Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Zozer Games » Alien Breeds » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
Cabal
Cabal
$36.74 $12.17
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Alien Breeds
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2018 09:41:59

Zozer Games' HOSTILE is an RPG that wears it's influences proudly on it's sleeve, and it's beautifully crafted for the job. It's also phenomenally good value for money. ALIEN BREEDS continues the trend, and addresses the only criticism that I have of HOSTILE - that it needed more monsters. The array of lifeforms presented are both familiar enough that players will enjoy the nostalgia, and unfamiliar enough that they'll present a genuine challenge. The colony setting included is invaluable, a resource that the GM will be able to use over and over in a variety of HOSTILE adventures. Impressive work from Paul Elliott, yet again.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Breeds
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Venus of Cthulhu
Publisher: Dangerous Worlds
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2018 06:56:39

Interesting concept, poorly executed. The basic conceit - a timeline of the Mythos on Earth and it's interactions with humanity - is simple enough, and indeed has been done many times before. Unfortunately, it's been done better and more competently than here. The author makes a number of rather silly errors, the most egregious of which is conflating the Flying Polyps with the Elder Things, a mistake that completely re-writes the orgins of mankind and ignores the vastly different natures of the polyps and the crinoids. Still, if you're not too concerned with accuracy, it's not bad. But if you're not concerened with accuracy, why do you want a Mythos timeline in the first place?

The novel part of this item - linking "venus" fertility figurines found all over the world with various Mythos deities - has the potential to be interesting, but is rather clumsily handled. There's no real explanation of why these figurines all look like big women, or why creatures with such radically different body structures produce artefacts that look so similar. It's clever, but unconvincing.

Even as a "pay what you want" item, I find this shoddy, slapped together and more than a little lazy.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Venus of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Robotica: The Cult Of Technology
Publisher: CYFROGRAFIA
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2015 08:50:25

I've rated this 2 out of 5 because the English translation (done by Katarzyna Moszczyñska and Maciej Jarosz) is a very poor job indeed, and is almost incomprehensible. The book appears to be chock full of really interesting ideas, but is so hard to read that it's almost completely useless. What bits of text are readable are often redundant or repetative. The book needs a thorough English re-translation by someone actually fluent in the language, and a ruthless edit by a competent editor. The good points are that the book looks good (with some lovely cyberpunk/mecha stock artwork, much of it CGI), and has some interesting ideas in it (though nothing that hasn't been done before - and done better - in games like Eclipse Phase and GURPS Transhuman Space).

I like picking up translations of foreign language games, usually because there's a European attitude to them that is refreshingly different to the US/UK produced games. I bought this at the reduced price point - if I'd paid full price for this I'd be very put out right now.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Robotica: The Cult Of Technology
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Wonderland
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2009 07:29:22

There are very few games available today that do something truly original or really push the medium. Wonderland, however, does both. It's a genuinely scary game - reading it makes you wonder how strong your own grip on reality really is. It's intellectually challenging, immensely playable, beautifully written and in a very real sense a work of art. I really can't say enough good things about this tremendously impressive game. It is absolutely amazing, perhaps the most original and disturbing RPG since the original Kult or Little Fears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonderland
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Chronomancer: Time Travel for Everyone
Publisher: Charke Publishing
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2009 14:18:53

I'm a big fan of time travel gaming, so I was probably going to pick up this product no matter what. The subject has been addressed before (Temporality and Blood & Time being two of the more recent examples, both of which do a reasonable job). Mark Charke's effort is a clear attempt to be the definitive work on D20 time travel, and in this it is mostly successful. Using the character classes, monsters, spells and mechanics within, GMs and players should be able to re-create almost any classic time travel setting, from Doctor Who to Quantum Leap. It's clear from the sheer breadth of the book that the author has made it a labour of love.

I was pleasently surpsied to find that my purchase gave me three versions of the product; a high res version, a print version and a third lower res version. A great idea, but poorly executed in this case, as the supposedly print optimised version still had all the interior art in colour - the only concession to saving customers printers being the replacing of the colour page borders with blue/gray ones, a purpose defeated by keeping the page titles and tables all in colour. Why we couldn't have an art free black and white version, I don't know.

Speaking of art, probably the thing that most attracted my attention was the cover art by Jason McLellan of www.headstatic.com, which is very good. Bryan Fowler and Chuck Lucas provide some nice pieces of interior art, while Mark Charke does the rest. Unfortunately, Mr Charke's art is utterly dreadful. It is, quite literally, the worst art I have ever seen in a game supplement. It is so amatuerish that it makes me cringe whenever I use the supplement (and I do use it) and I find it hard to understand how someone with the authors obvious intelligence thinks it's even halfway suitable to be published. Worse, there's no escape from it as it's in all the different versions provided. It really does spoil the product.

Putting the art aside, this is a hefty product. For your money you get over three hundred densely packed pages of information. While none of it is truly revolutionary, it's all nicely thought out and pleasingly written. I really liked the idea of experience points penalties for causing paradoxes - one of the major problems in running a time travel campaign is finding ways to keep your players in check. However, quantity does not always equal quality. The book badly needed a pass by a ruthless editor, someone willing to tighten the book up considerably before it was offered for sale. While the book is meaty, there are a lot of errors and issues. There are typos aplenty (though less than you'd expect from a small press book), mistakes in stat blocks, interesting classes spoiled by wasted levels and problems with the layour.

What's needed to make this product the definitive work it so very nearly is? A a good editor, comprehensive playtesting, the replacing of every piece of Mr Charke's artwork with something more professional, an experienced graphic designer and layout artist, the addition of an actual print optimised version and a thorough reorganisation.

To sum up, if you're planning to run a time travel D20 game, by all means buy this book. Just be very aware of what you're getting, and be prepared to do a lot of work bringing the material up to scratch.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Chronomancer: Time Travel for Everyone
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks and ouch. An edit is in the works. However it is an edit for spelling and grammar problems and some rules clarifications. - Mark Charke
Restoration Field Guide
Publisher: Corsair Black
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2008 06:01:09

First off, I'd like to point out that at the price of $1.49 (at the time of writing), this game is incredibly good value for money. The background is involved, well thought out and nicely presented. The basic concept takes the old standard to time travellers trying to change history and adds a unique spin on it, and the post-human culture aspects give the game an edge sadly lacking in most SF RPGs. Rich in big ideas, this is a real "sense of wonder" game.

Almost all the artwork in the book is photo-manipulation, which took a while to grow on me, but actually works really nicely, especially with some of the blurred shots of the games less-than-human NPCs in action.

I can't really comment on the rules, since I don't use them, but the breadth and depth of ideas on display here is really impressive. I'd love to see more done with Restoration.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Restoration Field Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Odyssey Prime
Publisher: Eden Studios
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2006 00:00:00

Very disappointing product, does nothing that hasn't been seen before in Stargate SG1, Fringeworthy, GURPS Infinite Worlds or Tangents (for the Alternity RPG).

About the best part of the PDF is the backstory to the Project. The armageddon scenario adds some sense of urgency to the proceedings, but it's not really touched on beyond the backstory. The history is nicely written, creative and interesting. If the rest of the game matched it, I'd be a happy man. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I enjoyed the background fluff. The armageddon countdown friving the campaign is a great idea, nicely executed.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Material is repeated between the D20 and Unisystem sections, 12 pages are used for ads for Misfit Studios, other small-press games settings are offered as worlds for OP with virtually no ideas on how to integrate them into the campaign. Almost no original example worlds are given, with minimal rules for generating game worlds.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey Prime
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Without addressing the matter of this customer's personal tastes, which are subjective, there are some objective errors and misrepresentations in the review. There is indeed repeated material, a necessity of providing rules for both d20 and Unisystem game mechanics. The repitition in the second instance is limited to what is necessary for the differences between the two systems--none of the "fluff" is repeated. Second, there is only ONE page of Misfit Studios ads, and two pages for Eden Studios (as necessitated by the Unisystem license.) I can ony assume the other 9 pages of "ads" the customer is talking about are the pages discussing products of more than a dozen other publishers so that the customer can pick and choose some of these suggestions for use as dimensions the game could visit. These are product capsules, not ads, and (despite this customer's claims to the contrary), several do indeed have direct OP-related suggestions.
Future: Starship 9 -- Devastator
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2005 00:00:00

Superb. I love these things, so much so that I'm creating a campaign just so I can use them. I'm printing them out on a so-so printer, and they still look great. About my only criticism would be that the tiles aren't square, which limits the number of ways they can be combined. But that's a very small gripe indeed. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The quality of the graphics, the obvious care and attention that's been put into them, and their sheer utility.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If the tiles were square, you could combine them in a lot more ways. That said, there are so many tiles that it really doesn't matter.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Starship 9 -- Devastator
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

e-Future Tiles: Star Chasers
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2005 00:00:00

Very nice. This roduct was my introduction to the idea of printable tiles, but the high quality of the graphics and the slick look of this set may well have spoiled me for similar products from other vendors. Just looking at these tiles makes me want to start up a space campaign. Bravo! <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The high quality of the graphics, and the design.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The tiles aren't square, which limits their use. Ideally, I'd like to see all the tiles the same size, so they can be used in any orientation.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Future Tiles: Star Chasers
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2004 00:00:00

This was rather disappointing, pedestrian and dull. Sure, you get an illustrated version of the novel, but anyone who's interested in this supplement will already have the book, and even if they don't it is easy and cheap to buy. The actual gaming content is remarkably thin on the ground, confining itself to simple stats and presentations of Victorian military equipment. There's almost no expansion on the Martians, their technology, plans or capabilities. There's no speculation on what might have been, no alternative campaigns, material for later invasions or even ideas on what might have happened in the rest of the world. Much as I applaud the idea of doing a supplement on the War of the Worlds, this was an entirely wasted opportunity. Better material can be found online for free, if you do a search for "War of the Worlds RPG"



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Action! Classics: The War of the Worlds (d20, Action!)
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG