Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Exalted 3rd Edition » Reviews
 Quick Find
Find Category
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Exalted 3rd Edition $29.99
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
68 32
9 7
5 1
9 4
10 0
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to view
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andras T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2017 09:43:37

I've ordered both the standard version of the book and the digital download. It took a while to receive the printed book as it got lost somewhere on th eway to my place.

The artwork is a bit mixed, mostly stunning but there are a few misses - I guess this is a matter of taste, though.

There's a lots of fluff in the book, you will find all the essentials for running your campaign and playing.

This brings me to the next subject of my review: sizes and the practicality: I've been reading the physical book for a while and I've notived that it is actually hard to read because of its sheer size. You can't just chuck it in to your backpack and read it on the train or bus, unless you're a fan of commuter workouts... :-) This brick weights 4 kilogramms. It is thick, wide, tall - it is B. I. G. . This book is a printed weapon in itself. It's a monster. Also, you can't simply find information in the sea of fluff. This book is about 700 pages long.

For that I would recommend for new readers to get the downloadable version - especially if they own a proper 9 -10 inch tablet - as they might find a much better reading experience there.

My advice for the creators: I'd recommend to you guys to take a look at the DnD books: they've splitted the whole material into several books so it's easier to carry and read/find info in. Alos, try using less different fonts in the layout, some of the fonts feel cheap (the page numbering, specifically, was a great disappointment)

With that said, I must note that the index and table of contents both have been done properly, both are an essential and great help. Yet, the book as a whole feels clunky, huge and hard to read due to it's size.

The setting info will leave you with a lots of possible plot hooks and gives you a nice, detailed view of the world.

All in all, though, it's a good reading with loads of info and will get you all the essentials to play/run your new game. I recommend it for everyone who NEVER played Exalted before as this experience will be something you might never had while playing other games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Max H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2017 12:53:15

I have only recently been introduced to the world of Exalted. a Good friend of mine created the Exalted Facebook Fanpage and asked me to help moderate it. At the time i had heard nothing about it. After starting to look more and more into the game, at first i was very confused about all the different mechanics. There was SO MUCH to take in, but then i started looking at it from a cinematic point of view, and everything started to click slowly but surely. It is also at this point that i discovered Exaltwitch, a stream on Twitch about a group of friends playing Exalted, and immideatly got hooked on the game. There is so much you can do with it! So much lore, plot, characters, archetypes. It's simply wonderful and amazing.

If you're looking for a fantasy game that isn't the standard elves, dwarves and orcs setting and want to move in a world where you are chosen by the mightiest of the Gods, Exalted is definably a game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Shaun O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2016 13:16:12

I haven't received my physical copy, but that's because I just ordered the book yesterday. I have gone through the PDF though and there is a massive glaring flaw in the book itself. Before character creation it talks about the different kinds of Exalts. Solars, Lunarians, Exigents, Sidereal, etc etc. And even gives reasons to play those types instead of the Solars. But in the character creation section it only gives details on making a Solar Exalt. That's like if any other table top gaming system told you about how Fighters, Wizards, Bards, Warlocks, and all these other classes exist and how aweome they are but they only gave you rules for fighters and said in a side note that they will be releasing the other books on other classes later. That's a pathetic and obvious cash grab. Or to put it in White Wolf terms. Here's Vampire The Masquerade 20th edition. The clans are Brujah, Ventrue, Gangrel, Malkavian, Tremere, Nosferatu, and Toreador now here are rules on how to make a Brujah. Oh if you want to make anything else you'll have to wait and buy our next books.

I'm not hating on sourcebooks. I love sourcebooks. But let me at least get a taste of playing these other factions and then later you can offer me the sourcebook to get more insight into the inner workings of the factions I've already played and enjoyed.

I might raise up the rating if the phsyical copy of the book is of good quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2016 06:02:33

Dieses Jahr erschien mit Exalted 3rd Edition eines der langersehntesten Kickstarter-Rollenspiele der letzten Jahre. Dessen eingenommene Summe von 684 755 Dollar war im Jahr 2012 ein neuer Rekord. Nach über drei langen Jahren des Wartens, der Erkrankung eines Autors, Skandälchen um das plagiierte Artwork eines Zeichners und immer neuer Verschiebungen war es diesen Sommer endlich soweit – das Rollenspiel wurde tatsächlich ausgeliefert. Und was für eines!

In einer Zeit, in der der schlanke Regelwerke im Trend liegen, die Beliebtheit von narrativen Spielen wie FATE weiter wächst, und sogar Rollenspiel-Urväter wie Shadowrun mit Anarchy nachziehen, wirkt Exalted 3rd Edition seltsam fremd. Alleine der Umfang! 658 Seiten machen Exalted zu einem Schwergewicht unter den Grundregelwerken. Aber was genau steckt zwischen den Seiten? Lohnt sich das Umsteigen von der zweiten Edition? Und wie fühlt es sich überhaupt an, wiedergekehrte Götter zu spielen?

Die Spielwelt

Exalted 3rd Edition spielt auf der Welt Creation. Diese ist stark nach den fünf magischen Elementen strukturiert (Erde, Feuer, Wasser, Luft, Holz) und lehnt sich damit an fernöstliche Mythologie an: Jahreszeiten spielen kaum eine Rolle, und die jeweilige Himmelsrichtung gibt gleichzeitig Thema und Bewohner vor. So durchstreifen im heißen Süden Nomadenstämme eine endlose Wüste zwischen dem Feuer-Pol und reichen Handelsstädten wie aus Tausendundeiner Nacht. Auf den westlichen Meeren bewohnen Piraten und Seefahrer einen kleinen Inselgürtel und durchfahren den gewaltigen Ozean bis zum Wasser-Pol. Und im Norden versammelt sich eine Horde aus Barbaren in der eisigen Weite nahe des Luft-Pols. All das gehört zum Standard-Repertoire jedes Fantasy-Settings, doch Exalted 3rd Edition verwendet die Himmelsrichtungen nur als grobe Schubladen und trumpft mit ganz eigenen Elementen auf:

Creation ist riesig: Die Spielwelt wurde in der 3rd Edition noch einmal erweitert und ist auf die zwölffache Größe Europas angelegt. Das ermöglicht lange und epische Reisen ans andere Ende der Karte, wie in antiken Heldenmythen (diese Karte hilft bei der Errechnung der Reisedauer). Außerdem ist zwischen den beschriebenen Regionen und den wenigen ausgearbeiteten Städten enorm viel Platz für eigene Länder, Königreiche und Ideen einer Spielrunde. Ruinen ergeben Sinn: Überall auf Creation findet man Überbleibsel eines vergangenen Zeitalters. Diese stammen aus dem Ersten Zeitalter der Schöpfung, in dem die ganze Spielwelt von fortschrittlicher Magie-Technologie durchdrungen war: Mechas, Energie-Kanonen, genmanipulierte Völker. Die Spuren dieser untergegangenen Zeit spielen in Exalted eine große Rolle und stecken hinter manchen Mysterien. (Mit Dreams of the First Age gab es für die zweite Edition sogar eine Settingbox dazu.) Spuren davon finden sich noch in einigen Kulturen Creations: So befehligt die Stadt Lookshy noch Kriegsschreiter, und die Nation der Haslanti League befehligt eine Flotte von Luftschiffen. Etwas Asia-Flair schadet nie: Ganz Creation wurde einst vom Realm eingenommen, dem Reich auf dem Insel-Kontinent im Herzen der Karte. Dort herrschen die Familien der Dragonblooded, mächtiger Erben der Macht der Elementar-Drachen. Sie pflegen eine asiatische Kultur mit Kampfkunst, Samurai-Ehre und Drachen-Glauben. Das merkt man auch in den einstigen Vasallen-Staaten. Hier trifft Fantasy auf Wuxia. Der Fernost-Anteil wurde in der 3rd Edition etwas zurückgenommen. Leben in einer Umbruchs-Zeit: Das mächtige Realm ist seit dem Verschwinden der eigenen Kaiserin in Aufruhr und verliert rasch Einfluss in den Randstaaten. Alte Feinde und neue Rebellen erheben sich, und die großen Häuser rüsten zum Krieg. Überall in der Spielwelt spürt man, dass große Ereignisse bevorstehen. Was, das können die Spieler selbst mitentscheiden – schließlich spielen sie selbst die wiedergekehrten Seelen von Heroen aus dem ersten Zeitalter. Die Welt ist eine Scheibe: Creation ist eine Scheibenwelt, und jenseits davon lauert das ungeformte Chaos. In den Grenzregionen wandern schreckliche Monster umher, und immer wieder dringen die Feen in die Spielwelt ein. Sie sind die schrecklichsten Antagonisten des Spiels – und es gibt noch zahllose weitere. Doch anders als noch in der zweiten Edition spielt der größere Kosmos im Grundregelwerk nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. Auf den ersten flüchtigen Blick erscheint die Spielwelt von Creation simpel und ist in Exalted 3rd Edition nur oberflächlich beschrieben. Bezieht man aber das verfügbare Hintergrund-Material aus der 2nd Edition mit ein, erschlägt es den Leser aber fast mit Details, und das Setting erweitert sich vor allem um fantastische Elemente wie Parallel-Welten (die Maschinenwelt Autochthon, die Unterwelt, die Götterstadt Yu-Shan). Damit zwingt Exalted 3rd Edition den Spielleiter zur Nacharbeit, und dazu, die Regionen auszuwählen und auszudesignen, die für eine Kampagne eine Rolle spielen.

Abwechslung gibt es in Creation also mehr als genug. Vor allem die neue Region im Südosten um die Dreaming Sea, mit einer Dynastie abtrünniger Dragonblooded, und der neue Kontinent Caul, auf der das Realm und Lunar-Exalted einen Krieg um uralte Tempel führen, sind stimmige Erweiterungen. Interessant ist die Umdeutung der westlichen Inseln. Sie liegen nun weiter vom Rest Creations entfernt und sind ein sagenumwobenes Land exotischer Reichtümer. Das alles freut vor allem Veteranen der ersten beiden Editionen. Doch Einsteiger dürften sich bei den vielen Namen und Fraktionen erst einmal ein wenig verloren fühlen.

Moment mal, was spiele ich denn?

In Exalted 3rd Edition verkörpern Spieler ausschließlich Solar-Exalted, also vom vergessenen Gott The Unconquered Sun erwählte Helden mit magischen Kräften. Andere Exalted-Typen gibt es auch, etwa die wilden Lunar-Exalted mit ihren Gestaltwandel-Fähigkeiten, oder die Dragonblooded des Realms mit ihren Elementar-basierten Kräften. Doch diese sind im Grundregelwerk nur als Antagonisten beschrieben und angedacht. Es wurde jedoch bereits bekannt gegeben, dass Onyx Path auch in weiteren Publikationen der 3rd Edition neue Exalted-Typen zugänglich macht.

Die Regeln

„Nimm zwei Handvoll W10 und würfele. Dann beginne herumzurechnen und diskutiere mit dem Spielleiter über Regellücken und Spielbalance.“ So beschrieb mal ein Freund von mir die Spielerfahrung der 2nd Edition. Diese hatte einige Regelprobleme und schreckte Spieler mit einer hohen Komplexität ab. Kann die 3rd Edition hier alles ausbügeln?

Exalted 3rd Edition basiert – wie schon die Vorgänger – auf einem klassischen Poolsystem. Attribute und Fähigkeiten von 1 bis 5 ergeben mit zusätzlichen Bonuswürfeln die Menge 10-seitiger Würfel. Wer einen besonders coolen Stunt dabei ausführt, erhält Bonuswürfel – klassisch Exalted eben. Alle Ergebnisse von 7, 8 und 9 sind ein Erfolg, 10er zählen direkt als zwei Erfolge. Je schwerer die Aktion, desto mehr Erfolge benötigt man – logisch. Ansonsten ist aber alles anders, und Kenner der zweiten Edition müssen sich häufig umstellen. Hier die größten Unterschiede:

Neu: Cineastischer Kampf: Exalted 3rd Edition versucht sich an einem brandneuen Kampfsystem. Es ist auf epische Kämpfe zwischen gleichwertigen Gegnern ausgelegt. Unwichtige Gegner werden als Trivial Opponents abgehandelt und sterben meist so schnell, wie sie auftauchen. In einem ernsthaften Kampf nimmt die Initiative eine zentrale Rolle ein. Sie bestimmt die Abfolge in Runden (nicht mehr Ticks wie noch in der 2. Edition) und spielt mit den beiden unterschiedlichen Angriffs-Typen des Systems zusammen: withering und decisive.

Withering-Angriffe verschieben die Initiative zu den eigenen Gunsten, verursachen aber keinen Schaden am Feind. Decisive-Angriffe verursachen Schaden und setzen die eigene Initiative zurück. Da bei einem Decisive-Angriff die eigene Initiative als Schadensbonus gilt, sie anschließend aber zurückgesetzt wird, ist ein solcher Angriff immer ein Risiko, und Spieler müssen sich die Frage stellen: „Wann versuche ich die Oberhand zu gewinnen (withering), und wann lohnt sich ein finaler Stoß (decisive)?“ Das sorgt einerseits dafür, dass sich die Initiative häufig verändert und Kämpfe dynamisch bleiben – erfordert aber auch mehr Buchhaltung und verkompliziert den Kampfablauf (klicke hier für eine genaue Rundenübersicht). Besonders für Taktiker interessant: Wer bei Initiative 0 ist, erhält zusätzliche Nachteile und kann gar keinen Decisive-Angriff durchführen.

Gruppenkampf: Ebenfalls neu ist die Abwicklung von Massenschlachten. Dabei werden Truppen automatisch als Battle Group zusammengefasst und agieren zusammen als Einheit. Diese erhält dann je nach Anzahl der Mitglieder, Training und Moral bessere Werte. Nehmen sie Schaden und haben keine Lebenspunkte mehr, müssen sie gegen Willenskraft testen oder werden aufgerieben und fliehen. Einzelne Charaktere oder Helden können durch ihre Handlungen einer solchen Battle Group enorme Boni verleihen und den Schlachtenverlauf verändern. Das ist elegant und vereinfacht große Kämpfe.

Sozialer Einfluss: Exalted 3rd Edition hat anders als der Vorgänger kein Social Combat-System. Stattdessen können Charaktere außerhalb von Kämpfen Einfluss gewinnen, was eine Interaktion mit dem Gegenüber und das Verstehen seiner Motive erfordert. Diese werden in Exalted 3rd Edition als Intimacy beschrieben und repräsentieren entweder die Haltung eines Charakters zu etwas (z. B. „Ich hasse die Unterwelt“) oder eine feste Moral des Charakters (z. B. „Mein Heimatland geht über alles“). Sie können auch unterschiedliche Intensitäten haben und werden durch Sozialen Einfluss möglicherweise verändert.

Zauberei: Auch am Zauber-System von Exalted verändert die 3rd Edition einiges. So müssen Zauberer nun Essenz aus der Umgebung ansammeln, die einen Zauber speist – und diesen nicht mehr teuer aus der eigenen Reserven bezahlen. Außerdem lassen sich nun permanente Magische-Verzauberungen herstellen – eine Magische Barriere ums eigene Anwesen? Mit genug Aufwand und Zeit ist das kein Problem.

Kampfkunst: Bisher hatte jeder Exalted-Typ eigene Kampfkunst-Stile. Auch das ist mit der 3rd Edition vorbei. Nun können alle (auch Sterbliche!) alle Kampfkunst-Stile erlernen und schalten je nach eigenem Typ nur besondere Effekte frei. Allerdings muss dies erst einmal durch eine eigene Fähigkeit freigeschaltet werden. Der normale unbewaffnete Nahkampf – Brawl – bleibt für unelegantes Draufhauen für jedermann.

Streitpunkt Handwerk: Statt Ressourcen-Management ist Handwerk in Exalted 3rd Edition mit eigenen Sonderfähigkeiten in einen Handwerks-Baum eingebunden. Der bedient sich bei typischen Computer-Rollenspielen und wirkt wie ein eigenes Mini-Spiel im Spiel. Das System hier zu erklären, würde wahrscheinlich diese Rezension sprengen. Nur so viel: Um ein Meisterwerk zu erschaffen, müssen erst einmal mehrere niedrigstufigere Ausrüstungsteile hergestellt und daraus eine besondere Form von Erfahrung gewonnen werden. Das muss man nicht mögen, und es spaltet auch die Fan-Basis – die einen finden den Ansatz logisch und fair, die anderen umständlich und unintuitiv.

Charaktererschaffung

In der 3rd Edition von Exalted verkörpern die Spieler Solar-Exalted und wählen bei Spielbeginn eine der fünf Kasten aus. Dawn sind Krieger und Generäle, Zenith sind Priester und spirituelle Anführer, Twilight sind mysteriöse Handwerker und Magier, Night sind Attentäter und Spione, und Eclipse sind Diplomaten und Bürokraten. Die Wahl der Kaste gibt besondere Sonder-Fähigkeiten, die teilweise dann automatisch aktiviert werden, wenn ein Charakter keine Essenz mehr hat. Außerdem erhält jeder Charakter eine Auswahl an Favoured-Abilities (als Auswahl von 5 aus 8), die er einfacher steigern kann.

Wie bisher auch, so wird während der Charaktererstellung nicht gewürfelt, und das Start-Powerlevel ist für ein Rollenspiel ungewöhnlich hoch. Die Auswahl von Attributen, Fähigkeiten und Merits geht recht schnell von der Hand. Deutlich länger dauert die Zusammenstellung der 15 magischen Charms. Diese einzigartigen Solar-Fähigkeiten muss man sich umständlich im hinteren Teil des Grundregelwerkes aus Dutzenden Seiten mit Beschreibungen suchen – wovon ein Großteil von anderen Charms abhängig ist und nacheinander freigeschaltet werden muss (unter diesem Link gibt es eine übersichtlichere Darstellung als im Regelwerk). Damit nimmt eine Charaktererstellung insgesamt locker einen ganzen Spielabend ein – auch das ist Tradition bei Exalted.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Exalted 3rd Edition ist für Spielleiter eine klare Verbesserung zum Vorgänger. Die Regeln sind an den richtigen Stellen verändert und klarer formuliert. Battle Groups lassen sich auch in Scharmützeln hervorragend zur Darstellung ganzer Schwärme schwacher Feinde verwenden. Allerdings ist das Regelwerk auch ein Brocken, der erst einmal studiert werden muss. Auspacken, überfliegen und losspielen? Nicht mit Exalted! Alleine die Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Regeln ist satte neun Seiten lang. Für Spieler, die an FATE gewohnt sind, ein wahrer Alptraum, doch DSA-Veteranen zucken nur die Schultern. Dafür ist Creation in dieser Variante ein Ort zum Austoben. Gewaltige wandernde Festungen auf dem Rücken von Vorzeit-Behemoths? Kein Problem. Luftschiff-Schlachten mit Eis-Elementaren? Aber ja doch. Komplexe Dungeons mit atemraubender Beute und tödlichen Magie-Tech-Fallen? Unbedingt!

Alleine die beiden neuen angedeuteten Exalted-Typen verändern das Kräfteverhältnis auf Creation und stellen auch für erfahrene Exalted-Gruppen neue und interessante Feinde dar. Liminal Exalted sind Frankenstein-hafte Monster in einem Dasein zwischen Leben und Tod (Sie wurden bereits in Masters of Jade der 2nd Edition erwähnt). Sie sind enorm zäh und an einen gefallenen Sternenhohen gebunden. Exigents wiederum sind persönliche Exalteds niederer Götter, die dabei einen großen Teil der eigenen Macht aufgeben. Sie sind Verteidiger ihrer Städte und Landstriche und haben einzigartige Fähigkeiten.

Auch die neuen Länder fügen sich nahtlos in die Spielwelt ein. Diese ist durch den enormen Platz und die klare Struktur wie für eigene Geschichten gemacht, von epischen Erzählungen eines Record of Lodoss War bis zu persönlichen Intrigen eines Game of Thrones. Das macht es allerdings auch zur Herausforderung, einen roten Faden oder Spielstil zu etablieren. Exalted kann alles sein, was eine Spielrunde daraus macht – nur episch ist es immer.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Für Spieler der Vorgänger-Versionen ist Exalted 3rd Edition erst einmal ein Rückschritt. Zwar sind viele Balance-Schwächen verschwunden, doch das ging auf Kosten von Fan-Lieblingen wie perfekte Ausweichen-Charms oder Mehrfach-Angriffen. Sie existieren noch, sind aber stark abgeschwächt worden und nicht mehr häufig in einem Kampf einsetzbar. Auch fühlen sich Charaktere nun etwas schwächer an, da Willenskraft nicht mehr durch Stunts regeneriert, und damit deutlich mehr wert ist. Das ergibt mehr Sinn und balanciert viele Charms besser aus, und ist damit typisch für Exalted 3rd Edition: Die Vorteile für Spieler finden sich erst in den Details und erschließen sich im Spiel.

So stört auf den ersten Blick die Vereinfachung der Ausrüstung: Alle Waffen gehören den Klassen Light, Medium oder Heavy an und unterscheiden sich nur durch unterschiedliche Schlüsselwörter, die besondere Angriffe ermöglichen. Dafür kommen mit magischen Waffen neue Optionen ins Spiel. Stimmt sich ein Charakter auf eine magische Waffe ein, kann er mit der Zeit einzigartige Soner-Charms erlernen.

Auch das Initiative-System wirkt auf den ersten Blick unhandlich, entfaltet in der Spielpraxis aber einen eigenen Reiz. Kämpfe dauern zwischen ernstzunehmenden Kontrahenten meist nur noch drei bis fünf Runden. Durch das Initiative-System bleiben sie spannend, und jeder Spieler hat vor Augen, wenn es ihm an den Kragen geht. Langweilige und eintönige Kämpfe, wie noch in der zweiten Edition, gibt es damit kaum noch.

Ebenfalls wirken die Charms auf den ersten Blick schwächer, sind aber abwechslungsreicher geworden. Verschmähte Charm-Bäume der Vorgänger-Editionen sind nun nützlich und können zu neuen Charakter-Konzepten führen. So dient etwa Lore nun dazu, Fakten über die Spielwelt zu erschaffen – was ein wenig an FATE erinnert. Besonders nützlich ist die neue Regel, eine Fähigkeit als „Supernal Ability“ zu wählen und deren Charms frei kaufen zu können (als habe man Essenz 5). Alleine das macht Charaktere zu Beginn eher stärker als schwächer.

Ein kurzer Spielbericht

Seit Erscheinen der 3rd Edition im Sommer habe ich als Spielleiter eine Gruppe von Solar-Exalted von Kirighast in die Herzen der Aaslande und in die verfluchte Stadt Denandsor geführt. Dabei mussten wir zu Beginn das neue System erst erlernen und verbrachten die ersten Abende mit Regel-Wälzen und Sätzen wie „In der 2nd Edition war es aber anders.“ Auch das Herumblättern im Regelwerk, und das Nachlesen von Charms mit Aha-Effekt („Oh, so ist das gemeint!“) gehörte am zweiten Spielabend dazu. Da hilft es auch nicht, dass sich einige Sonderregeln und Ausnahmen in Kästen am Rand von Kapiteln befinden.

Nach zwei Spielsitzungen gab sich das Phänomen aber, und alle Teile des Regel-Puzzles klickten ineinander. Beim Hintergrund war der Systemwechsel schwieriger. Während wir bei der uns wohlvertrauten 2nd Edition auf eine Vielzahl von Quellen zurückgreifen konnten, musste ich hier als Spielleiter stark improvisieren. Besonders, dass Onyx Path die Spielwelt nicht nur erweitert, sondern an einigen Stellen auch umgebaut hat, sorgte immer wieder für Unsicherheiten („Wo kommen denn diese Exigents her? Warum gab es sie nicht früher?“) und war in der Planung der Kampagne eine Herausforderung – die Neueinsteiger in Exalted aber nicht haben dürften. Besonders hilfreich für mich war die neue Exalted-Wiki als Sammlung von Informationen und Diskussionen darüber. Nach etwa 1,5 Wochen intensiver Arbeit fühlte ich mich mit etwa 20 Seiten Hintergrundnotizen deutlich fester im Spielleiter-Sattel.

Die Spieler nahmen diese Unsicherheiten aber positiv auf - alles wirkte neu und gleichzeitig vertraut, und bald stellte sich das gewohnte Exalted-Spielgefühl ein. Gerade das Fehlen von übermächtigen Ausweich-Charms sorgte jedenfalls dafür, dass die Spieler sehr viel vorsichtiger an Kämpfe herangingen, diese dafür umso mehr genossen. Wirklich kürzer im Vergleich zur 2nd Edition waren sie dann aber nicht. Ein Wehrmutstropfen: Unser Twilight-Exalted wurde mit den Crafting-Regeln nicht warm und lernte auf Magie um – was im Gegensatz zu Handwerk hervorragend funktionierte. Insgesamt ist die Spielrunde bisher sehr zufrieden und beginnt von ihrer neuen Festung Denandsor aus die Eroberung der Aaslande.

Erscheinungsbild

Exalted 3rd Edition ist ein Wälzer in schön. Das Grundregelwerk mit seinen 686 Seiten ist schwer wie ein Backstein im Rucksack – hier hätten es auch gerne eine Box mit mehreren Einzel-Bänden sein können. Die Deutsche Version von Numenera macht es vor. Das Layout der 3rd Edition sticht die vorgehenden Editionen locker aus, und das Artwork ist solide und um einen einheitlichen Stil bemüht. Das Gesamtbild gefällt und ist eine deutliche Verbesserung zu den Vorgänger-Versionen, reicht aber nicht an optische Leckerbissen wie Degenesis, The One Ring oder Legend of the Five Rings heran. Als PDF ist Exalted 3rd Edition ebenfalls gut zu gebrauchen und hat einen guten Index und ausführliche Lesezeichen. Mit Hyperlinks im Dokument wäre es noch besser gewesen.

Ein Manko ist der Preis. Mit knapp 30 EUR alleine für’s PDF und satten 60 EUR für das Hardcover steht Exalted in Zeiten von Kickstarter-Offensien mit dutzenden Bonus-Goodies nicht gut dar. Außerdem fehlt schmerzlich eine ausfaltbare Karte der Spielwelt Creation. Die Mini-Version im Buch am Anfang der Weltbeschreibung muss man mit der Lupe absuchen.

Bonus/Downloadcontent

Seit Erscheinen des Grundregelwerkes im Sommer sind Charm-Cards zur besseren Übersicht, der lesenswerte Comic Tale of the Visiting Flare, die Geschichtensammlung Tales From the Age of Sorrows und neue Charms der Kickstarter-Backer in Miracles of the Solar-Exalted erschienen. Sie alle sind nützlich, kosten aber zusätzlich zum Grundregelwerk.

Fazit

Exalted 3rd Edition ist mit Abstand die beste Version von Onyx Path‘s Fantasy-Wuxia-Heldenspiel. Die Erweiterungen der Spielwelt ergeben Sinn und sorgen auch bei Veteranen der Serie für Abwechslung. Besonders wichtig: Die Balance der Spielmechanik ist um Welten besser als noch bei den Vorgängern. Dabei bleibt sich Exalted auch in Zeiten von FATE und Co. treu. Das Regelwerk ist kein Leichtgewicht und schreckt mit dutzenden Sonderregeln Einsteiger und Gelegenheits-Spieler ab. Spielrunden, die sich einarbeiten, finden hier aber ein gut zusammenspielendes und innovatives Spielsystem.

Das wohl größte Manko der 3rd Edition ist die Einschränkung der Charakterwahl auf Solar-Exalted – und das, obwohl in dem Buch mit Exigents und Liminals gleich zwei neue Exalted-Arten eingeführt werden. Zusatz-Bände mit geupdateten Regeln für andere Exalteds sind zwar in der Mache, bis dahin heißt es für Spielrunden aber: improvisieren, oder auf das Material der zweiten Edition zurückgreifen. Wer aber Hausregeln nicht scheut, souverän mit Powergaming am Spieltisch umgeht und komplexe Regeln mag, der dürfte großen Spaß am neuen Exalted haben.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Dominik W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2016 05:25:16

I really like the concept, background ans general ideas of this book. That said, I think the rules a way to complicated and cumbersome, to have a cineastic fight or action scene. Less would have been more rulewise. More information on the background would be helpful and by the way, for a 600+ pages rulebook I think it might have been possible to include the more common exalted like the dragon born.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2016 02:56:49

This review is written from the perspective of someone who read, but never played, Exalted 2nd edition, and I'm currently STing a game with five players.

The Good

  • I may be biased in this as it's what sucked me in in 2E, but the setting is fantastic. There are underlying themes here that just don't get explored in other games, alongside some really off-the-wall awesome places to give players and STs ideas for plots and characters.
  • These settings and places are presented in such a way that it's very easy to develop story hooks. There is so much I want to do with this setting, just from a simple read-through.
  • It's a system-heavy game, but each system feels like it kind of works, crafting excepted (I'll get to that). The combat in particular takes a while to grok, but once you understand that it's simulating cinematic combat, a lot of my misgivings fall away.
  • There are some charms in there that are obvious lead-ins to building character concepts. Again, some things in this book make my imagination really pop.
  • The fiction is, by and large, decent. The longer pieces in particular give a great picture of the world, even if the exact writing could be tightened a little in places.
  • The book is very open about its "if it's not there, make it yourself" philosophy. It's a good message and is broadcast repeatedly.
  • The colour rules are one of the best meta-rules I've ever seen in any game, and need to be hammered into the heads of every roleplayer, regardless of what system they play.
  • I love that we have a trans character front and... to the right a bit on the cover. It underlies something else that runs throughout the book, that a whole range of cultures, ethnicities, gender identities and sexual preferences can be developed and explored in the game.

The Bad

  • Quite a few of the details of the well-crafted systems get lost in the text. I found myself wondering about how certain things meshed together or interacted, only to find an explanation buried in an off-hand comment in another section. This is fine if you can take the time to read through it and make crib notes, but it makes it difficult to use the rulebook as a troubleshooting reference. The actual systems are really clearly laid out, but exceptions and elaborations to those take quite a bit of digging to get to.
  • All of the different systems, while nice on their own, feel like a lot to run together. This isn't too much of a problem in actual play, but as a "do I want to run this game" consideration, it feels quite daunting.
  • The charms. There are a few subsections to this:
    • There are so many of them, and the language that they use to describe their effects takes a lot of unpacking. As I said, if I wasn't doing the review, I wouldn't have bothered reading through them all.
    • The language makes it hard to get an impression of what each one actually does. I note the term 'dice tricks' bounced around a lot to describe minor effects. In my read-through, I often couldn't get as far as identifying what those actually did, and thereby how the interactions work. This possibly comes with play experience, but when building a character in a white-space environment, it's hard work to figure out.
    • The descriptions of what they look like are quite monotonous. A large amount of them could be summed by "Solar does their thing, which glows in a particular way". This makes having a flavour/crunch split, which could solve some of the other problems, a really bad idea to make them engaging reading.
  • The overall layout is frustrating. This is a combination of minor things like sidebars being in the wrong place to things like character creation coming before the traits description, and evocations only happening right at the end. This means that, as a straight read, new players aren't going to understand what they're building or how it all works together. It's also meant that, as a new ST, I have had difficulty signposting my players to relevant parts to consider during character creation, although that is also possibly due to my own lack of understanding.
  • The level of detail about various points in both the setting and the rules are just at the point where I was given enough information for my mind to run with the possibilities and then fall over some stones strewn in the way. It felt like it was complex enough to need further explanation, but the thing is already nearly 700 pages long. There is a particular dearth of examples to illustrate points. I know a lot of this will be answered in coming publications, but several of them felt like they needed an explanation NOW. Which will be great when the line is complete however many years down the road, but frustrating for now.
  • The lack of examples particularly hurts for social abilities. I still have only a vague idea where Presence ends and Socialise begins, and my understanding of how Bureaucracy happens is only slightly better.
  • I dislike how much Bureaucracy seems like a useless appendix. It doesn't connect with any system apart from its own charms.

The Ugly This is not a book for people new to roleplaying. The rules expect a confidence with homebrewing and an awareness of gaming conventions that can only really come from experience with other roleplaying systems. The reference to Gary Gygax in particular is one of the most infuriating examples of this. Allied to that, this thing really needs a storyteller's guide section. You are dealing with characters of immense power, and given very little guidance on how to run meaningful plots and antagonists in that context. This is a huge problem. The "projects" section goes some way to remedying this, but it isn't really a projects section. It's a "how to run an Exalted game" section, and needed to be treated as such. The crafting system feels like needless number crunching. I have read RAW crafting, and Sanctaphrax's crafting system, and will without hesitation say I will always use the latter. There are just far too many pointless things to keep track of in RAW crafting. It feels like the system needs a very collaborative approach to character creation, in order to keep everything on track. While this isn't a problem in itself, the book doesn't spell this out, which could lead to serious problems at the table.

Despite all the bad and ugly this is still a game I desperately want to play, and run. The list of "bad" is quite extensive, but they aren't dealbreakers for me. I enjoyed most of the read, will carry on following the game because it is a fundamentally awesome idea with decent execution, but needs a lot of interpretation that will result in frustrated newcomers and very different games (at a rules level) at each table it is played at.

For my chapter-by-chapter read through, go here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Pasi L. 7. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2016 18:47:16

So far the only issues with this book that I have spotted thus far, are fourfold. First and formost are the combat mechanics, I find that there is truthfully no reason for there to be both withering and decisive attacks, that just makes things more confusing than they need to be, and players will often forget to mention they'll be using one or the other, in my opinion it needs to go, easy enough to house rule I suppose, it just means that the combat charms will have to be taken from the earlier additions. Don't get me wrong it's an interesting thought, but having played dissidia, I feel like that game has influenced the combat of the 3rd edition way too much.

Secondly is the crafting, crafting has become the second most complicated thing to play with aside from the combat mechanics, these "white, gold, silver, etc" points are well fluff if nothing else. They need not exist, and in my opinion are way too complicated for players to get around, as they will, if they wish to play a crafter, have to keep tabs one every single point they gain... on a seperate page, this is one of perhaps the biggest mistakes the writers for the combat and crafting system have made, which means in order to make it playable, as a ST you're going to have to rewrite or transfer over the charms from 2nd edition just for combat and crafting purposes. From my understanding, this was something that was supposed to be avoided.

Onto the third issue... languages, this does not need to be a merit, I know it's a small blip in the system, but in the previous 2 editions the number of languages you knew, depended on how many points you put into language ability, so if you had one dot, you knew 2 languages, and by 5 you knew 6 with ways of learning more as it was a stat that was allowed to be increased beyond 5 just so that you could know more if not all the languages, so once again pointless when it comes to it being a "merit" now, as it would be frankly... a waste.

And finally the Martial Arts merit... why? Why is this a thing? Why does Martial arts need to have it's own merit in order to use a martial art style? Most of the time that came from the mentor ability with what you could learn, but no, now you have to extensively pay merit points just to play a martial artist, this is dumb, but once again house rules I suppose, which I recall were supposed to allow for less of them.

As for the good, I love the social mechanics of this, it is absolutely brilliant, as Social combat was a silly thing in the previous two itterations of Exalted, so the fact that they changed it to what they did makes me happy, which brings me to my final point, no more combo charms! huzzah! Oh this was one of the most aggrivating things players had to go through, and pay xp in order to combine the right amount of charms just so they could get something going, but no more! Poof it's gone, and this thrills me to no ends.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Alexandre C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2016 19:00:27

It's basically excellent, just like about anything Onyx Path has been publishing those last years.

Here are the things I prefer :

  1. The combat system is fantastic. It works, it is balanced, and it is totally suited to the sort of cinematic gameplay Exalted should be. The first edition tried to adapt the WoD combat system into a cinematic system, it partly worked because overall it is a really neat and versatile system, but still it generated a lot of issues because it was designed with different goals and constraints. The second edition tried to fix those issues through more rules; the result was more balanced but quite bloated and not very usable. This third edition has a completely different system. The weathering/decisive attack distinction is really great and appeals to anyone who ever saw an action movie or anime, while preserving the general structure of the simple and efficient WoD game system. It's just brilliant.
  2. The moral/ethics part of the game has been reworked to make them more usable. The motivation/virtues/intimacies system of the first and second edition looked good on paper, but were very difficult to use in game. Reworking everything into one well-defined framework (intimacies, which can now be minor, major or defining) make it maybe a bit more simplistic but also a lot more usable. I prefer a simpler system I and my players can actually use to a more elaborate system nobody really grasps because it is too complicated.
  3. Histories have been made part of the merit/flaw system, and again it seems to just work and have no drawback whatsover. The merit/flaw system is now a tiny bit more complex, but IMO it is completely overbalanced by getting rid of histories themselves/
  4. The new rules for sorcery make sorcerers more efficient and funnier to play. You don't need enormous essence reserves any more, and countering sorcery is now extremely difficult, which means spells are easier (if longer) to cast and have less potential to be annihilated. (Instead they can often be subverted, but not always and it usually offers interesting roleplaying options, rather than just saying "your spell was broken"). Sorcerous workings also provide a nice framework for things you felt your sorcerer character should be able to do, but don't fit any specific rule.
  5. The concept of a "supernal ability" for which your characrer is considered to have Essence 5 for charm requirement purposes. It allows you to really go overkill in your chosen ability, while maintaing some balance.

Things I am a bit mitigated about :

  1. The new martial arts system. It's now the same styles for everybody, but the effects of some charms differs based on whether you are a dragon-blooded, a celestial exalted, or a Solar (or, presumably, sidereal). The martial arts styles in the core book are really cool and they are certainly balanced and useable in a solar campaign, which is the most important thing, but I am still waiting to see how they manage things like SMA or celestial initiation for DB martial artists.
  2. The crafting system. I hadn't the opportunity to test it yet (nobody wanted to be a craftsman in my current game), but the crafting experience system seems very unnatural to me, and quite against the way the game is supposed to work. I understand the general principle that you should build a lot of basic swords before understanding how to make an exceptionally good sword, but in a game it is my impression that not being able to craft artifact X because you should have made one more cheap sword on your free time is quite unrealistic.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2016 12:20:33

Exalted 3e has rapidly become one of my favorite game systems. The writing is evocative, the charms are fun, and the rules systems are interesting and engaging. I've adopted elements of the Social Influence system into every other game I play. This game balances rules and narrative in the best way I've seen in over a decade of exploring different tabletop role-playing systems, and I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Werner V. V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2016 02:50:07

I've been playing Exalted for several years now, starting with Second Edition, and it's the only game I come back to every time. To me, it's everything I want an RPG to be, with cool story and epic heroes. Second edition had issues, and so comes Third Edition. Now, the game reborn, with all new mechanics. The writers have challenged every assumption, changed everything that didn't work. There's still a few things that could work better, but I think the good vastly outweights the bad.

However, I should note that this game isn't for everyone: it's for people who enjoy playing really powerful (but not overpowered) characters. If that's not your cup of tea, Exalted might not be for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brendan T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2016 18:16:18

Simple phenominal.

Well put togeather book with a multitude of interlocking systems that mesh perfectly and encourage mechanics to not only function, but be part of the storytelling experience.

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2016 12:29:42

I got the 1st edition of Exalted years ago when it first came out because I loved the idea of it but never really got into it because the storyteller rules didn’t really seem to work well with the more cinematic combat system that this game was trying to simulate. I eventually sold my copy which I kind of regretted because if nothing else the artwork and story building for the game were great. I bought the PDF of the 3rd Edition just recently as an impulse but I’m glad I did. I will be purchasing the physical copy soon and will most definitely be pitching this game to my local gaming group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andy G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2016 17:42:39

This is a fun game. The combat system is very cinematic in that it splits damage into "real" damage to your health track (inflicting wound penalties that gamers familiar with WW IPs will recognise) and "tactical" damage (which effects your initiative score and other elements of combat like grapples and dealing "real" damage).

The art is a bit spotty in places (a couple of the weapons essentially have the same illustration) but is generally good.

My main gripes are three-fold:

  1. Natural language. This book intentionally avoids using "system terms" to spell out exactly what things do. This leads to a great deal of confusion when two players interpret effects differently. It is, of course, easy enough to house-rule -- but then the purpose of this edition was to alleviate the endless house-ruling from 2nd Edition.

  2. System bloat. The core content vector in Exalted is "Charms" (comparable perhaps to Feats in D&D). This corebook has more charms than any previous edition... but a great many of them don't do anything outside of "+1 Higher Number on your character sheet". Outside of charms, subsystems like Crafting have become more complex. Previous editions let you roll to create the object you want, with the roll taking a variable length of time and difficulty based on what you were crafting. This edition keeps that, but now: you can't create a powerful magic sword until you've created a half-dozen regular magic swords; you can't create a regular magic sword until you've created a dozen swords; and you can't smith a sword until you've fletched a dozen arrows. This book is enormous: nearly takes up as much room on my shelf as the 1st and 2nd edition corebooks put together. Yet it lacks setting information found in those earlier editions and it doesn't have a story-telling chapter to tell you how to run the game.

  3. Lack of backwards compatibility. Exalted has been around for ~15 years. There are dozens of supplements for it (not to mention fan material). Translating from 1st Edition to 2nd is a bit iffy in places but bringing old material into this edition pretty much necessitates writing it from the ground up. No doubt this problem will abate as more books are released... but 2nd Edition had six playable Exalted factions (and many more side-factions) over the course of its release while this edition only has one. This problem extends to equipment, antagonists and adventure pathways.

I'd like to reiterate that the game is fun. But it needs a lot of house rulings. The previous edition of this game is also fun, also needs a lot of house rulings... but has a lot more existing content. Ex3 has a lot of potential, but without extensive errata and a few good supplements behind it, I can't honestly recommend it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ed G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2016 10:06:22

Here's my review of Exalted, Third Edition: http://www.geeknative.com/55612/great-game-read-review-exalted-third-edition/

Spoiler alert: it's really, really good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2016 19:10:46

Having loved and played EXALTED since its first edition,I admit to being skeptical that this new edition would be worth the money. I'm happy to say it is.

The world has been expanded in interesting and useful ways, and while not all my favorite places are described in the core book, most are, and the new places are all interesting.

The comabt system seems complicated at first glance, though no moreso than the second edition, but i love the way it'sfocused more on cinematic flare than dice-rolling grind.

I very much like the way that sorcery and martial arts are handled. I always thought there was conceptual room for both Brawl and Martial Arts, and with sorcery having motes drawn from the world, rather than your Essence pool, having non-Exalted sorcerers totally makes thematic sense now, whereas we banned them in our second edition games. Cant wait for the necromancy rules!

The one thing I'm still a bit skeptical about is the new Exalted types. The core book has two new types fleshed out (Liminals and Exigents) and mentions a third by name (Getimians). I have never thought the game needed any more types of Exalted, but the Exigents are a cool and interesting concept that i will be interested to learn more about. The Liminals, well, frankly they seem like one of the developers said, "let's mix together the conceptual space of Abyssals, Alchemicals, and Terrestrials and see what happens!" I'm willing to keep an open mind until their splat comes out, though.

Lstly, I am a big fan of the way Excellencies have been made much easier to use, both conceptually and practically. Having them added to your character automatically makes them feel like the instinctual uses of Essence they are aupposed to be. Looking forward to more EX3!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG