Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
The Tomb of Tulikak
The Tomb of Tulikak
Pay What You Want
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition $29.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 9
2 4
3 1
1 2
0 3
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2017 19:35:37

at almost 700 pages, this is a massive tome, beautifully printed and lovingly illustrated. if you are a fan of the series, this is worth spending a bit extra to get the high quality print. contains core rules, examples of play, details for both traditions and technocracy mages, magic references, and tons and tons of lore and histories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Lucus P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2017 20:10:02

There's too much to say about how excellent this is -- but it can all be culminated in a simple "This is the BEST version of Mage." -- any other discussion is just trying to convince you to be "into" the game -- but if you already know you are, then this is the best version to own. If you don't know if you're into Mage -- the fact that you're thinking about it, shows you should be, and thus you should have the best version, and this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by julien l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:42:50

As a fan of World of Darkness fan, I like Vampire 20 and Hunter 20 a lot, and I adore Werewolf 20, I've read the first edition of Mage: The Ascension and so I was very hyped to get M20.

M20 is great, the book is superb, explains well to tellers and give a crapton of options. Your players want to play tradition mages? It's ok. they want to be orphans? They can. They want to see how it is when you're a techno? It's also aviable!

The book is great and I love how much they use examples or details (like the book of Shadowrun 5th) to understand most.

The only thing : don't use it with beginners players. Mage is hard to make them understand there are much risks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Marcin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2016 11:52:29

Really nice book - it has everything to get you started and more. In fact the only issue I have with this book that it's so big it's hard to find things you need during the game. Content seems to be randomly scattered. But once you prepare yourself it's great!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2016 00:56:31

I was extremely disappointed in the binding and quality of this book. It feels like it might fall apart at any second, and I just opened it. I bought the Premium Heavyweight and the paper is pretty low quality, and I've bought new textbooks at the same price with better paper. The paper honestly feels like I printed it out of my printer on standard 8x11 paper, and threw it in a cheap hardback cover with terrible binding. :(



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2016 17:17:39

The book is huge, litteraly, and that's awesome. The thing is beautiful. The colors are vivid and the arts are nice. The one thing that bothers me a bit is that it seems like it's a softcover glued to a cardboard hardcover. It doesn't change much on the functionnal side of the product, but it reflect poorly on the quality. None the less, i love this product. Thk Onyx Path.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2016 07:09:38

I have mixed feelings about this product.

The book is too heavy for using it at a gaming table easily. The binding is ok, and I have had no problems with it yet. The quality of the illustrations varies a lot, the quality of the printing in the heavy paperweight version is ok, and the space management and layout of the elements of the book is a bit underwelming.

"Ok" means "sufficient, but not great".

The books gathers a lot of gaming content. It touches the History and metaphisics of Mage, the worlds beyond Earth, and allows for player characters from the Traditions, the Technocracy and the Disparate Alliance factions. It covers a lot of topics but does not move into much depth. Some players claim that certain things are explained in not a deep enough detail for using them in the game despite taking many pages of the book. I am prety sure any compenent Storyteller will manage to make something out of the content even if it is not explained in full detail, though.

The content is badly organized. Certain pieces of information are duplicated, which is a problem because the book is already big as it is. I think it would be hard to follow by a newcomer to Mage: The Ascension.

I think the "focuses" of certain Traditions/Crafts/Conventions are arbitrary and that the authors did not put a lot of thought into making the suggested tools/foci related to the paradigms represented by each faction. Hence you get cybernetics and hypertech as suggested tools for Verbena mages -who are portrayed as druidic mages with primitivistic beliefs and points of view. A good Game Master is obviously going to hack this if need be, but it looks ugly to me.

As a side note, there has been some Internet drama and forum flaming because the authors made an active effort to be socially inclussive towards homosexuals and transexuals, that is, to include characters with gender identity crisis in the fiction and so on. Most of the time it is not annoying and it feels like a natural incussion. Some of the time you feel like they shoehorned a political advertisement at some sidebar. I think they had good intentions but did a lousy job: it is ok to have a computer advertisement in the Linux Magazine; it is ok to have ethics advertisement in a religious magazine; it feels odd to have ethics/political advertisement in high end entertaiment books for which you have paid premium. If they wanted to publish a socially inclusive product, they should have learnt from authors who introduce such concepts in a way that does not feel like the element was placed in the book just because they wanted to do a political declaration. Onyx Path also messed it up pretty badly when addressing related flames in the forums by sutting down, suspending, banning and locking related forum threads and people who disliked the way this was done.

The book is entertaining to read and can be used as a source for inspiration. If my books suddenly burned down, I am not sure I would buy it again, however. Too "average" for a 20th Anniversary edition.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Akaki K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2016 03:45:43

To begin with it's a...meh. The book is huge, inclusive and slightly updated to modern paradigm. I did sorta like it, there are all sorts of interesting bits that have been underdeveloped or omitted from the previous editions. However, it also has a host of problems that makes it just a next mage dust-off. To begin with, the book is still in 90ies. Written with opinions and language that remind past millenia. For an example, tazer bullets are mentioned as technocractic ammunition, when they are really just sold online, just as already working Life printers. paradigm and focus systems aren't well developed. Neither is the influence of modern media and science. On the other hand, it's inflated with repeated unnecessary information that contributes nothing but takes space. To add to frustration whole sections that would be facinating to read are missing under the excuse of 'not enough space'. The fiction bits are mostly horrible and problems that it mostly tries to raise and bring into spotlight of 'mage' attention are mostly irrelavant, uninteresting or misinterpreted. Every problem of the world is basically blamed on the devil. It's also amusing how book treats the reader with the mitten gloves, avoiding the topics and themes that could be considered gritty or insult mainstream sensibilities. Same with crossovers, Beast had dealt with that issue far better. Also, it introduces systems to handicap mages vs other supernaturals. Like giving them near innate ability to countermagic and quite a few other hacks. As for diversity, any mages outside the mainland America are mentioned at best with information that is neither relevant, nor well organised. Just enough to leave you mentally salivating. To top it off, for a book that should concentrait on diversity and creativity illustrations are horrible. It's either an overcised mage tarot card, or a trendy 20 something with tattoos. exceptions are rare and far between.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Tresi A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2016 19:48:06

It's exactly what you expect: an updated, lightly tweaked version of Mage that casts a wide net across the infinite expanse of the Tellurian.

Minor nitpicks:

  • Could use another copyediting pass, but anything this large will have that problem.
  • Too big to be an easy introduction to a new player or group.
  • Very short Merits and Flaws list, which may be for the best.
  • How Do You DO That?! would have made an excellent chapter but instead is its own book. Which makes sense, since it's 143 pages.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2016 12:48:55

Opened this book less than a dozen times before the binding completely broke away from the pages. I could not be more dissapointed, especially given the pricing.

I'm honestly not surprised this site forces you to the "create new account" login option before the basic "login" option. I don't imagine they get much repeat business.

What a joke.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sylvain P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2016 21:43:03

Fantastic PDF, terrible, terrible binding. Worst book binding I've seen in 25 year of collecting hundreds of books. Literally cracked open at the seams upon 2nd or third handling. I leave it on the shelf now. A pretty expensive decoration, north of 150$ Canadian dollars.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 16:18:36

I received the 600+ premium POD book today and the spine broke the first time I opened it. The book is too big to acutally be used considering the binding is just glue. Do NOT spend such a large amount of money on this book. Stick with the .pdf if you make a purchase. I hope I can return this book as it was a total waste of money. POD just isn't as good as true book binding (sewn in pages).



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:36:58

I was a little concerned about the binding on such a large book, but it is high quality and stands up to regular use.

I love having all of the pertinent information in one volume now, as opposed to having to search through supplements to find information on the TU, Nephandi, and the like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2015 16:57:15

This book is absolutely incredible. For anyone who ever loved Mage or new fans, this book is an essential purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2015 13:10:51

A perfectly beautiful book. As a fan of the original, this perfectly sums up the rules, the history, and the perspectives of Mage The Ascension.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG