Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » White Wolf » Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition $19.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
69 16
4 8
2 3
2 4
2 1
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to view
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 16:26:05

I do not regret buying this book in .pdf form. The mechanics are a solid update to the 1st edition (which I have in hardback), especially the changes to Morality, how vampires take damage, and changes to Disciplines. However, a lot of the fluff/ flavor feels inferior (to me) compared to 1st edition. The sections for each clan's origins felt really nebulous and unnecessary. Much of the flavor text for the covenants focuses on how vampires hunt together in packs... which completely goes against everything else in the book regarding vampires being lone predators. The Cacophany (capital C!) sounds like a big deal, but never really gets explained much and undercuts the isolated city aspect. I really preferred the fluff/ flavor of 1st edition, but thoroughly enjoy the updated mechanics of 2nd edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ryan P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:12:04

I feel kinda bad about giving Vampire: The Requiem such a bad review but honestly the quality of the book is not at all what I would expect from an organization as storied and acclaimed as White Wolf/Onyx Path. Especially compared against the beautiful V20 core-rulebook people insisted I check out to redeem my opinion of Chronicles/World of Darkness, VtR's 2nd Edition core rulebook is.... I don't wish to use expletives but it is just subpar. The quality of the prose is about what I would write in my teens on my PBEM groups, jumpy and scattered in an attempt to build mystery and flair but failing, terribly. I mean god-bless them for trying and I'm not necessarily saying I could do better I'm just saying I expected a little better from a company and its flagship game that places such a premium on atmosphere which is what finally made me bite the bullet and buy this to begin with. The book fails to deliver on the very well-written atmospheric section in the introduction and the artwork cements its sort of cartoon-y place in my mind. I mean honestly why haven't companies just sourced art from Deviant-Art? My elder friends on the interwebs remember Vampire: The Masquerade's heyday and I'm familiar with it by their proxy and the second edition to the follow-up Vampire: The Requiem doesn't even come close to their description.

The Vampire Clans (god I hope I'm using that right...) or the bloodlines (incase I'm not) do not compare favorably to the ones my friends described and looking at the V20 rulebook I see very large differences that go beyond the simplification I was forewarned of. While the thinning of the herd of bloodlines from fourteen to five is a good change I think, the descriptions of these bloodlines, while claiming to be "archetypal", are about as nuanced as a buzzfeed description of the houses of Hogwarts. Sure, expanding, adapting and modifying rulebook characterizations is our job but the book itself doesn't seem to encourage it.

The organizations are a completely different matter. With the exception of the Carthian Movement, all feel incredibly vibrant and cool organizations though the way they are integrated in to the different cities and character profiles in the following sections leave a "meh" quality to them. The Ordo Dracul especially is a prettty complex and multi-dimensional assortment that was a pleasant shock from the very flat and colorless descriptors I had spent the previous 40 pages on.

The following sections describing the eponymous Requiem Vampires participate in during the World of Darkness. While it mostly describes game mechanics and in this regard is incredibly interesting and provocative in the White Wolf Storytelling system way, when it tries to go deeper into the core concepts of "Requiem", "Masquerade", and wider Vampire society the low caliber of the book's prose rears its ugly head again. The concepts of "anchors", "vitae", "the beast", recieve pitiable elucidations and is one of the few times I can remember reading lore, thinking of a question, seeing the answer in the next few paragraphs and being dissapointed with my attempt at edification.

When we finally arrive at the VtR's additions and contributions to the Storytelling system I was really prepared to say "nope I'm good" since I knew this would mean putting all of those rules and mechanics into a narrative and while this 20 page seventh section of the book is short in length it does not spare the reader from the shoddy prose and ocular muscle strain incurred by the rolling of one's eyebrows as the writers try to sell you on this world. Now that's not exactly gracious of me and I'm not a cynical person, I can see beauty in kitsch-y things but that's because they usually have other redeeming qualities or some other value and Vampire: the Requiem doesn't provide either to me and left me with a very bad taste in my mouth and an odd feeling in my head when I finished reading.

I realize of course that my 2-Star review is a minority and a lot of people obviously love this book but as someone who just picked it up as their first intoduction to the WoD I was profoundly disapointed. Now as I said that's not a write-off of all the hype we've heard about White Wolf and Onyx Path, I've seen at least one astounding example of their work that jusitifes the phenomena their games have been elevated to, but VtR 2nd edition is not one of them.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2016 14:01:03

I feel kind of bad,for giving this book a bad review and i do not want to sound like ranting,but i also want to be honest about what bothered me with this product.First of all,the rules are nice and do some necessary revision (Vampire have lowlight vision and sharper senses on default,Disciplines are now useful on lower Level,humanity loss does not make you insane but gives you vampiric banes ......and much more good stuff). So why do I not like it?Because of the Style and the quality of the Fiction. The Fiction in this book is just dull and uninspired.Compare it with (for example) the excellent Clanbooks or requiem for rome.Those books where dark and interesting with lots of immersive Background.Sure....it is kind of unfair to compare splatbooks to Corerules,but even the WoD2 corebook,was superior in this department. The other thing which bothers me,is the constant switching between He/she when reffering to the player/a vampire.Is this supposed to be progressive? (honest question),because it would fit in the picture.The World of darkness was always very diverse and its bloodsucking ,murderous Vampires came from all kind of Backgrounds,had all kinds of sexual prefferences,Belives ,etnicitys....(you see what i mean).This book,is the first Requiem book i read ,which seems to make a fuss about it and beeing overly PC.When you look at the artwork (which is nit pretty imho) you see basicly a mixture of vaguely erotic Art and fight scenes.While the vaguely erotic scenes only in 1 (or maybe 2 scenes.....not sure about the bathroom picture) featuring people of opposite sex,the fightscenes are mostly exclusevly women beating up man. This is neither progressive nor empowering ,but just catering to a special Audience. The generel writing is cheesy & pretentios and does not create any mood or makes me want to play in this world. one Star fore the crunch,another for the ammount of material ,no star for the Fluff.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Caleb H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2015 22:47:52

In 2004, game tables were introduced to the magnificent series of the new world of darkness. The core book “world of darkness” was a brilliant masterpiece of tabletop engineering. Shortly thereafter White Wolf released their flagship template book Vampire: Requiem. Like the core World of Darkness book, Vampire Requiem proved to be a true masterpiece. The writers and creators of these 2004 edition books successfully integrated easy to use narrative style mechanics with accessible, fast rules for new players and veterans alike. The company, White Wolf was ahead of the game in the narrative style RPG’s that are so popular in today’s market. Unfortunately, vampire the Requiem second edition falls flat on its face in comparison to its predecessor.

There is a lot I can say about this new edition and my hopes are that I do not ramble too much in explaining why I’m giving such a low review. The 2004 editions of WoD and the subsequent template books are by far my favorite RPG’s. I’ve been gaming for nearly 20 years and played virtually every type of RPG on the market and very few measure up to this books predecessors. That is why it saddens me so much to give a low review for this book. So let’s get started. I have a lot to say about the artwork choices of this book but I will save that until the end of my review. I’m also aware that many people may disagree with my review and it is important they keep in mind that this is my opinion my opinion alone. Also, It is late so please don't mind some of the spelling issues. Unlike most other world of darkness books, vampire 2nd jumps right in to the clans and clan descriptions. Very little has changed in this section but the writer spends a lot of time trying to fluff up the clans into being more interesting. In many ways, I do not feel like it works here. Each clan gets somewhat of a disjointed conversational description in order to build “mood” as well as spotty origins that the storyteller can pick and choose for his/her campaign. With the exception of the Nosferatu, each clan got a new Clan Bane (clan weakness). I will admit that the clan weaknesses were not the best in the 2004 edition. However, I feel like they’re pretty uninteresting in this edition as well. If anything, they become a little overcomplicated. I did notice that the Daeva had their nicknames changed from succubus to serpents. As you’ll read about later, this was done for political correctness reasons.

For a second edition book, I was really hoping onyx path would take a little more of a risk here and perhaps add in one or two new clans for this update. There were many great clans from the masquerade era that could have easily been brought back here and they chose not to. Sticking with the five clans I felt was a mistake this time around.

The next section are covenants. In my opinion, covenants were something that really needed to be re-examined for any new edition. In the 2004 edition, covenants were easy to understand but quite frankly, they were not as interesting as the politics of the original game vampire the masquerade. They always seemed a little anemic and underwhelming. In this edition, Like the clans, the covenants have a short story to introduce the reader to them followed with quick background, history and overview of each covenant. To be perfectly honest, I felt the 2004 vampire did a better job of describing the covenants. For example, The Invictus come off more as mafia type thugs then in ancient noble hierarchy. Many of the clans including The Invictus seem less interesting this time around which is strangely peculiar. We also see the loss of one of my favorite covenants Belial’s Brood. Why this covenant was removed? I honestly do not know. It is very disappointing. Jumping to chapter 3, the character creation section, we are introduced to the new rules and experience system for the God machine (world of darkness second edition) and vampire Requiem second edition. This is where things start getting a little bit clunky. Unlike the previous edition which was more or less a template book, onyx path decided to go back to the old world of darkness “all encompass” book style. It makes for this book to be rather bloated. You still may need the God machine in order to run this game as well as the world of darkness rules. However you no longer need to build a human then make a vampire. I personally feel how they did it for vampire second edition is shortsighted and significantly less flavorful than first edition. The template system seemed far more fun.

They’ve also included this absolutely awful new experience system of beats. Now players and storytellers have to keep track of beats that get converted into experience points that can be spent on attributes, merits, skills, disciplines etc. This is all an attempt to try to force role play and instead, it bogs down the game tremendously! It’s as if the creators of this game tried to grab any idea they could from other narrative games with the hopes that it would make their game better. The end result is that the XP system becomes more of a headache that can be easily manipulated and argued over. With the change to the experience distribution, the authors chose to change experience costs to lower numbers and removed experience escalation for their new linear model. In other words the first dot of an attribute costs 4 experience and the fifth dot of an attribute costs 4 experience. What my players and I discovered is that the new system allows the players to power game a little bit easier than they could before. Every scene becomes about trying to get a beat. I hope you enjoy bookkeeping.

The next thing that really bothered me about this edition was the reimagining of merits. Merits have gone from humanlike abilities that enriched your character to now looking like Dungeons & Dragons feats of awesomeness. One minute onyx path is trying to convince us that this is a storyteller game and the next, they’re trying to make it more action-packed and combat heavy. The merits read more like devotions or superpowers than I believe they ever were intended to. Do you want your claws to do aggravated damage? It’s a merit. Want to see in the dark? It’s a merit. Etc. etc. In this section we also see a change to the disciplines. The changes for the most part are not bad here. However, most of the changes require you to look up the condition it puts on somebody under the condition section in the back of the book. Similar to the experience system, the introduction of tilts and conditions is an absolute cluster to the flow of game. This is also an attempt to have you buy the condition cards sold here on drivethruRPG. In other words, if you use your mesmerize ability, a player gains a mesmerized condition which they have to follow. However, they can get a beat for having the power used on them if they overcome the condition… fun…

I’m going to go ahead and skip a lot here. There is a chapter on combat, rolling dice, what attributes are etc. the next section I want to get to his chapter 5 which is the introduction of the villains in the new Requiem second edition. And that is the Strix. If you have ever played or read Requiem for Rome you know who these antagonists are. In truth, they were never interesting when they were introduced and they are really bad here. I do agree that there needed to be some more antagonists introduced in vampire and I think the brood would have served as a much better villain type. The Strix feels very contrived and bogeyman like. They really don’t make a lot of sense and I can see a lot of people completely ignoring this chapter. Again, they could have removed nearly 40 pages right here and you would not miss it.

The next chapter focuses on other covenants and vampires around the world and for the most part, this was pretty interesting. I can see a lot more been written regarding this subject matter. If you decide to pick up the PDF of this book, this would not be a bad chapter to peruse.

There are a few more chapters regarding storytelling and The Living, in which it concludes with the long endless list of conditions. In truth, I could talk a lot more about this book. There’s a very good chance that you already know whether or not you’re going to buy this book, regardless of my review. I do know that a lot of people are reviewing highly of this edition (and the God machine book) and I believe more out of loyalty than out of substance. This book was created by committee on the onyx path forum and quite frankly you can tell. There’s a lot of ideas that were thrown in here and in many ways it seems to be lacking the same level of confidence that the first edition book had. It feels like this edition is trying to wear many hats ranging from being a storyteller narrative game to a combat game. The end result is that it does not succeed the same way the 2004 edition did.

I’m sure you’re getting excited about coming to the end of the review as I’m getting excited about ending the review. However, I really need to talk about the artwork. I do not want this to get political and everyone will have their own opinion but the artwork in this book is not only bad, but it reeks of political agenda. There is approximately 47 pictures in this book. There are approximately 5 pictures that show inanimate objects (a car, buildings, heads etc.). So far, no big deal. Except, there is unquestionably a gender bias of female superiority and an anti-male sentiment throughout the entire book. There are 21 pictures that depict women as authority figures over men and only about 2 pictures that depict a male with confidence or authority one of which is a man giving another man a good time in the shower (p.93). Men are consistently depicted as weak, victims, or servants. When a man does get a picture it is usually to depict pain or anguish (P.102). The artwork constantly depicts women as powerful (P. 111), (P. 279), confident (P. 274), (P. 33), (P. 36) (P. 39) or unstoppable (P. 54). Men on the other hand are only there to be bloody messes or aloof. Even most of the men’s clothing in the book shows a lack of organization or confidence. (Don’t think it’s sexist art? Reverse all of the female characters into male character in your head and ask if it is not sexiest).

Another major issue is the emphasis within the text that vampires are sexual and sexual beings while almost all of the artwork shows rather conservative looking characters. To be honest, this is probably the least sexual depiction of vampires I’ve ever witnessed. I’m not sure when exactly the creative team behind this product became so terrified of sexuality in art but it clearly shows in this book. And most importantly, the extreme pro-woman anti-male artwork honestly does subtract from the content. Once you see it, you can’t un-see it. Even the picture of the Daeva which is supposed to be the pinnacle of sexuality shows a rather benign looking vampire that doesn’t exude any confidence or charisma under the clan section.

In conclusion, Vampire the Requiem second edition is more Buffy the vampire slayer then say The Lost Boys or Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Both in flavor and in game mechanics, second edition seems like an identity crisis. It doesn’t know if it wants to be more storyteller orientated like its predecessor or if it wants to corner the market on crunch and combat. With the inclusion of conditions, combat becomes very much about who goes first, who can break someone’s arm, who can put the first power/condition on etc. I believe it could even be argued that in this addition it would not be unwise to have a combat mat which I’ve never said before regarding world of darkness products. It attempts to force role-play with a half thought out beat system for experience points and it tries very hard to force mood.

In the past 10 years, I have gotten many people interested into world of darkness. However, I really cannot endorse the new second edition WoD model. And though it goes without saying, I know many players and gaming groups who wholeheartedly agree with this review. Not only do they agree with the issues of mechanics but also regarding the appalling art. It took me a long time to write this review and it does sadden me but I hope that the game developers do take my suggestions to heart. Quite frankly, I am waiting for the world of darkness second edition revised and vampire the Requiem second edition revised books. Maybe then we will get a good product. Hopefully one without agenda.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by shawn h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2015 14:40:42

layout and design is nice. unfortunately I'm withholding a mark due to the fact that, as usual, the HC version shipped physically damaged.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/20/2015 19:07:58

You can listen to my review of this book on Darker Days Radio http://podcast.darker-days.org/e/darker-days-radio-episode-56/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by manuel h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2015 12:13:44

Great book! I have been playing V:tM and 1st edition V:tR for quite long times and now I really like the direction, where this new edition is heading. Many rules were completely rewritten, and in most cases, I prefer the new rules. Those few passages, where I liked the old rules more (like sun light) are very easy to fix. The new disciplines are awesome, and contribute much to a dense mood. I also like the clan descriptions and the many examples for touchstones, feeding grounds etc. Touchstones, by the way, are a great innovation, it's mostly persons remembering you of your humanity. Both the style of writing in this book and the rules strongly support the mood a vampire game should have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2015 19:54:19

Vampire: the Requiem was a game with an identity problem.

As the first title in the New World of Darkness, Requiem had big shoes to fill; it failed to distinguish itself from its prestigious predecessor (Vampire: the Masquerade), and ended up rather bland. While later supplements bolstered the line, the core meat of it remained somewhat unsatisfying.

Requiem 2e goes a long way towards fixing that. This second edition (previous Blood & Smoke: The Strix Chronicle) is a game that oozes style; the fiction is evocative, the mechanics are a hell of a lot more elegant, and the sample settings within give new Storytellers a sound chance to step right into the game. The rules updates are welcome in a lot of places (updated experience point costs, revised Disciplines, an overhauled Humanity system that I'm just in love with) and slightly clunky in others (Conditions, Beats, and Touchstones all generally go ignored by my playgroup as unnecessary clutter), but the product as a whole is satisfying.

If you're willing to give Requiem a shot, this book might win you over. The Masquerade influence is definitely still there in places, but this is a game that can definitely stand on its own and start forging a legacy in future supplements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2014 15:25:56

OPP has really outdone themselves here. This is a fantastic product for any World of Darkness fan, and a welcome addition to my collection. I can't wait to introduce my players to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Harry H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2014 16:21:31

A really well written, well designed game. I have gotten a few people into role-playing and world of darkness by using this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Martin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2014 00:04:32

This is a very good book probably my new favorite and definitely the trump of the 2nd ed NWoD splats at this time (end of 2014, so there's only demon and vampire, but meh). It holds a much needed update to vampire, it is more or less self-contiained with a few minor exceptions, and it is in general a very interesting read.

Now, on the downside, here are a few things you should consider. Please note that while the below list is "long" I do not believe any of these things are so bad as to make the book itself bad, but if you are particularly bothered by any of the below you should probably think carefully before buying the book so as to avoid being disappointed later on. (and yes, I have been Very nitpicky with this part)

First off, this is not a very well ordered book. The way it's laid out is confusing, it lacks an index (but has bookmarks, a minor balm for the issue) which makes the layout issue a bit more troublesome.

It is also lacking entirely in animals, despite the fact that one of the powers, Protean, actually relies on them for shape-shifting, something which also limits your choices of Ghouls (servants) and so on. This issue CAN be gotten around by looking online for some fan-made animals of course, or just writing up a few yourself.

Then at last (and least, to my mind) we have language use. This is not an entirely "clean" book. It is not by any stretch dirty but you should, if you are particularly sensitive, keep this in mind.

At this time the book costs $19.99 and I, personally, would consider it well worth that price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joshua H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2014 20:41:00

I have been playing Vampire since the days of Vt:M. Requiem simplified the rules to the point where my entire group couldn't imagine going back. This book, being nothing more than the Requiem the writers wished they produced from the beginning, has either simplified many rules or clarified them significantly. It includes Merits from across all books that should have been there from the beginning and turned Disciplines into diverse, yet finely tuned tools to be exploited and utilized in any story, be it horror, mystery, political play or any combination of them all. Thank you, White Wolf!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 08:26:39

The game that Vampire: the Requiem should always have been.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Matt G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 13:22:41

It's amazing how nearly all of the rule changes are my house rules. I'm thrilled by the better vampire combat system, even if I find the Strix somewhat lackluster after all the hype. It is a solid sting that balances thebest if old and new WoD. You won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Garrett T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 11:11:27

I was incredibly excited for this book to come out and incredibly disappointment once it was released.

This book feels like a Requiem 1.1 rather than a Requiem 2.0. I was disappointment in the fact that material from the supplement blood sorcery wasn't included, no bloodlines are included (and there are no plans to officially update the old bloodlines), the humanity system feels even more restrictive than before, etc.

The decisions Onyx path made to make this a "stand alone" product (yet they direct you back to God Machine for Merits?!) while making the God Machine reliant on the original World of Darkness Core seems like the most backward decision they could have made. If God Machine was a stand alone product, they could have used the extra space that opened to really flesh out this book with Vampire specific rules and lore. Now they are stuck in a cycle were every new splat will contain "core" information (which gives us less book), yet refers us back to another book that refers us back to another book.

Vampire the Requiem is ten years old and this is the first actual revision to the game, I was hoping for a solid product that incorporated and updated the rules and themes published since 2004 and in many ways this book delivers.. but not nearly enough to justify the ten years it took to get it.

-I enjoyed the new Coils and Scales of the Dragon, but somehow still miss the old ones. I wish Blood Sorcery had gotten the same treatment in the corebook. -I love many of the new merits.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG