Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Splintered Realms Publishing » Sentinels of Echo City Deluxe Edition » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Sentinels of Echo City Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2018 09:40:49

Endlessly fun character creation, simplified rules that don't alter the game too much at all, and an expanded setting/background material section that is interesting and inspiring to read. This is my favorite supers RPG from 2015, made better, stronger, faster, and cooler. So, you could say that this is my favorite supers RPG of 2018. Sorry, Icons, but hey: it's a close race, I promise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentinels of Echo City Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Code of Warriors and Wizardry
Publisher: Simon Burley Productions
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2017 11:33:16

Another excellent entry in the "Code" series of games. Does this game "do D& D?" No. And that's one of the things I like about it. This game does fantasy adventure. Don't expect all the D&D tropes of characters loaded down with dozens of spells, magic items, or...."feats" here. Your character will be based around a solid, thematic concept of your choosing, and you'll be done creating them in minutes. Is there room for advancement, adding more abilities, etc? Sure, but that's not the focus of this game. The focus is set squarely upon the story, on the "scenario" level, and on each character's own "sub-plot" level. Pick this (or any of the Code games) up if you want to get going quickly, keep things moving along, and tell some stories while rolling some dice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Code of Warriors and Wizardry
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

ICONS: Origins
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2017 18:49:01

This is a great book, and an excellent resource for Icons. The PDF is reasonably priced, but $30 for the Premium Hardcover seems a bit steep, now that I have the book in hand. It's a nice little book, for sure, but it does seem a bit...slim for Thirty Smackeroos. That said, the content is great, the art keeps getting better, and it's a fun, useful, interesting read. The Archetypes are super handy, and the Background generator is fun to take for a spin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hostile Intent: Akula
Publisher: HAZARD Studio
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2016 18:45:57

This is a cool, well-thought out designed bad guy for your V&V game. The inclusion of Plot Seeds, along with notes on Personality and Tactics really fleshes it all out, making this a very solid investment of your 99 pennies. Get it, and encourage more cool indie stuff for V&V.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile Intent: Akula
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Hero DxD
Publisher: Dreams and Dragons
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2016 18:09:55

Superhero RPGs are a compulsion for me, I admit. I have well, a very high percentage of them, let's say. That being said, this is one of the most original approaches to the genre that I've seen. The central dice mechanic is fresh and felxible enough to feel substantial without feeling overly complicated. You have to be willing to let go of "power intensities," "strength levels," and other such hoary old benchmarks, but once you do, the ability to make (and play) literally any superhero you can imagine shows through...and you can make that hero as quickly as you can think of them. I obvioulsy haven't had time to try this game out at the table yet, but the game seems very well set up to encourage and reward the kinds of gameplay that you'd want to see happening in a 4 color comic book style game. I can't help but wish there was a clearer "advancement path" than the one provided (spending "Triumph" points on any number of different improvements at will), as I think it would help players to create "more experienced" heroes right away with ease, but that is my only bit of criticism. Otherwise: it's excellently designed, it's well written, and it's free! Get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero DxD
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Thorus: Lord Of The Super Gods
Publisher: Nemo Publishing
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 19:32:09

If you want superhero comics packed with action, fun, and an actual sense of wonder, look no further! Nemo Publishing has always delivered on this front, but with "Thorus," the cosmic afterburners seem to have kicked in, taking us all the higher vibrations of the 10th Dimension: the home of the Supergods! There is a lot of love for Jack Kirby in this book, but it's not a rote attempt to copy the King. This book has a character all its own, and I can only hope that there is more to come, and soon. If that's not enough for you: there is a character within these pages called "Space Caveman." (Also: "Dr. Bigfoot.")



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thorus: Lord Of The Super Gods
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Sentinels of Echo City
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2015 21:11:57

I am admittedly something of a compulsive superhero RPG "collector." So, odds are I would have bought this game any way, regardless of the pedigree. However, given the pedigree, I was even more interested, as I had bought and read through the author's previous "Mythweaver" and "Resolute" games, and thought both were very well done. My mouse wasted no time in hovering over the "Add to Cart" button.

Then it paused. The fact that this game was "based on B/X D&D rules" started to bother me. I had yet to check out this author's "Tales of the Splintered Realm," so I wasn't aware of how he had adapted the system for his own uses in that game. Still, the cover homage to the classic "blue book" Champions cover won me over, and I gave it a shot.

And am I ever glad that I did. This is a fast, flexible, easily understood game that takes the B/X rules and uses them as a basis to make something that feels truly original and very well suited to the superhero genre. There's a good balance between old school mechanics and new school flexibility (or just a new school approach to the old school flexibility that was always there).

There is a unified mechanic used for most actions (a "check", either standard or superhuman in scale), but there are a few subsystems (combat is "to hit AC", there are "FEAT checks" like saving throws, etc) to keep things feeling a little more old school, too.

Can you create every superhero that ever existed with this book? Not really. But, modifying the game to do so, or to suit any other idea you might want to try, would not be even close to difficult.

Also, the game is all open content (or some such thing, I'm not a lawyer), which means you are encouraged to tinker with it and make it your own.

Overall, this game has the refreshing mix of old and new school gaming flavor that makes for an RPG that I really want to get a chance to play.

Highly recommended.

(Note: the author is planning some additions to the core book soon that sound very cool, too.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentinels of Echo City
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Code of Steam and Steel
Publisher: Simon Burley Productions
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2015 18:56:21

This is the third iteration of Simon Burley's "Code of" RPG System, and it is even more refined than the previous two. What you have here is a very open, flexible system with just enough structure to get a group of people playing quickly, but with enough depth to it to provide plenty of interest for more than just a handful of pick up sessions. The steampunk genre is a great fit for this system, and I hope to see more iterations of this system to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Code of Steam and Steel
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Undersea Adventures of Captn Eli Book 2
Publisher: Nemo Publishing
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2015 18:34:00

Miss the days when comics were fun, original, and driven by the need to tell a good story rather than by the need to satisfy a movie studio or some faceless corporate overlords?

Well, miss those days no longer, friend! Nemo Publishing has just what you're looking for, and then some!

Capt'n Eli is the "center" of the "Nemoverse", but all of the other Nemo titles can be picked up and enjoyed whether you've read the Eli Volumes or not.

Great characters, cool story lines, and a sense of fun and wonder infused into every page; I can't recommend these comics highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Undersea Adventures of Captn Eli Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Comics Code
Publisher: Simon Burley Productions
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2014 21:07:42

Since the other existing review for this product does such a good job of giving a thorough overview of the system, I will forego writing what would amount to a paraphrased version of the same.

I will say that I am a supers RPG junkie. I have pretty much all of them, and no time to play even one these days. Still, I like to buy them, read them, and check out the new twists and turns in their different approaches to a more or less common design goal.

"The Comics Code" has one of the more original approaches to that goal that I have yet to stumble across.

In short, you are "limited" to choosing three powers for your hero in this game, and, furthermore, you may only use each of those powers in a specific situation (unless you want to incur a pretty significant in-game penalty for doing otherwise). So, in this way, this is a game that seems to walk away from the usually understood contract between a player and a supers RPG: "You can create any character you want to play from the comics!"

I don't ultimately see this as a bad thing, just different, and in ways, more creatively challenging. Making "Captain America" into a character in this game might be a bit difficult, for example: if Cap's shield is his "Defence" power, then he can't use it to attack, even though he does that all the time in the comics. However, if you make Cap's shield into his "Attack" power as well as his "Defence" power, then are you saying that Cap can't punch out a bad guy without his shield?

The answer, I feel, is that: this game is not about you pretending to be Captain America. It's about creating a hero under this very specific set of easy-to-learn, quick-to-play rules, and ending up with some more limited (perhaps) characters that are not merely transparent clones of all the usual favorites (Hey, it's my version of Batman/Superman/Wolverine, etc!).

As for me, I think this game would work really well as a framework for playing some of the more light-hearted superhero-related antics, like "The Tick."

If you're into supers RPGs, but want something with a more specific focus than the usual "kitchen-sink-every-superhero-comic-ever-all-at-once" approach, this should be added to your shopping cart right now.

Note: I ordered the PDF and the Softcover. The Softcover is holding up pretty well so far, and I've read the rules about 4 times now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comics Code
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Triad (Supers!)
Publisher: Soultaker Studios
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2013 13:48:53

A fun, useful, well put-together product that provides a great potentially recurring trio of bad guys for your game, some adventure seeds, and also a bonus superhero in the back. Great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Triad (Supers!)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Iron Gauntlet: SUPERS! Edition
Publisher: TGI
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2013 12:53:27

An excellent supplement for any superhero rpg, and a great showcase for the ease and simplicity of the Supers! system in particular. Very much recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Iron Gauntlet: SUPERS! Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Supervillains (SUPERS!)
Publisher: HAZARD Studio
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 10:53:32

Extremely useable and rather well-written roster book. There are two pages of background material and GM-ing advice for each of the bad guys, making this supplement useful to any GM, no matter what superhero RPG system they are currently running. Great job, and highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supervillains (SUPERS!)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

FirstFable
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 10:48:07

This system would not only serve as a great intro to the RPG hobby for kids, it could also serve to give more experienced players a fresh look at how fantasy gaming can be approached. There's a lot of flexibility here, and it's very easy to see how to take creative advantage of it. The "damage" mechanic built into the combat system is one of the most interesting examples I've ever seen in any RPG, period. I recommend this not only for those who want to teach kids how to play, but for anyone who is ready to re-examine how a fantasy RPG can be built.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FirstFable
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Infinity Lounge
Publisher: Monkey House Games
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 10:43:15

This is a really fun, well-organized mini-scenario that would make for a pretty much perfect short intro to this system. There's humor, danger, mystery, and action, and all in a nice, tidy little package that would be very easy to use at the table.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity Lounge
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG