Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » White Wolf » Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition » Reviews
 Quick Find
Browse Categories
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
Other comments left by this customer:
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 07:57:35

This book is a whopping tome, which took me ages to read but believe me when I say it was worth it. Basically 30 short stories about Beckett's exploits, tying up loose ends regarding the Clan Novel Plots as well as Meta Plot developments. Also, very funny much of the time. I did a full review of Beckett's Jyhad Diary on my website and you can read it by clicking the hyperlink



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Clanbook Chupacabra
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2018 06:30:57

Clanbook Chupacabra is a relatively short book providing details of the rare Puerto Rican vampire bloodline, the Chupacabra. Animalistic, strange feeding habits and a unique discipline called Miasma are their particular hallmarks. This is an enjoyable read and I can see me using this bloodline in chronicles. I have done a longer review on my website outlling what I felt were this book's strengths and some areas that I personally would do differently (and credit to the writer, he took my criticisms well and is perhaps including some of my suggestions in his revised edition). Click the following hyperlink for my Clanbook Chupacabra Review



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Chupacabra
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Fear and Loathing `77
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2018 05:17:15

I very rarely give 5 stars. It was warranted this time. I don't play Sabbat as I find the sect to be a bit irritating, however I thoroughly enjoyed this adventure setting and plot. It has threat, pursuit and action as you might expect. And it has some great antagonists. To read my full review, you can check it out on my site HERE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing `77
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Elder Discipline Compilation
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 05:27:36

This is a brilliant resource for many new Elder level disciplines. I would say some I would be inclined to use with caution as they may be game breaking if handled improperly, but otherwise, no complaints from me. I have a more detailed review on my website HERE if that is of any interest to you



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elder Discipline Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Dark New England: Five Chronicle Jumpstarts Bundle
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2018 02:11:26

This is a solid little sourcebook with 5 starter adventures for Vampire: The Masquerade, some ideal for troupe play and one aimed at solo play. I particularly liked the solo play adventure though it was not the only thing that stood out. For full details, I did a review on my website HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark New England: Five Chronicle Jumpstarts Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

W20 Pentex Employee Indoctrination Manual
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2018 07:20:40

This is a great, if shorter than expected (90 pages) sourcebook for anyone wishing to use Pentex as an adversary in a World of Darkness game. The Tone is entertaining and there are plenty of plot hooks for a storyteller to get their teeth into. I wrote a more detailed review over at my website which you can find HERE



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
W20 Pentex Employee Indoctrination Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Combination Discipline Compilation
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2018 10:35:44

The Combination Discipline Compilation is a great source of material for games masters and players alike. I was particularly fond of the Baali powers that could be found in this volume, though there were plenty of cool powers for other clans. If you would like to know more, I have done a full review on my website, HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Combination Discipline Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Creator Reply:
Again, thank you for the very fair handed review John!
Clanbook: Merovingian
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2018 08:12:41

The Merovingian Bloodline is an interesting idea, focussing on a bloodline of Vampires that require to be immersed in water to sleep, or use their signature discipline of Augury. This book advances a number of theories as to where the bloodline comes from though as with much World of Darkness content, some of this information is (deliberately?) ambiguous to leave it up to the storyteller to decide. Or to leave it a mystery. A word of caution. Without a good deal of confidence on the part of the storyteller, or preparation, Augury can be a difficult discipline to handle among players. With that word of caution, go on and immerse yourself in the lore of the Dreamers...And if you want a bit more information, you can read my full review on my website HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Merovingian
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

New Blood
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2017 06:41:03

This is a well written and presented adventure that goes into a lot of detail, and has a host of NPCs suitable for the scenario in question but that can also be reused. I only had one minor criticism and that was that there were too many NPCs each with a lot going on. Nothin insurmountable with a bit of prep, but it was a tad overwhelming on a first read. You can read my full review HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

The Curse Pole: A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2017 05:44:00

An excellent idea condensed into a very small package, and useable in just about any Dark Ages Chronicle you can think of. I have rated three rather than four as I don't feel it is a jumpstart as there is some ST intervention required before play. This isn't necessarily a bad thing (I think it is quite good) but it won't be for everyone. I have written a much more detailed review on my site on the following link where I explain that in more detail. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/12/10/the-curse-pole-a-storytellers-vault-review/ Given how reasonable the price is and how easy this is to plop into any chronicle I would suggest any ST give serious consideration



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse Pole:  A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2017 05:12:55

This is an ok supplement for Vampire the Dark Ages, with a decent simplified/condensed version of rules and character creation though I felt the startup adventure, whilst interesting, was fairly basic. There were some interesting NPCs, some interesting ideas though the layout for the jumpstart adventure chapters was a bit unforgiving for less experienced storytellers (though perhaps ideal for veterans). You can read my full review on the following link https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/12/04/legacy-of-lies-a-vampire-the-dark-ages-jumpstart-chronicle/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2017 05:53:11

Of all the world of darkness products I own, and games that I play, this is by far my favourite setting and book. I have not much experience with previous editions so I cannot comment on how it differs, so I can only say that I liked the background material, I liked the volume of in game content available in this book and I really liked the art. I did a full review over on my website if you want to see more of what I had to say. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/10/16/vampire-the-dark-ages-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2017 06:38:56

I've never played Changeling before, nor read the rules set for it (though am an avid fan of other WOD products) so when this became available to kickstart I was more than happy to do so. I recieved the backer PDF a while ago and read it, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading it was a bit daunting at first but I persevered and encountered so many cool new aspects of the World of Darkness, so I recommend this to any WOD fan -either as a game in its own right, or as an almost monster manual for any of the other WOD products. I wrote a fullr eview on my website, which you can read HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2017 06:34:13

I bought the premium edition of this book, which is admittedly pricey, but is definitely worth it. The production quality is great, and there is so much content for someone wanting to break into the game Werewolf: The Apocalypse for the first time, or for an experienced GM or even as a sourcebook for other World of Darkness Titles. I did a full review on my website which you can read by clicking the link. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/08/25/werewolf-the-apocalypse-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2017 06:07:22

This is a fantastic book for anyone wishing to start playing Vampire the Masquerade, or a long term player looking to see what is updated. I have the PDF and hardback, and despite constant use is still in good condition. I did a full review of this book on my site https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/08/16/vampire-the-masquerade-20th-anniversary-edition if you want to know more. Otherwise, thoroughly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Flames Rising PDF Store Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back