Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » By Night Studios » Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade » Reviews
 Quick Find
Find Category
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
 
$19.99 $13.79
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 22
3 5
0 2
1 0
1 2
Mind\'s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to view
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2016 17:02:44

Yes, it brings back all the fun of playing MET back in the 90s. Yes, its cleaned up, less confusing, and a much smoother system then what you remember. No you won't miss anything they took out. Yes, its all here in one book. No, there really is no need to fix anything or write up a bunch of house rules.

Yes, finally!

BNS has shown all the other publishers that have had thier turn with the WoD material how make things right. It really is that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Lance L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2016 14:59:47

Fantastic version of the much beloved Vampire LARP -- you can tell that a ton of work went into getting this (mostly) right. Love what they did with status. Love what they did with the overall game mechanics. Don't love what they did to a couple disciplines, like possession and several of the Tremere paths, rituals, etc. But certainly worth the purchase. Got both the hard cover (from local game store) and the PDF from Drivethru RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2015 11:22:53

I am very much a fan of what they did with the system - both in terms of mechanics and the updated settings. Having played in the Sabbat and Camarilla venues with these rules, I can say I am impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Maximilian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2015 05:32:10

The book is well written, and a vast improvement on the old rule system. -2 stars for the dented corner on the hardcover book (probably happened during shipping). It's a heavy book, so I guess I can understand that happening, but better packaging might have prevented it, and I wouldn't have spent $60 on a book from a store with a dented cover.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2014 08:14:29

Love the book and the system. Really love the By Night Studios crew. My copy was sent to me in pure black and white, no color what so ever. In a matter of hours of contacting them they told me they would be reprinting and reshipping my book along with the pictures I had sent to the manufacturer so that this would never happen again. Awesome game and awesome company!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2014 16:48:34

I've enjoyed the new rules and the PDF. only issue is the wording for influence actions being a bit ambiguous in some cases.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2014 16:26:47

The content is fresh, the rules are not annoying like NWoD MET, but oh boy, you better have an iron constitution to lug this sucker around a LARP. You could use this book as body armor.

The book is a full size sourcebook, as opposed to the half sized books of MET of your, and is three times heavier than Laws of the Night.

If you have a tablet, get the pdf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Craig J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2014 12:34:49

Great for setting and mechanics. Over all one of the best examples of a single book system I have seen. Worth the buy by far.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2014 19:16:47

0 out of 5 for crap customer service

SO this review is mostly getting dinged due to By Night Studios CRUMMY customer service. The Rules and undated time line are pretty well done.

So just after the release of the PDF, I started noticing tons of positive reviews for the new version of the rules and while I didn't care for what we saw in the early previews I thought that there may be enough to make it worth getting. I was interested in the PDF/POD combo but had no idea of when it would be release. Since I know that Onyx Path tends to offer upgrades to the combo set if you buy the PDF before the combo is released I decided to contact By Night to see how they would be handling it.

After messaging By Night I got a reply from them stating that they intended to do the very same approach that Onyx Path does and allow those that get the PDF early to upgrade to the combo set. So I went ahead and bought the PDF. Over all I was super amazed on how well it came together and I was excited to get a physical book.

Fast forward to after the POD version is available, I see no mention on the upgrade I decided to contact them again, to see if there was a delay or if sadly there was no way for them to do it. I received a reply that didn't address my question. So I polite reworded my question in case there was confusion and waited a reply. No reply came, so I resent it, no reply, so I posted the question on their Facebook, no reply, asked again still no answer, all the while I saw them answering other question on they very same Facebook posts, and while addressing other questions that I posted about rules and availability of their other PDFs, so I know they were able to see my questions.

Each and every inquiry was politely worded, and would only have taken them a moment to answer. I get that things don't always workout, especially for smaller companies, and a “sorry those plans didn't work out as we hoped”, would have been crummy but reasonable, but ignoring it and hoping it goes away is BS way to handle things.

I held off posting this until now as I hoped they would have responded but they didn't.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2014 02:35:12

It's a good book. I like the new system, it's solid, and the new fluff, while controversial, actually make sense in the modern days.

My only major issue is that there are parts of it that are errataed on their website, but no way for anyone to know that without going on to that website. But, other than that, I like it quite a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Carl O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 15:54:25

I am in love with the mechanics of this book.

Rare bloodlines now self-regulate since you have to sink in some of your extremely limited Merit Point Cap into being one.

The disciplines are either more in line with their tabletop counterparts (Fortitude, Potence) or have been reworked to make more sense (No longer must a necromancer go down the making zombies Path to Soul Steal, it now rests at the top of Sepulcher). Thaumaturgy is both more accessible and less overpowered while stilling being desirable.

The costs of experience now escalate in a manner similar to tabletop and upping attribute traits now costs significantly more. Combined with graduated experience caps (less exp after you earn your first 100 exp) you can build to a very powerful level without being great at literally everything. An EXP floor also keeps new characters less powerful than established characters but gives them more than the starting base EXP to help them hold their own.

I currently am an Assistant Storyteller in an OWBN game (which does not make use of this book at the time of this review) but I will definitely be giving this updated system a shot in an independent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by David O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2014 11:52:09

Years in demand, By Night Studios has taken a fan favorite and given it life anew. One might say, "the game has been Embraced." A combination of every core V:tM Mind's Eye Theatre book, it allows ST's and players alike, an opportunity to tell the story the way they want to. In previous editions of the game, players were condemned to play only the things that the ST thought they could manage. In this new incarnation, the rules and interactions between characters is so fluid that there is little to no balance issues. This allows for players to play anything they want, barring point expenditure. You want to play a Camarilla Kiasyd with Potence, go ahead. You want a True Brujah elder, yep you can.

As for the rest of the rules, this is the first time we have seen a functional set of rules for status, and a way of incorporating them in game without the need to house rule something. The three separate settings offered in the core book: Camarilla, Sabbat, and Anarach, all have setting specific rules and status that makes every game unique. However, I would be remiss, if I didn't mention the one of the greatest changes from the old systems, the lack of "WIN ALL TIES". No longer does a single power give you the ability to wipe the floor with your opponents 2 out of 3 challenges. In addition to this, a well constructed Neonate is as equally impressive as an Elder. Also, did I mention that the rules for playing an Elder are available to any character, without ST approval. In fact, the rules to play anything are available to any character, so long as you have the points to spend.

Overall, this is one of the best buys I can encourage a player of LARP. If you do not currently have a group, find one. If a group does not exist, make one. The rules for this game are very intuitive and easy to follow. Also, I highly recommend the .pdf, as it is fully bookmarked and searchable.

Well done By Night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2014 13:56:14

A great game system, well play tested and a world beyond the previous (World of Darkness) systems. With JUST this book you can run or play in a World of Darkness vampire LARP. Rules for PC (and NPC) ghouls, vampires, revenents and dhampires.

Some minor grammar / spelling problems, but nothing that effects the clarity of the rules.

An update on the Old World of Darkness Setting, that moves it into the modern century.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2014 23:13:19

An amazing continuation to the old style, of the game. The rules make for a more streamlined simplistic, version where character creation take minutes vs hours and hours of min maxing. Lookimg forward for clan books when they are created.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Colin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2014 10:42:50

This book delivers what it says - a complete ruleset to play the game. The game, however, is only Vampire: the Masquerade in name only. It is a complete overhaul of the setting, altering fundamental portions of what we were used to in the last "Revised" setting, and even more alien than V20. It continues the genre shifting trend of letting any generation use Dominate on any other generation, but pushes the envelope even farther. Expect a Camarilla that not only acknowledges the existence of the Antediluvians, but one that lauds them. Status traits give varied and sometimes inexplicably magical effects, Thaumaturgy and Necromancy have gotten almost complete overhauls. As a Sabbat fan, I felt the Sabbat section was almost an after thought and, coupled with the changes to the Camarilla party line, really felt like "Camarilla, the dark version". Anarchs on the other hand receive even more magical status effects, including the perfect ability to tell anyone anything about the vampiric condition without risking the Masquerade.

This book makes for a game that feels a lot like Requiem using names from Masquerade. That is probably something someone wants, but this is even less of a spiritual successor to Vampire: the Masquerade than V20 is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG