Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Tribality Publishing » Three Sorcerous Arts (5E) » Reviews
Close
Close
 Quick Find
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Three Sorcerous Arts (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2017 09:01:15

The man walked in the inn. He was plain, at least at a first glance. But as soon as people saw him better, there was something special about him. Noone could tell, but there was this...quality. Two hours later, the man stepped out of the inn. People followed, they followed their king.

"You'd better not upset her", said Draph to Kenrick. "You know how she is when she's upset and the moon is not full, yet". Kenrick snorted as a reply. "Yo Kessa, be a good girl and fetch me the bladder, will ya?" A spray of water right on the chest and a close meeting with the back wall was all the response he got.

It was said that the Ice Mages came from the wastes en masse. The legends say of these mages that shaped ice as they willed and they stopped their foes on their tracks just by looking at them. Up to this day the Ice Mages were but a myth. Up to this day though, no one had seen a cadre of Elite Guards frozen in place, or huge ice bridges melting under the summer sun.

The latest Tribality Publishing title is about additional Sorcerous Arts, i.e. three new subclasses for the Sorcerer Class of 5e D&D plus some nifty magical items.

The image of the LARPer (I guess) on the cover is a nice change. The rest of the layout is typical Tribality Doric. I like it a lot as a PDF, but to be honest, a printer-friendly version would be also good, as the big black header on each page makes printing painful.

On the most important stuff, the Royal Sorcerer is a bit weak thematically if you ask me. I guess you could base it in some old lineage of Mage Kings or even in a long-extinct lineage of a superior race that used to rule the land. Or, alternatively, make a thematic change and base the blood bond to a completely differnet source, something charismatic of course (Angels maybe?). In any case, it is Paladin meets Sorcerer and it plays out nicely with the high Charisma value any Sorcerer should have.

The Tidal Sorcerer has that wacky Tides of Fortune feature and I like that a lot. I guess I'll have many debates with my players as to what can pass as a "large body of water" but I believe common sense (aka DM's ruling) will prevail. Finally, it might be a bit of a burden to keep track of which of the Call the Tides feature the player has used, but it's not a game braker in any case. Rightfully, one can trace some resemblance in the theme with the Sea Sorcerer published by WotC, but this has taken a completely different angle, playing nicely with the theme of tides and the shifting of the sea.

Winter Kin Sorcerer is absolutely great. In some instances (Iike the Icy Path) it reminded me of Ice-Man from X-Men. The powers have a nice mix of offense and control, so generally this is nicely balanced.

I loved the Magic Items. Nice ideas through and through and most of them go way beyond the subclasses of the first part of the document.

So, all in all, it is a good adition to any table. I'd change the Royal Sorcerer a bit, but the rest can be a direct fit to my game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Sorcerous Arts (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Mysteries of the Gods (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Emmanouil T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2016 07:56:33

Fire and steel. All he could see was fire and steel. Fire and steel and war, a maelstrom of blades and blood, so much blood. Father will be pleased. But it is never enough, never enough to clench the thirst of a God. Shouting his name out to the sky he rushed to his brothers for one final stand. Father will be pleased.

Rinse and rub, the breastplate was almost ready. She always wanted to do it herself, despised magic for such mundane tasks. She focused now on the most difficult parts, the edges near the collar or the hinges at the shoulders. This was her favourite; there were scratches and dents that escaped the armorers that repaired it. This scratch here must be from that devil’s claws, that dent over there from the heretic’s maul. All of them made to cleanse this world. Just like her breastplate. Satisfied, she stood up, the sun just appearing from the window of her cell. Maybe with haste she’ll be on time for the morning prayer.

Running like the wind, she made good time on the glade. She could feel Yal’thearas pouncing at some distance on her left. Leaves and branches rushed by her, some brushing her tanned skin, others giving way with loud cracks as she rushed on her way in the forest. Now it is not time for caution, just speed. With a big leap she found herself amidst the younglings, as they are surrounded by the wraiths. She pulled out her horn and let loose a piercing cry that made birds fly away and the shaken younglings were able to stand firm again. As for the wraiths, Yal’thearas was already upon them.

Tribality and Brandes Stoddard bring us the Mysteries of The Gods-New Cleric Domains and Spells. As expected, the publication is broken down in two major parts, the new Cleric Domains and then the spells.

The Cleric Domains are three:

Blood Domain, where your Cleric becomes more Fighter-y gaining proficiency to more armor and weapons, increased ability to keep on fighting plus the ability to help others do the same. At bigger levels you’ll be able to inflict more damage too. They can take up the mantle of the party heavy-hitter and combined with another such character can really pose a hard-braking line. I can see this a must-have options for battle-heavy campaigns.

Exorcism Domain, where your Cleric becomes able to turn Fey and Fiends as well, clear your allies’ minds (thematically this ability is not only great, but also so much theatrical) and at bigger levels you are an even much bigger threat against Fey and Fiends. Thus, they have tremendous RP potential. The mechanics are there for sure, but you can build upon the idea behind this Domain for really memorable characters. My only concern is that generally I dislike player options that narrow down powers and abilities against certain creature types, making these options redundant if the DM has something else in store.

Spirit Domain, where your Cleric becomes effectively a Tribal Shaman, gaining a ghostly animal companion (restricted to four specific animals). Pretty much all the special abilities you gain through this Domain play around the use of your animal companion, except the last one that makes the Spirit Cleric more resilient and potent. Spirit Clerics (aka Shamans) are a cleverly executed “Pet Class”.The options available of the said animal companion are limited to four but these four are actually four different types of companions. So, easily one can alter the name of each option accordingly to the campaign setting and/or character background. Interestingly enough, this is not the first Shaman provided by a Tribality Publishing product; the “Shaman Class for Fifth Edition” by M. Long has the Spirit Shaman subclass that thematically is identical, but approaches the subject from a different angle (M. Long’s Shaman is a Spirit Warrior with a Spirit Companion focusing on completely different aspects than the Spirit Cleric).

The second part of the document provides eight new spells, half of which are cantrips. Some of them are given as extra spells in the new Domains of the first part, but pretty much all of them can be added to the spell lists of all the spellcasting classes. The author provides in a relative sidebar some ideas about that.

The cantrips in particular are really original. All of them are damaging cantrips, with damage that scales per level, plus some other minor effect. I’d prefer some different wording in Song of Battle though, because as is seems a bit too powerful.

The rest of the spells are relative to the themes already discussed. My personal favourite is Righteous Accusation that really embodies all of the idea behind the Exorcist.

All in all, Mysteries of the Gods looks like a really helpful supplement for 5e Clerics. You get fresh options build upon some classic ideas. For the price tag offered, it can be proven to be a fine purchase indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mysteries of the Gods (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Steampunk Adventurers (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Emmanouil T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2016 10:06:39

Through his monocle he could see the flaming airship lost in the cavern. With a grin, the Tiefling adjusted his collar and patted the dust off his forearms. "Well chaps, it seems our work here is done" declared with his -usual- pompous tone and headed to the horses.

Nothing but a toy soldier was on the floor. At least it seemed so. The orc slavers entered the dimly lit room with their cutlasses in hand, their eyes moving nervously in all directions. Like a whisper a hand shot out, once, twice, thrice, the orc slavers' bodies hitting the floor. The Elf Assassin wiped the bloody dagger on one of her victims' clothes, hid the dagger in one of her sleeve pockets and the toy soldier in the other and silently as death left the room.

Bursting through the valley, the train looked like a beast from hell. Dar'rgurn new, this IS a beast from hell. He counted his heartbeats as soon as the human contraction passed the Bloody Boulder. On the count of five Dar'rgurn fired his cannon, the lead ball hitting the train engine at the side, the explosion that followed rocking the valley some more. The humans should not pass through here, not any more.

The latest Tribality Publishing product gives us the tools and equipment to create Steampunk flavored characters. There are three major parts of the product are:

Backgrounds Equipment Feats Plus an Appendix

In the Backgrounds section we find the Fortune Teller background, a really thought of background that uses characteristics found in the Charlatan background of D&D 5e PHB. I do not know if this is too much steampunk, as we can find a fortune teller in pretty much any setting and this is a good thing. Also, we find a variant Guild Artisan, the Apothecary. As also with the Fortune Teller, you can very easily adjust the Apothecary to many settings.

The Equipment section is the biggest of the publication and one can find a lot of arms, armor and equipment to really flesh out a proper Steampunk themed character. You can find really unique stuff here, like the Sawblade Launcher and the Assassin Outfit or some more mundane ones that could as well be in the 5e PHB but are not, like the Sabre. Additionally, there are some found in 5e PHB that get a slight twist, like the Whip. There are a couple more that are common with 5e PHB and they have no changes whatsoever, I guess they are included so as the list provided can act like an easy to use list of steampunk flavoured equipment, rather than a list of purely new equipment.

The Adventuring Gear and Tools provided assume the appropriate level of technology, we are talking steampunk here after all, so we even get wristwatches and matches. In any case, a nice assortment of equipment.

The Feats presented are three, but they are nicely done. We get a couple that play around with the ideas already presented in the publication plus a more general one (Nimble) that I’m surprised that wasn’t already in the 5e PHB.

The Appendix provides us with Inspirational Steampunk Material. We get a really helpful list of books, comics, TV shows and movies so as to be able to immerse to a steampunk-flavored world. The icing to the cake I’d say.

All in all, another really quality product from Tribality Publishing and Shawn Ellsworth. The format keeps up with the norm already presented in the previous publications, the ideas are there, the price seems a steal. Finally, the low-res version of the pdf is a nice touch, although a printer-friendly version would be much better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steampunk Adventurers (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Shaman Class (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2016 03:57:48

Idratch watched as the clouds raced across the summer sky. She felt the soft wind caress her face, the feathers of her cap gently following the currents. She always felt at peace here, but this was not the case now. The spirits of the land were at unease. She could sence their discomfort, the cry for something evil coming. With a nod she straightened, picked her staff up and walked on. She had a bunch of elders to convince.

The snow crunched underfoot, although the hunters tried to step as lightly as possible in the frosted forrest floor. Seeing his breath forming as mist in front of him, Baligua tried to controll his breathing in a vain effort to make his heart stop beating so furiously. But of course, this is not easy, not when you are hunting D'rul, the Dread Walker. Dogs were heard to bark at some point in the distance, tribal hounds picking up some sent. But Baligua felt so alone now, so alone in the darkness that kept descending and the pale form of D'rul appearing suddenly, these black eyes full of dread, oh so full of dread...

Shrieks and howls filled the tomb as the wraiths came pouring out the broken seal. "Told you" said Nalla, shifting her incorporeal body to face the wraiths, "Not now" replied Petr as he sliced with his spear against the first that came within range. His companions were just beginning to react as the wraiths closed all around them. As he shifted his grip on the spear to strike on an other of the ghostly horrors, Petr begun chanting a Silence spell to stop this howling. He new Nalla would lift the burden of the spell, in any case she owed him one.

The latest publication from Tribality brings us the Shaman, a fully playable Player Class for 5e D&D.

The PDF follows the high standards set from the previous publications, with carefully picked illustrations, minimal design and easy to follow text and tables.

The Player Class as presented from Micheal Long gives us a very neat example on how powers and abilities from other classes in 5e PHB (as covered by the 5e OGL) can be combined in order to provide a new, fully distinct class with a flavor of its own. Adding in the formula some new mechanics and ideas, the Shaman can rightly claim a spot alongside the other core Classes of 5e PHB.

Going through the basic Shaman attributes and powers, one can clearly see the influences from the Ranger, the Druid and the Barbarian, so we understand that we are dealing with primarily a nature warrior here, but this is expected from the theme of the class. The basic spellcasting mechanic derives from the Warlock and this is a nice touch, as Michael Long's Shaman is a nature spirit warrior and generally the interaction with spirits is an integral part of the class. This is further displayed in the Archetypes offered.

The second version of the document (v1) gives us four Archetypes, here labelled as Paths, to develop our Shaman. These can be broken down as following:

  • The Path of the Corruptorgives us a really dark feel. The bond with the spirit world and nature is covered by a dark shroud and you get access to necromantic spells. Personally speaking, this is maybe the most interesting of the Paths given, as it gives you tremendous RP hooks; the Corruptor Shaman can be no more evil than let's say a Fiend Warlock.
  • The Path of the Elements obviously makes the Shaman an elemental warrior. You get elemental powers as you progress in levels and at some point you get to call upon elemental allies to assist you.
  • The Path of the Spirit makes the Shaman more atune to the spirit world. You get a cool "familiar" that you can actually speak with, you are a more potent foe against incorporeal creatures and at some point you can become incorporeal yourself.
  • The Path of the Wild gives the Shaman bestial powers. Unlike the Druid that changes form, the Shaman takes on powers from her totem spirit (the one that she chose from level 1). I guess you have to plan ahead in this one, as each totem spirit grants a different set of powers as you progress in levels. These powers can give the Shaman tank-like fortitude and hitting power or even rogue-like characteristics, so you can fill in competely different roles in the party.

The spell list is solid enough, mainly drawing from the Druid. So we have protection spells, some healing, lots of utilities and limited offensive spells. I believe it serves the flavour of the class just fine.

So, the Shaman is a nice fit to any table. The initial impression could be that the class is too much Native American themed, but this is not the case and it is adaptable to pretty much any setting. Only concerns is that the -inevitable- link to nature makes this Class a but constrained by the adventure setting the DM decides and -personally speaking- this Shaman seems more like a Spirit Warrior that has no problem (and in some cases prefers) to get up close and personal with her foes instead of being the Tribal Priest/Magician that can provide words of wisdom.

Anyhow, the Tribality Shaman by Michael Long is a really nice addition to the player options for 5e D&D, playable in pretty much any setting and able to provide fun and unique characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaman Class (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Pirate Adventurers (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Emmanouil T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2016 06:59:37

Through salt and the sulfur smell of gunpowder, great adventures have been told, bold heroes (or villains) have crossed uncharted seas to claim long lost treasures and virgin lands.

Such heroes (or villains) can come to life using the Pirate Adventurers (5E) supplement by Tribality and Shawn Ellsworth.

In a high quality PDF, one can find new marine-oriented Backgrounds, Feats and equipment. The Backgrounds presented are as a tweak of the basic Sailor background found in 5e D&D PHB, but each and every one of them can really stand out as original, giving dinstinctive salty flavour to your PC. There are three new Feats that can help your PC stay onboard and fight effectively using new equipment that is provided. The equipment has weapons included and these weapons presume a certain level of technology, so we have firearms like pistols and muskets and the respective ammunition. Likewise, we have other maritime equipment as well, such as the compass or pirate themed specific items like the bandana or the eye patch! Such devotion to detail is astounding.

The most impressive part is the Shipboard Roles section, where we have roles for your PCs in order to man successfully a vessel. These roles are not just for the RP side of your play, PCs are granted additional abilities in order to better do their job.

The publication format remains of top quality as the rest of Tribality Publishing; we have easy to read text and tables and of course just the appropriate amount of art.

So, stop your naggin' and start your muggin', grab a copy of Pirate Adventurers and man the oars!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Adventurers (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

By Flame, Storm, and Thorn (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2016 04:09:39

*"Do you think we will make it through Master Dwarf?", said the wiry scholar, cold sweat streaming on his brow. "Dependth, on how mut'th ye're afraid of the Dark" replied the Dwarf, deftly igniting the tinder he had in hand. First, he lighted his pipe, taking two breaths of his fine Kathayan Black. Next, as in a ritual, he lighted his lantern, saying a brief prayer as he closed the lid. "Follow on t'thapth, for thith cavern ith dark and full of terrorth" he said, as he started the decent in the dark cave, the darkness and the wraiths it harbors retreating from his path.

*Gurlann sniffed the damp air. His brothers have fanned out to the left and right giving Gurlann satisfaction. Gurlann was sure this was to be a successful raid tonight. The impeding storm had followed them all the way down to the edge of the farms, making Gurlann sure the weaklings will be huddled inside. Gurlann was sure that between the ever approaching rumbles of thunder he could hear the cries of babies, making his mouth water. Gurlann scanned the still forest once more, making sure no one else but them was there. Gurlann felt his hackles raise, making Gurlann not sure if this was because of his anticipation for the kill or it was the thunder that stroke some paces behind. Gurlann steadied his gaze on the farm. Gurlann never saw the strange hooded figure that stroke him like thunder from above.

*Like a shadow, Valyar moved through the pillars of the old temple, noting the movements of her pursuers. "Here, you fools!!!" she cried and the Beastmen resumed their frantic chase. Valyar started sprinting then down the passage, hearing the cries of the first in line tumbling like a sack after the snare closed around his ankles. The rest trampled him, trying not to lose sight of the fleeting Halfing, all the while loosening cries of sheer anger. Valyar turned to the first intersection, hearing the second trap come alive and the cries of anger became cries of pain and anguish. "That'll keep you busy for a while" said Valyar with a slight grin, making her way towards her companions, farther down the ruins.

By Flame, Storm, and Thorn (5E) provides three additional Ranger Archetypes for D&D 5e. Brandes Stoddard gave us three distinct archetypes, varying in flavor and effect.

Lantern Bearers carry lanterns that produce areas of anti-magic and a safe haven for their allies. They can heal and provide immunities, all the while negating harmful effects, giving them excellent defensive properties.

Stormcloaks utilize the destructive power of storms and thunder to strike down their foes, either by empowering their strikes or by increasing their mobility.

Thornguards are maybe the most interesting of the additions. They construct traps as a downtime activity, preparing the trap to impose a non-magical effect. This is very interesting, since as a Thornguard Ranger you get not to necessarily spend valuable spell slots in order to make these effects work. You may though spend spell slots to make your traps even more deadly. Thornguards make tactics so much more important not only in proper selection of the trap in hand, but also in deployment of the said device.

The overall quality of this publication is top notch. The well-written content is nicely framed by the usual quality format of Tribality Publications, making the text easy to read and making things as clear as possible.

The Ranger Class is maybe the most problematic in 5e D&D. With this excellent publication, you get more cool options and making the Ranger a real asset to the party. In this bargain price, it is highly recommended for immediate purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By Flame, Storm, and Thorn (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Alchemist (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Emmanouil T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2016 10:26:29

With the Alchemist (5E) we have an other top-quality product from the folks of Tribality.

First and foremost, the layout continues the trend of the previous publications, so you have nice lean design, with all the information where you need it and easy to read text.

But the best part is the content itself.

With Alchemist (5E), Rich Howard successes in redifigning the laws of magic in D&D 5e, without even altering the basic rules. You basically get the tools to produce the same effects as "normal" magic does. Brilliant and with tremendous RP potential.

And to add the icing on the cake, you get seven (!!!) subclasses to this new class, one to fit pretty much every role and flavor of your game. So, you get from Frankenstein-like lunatics (Re-animators) to tribal shamans (Herbwardens) and from Party Buffers (Irezumi) to hard-hitters (Pyromancers).

The core of the class is a classic Warlock-like PC with fairly decent hitpoints and starting equipment so as not to feel useless in low levels. Later on, you get to be the party primary magic equipment user, as fewer restrictions apply to you as also you will gradually become more potent with the items you produce.

The Alchemist is definately a balanced and fun class to play in D&D 5e. And in the price it is sold, it is an absolute bargain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alchemist (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
Publisher: Sasquatch Game Studio
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2016 02:53:30

What is Primeval Thule? Primeval Thule is an RPG campaign setting of the Sword & Sorcery genre. Primeval Thule 5e is the adaptation of the said setting to D&D 5e. There are already versions for 13th Age, Pathfinder and D&D 4e.

In game terms, Primeval Thule is an untamed continent in an alternate Earth, where savage people dwell in ruins of forgotten civilizations, battling horrors that might even come from other planes of existence.

How does it feel like? Imagine Conan-meets-Cthulu. Lots of barbarians, jungles, slavery and horror.

More specifically, the setting is at an age where civilization is somewhere between bronze and iron age. The technological level of medieval Europe that most settings are familiar with is absent. Here, basic metalworking provides items of copper and bronze, complex armor (like plate) do not exist, complex weapons (like hand crossbows) do not exist either. Also, magic (both arcane and divine) is considered rare and dangerous; clerics seldom have the divine favor to be able to cast spells and few are the people that can actually read and learn spells.

So, this is all about brawny barbarians battling monsters? No, far from it. There are factions that can add substantial depth to your campaign: corrupted officials, mad tyrants, evil cults. Things can be much less straightforward in Thule.

How about the Campaign Setting Guide? Well, the Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting will relieve $19.95 from your wallet for a watermarked PDF.

In 273 pages of high-quality PDF one can find pretty much everything to play and run games in Primeval Thule using D&D 5e rules.

The Guide can actually be broken down in two major parts:

Chapters 1 & 2 can be used as a Player's Guide, with Chapter 1 being a transfer of the Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide and Chapter 2 having all the available PC options. Also, part of Chapter 7 has new spells available, so I guess one can add this to the Player's Guide too.

Chapters 3 to 7 have pretty much everything needed from the GM (or DM, since this is for 5e D&D) in order to prepare and run adventures in this setting. We have a complete and thorough description of Thule, additional information on factions and major NPCs as also maps and detailed description of some sites and dungeons. Furthermore, Quodeth, the City of Thieves is presented in an even more detailed manner, providing ready material for multi-level adventures in this site alone (amongst this material are also three ready-to-run adventures) . But for me, the most interesting part of the book is Chapter 4. Here we have the guidelines of the authors to all the DMs that want to run adventures in Thule. And even more importantly, these guidelines expand from Thule to other Sword & Sorcery settings and Fantasy in general.

Furthermore, in Chapter 6 we have Bestiary, with some Thule-specific monsters, like the Abominable Sloth, the Sabretooth and the Mi-Go as also some notable NPCs and other humanoids.

The overall quality received from the Guide is top notch, except from some of the art that me personally think that could be better. With the PDF of the Guide you also get a High-res map of Thule, that is excellent to print and hang from your wall. Furthermore, you also get Player Reference Cards, that actually serve as a perfect hand-out in order to immerse players to Thule even further.

What's new with Thule? What makes Thule special? Apart from the aforementioned new monsters, this is a setting that tries to incorporate elements of horror to Sword & Sorcery Fantasy. This in turn can be made with the specific design of locations, factions, NPCs and monsters, but also with encouraging of the use of madness rules, in a way pretty similar to the Out of the Abyss official module of 5e D&D.

In the players options side, there is not much new. Players get a new race, Atlanteans, the descendants of a lost empire, that are basically higher breed humans. From the other races that we know from 5e D&D PHB, we have Dwarves, Elves, Halflings and Humans. The first three each have a specific Thulean subrace and Humans have four distinct ethnic groups (plus a couple of ideas for more). Of course, the designers provide the freedom to DMs to add whichever race they see fit.

The available classes are equally less. There is no new "Thulean" class available and from the ones that we know from 5e D&D PHB, the Paladins are excluded due to thematic clash with this setting. As for the others, it is stated that Bards, Monks and Sorcerers are extremely rare (so you may skip these options unless you HAVE to have them). The others are left pretty much the same, although I would propose some changes to all of them (but more of this later, I hope).

The big change is the introduction of Character Narratives. Character Narratives are a cross-breed of backgrounds as we've known them from 5e D&D and Prestige Classes. They give the character additional proficiences (skills or tools), link to the Setting and in some instances income and followers as the PC progresses in level. Of course, you may not use them with the backgrounds of 5e D&D or you might not use them at all, but they do provide a certain Thulean feel and they are a nice change. A Player may choose a Narrative at the start of the campaign and the designers state that this choice can be altered at a later stage, although I would be very strict about that.

We also have some new weapons, some new types of armor and of course new spells and magic items. The latter are a few, since this is generally a low-magic setting.

Would you run it then? I surely hope so. I love the low-magic setting, the dark feel and the brutality of the age. I greatly appreciate all the guidelines the designers give in order to run games in Thule and there is a wealth of information and ideas in the Guide.

I believe the greatness of a Setting Guide (and generally of products in our hobby) is measured in how many ideas you spurn when you finish reading it. And I got quite a few so this is why I'd recommend Primeval Thule 5e.

So, if you'd like to run a Sword & Sorcery Fantasy Horror Campaign, Primeval Thule is certainly for you, but it can be much more than that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Gunfighter Class (5E)
Publisher: Tribality Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2016 02:03:06

The first thing that makes you buy this supplement is the cover; absolutely fantastic. The best thing is that the content is equally nice built.

The second thing is the content itself; the Gunfighter class is so broad and thematically solid, that I'd think all three archetypes could function together in a party. I also like the rules set for firearms.

This is the first publishing effort by Tribality.com and with this example, they wet our appetite for more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gunfighter Class (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Savage Heroes - New Races and Backgrounds
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2016 14:36:05

Due to the fact that I wanted a playable PC savage race, I came across this title.

I really like all three races presented. All three have distinct style and feeling.

The backgrounds are equally good.

The art is top notch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Heroes - New Races and Backgrounds
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG