Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e) » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e) $2.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 6
1 10
1 2
0 1
0 0
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Click to view
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mikaela R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2018 22:01:06

Definitely not a two hour module, especially with the complications in the battle. Regardless, it's a worthy challenge for the treasure you get.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2018 08:18:01

The combat was very hard for the players, they struggled quite a bit, but as a whole the adventure was good. The escape of the enemies at the end, leading to failure of the mission can be frustrating, and I think that it's important to challenge the players not to work against them in the final encouter especially in cases where the party is weak/very weak and the party make up is poor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2018 17:00:37

Super tough tier 4 adventure. It has tough combat, it has a timer for success/fail, really makes these high level PCs "work hard for their money". The item at the end is.....Legen......wait for it.....dary!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ryan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 01:44:20

This was a very challenging tier 4 module. My first time playing, we had the same character die twice! That's how you know it's good! Once again, a very good way of putting in an NPC that doesn't need to be fought, and that does bad things if you do fight her. The story awards for this are also very nice. However, this has never been run in 2 hours, even when I ran it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2018 08:10:24

Where have you been all of season 6?!?!?

This is the Redemption of the season! I love this module, I feel like 2 hours is a bit light for most parties soooo much lore to dive into. It was fun and players get some cool story awards and pay for them with painful painful combat. I've TPKed 2 parties with this and they loved every minute of it. Also the magic item was a bit of a let down, I was hoping they would offer the one lower because perfection should be earned in more than 2 hours but a fun ride and those death giants soooo stealing their template to throw in next time I run SKT! -DM Ace



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 21:06:11

Two hours for this adventure is definately not enough time. I did play it several times (with different characters) and ran it at least once as well. There are a few situations/traps in here that are particularly nasty and I got the impression some of them were there just to seriously mess up high-level characters whose players were pushing to try and get through this in a two-hour slot.

It is a sequal to the Against The Giants adveture in The Yawning Portal (although having gone through that adventure first is not a requirement) and a prequel to the AL Season 6 epic, DDEP06-03. If you do not have a chance to play DDEP06-03, there's a high likelihood of this module ending on a disappointing note, which is kind of a sad way to end a tier 4 module, especially if it's the one that gets you to level 20.

That all being said, it is an intersting romp through an old ruin and there are some potentialy cool Story Awards/Downtime Activities in here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 14:59:06

A difficult and deadly dungeon crawl, this could easily have been slated at a 4-hour adventure rather than one for 2-hours. The pressure of finishing in 2-hours caused players to try to rush through, which ended messily for many of them.

Party composition seemed to affect whether victory would be achieved or not, as well. While it's nice to plan for a group that has all its bases covered, when running AL at a store level, you often are left with a large imbalance in a group, which seemed to lead to many problems in this module as well. However, this IS a Tier 4 adventure, and players should expect (and welcome) such a challenge. Just hope that someone can escape to get those who have fallen resurrected... ;)

The story before the adventure is interesting, and as a lore junky, it was a welcome addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2017 15:02:17

A good challenge, but players who are not on the ball could easily lose. I personally appreciate this, but some may not. It's Tier 4, players who can cast wish and similacrum should expect a challenge honestly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 19:08:46

A good entry into Tier 4 play. Certainly challenge, though I wish there was either something in this module, or a general document addressing high Tier 3 and regular Tier 4 play in regards to magic items. For instance, if this module called out items that may 'break' the module, and possible ideas for dealing with them. Just a thought. Other than that...it'd be nice if the cert were updated to indicated it required attunement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Blake J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2017 09:17:57

The lore in this module and the investigation work going into it is very enjoyable. I think the final encounter was incredibly rough, and there were so many moving parts that there is no way this is actually a two hour modules. In every time that I have run and played it, it has gone 3-4 hours because this final encounter is so much. Although it is very challenging, it almost feels (and tends to run) that the characters can't win or get the "win" condition because of how fast everything happens and all the obstacles. IF you are able to, it is a really satisfying feeling though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Andy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 00:12:39

Similiar to Redemption of Kelvan, if you did not have the proper team to handle the final stages of the module, it becomes near impossible to finish. The first parts of the module were very fun and entertaining. Passing through the storm. Visting the Temple. After Dming it 7 times, many players were unable to get across the wall near the end. This lead to the party being split and many players were unable to do anything. The final fight was difficult for parties without spellcasters meanwhile parties with spellcasters finished it too easily. My longest run time was about 4 hours as the party was unable to cast any spells. The fastest was 1:30 minutes as the room was meteor swarmed. At least i learned to add monsters that can't instantly die to meteor swarm.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Walter G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2017 17:00:21

Nice module, everything is great, but the challenge is a bit too hard on most parties. The maps for the GM are not detailled enough and not available in JPEG.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 15:40:34

This is the most challenging of the tier 4 adventures so far. The trip to the crypt and the exploration of the crypt can both provide a challenge to the group, but it is the final room that makes this adventure. The final encounter can push most tier 4 parties.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bryan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 09:16:38

good mix of traps, fighting, and the need to explore. As with any AL module there are some rough editing spots and/or typos, these are minor and a careful read will get you past the rough spots. Overall I had fun running the adventure and playing in this adventure (as did the players at my tables). The boss fight at the end was a blast!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-03 Crypt of the Death Giants (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2017 05:52:34

So in my experience there are basically 2 kinds of players who can make it to T4: the murder-hobo power gamer munchkin, or the overly cautious overthinker/metagamer. This module is designed to destroy both of them. There is a bit of RP, and some traps, to which the murder-hobo is woefully underprepared for. Then a final fight to which any delay or hesitation means defeat and the loss of a legendary magic item. As for the actual "challenge" of the fight, it is also deceptive: you see a zombie death giant-not a threat, a single fighter at this point can best it in 1-on-1 combat; you see both an archmage and a lich-groups at this point can slap around mages like the glass cannons they are; the real challenge, the true challenge here, the ultimate foe, the Kobayashi Moru if you will-TIME! You have 3 turns to bypass 2 magical barriers and ignore the perceived "threats" before the ritual is complete and they escape. If you stop to over-analyze the barriers, you lose. If you picked up the fear condition from a previous trap and can't move towards the giants, and therefore limiting your ability to access the ritual casters, you lose.

On a side note: that map is impossible to draw, septagons do not translate into grids.

P.S. The fact that there aren't any stats for the ritual casters, you know the ones the need to be fought to actually succeed, is a HUGE oversight here. Worse than the non-attunement version of a legendary belt (which they can't keep anyways, unless they were quick enough to stop the ritual)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG