Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Nocturnal Media » King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2 » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
Publisher: Nocturnal Media
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2018 01:26:43

This is not a modern RPG with an empasis on getting players into the game quickly and assisting with story development. It's set in dark ages England of King Arthur. Players will have to read at least one chapter of the rulebook to get an understanding of fuedal society and their place within that society. Character generation can be complex but premade characters are available. This game requires commitment on the part of your players to play the role of a medieval knight. If you can find the right group, you will have a campaign that's set apart from every other RPG you've played. Greg Staffoard is a genius among RPG designers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Veins of the Earth
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2017 02:56:08

This is one of those books. I'd rate it alongside other great RPG books like the Guide to Glorantha and the Temple of Elemental Evil. It makes you itch to start playing a game.

Well written and full of superb ideas that you can use in any underground campaign. There's a good dose of revulsion and body horror.

It includes useful mechanics for climbing that feel like the person who wrote the rules has climbed up a rock face. Then distilled that knowledge down into a quick flavourful sub system.

The verticality and variety of the map generation system will keep you and your players well entertained. Some of the locations are truly strange.

The monsters are similarly varied and some of them will leave your players thinking "What was that?"

If you're thinking of running an underground campaign, buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Veins of the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hillfolk
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2017 02:37:48

Hillfolk uses an innovative ruleset to place social interactions between characters at the heart of the game. It's aim is to make an RPG play more like one of the blockbuster TV series we get these days.

The story will be largely player led, with the GM almost on an equal footing as the players in terms of input.

The rules for physical confrontations are quite light, good if you want to focus on the drama played out by the characters. If not you could easly replace them with your favourite rule system for more crunch. I kept thinking this would be a perfect system for a Runequest campaign where all the players were members of the same tribe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hillfolk
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Gloranthan Classics Volume I - Pavis & Big Rubble
Publisher: Chaosium
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 23:58:33

This book will keep you going for months. It contains detailed notes on the city of Pavis. The characharacters presented are interesting. The big rubble is a giant playground for adventures. The puzzle canal adventure is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gloranthan Classics Volume I - Pavis & Big Rubble
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Book of Challenges: Dungeon Rooms, Puzzles, and Traps (3e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 23:27:30

This book is superb. It's filled with brilliant comat encounters, traps and puzzles. It will give you inspiration for many more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Challenges: Dungeon Rooms, Puzzles, and Traps (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

RuneQuest 2nd Edition (1980)
Publisher: Chaosium
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2016 12:51:01

Absolute old school brilliance. Good system set in one of the richest and most interesting fantasy worlds ever created. The combat feels real without being too rules heavy. Outstanding treatment of magic and gods. Buy this and the Guide to Glorantha, The Cult Compendium, and numerous other titles published over the years and you'll never look back.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 2nd Edition (1980)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Aurora's Whole Realms Catalogue (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 13:13:53

Brilliant book. Whether you want to offer some unusual items to sell to your players in a large city, or looking at spicing up a treasure horde with interesting knick knacks, this is the book for you. The descriptions are well written with a bit of flavour and will give your players ideas for inventive play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aurora's Whole Realms Catalogue (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Masks of Nyarlathotep
Publisher: Chaosium
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 02:41:57

Just brilliant. I don't play Call of Cthulhu but I'm certainly going to be heavily adapting this for my Dungeon World game. It's that good. I was inspired to read this by Justin Alexander's discussion of the 3 clue rule. Recommended reading if you want a good example of how to run a mystery game no matter what rule system you run. B



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks of Nyarlathotep
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Perilous Wilds
Publisher: Lampblack & Brimstone
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 02:26:44

I was a bit underwhelmed by this after all the other good reviews. There are some good bits in this book and the art is excellent. I'm most disappointed about the additional moves, particularly the hireling, movement rules and weather rules. They seem to add more complexity to the game without adding additional fun. A few of the moves seem to be text book examples how you shouldn't design moves, according to the Dungeon World rule book. For example giving players options to do nothing. The compendium classes lack the zing and weirdness of the ones provided alongside the original rules. The random dungeon creation is good and the descriptive text is well written. I think the problem for the authors is that Dungeon World is so subtly well designed that the most likely result of adding more to it is that you end up with something that isn't quite as good. I got the same feeling reading this book as looking at a Lotus Elise that's been fitted with aftermarket 'improvements'. There is good stuff here but I'll be using it sparingly in my own games.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Perilous Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 01:47:03

This is such a good book. I learned a lot about dming from this. The partial successes and interesting failures really add to a game. The section on fronts completely changed the way I run campaigns / adventures. I've recommended the front section to many people off the back of "My campaign isn't working how I expected it to." conversations. I'm running a lot classic D&D adventures using Dungeon World and I no longer have so much of an issue waiting until my players are a specific level before throwing stuff at them. First level characters are more powerful than 1st level D&D characters, there isn't such a gap between levels, and the way monsters are designed means the game runs in a narrower power band than D&D. There are bits about this game that are obviously good and there are bits about this game that are subtly good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Castle Gargantua
Publisher: Kabuki Kaiser
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 01:17:14

If I could've given this book 3.5 stars, I would've. I was intrigued by the idea of a large dungeon generated by tables. In real life I didn't enjoy it so much. It turns out that the things I enjoy most about traditional mega dungeons are the connectedness between encounters, integrated traps, and factions within the dungeon. Which you can't really get with a random dungeon. There are certainly some good ideas in here. I liked the idea that the players were essentially on a giant snakes and ladders board. I didn't like the pink zones (lust) as I have a young player in my group and would have to heavily adapt / put another theme in there to run this. Generally the encounters weren't quite as interesting as I'd hoped.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Gargantua
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 00:38:45

In this book is a strange city. It's not like a standard city source book as it contains tables for generating much of the city on the fly. Only a few locations are actually mapped. It generally gives advice for running this city but the ideas are good enough that you might want to use similar ideas for other cities in your campaign. The locations and tables contain enough weird and intriguing stuff to entertain and puzzle your players for a good while. A very good book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Forge of Fury (3e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2015 00:15:56

Top notch module. Wide variety of enemies with tactics well described. Also good variety of encounter design. Good selection of routes into and through the Dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Forge of Fury (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Sunless Citadel (3e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2015 00:03:47

Reasonable starting adventure. A bit linear and didn't really sparkle for me. Good points: Not all encounters need combat to resolve. Some interesting traps and optional puzzles. Bad points: Enemies are quite static, don't really pull players into the adventure. Again linear Dungeon. Twig people and BBEG didn't really grab me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sunless Citadel (3e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

DMGR4 Monster Mythology (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Giles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2015 17:22:08

This isn't a bad book in comparison to other D&D tomes on religion. I found some useful stuff in it that I will use in my games.

The problem I have is that I've also been reading Runequest / Glorantha books like the Cult Compendium and the Guide to Glorantha. In comparison you realise how much D&D is missing by not having it's gods deeply intertwined with the history of the setting and the cultures of the land. Also a lot of the gods in Monster Mythology feel like they've been built to a template. In comparison Gloranthan gods feel individualistic. It also misses different interpretations of the same gods by different cultures and also the different way religions work between cultures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DMGR4 Monster Mythology (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG