinced at this point that PDB have some sort of cross-dimensional viewer that's just pulling the current Billboard Hot 100 chart over from a parallel universe. I swear when I look at some of these names I can see the album covers...

Another great list of plausible, evocative band names, covering as the blurb says a wider range of musical styles. As someone running a campaign set in a fictional Caribbean island nation, I'm delighted to see several names suitable for either latin or reggae/dance hall acts. Gabriel y Los Tigres will definitely be playing my PCs' home town.

The Celtic folk/rock crowd are well represented, as are American bluegrass. Banjos, banjos as far as the eye can see...

There are names that suggest jazz, motown, EDM, metal, everything from the indie-guitar stylings of Beauty Shop Girls (they're all guys, by the way) to the smooth crooning of soul legend Hudson Bank (though personally I prefer his older Motown-era stuff when he was lead singer with The Cruisers). And I won't lie, number 56 made me giggle.

This, and the first list, are admittedly very niche products that won't get a ton of use in 99% of RPG games. But if you run modern or SF games, they're well done and the price is cheap enough that they're worth tucking away at the back of your binder ready for that one time you need inspiration for the name of the band playing at the bar the PCs just entered.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fictional Band Names Part II
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

100 Fictional Band Names
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 17:29:17

A brilliant set of names here. Instead of chopping and swapping real-world band names as I've seen similar lists do, these are all original names, most of which strongly evoke ideas for the type of music they play. So B-lieve is clearly a bubblegum pop band, while Biowarrior must be hardcore death metal, while the Mossy Oak Boys sing guitar ballads about beer, trucks and good-old-boys (Or they might all possibly just be J-Pop bands, who knows?). Not many of these names really lend themselves to "music of black origin" i.e. rap or modern R&B, but that probably deserves a list all of its own (hint, hint Pink Dice Bag folks!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Fictional Band Names
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Hey Chris, We definitely (happily!) got your hint and have made a second list of band names! With this second list we focused on expanding the musical styles represented to include jazz, R&B, rap, blues, even surf rock, Celtic, and big band. We'd love to send you a complimentary copy as a thank-you for the idea! Please email us at thepinkdicebag@gmail.com or use the contact form on our website so we can get everything set up. Thank you, Rowan
100 Town and City Names
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 17:11:44

A really nice selection of names. Despite the title "Town and City Names", they're really best suited as names for your archetypal American "small town you've never heard of", or maybe for towns in the Australian outback. Some of them would work OK for British town or village names but many of them wouldn't, having linguistic roots that you just don't get in genuine British placenames. Though amusingly nestled among all the artificially constructed names, #5 on the table, Bradford, just happens to be the name of a major UK city. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Town and City Names
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Prophecy Generator
by Darryl J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2018 01:30:35

This book is five pages with only two being content, however those two pages are great. The three line setup of the prophecies makes for easy mixing and matching. I fully recommend this product and can imagine I'll get lots of use out of it..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prophecy Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

A Field Guide to Fantastic Flora
by Kat W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 05:56:51

In the campaign that I just started one of my players wanted to try out the alchemiest class from 2.0. I love experimenting with different classes so I was really excited. I also like to add a lot of personal stuff to my games so we went looking for some suppliments for alchemists. My player actually found this one and sent the link over to me.

I love this book! The plants are arranged in to different types so there are flowers, herbs, trees, fruit, mushrooms and vegetables. As the other reviewer mentioned there isn't any artwork but it didn't really bother me because the descriptions are clear. The best part how different all the entries are. Some of the plants are food with interesting effects that would be enjoyed by the average person and some are these epic magic things that would be great for a plot hook. The style is also a selling point for me because it's written like someone jotted down notes as they were looking at the plants. Like I said at the begining, I love this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Field Guide to Fantastic Flora
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

A Field Guide to Fantastic Flora
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 06:38:59

I was disappointed that this book didn't have any artwork whatsoever. It contains 40 different types of plants, each of which gets a block of descriptive text and info on its in-game use/fantastical property. The book is also not very printer-friendly; the cover is what you see in the product image - a greyish leather-like texture - while the pages are all have a heavy-color tea-stained appearance. A lighter colored page would have been nicer, and would help the print stand out better, since it is fairly pale. Don't get me wrong, though, it is not difficult to read or to see the print, just lacking in the contrast department.

The positives for the book, though, are that there aren't many - if any - other botanist-style books like this out there. In my games (I GM pathfinder), I like to incorporate a wide range of different plants, materials, and potential alchemical ingredients, so I am greatful for a new spread of 40 plants. I also like that when I say "plants", I don't just mean herbs and scrubs. The 40 plants are divided between fruits, herbs, trees, vegetables, flowers and mushrooms, so it is a nice mix. The plants are also climate-specific so you don't have to think about environmental continuity. (To make things easy, I actually use climate and terrain-based tables that I roll on when one of my players decides to pay attention to the local flora during their travels.)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your purchase and feedback. Regarding the issues printing, first, I'd like apologize for the difficulty and thank you bring it to my attention. Printing contrast is definitely something I'll be considering more heavily in future publications. Second, I'd be happy to provide you with an alternate copy with more contrast or even with the background removed. If you're interested please send an email to thepinkdicebag@gmail.com with "Field Guide" in the header and we'll get things situated. Sincerely, Rowan Pink Dice Bag Publishing
Fantasy Inn and Cuisine Generator
by E W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 03:14:22

Historically researched, includes actual menus for your own purposes (when you have a party that wants to TRY the food you describe), inventive... Fantasy Inn and Cuisine Generator can come up with some pretty entertaining Inn ideas, allowing you to add real variety to each place the party holes up in for a night. Maybe one inn will have but a single room available due to a Lord's visit? Maybe the next is nearly dead, but is putting on a bardic contest? Each inn will be a litter different each time, really making them feel like places people come to stay and live in, rather than an over-night save-point.

The menus are all large and creative, and frankly reading them makes the stomach excited. The party can tuck into all manner of fine foods that are period accurate, regardless of setting and culture, and the huge variety means you'll undoubtedly find exactly what suits each member; heavy protein foods for the warrior, rich tasting foods for the thief, or spiced and exotic foods for the mage? You can be sure it'll all be here, suiting each player.

Now if you'll pardon me, I'm going to see about making some of those custard tarts...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Inn and Cuisine Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Massive (Mostly Mundane) Treasure Generator
by E W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 19:22:32

An extremely inventive and helpful booklet for ideas and inspiration when a DM wants more than just gold to be part of the loot, MMMTG will add that extra spice to treasure discovered by your players, and provides some interesting potential MacGuffin ideas. From tiny statues to relics and portraits, all that glimmers may not be gold, but you needn't mind when you uncover some trinket that may as like become part of your character's personal flavour items, as may be sold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Massive (Mostly Mundane) Treasure Generator
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG