Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Engine Publishing » Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
customizable Counter for Magic,Lifepoints and everything else
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2017 04:17:52

Very helpful! Added jpgs (without title) to change the color of the counter would make this item perfect. But of course its still possible to do that on your own, so 5 stars and thankyou!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
customizable Counter for Magic,Lifepoints and everything else
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Village of Darganford
Publisher: Assassin Games
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2017 13:51:33

The map is beautiful and there is a version included without those letters (i.e. Player and GM version as png, GM version also as pdf). I have printed it (png) out on DIN A4 and really love it (5475 x 3672px)! So I totally recommend. There should be more maps like this one at assassin games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Village of Darganford
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hex Kit + 2 Tilesets [BUNDLE]
Publisher: cone of negative energy
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2017 01:49:41

These tiles are beautiful ( 5 stars), and the editor is very helpful especially as you can import hexes from other publishers and I also love the random map creator. There is ONE DOWNSIDE, though: the random map creator creates a map only on the base layer and so you can't move this layer up or down. But with GIMP or PHOTOSHOP you still can work around that "error" - it just takes additional time. When this feature gets fixed it will be perfect. Absoulutely recommended, even with random map basic layer fault a 5star rating!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Kit + 2 Tilesets [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Tavern & Town Guard
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2016 02:03:53

Although I already bought the prison cell pack, I am very greatful for this addition, great details as usual, can't wait to use both locations :-) Please keep publishing more modular kit town items!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Tavern & Town Guard
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Church & Library
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2016 02:20:26

Great maps, very detailed, especially the library. An important (overdue ;-) addition to the Town Modular Kit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Church & Library
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Sidebar #12 - Equipment Tricks for Backpacks!
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2016 11:59:10

Updated review:

Actual Content (tricks): about 1,5 pages (Page 1: Cover, part of page 2 + page 3: tricks. Page 4: Open game license and Page 5: blank).

Personally I was disappointed, because I didn't read the description properly and so had hoped for some GM advice for managing player backpacks (pouches, bags), but this Sidebar is about what the players might DO with a backpack (e.g. use it in a fight). My fault - as I was told by the publisher, I should have looked at the Call to arms section at FGG (and there: "The Magic Satchel").

So overall I will rate this 4 stars for some nice ideas, which I had the impression shouldn't be too difficult to adapt to other rule systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sidebar #12 - Equipment Tricks for Backpacks!
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Forests
Publisher: dicegeeks.com
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2016 04:14:27

As a free product I believe this little text deserves 5 stars. It can provide you a fine overview on the forest topic and motivate you to flesh out your setting a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forests
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book - GPS2001
Publisher: Gamer Printshop
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2016 01:48:57

A great resource for the ambitious GM. Although I don't have a lot of knowledge of Photoshop, it was no problem for me to follow the helpful instructions of this book. But the great thing is that the author helps the reader achieve the same results with XARA Photo - and Graphic- Designer 9 or GIMP or Inkscape or Illustrator. So you don't necessary need to have such a powerful software! And there is a lot to learn, like depth in water, cliffs, forest paths, cobblestone, dungeons, top view of objects, villages, ship decks, regional maps (!) and much more - 25 tutorials to be precise. This is great and as a beginner like me you often are astonished of how easy it is to create certain beautiful and realistic effects. I heartily recommend this to any GM who has a very basic understanding of the aforementioned graphic programs and dreams of creating his own maps to visualize his world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book - GPS2001
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Alternate Classic Hex Map Icons
Publisher: Inkwell Ideas
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2016 01:20:19

These are very helpful icons to create hex fantasy maps - I use them with Photoshop and am very content with the results. I also like the license which allows to publish maps using these icons for example in an own adventure as PDF right here on DTRPG. 250x250 transparent PNGs. Can absolutely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alternate Classic Hex Map Icons
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Dungeon Map Symbols/Icons (Any Editor)
Publisher: Inkwell Ideas
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2016 02:09:09

I have read Dennis 1 Star review and I understand his argument, that although you get 200 icons, many of them are basically the same, as only the color or the texture used is changed, which can be seen when you take a look at the preview image. And I agree that like 20$ is a very steep price to buy those icons - if you only use them for private purposes. And here's the reason I am giving 5 stars: The License of this Item grants you the right to use your created maps in your productS (plural!!!) So you could sell your maps right here on DriveThruRPG. Quote: "The art can appear in advertisements for products which use the image." (Dear publisher, if this is wrong please correct me!) To me that means a lot. And regularly addtional icon packs are offered for about 2$ with the same license - buy once and worry no more. And that's a good deal! Please note: I don't receive anything from the publisher for this review nor have I been contacted by the publisher to write this review. And I am not in any way related to him. This is my own opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Map Symbols/Icons (Any Editor)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Thatched Cottage PSD Files
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2016 10:47:03

What a beautiful paper model! As this is the first one I built, (if I don't count Dave's lumber pack) and I scaled it down to 40% I may tell you that it's easy to built (though you should read his free general buidling instructions if your new to this like me). Many variations are possible with PSD Files, so you get a lot for your money. Can absolutely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thatched Cottage PSD Files
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Lumber, Logs & Hay Bales PSD Files
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2016 13:50:41

I needed logs for a battle map and these were just perfect - although I printed them out at about 27% (!). I also liked that the files are very good organized with a lot of options to choose from. Absolutely recommendable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lumber, Logs & Hay Bales PSD Files
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

How to Spice Up Combat
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2015 07:24:14

The text consists of 12 pages, of these 4 pages are used entirely for 2 lists: 1. Music suggestions and 2. Quotes from popular movies to be used in RPGs. So without these lists the main text has about 8 pages. The text is printer friendly (although I had to scale it down a bit) with lots of illustrations.

I believe the strength of this little text is the music list with about 40 suggestions (sometimes complete albums and sometimes several tracks from an album). fantasy: 8 suggestions, "Pulp combat": 1 and the rest is in the category"Modern/Cyberpunk/Sci-Fi". Some very good ideas, of course not a complete list.

The quotes are interspersed into the text and some more in a list to be found in the last chapter. Quality varies and I think the author would have come up with a better result, if he would have invented the quotes' part himself.

To me as a beginner GM the main text didn't help, in my opinion there was way to little information on how to make game (battle) mechanics easier or more efficient (i.e. faster).

My conclusion: 6$ for this item is way too much. In my eyes it comes down to how much you are willing to pay for the music list. I am very happy I bought at the same time another HOW TO Guide from this publisher, as otherwise I would have had a very poor impression of Avalon, and would have missed "How to be a great GM - Fan Edition", which may also be a little expensive but at least you get good quality for you money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
How to Spice Up Combat
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2015 02:30:22

The main text consists of 16 pages (at normal font size), the "fan" extras you get here are 7 d20 lists for randomly creating the basic structure of your next adventure. The text is printerfriendly although I had to reduce the size a bit for it to fit the page (DIN A4)

As a beginner GM I really liked this little book, especially when it motivates and expands on psychological aspects of our hobby. Although I was tempted to give it a 4 star rating because of being slightly overpriced (6$), the quality deserves 5 stars and the publisher seems to be quite generous in offering discounts from time to time (which is why I gave it a try).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
Publisher: Blackstone Entertainment, Inc
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2015 12:08:22

As a beginner GM I really recommend this well written list of very detailed tips. It's not the first book I read about GMing, but you really can get a lot out of these few pages, which makes the price (1$) a bargain. Only problem: there is no printerfriendly textversion available, so printing will cost you some more ink. But considering the price, 5 stars is a well deserved rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG