Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Atomic Overmind Press » The Day After Ragnarok » Reviews
 Quick Find
Find Category
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
The Day After Ragnarok
 
$12.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 8
5 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Day After Ragnarok
Click to view
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2017 12:07:28

“Submachine guns and sorcery”

The Day After Ragnarok by Kenneth Hite does not disappoint. From its zany concept (What would have happened if the Nazi’s unleashed the world serpent from Viking folk-lore?) to its alternate history (What would happen if the USA was Thor and “Thor” was killed during Ragnarok?) The Day After Ragnarok delivers a punch to your Savage Worlds game.

I have played in The Day After Ragnarok campaign placed in Iowa. We were part of the army and trying to stabilize the Mississippi River and surrounding regions. This game was a ton of fun to play. The rules include new arcane backgrounds, new edges, some new (or tweaked) skills. Basically everything you have come to expect from Savage Settings.

Something our GM raved about was the adventure generator. Throughout the campaign our GM used the adventure generator to come up with the next wacky conflict we had to resolve. He said it was perfect for The Day After Ragnarok. Myself, I’ve actually used the adventure generator from this setting in other games, even in other systems. It’s awesome!

All in all, The Day After Ragnarok is a fantastic setting and perfect to run along with the Savage Worlds Core Rules. Nothing else is needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Jonas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2013 07:20:12

Best Savage Worlds setting I have come across, because this just oozes style and substance. Writing shows real understanding what makes old pulp stories cool and worth emulating on roleplaying games. Rules on creating adventures and campaigns are very handy and get the show on the road real quick,



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Kev N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2012 13:18:06

This an excellent source book covering a post-apocalyptic setting with a twist! Superb coverage of the world political and geographical situation both leading up to and after 'the serpent fall'

As a fan of pulp, the ww2 era and Norse mythology this appealed as soon as I spotted it, and I certainly wasn't disappointed!

The scope for adventures in this 'world' is vast, and will keep any group of players busy for years.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2010 07:08:13

There is very little I can add that has not been mentioned in previous reviews. Suffice to say this an incredibly wide and deep game world. Almost too much so. There are so many good ideas, so many adventure possibilities, it can be overwhelming!

It is also presented very nicely, in a single column format that makes for easy reading on a computer monitor. No need to constantly scroll back up the page to start a second column here! The illustrations are of a generally high quality.

Also, it's worth having a look at the anti-piracy notice on this and other DAR products :).

Overall: A superb product, that shows a lot of thought and dedication. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Ron M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/11/2009 17:11:57

The Day After Ragnarok From: Atomic Overmind Press Reviewed by:  Ron McClung

The Day After Ragnarok is a new Savage Worlds RPG Setting Book from Atomic Overmind Press. The Day After Ragnarok is an interesting setting book that takes the absurdity of the mythological occurrences of Ragnarok and makes them happen in a world torn by World War II. It takes the question we all like to ask ... "what if ...?" ... to an extreme.

Setting: My knowledge of the Ragnarok myth is sketchy at best, but with a little research I was able to get the idea. Most gamers are very familiar with it because it is one of the cornerstones of mythology on which we base most fantasy worlds. In short, it is a series of events according to Norse mythology that marks the end of the world.

The Day After Ragnarok (TDaR) is a world after a series of events that started in the twilight of World War II. The Nazis, dabbling in the occult and mythology, found the proper ritual to bring about Ragnarok. However, as one can imagine, it did not turn out the way they thought it would.  

From page # 1: “Welcome to the world at the end of the world. The skies are shrouded with burning, oily smoke, the Earth groans under a poisoned corpse, and the only way out may be deeper into the belly of the beast. It’s a world nearly killed by the death of wonder, although far from all the wonders are dead. Put the “grim” back in “grime” and see the world outside the smeared Perspex windscreen.”

 In mid-1945, the howl of Garm was heard and the moon turned blood red. The huge head of the Midgard serpent rose from the Arabian Sea. However, old world mythology was met with American ingenuity. Truman rammed an atom bomb right up the serpents nostrils.   

The results were a mixed bag. Yes, the nuke obliterated the brain of the colossal beast, but this also brought what is referenced in the book as Serpentfall. With the head the size of a medium-sized country, the serpent tumbled across three continents, crushing everything in its path. The world map quite literally has an immense snake laying the British Isles, middle and eastern Europe, and across Africa with its head pulverizing Egypt. All of Egypt.

This fall also created tsunamis that annihilated the east cost of the US, radioactive venom clouds that poisoned most of the rest of the US mutating man and beast alike, and earthquakes that awoke giants in Eastern Europe and Western Russia. The world fell asunder when the howls of Garn were heard, and what remains is an apocalyptic world of strange tech, mutants, and supernatural pulp fiction heroes.

From page # 1: “ See it smolder. See it burn. See if you can save it."

Content: The 130-page PDF contains all you need to play in this world except the core system rules, of course. Those can be found in the core Savage World rulebooks. 

After a brief introduction that gives you the general idea of the setting concept, the book takes you into creating a hero for the setting. It supplies a number of character concept ideas, including Arcane Scholar, Barbarian, Oilman, and Outlaw. It also supplies a guideline for forming your character role in the party as well as addition professions for the Professional Edges in the main Savage World rule book.

What this game falls a little short in is the area of nationality. It does touch on characters originating from what is left of the US and the British Commonwealth, but there could be so much more. Many games do this though, so I can not blame them. In a game like this, nationality would play a big role. I just see this as a lost opportunity to differentiate characters even further. That's a big thing for me.

There are 5 new Hindrances including Blank Stare, Holy Roller and Snakebit. Following this are several setting-specific Edges. These include Background Edges such as Arcane Background for Magic, Miracles, Psionics, and something called Ophi-tech. Also included are Professional Edges like Airman, Rhodes Scholar, Soldier, and something called a Speleo-Herptologist.

The Gear section is very comprehensive. It covers all the primary essentials for a hero to have in the late 40s and early 50s. The use of historical clip art of some equipment enhances the feel and atmosphere of the game setting. Following this is the section on Ophi- Tech. This is expanded on later.

The section titled The World After Ragnarok is a comprehensive overview of the world after Serpentfall. What I am impressed with in this portion is the brevity but also the completeness. The author gives you a lot but not too much. From the Drowned Coast and Poisoned Lands of the former US to the lands that were southern Egypt and the Sudan, now called Ras al-Thuban (the Head of the Serpent); from the politically active jungles of Latin America to the cold mysteries of the Stalin regime in the Soviet Union; the world is a place jam-packed with adventure and intrigue. Soviets are the main "bad guy," but no one should discount the Nazis as they were never entirely defeated.  

What I like most about this section are the sporadic Savage Shortlists throughout the text. These are short lists like Top Five places to be Attacked By Pirates, Top Five Places to Find A Remote Castle Ruled by a Madman, or Top Five places To Stomp Nazis. These are brilliant little nuggets of ideas for adventure locations and help inspire you to jump right into the game setting.

The remainder of the book is a plethora of information for a game master to run a game in this brilliant setting.  Born of Venom and Ice is a chapter containing nothing but stats of bad guys - NPCs and creatures alike. From the mundane policeman and common thug to the more exotic cultists and elite soldier, the non-player characters are quite abundant. When they are not enough, the game master has creatures like chimeras, ghouls, death-worms, giant alligators and front giants to choose from.

Adventures in the Serpent's Shadow is a chapter that gives the game master a variety of ideas for campaigns in the setting. It first provides four campaign types and an outline of adventure seeds for each. Then it contains an Adventure Generator that allows the game master to create adventures with the roll of the dice. This plays true to the core philosophy of Savage Worlds itself in that it makes it easy to quickly sit down and start up a game. This is followed by a few samples that were rolled up with this generator system. Ending the book are two very nice things. The Appendix supplies the GM a series of very handy encounter tables in case you can not come up with something for your characters to fight. It ends with a very complete index, which always gains bonus points from me.  

There are several key concepts in the game that give the game its overall feel and uniqueness. First, the appearance of a gargantuan serpent alone showed the world of burgeoning modern science that the impossible can exist and defy all logic and science. This opened a door that none thought possible. Also, the death of a snake through a nuclear blast caused side effects that no one saw coming. And finally, the sheer immensity of a dead snake laying across multiple continents has given people access to things no one thought existed.

In addition, the coming of Ragnarok has brought into this world Magic, Miracles and Psionics. Magic is tricky and dangerous. Miracles are possible through many different faiths. Soviet experimentation into psychic powers has created psionically capable people, although the rules do not recommend characters take on this role.  

Another addition is Speleo-Herptology, the study of the Midgard Serpent corpse and its secrets. Literally it translates to "serpent cavers."  They explore the immense corpse of the Serpent; as it is so huge, climbing between its scales is like exploring great caves.

Also, Ophi-tech is a very unique concept presented in TDaR.  It is biological and chemical technology derived directly from things found within the Midgard Serpent's corpse. These include Ablative Metabolic Suit (a type of protective suit made of Serpent-skin), Crotaline Drops (eyes drops that allow one to see in the dark) and Ophiline (refined Serpent oil - a replacement to petroleum oil).

System & Rules: As mentioned, the setting adds several Hindrances and Edges. Also mentioned was the fact that it expands the Professional Edge to setting-specific professions. The mechanics that the book adds are primarily optional rules like the rules for Serpent Taint and the rules for Ophi-tech malfunctions and the possible consequences.   

Layout: Simply put - it is awesome. The book is very well laid out and well edited. The art is very good, from the filler art at the start of each chapter to the character art for the NPCs.  

In conclusion, this game has a lot of appeal. Not surprisingly, it is written by multi-Origin and Ennie Award winner Kenneth Hite. This is a well written and thorough setting book with a lot in it. It is imaginative, different, and at the same time has enough familiarity that one can grasp the basic pulp fiction aspects of the game. Reading his words in the Inspiration section at the back of the book, he pieces together several disparate and unrelated ideas to bring together a brilliant and vivid world that drives you to want to play in it. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2009 01:46:01

A grear 40's setting for affectionados of Pulp, cliffhanger, tubepunk, magic and monsters. Nazis, Cultists, Stalinists, Giants, and huuuuge Snakes! What more can you ask for

If I had a negative comment to make its that some of the fonts in the PDF are not common here (Australia), so getting it printed is a pain.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2009 19:51:26

Simply put, this is the single most creative game world I've ever read. I've been rolling dice for over 20 years and NOTHING approaches the creativity of this game. I tried to explain it to my wife, realizing how silly I sounded discussing giant snakes, radioactive venom, Humanzees and the like - but it all works, and it works brilliantly.

Certainly there are other wonderful Savage Worlds products, and just as certainly there are other worthy Pulp game supplements. What this game offers better than any other game I can readily think of is an entire world placed into the GM's hand with ready-made fiction with which to tell EXCEPTIONAL stories. If you want the players to start in Europe (or what's left of it), there's a lifetime of adventuring opportunities there. America? It's going through its own hell, and you could run years of games there without ever leaving home. Asia? Well, the war in the Pacific never really ended, so there's conflict all across that continent as well...

Upon reading through the book, my mind raced with the stories I long to tell using this resource. I've never read a resource book cover to cover before, simply enjoying the creativity - but I did here. It's simply that much better than any other SW resource out there. And that's not a knock on Deadlands, Necropolis or any of the other GREAT SW books out there. They are fantastic. This is fantastic-er.

If you like Pulp. Buy it. If you like monsters. Buy it. If you like war rpgs. Buy it. If you like mythology rpgs. Buy it.

I am so glad I followed my whim and bought this product. It is a game world that I see myself playing in and running for a long, long time. I may or may not be running Savage Worlds in 3 years, but you better believe I'll be playing this in 3 years (while it's designed for SW, it's so well written that converting it to other systems wouldn't be difficult at all. Your mileage may vary).

Kudos to the author, kudos to the publishers and kudos to me. Why me? I got to read it - and it's THAT good.

The ONLY criticism I have for the product is that the pdf seems to default print at 6" X 9", so I wasted a few pages reformatting to fit a full letter-sized page. If that's a deal-breaker for anyone - that's too bad, because you're missing out on what is, in my opinion, the best game world available for Savage Worlds or any other contemporary game system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Dennis M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2009 16:51:20

Brilliant, simply brilliant. This source book is fleshed out enough to allow for detailed PC backgrounds to be written. There are enough gaps in the world background to allow your friendly neighborly GM to drop his own slice of the world into the mix with a minimum of conflict. The few errors I've spotted are quite minor, such as:

1) Using the photograph of a SMLE No. 5 Jungle Carbine as a depiction of a SMLE No. 4 Mk 1 Rifle. 2) Assigning the AK-47 damage stats that exceed the potential damage done by the M1 Garand and the 1903 Springfield.

These mistakes, small in magnitude and number, in no way overshadow the rest of the material. The only improvements I would make would be:

1) The addition of a timeline from, say, mid-1944 to the background's present day. 2) The addition of German weapons.

If you like pulp, this is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Day After Ragnarok
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2009 20:15:28

Conan the barbarian in 1948!!!!!!

Excellent game setting for Savage worlds. Very good pulp, post apocalyptic setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
Powered by DrivethruRPG