Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Wizards of the Coast » In Volo's Wake (5e) » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
In Volo's Wake (5e) $3.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 2
0 9
1 1
0 1
0 0
In Volo\'s Wake (5e)
Click to view
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matt R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2017 23:24:16

I really liked being able to have my players interact with the high end monsters from Volo's guide, but I was annoyed by the lack of details inside the hag's cabin. When I initially prepared the adventure, I didn't notice that there was no description of any of the ten rooms, and I ended up having to make them up on the fly. A minor thing, for sure, but it would have been nice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2017 00:41:49

I enjoy the 1 hour (!) mini adventures at the start of the seasons. This set of modules for Volos is quite fun, with an exciting variety of short adventures which are great for short attention spans, newbie DMs, or experienced adventurers looking for some camaraderie and fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2017 16:00:57

Really enjoyed DMing this one with players with little experience. They had played LMoP, so they were familar with the area. One of the Story Awards did confuse me if it was to be given to all the players or just one. Played it over two days.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2017 22:10:50

This module is a must buy and a must play. One thing I enjoy about the adventure's league are the short but fulfilling adventures. This module includes six of those - all an hour long (three of them you can actually run in an hour, but the latter three might run into two hours). From a DM's standpoint, this module is a great value. Six games. They can be used as a direct sequel to Lost Mines. Easy to prep and scale. As a player you get great rewards for these games. Magic items in a one hour game? Renown? Yep. Buy this for your DM to run. Or buy it and run it for your DM. They need a break, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2017 02:30:22

This is a great adventure for fresh characters with lots of interesting encounters, good loot, and tonnes of experience points. The adventure is especially interesting for those who want a taste of the new creatures from Volo's Guide, which itself is actually a major plot point.

Both a benefit and downside is that, while they can be used and run individually, to run the complete kit might take 2-3 sessions and that might make it harder for convention/one-shot use as players might not get to actually face the big bad.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2017 00:11:05

Lots of fun here. The short mosules are easy to prepare and run. Most can run for two hours which makes them good enough to be adventures on their own. The series is designed to make use of the new Volo monsters and it does a good job of this with each adventure focusing on a different one. Its also good that it is designed for first teir rather than level 1-2 like previous anthology modules. The last couple are quite scary once you hear what monsters your first teir characters will face. But the best thing is all good adventures and easy to prepare and run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2017 08:40:28

this is a fun one to run, and in parts good for beginner DM's, dont be afraid to add your own touchs like vines to swing from in the tree tops (+when pushed off ledge people and mobs get reflx save to catch eage), or even at the lowst setting the weakend witch can take on a lvl 5 group if done right, the examples of goals or what they would say gives you a lot to work off on the fly almost and i run the whole thing improv with only setting up maps with attention to how they would move around it only, this module gave me a big breakthrough with how i run my NPC's ......BUT i'm disappointing to see that the odd quirks . like where all the words "adventure" seemed to be replaced with character. and so on. seem to still be here, if you get hung up on shuch mistakes, maybe come back to this one after you got a year under your belt, why didnt they fix this? if your party is underpowered and get min exp from the advenchers and can not gane the exp to get to the lvl for the last module, before the last 1or2 advenchers Run DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde, it fits in wonderfully.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jose S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2017 12:17:10

great storylines to go along with the book release. all my players had fun. i ran at two different locations, but only was able to run final mod once. i had a great time seeing new players learn the mechanics of the game and seeing how the parties workedogether.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Clint H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2017 15:28:54

Technically, this product has content, so I won't give it one star. However, this product has two glaring issues: it's very poorly written/edited, and the content is little better than what can be created with a random generator. The writing was so bad, from a language useage standpoint, as to render the product nearly unreadable. For example, it appears someone replaced every instance of the word "adventurer" with "character". There's references to an NPC being a "former character" and references to "Characters League content". Either editing the content wasn't a priority, or it was modified after editing and prior to publishing. In other places, the writing is so obtuse it makes the story difficult to follow. This could be a boon, though, since the short one-hour modules aren't much more than what you can make for yourself from published tables. Given how much Wizards plugged the IVW content, this is a disappointing offering.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Chloe S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2017 19:12:38

This is an extremely good adventure; possibly one of the best of the "multiple 1-hour adventures" that the D&D Adventurers League has published. You meet a variety of monsters along the way (including a brief cameo of an older D&D setting in one of the adventures, which I won't spoil despite it not explicity saying that it was from that setting), which is very good for players who dislike fighting the same enemy over and over again. The adventures seem to have something for every class and type, even if they aren't in the same scenario.

The only problem I find with these inter-connecting adventures is that fitting some of these into a one-hour session is really hard (if not downright impossible). Of these, the first one is probably the only one that could be crammed into 60 minutes, and then there is the chance that it could be really rushed. The rest of them you will need at least 90 minutes to two hours to complete (even more if you decide to add roleplaying possibilities).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Dirk S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2017 12:48:27

while some may seem railroady and downright lethal, I found this set of adventures gives a great tour of DnD with some of the most iconic DnD monsters and enemies. I played this with both savvy and experienced players as well as those who have only started playing a couple of months ago. The savvy players shat their pants in technicolor once I pulled out the Mindflayer adventure and pitted them versus the Beholders. The new player loved the whimsical nature of the Fey themed adventure as well as the one where they needed to sacrifice the hostages.

I found it an excellent tour of DnD's greatest hits while allowing people to quickly get ready for the real stuff. In terms of levelling you can quickly get to lvl 3 almost 4 with an adequate amount of gold and a great start in terms of items and downtime days. It won't beat the longer way round in terms of benefits, but it will certainly ensure you can keep up in the next tier.

The only reason it's not absolutely perfect is that it doesn't put you square at 4th lvl so you can choose to get to the next tier instantly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Greg D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 20:50:48

Warning, some spoilers in this review!

The Good )1 hour mini adventures are awesome. They give DMs scheduling flexibility. The modules run great back-to-back, making a longer game of whatever length you want. If your players like to ham it up, then you can let them get their RP fix for as long as they want without worrying about the game lasting past midnight (assuming you start at a reasonable hour!). )You get a good variety of enemies. I especially appreciated the focus on mindflayers and beholders in mini adventures 5 and 6. Adventure 5 is especially creepy and an interesting exploration of an iconic monster that has never (as far as I know) had a sympathetic and nuanced representation in the game. )A variety of play experiences/plots get showcased, from wilderness exploration, a hostage situation, infiltration w. traps and puzzles, to outright "assault the lair" kinds of scenarios. Pick and choose to match your DMing style and your players' preferences.

Could be Improved )Though all of them are advertised as 1-hour adventures, some of them have way more content than others. I easily finished story 1 in an hour, but 5 and 6 featured multiple combats plus RP plus puzzles which would make it very difficult to fully complete if you were on a strict time schedule. I ended up taking 3.5 hours to run the last two even after cutting a big RP/combat encounter which made me sad. )I felt that the module spent a lot of time describing the town of Phandalin and introducing players to its leaders and stuff in the first story. This was fine and a motivated DM could make a lot of RP scenes out of this material in the subsequent stories to really make the town come alive. On the other hand, the strength and focus of this module is the monsters, so in the end I pretty much just gave the players the hook each time and started the story after they had already travelled out to the forest/cave/abandoned ruins or wherever they were supposed to go. I hate to railroad things like this, but the monster focused parts are so good that they really deserve all the limelight. )The "Adjusting the Encounter" boxes in stories 5 and 6 list upgrades for "very strong parties," but since the optimized APL is listed as lvl 4, and that is also the max level for tier one, it is not clear how a party would officially qualify for "very strong" status in these mini adventures. I ended up using the "very strong" encounters anyway for my party of seven 3-4 level characters and they pretty much steamrolled it. The water wierd in story 6 got a lucky crit and took one character to 0 but that was the closest anyone got to dying. This is probably more of an issue for D&D 5th edition in general, rather than a specific criticism of this module, but the final fight of the series was rather anticlimatic, even when the big bad guy had three attacks per turn. This module is not alone in having problems scaling encounters up to challenge large parties.

Overall great module, thumbs up!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In Volo's Wake (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2017 12:00:59

The content here is very nice, but the number of errors is embarrassing. Did ANYONE proofread this material?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG