Flames Rising PDF Store
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » New Big Dragon Games Unlimited » d30 Sandbox Companion » Reviews
 Quick Find
 
Search current filter(s)?
Advanced Search
Narrow Results
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsSign in to get custom notifications of new products!
 Information
See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

Having Problems?
  • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
  • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
  • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to Flames Rising PDF Store!

Our Latest Newsletter
Product Reviews
Privacy Policy
How to Sell on Flames Rising PDF Store
Convention Support Program


RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
Back
d30 Sandbox Companion $4.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
21 9
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
d30 Sandbox Companion
Click to view
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Zach R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 23:10:36

This is the best $5 I've spent on this site. The book is well laid out, the tables are comprehensive while still allowing room for your own imagination and everything is easy to grasp. If you want a book with random tables for a sandbox campaign buy this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/08/2014 06:53:35

An impressive collection of inventive ideas for random generation, presented with an old-school look and charm. Just flipping through the book filled me with ideas for my next campaign ("Cult generator? Hmmm, maybe I should add a cult for them to encounter..."). and the adventure generators are fantastic for impromptu games. The premise may seem gimmicky but the execution isn't, and the author's true passion for OSR gaming really shows. I don't often give five stars for a product, but this one has definitely earned them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:23:49

I was hesitant at first, thinking this was just another run of the mill gm aid, but the positive reviews convinced me to try it. Wow! Am I glad I did. It really hits the sweet spot for me as an world/adventure building aid without being too exhaustive or too brief. Not only are there all these tables to either pick from (or of course roll randomly), but you get some nice worksheets to build your world. The hex crawl work sheet and settlement work sheets are great to print out by the stack and get to really building your own world. I don't even own a d30! So if you don't have one, don't worry about it. It's inspiring to just read the lists and choose what you want to. Still, I now feel the need to buy me a d30! Excellent product that really feels old school, from the tables, the art, all the way to the choice of fonts. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Greg W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2014 13:36:29

I wrote a lengthy review of this author's other set of tables, the d30 DM Companion, which is a product I also highly recommend. As for this product, the d30 Sandbox Companion, LeBlanc has continued to implement his high standards for OSR supplements. It's 40% longer than the previous Companion, thoroughly hyperlinked, with table of contents and index, and makes efficient use of single die rolls to select a broad range of specific features at once.

The focus of the d30 DM Companion was below ground:

  • quick character generation
  • dungeon features
  • monsters
  • treasure

The focus of the d30 Sandbox Companion is above ground:

  • adventure generator
  • wilderness locations and locales
  • settlements
  • NPCs

In each case there are multiple tables per section, with quick guides about which tables to use and when.

Together these two products are a solid package. Just a few rolls will get you seed thoughts that are sufficient for actual gameplay. In addition, you can quickly develop and solidify his suggestions via your imagination.

I look forward to the author's forthcoming d30 Creature Compendium.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2014 12:42:19

The Ready Ref Sheets for today, without all the bad formatting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/05/2014 20:55:01

The timing of the release of the D30 Sandbox Companion couldn't be better. The amount of inspiration squeezed into 50 some odd pages of charts and tables has left me in awe. I'm going to come right out and say that at $4.95, it is a steal.

It's made for you to print out the pages as they are needed, as some are laid out in standard portrait orientation and others are laid out in landscape.

Need hexes to map with? Got you covered?

Sample map icons? Yep

Hex Crawl Worksheet? It's there (and will be put to good use, shortly)

NPC record sheet? Aye

Tables for sandbox style location, inspiration, NPC details (and details and details), recruitment, sages, Taverns (need to add a Tenkar's Tavern to the table ;), shops, settlements, heraldry (worth 5 bucks on its own, weather, encounters, places cults and more and more and...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2014 09:13:12

I'm a big fan of New Big Dragon products and this one is my favorite. I'm creating a campaign and the D30 Sandbox companion is now on top of a small pile of books I'm using to aid me in building a world. It's concise, so you won't get lost in hundreds of pages trying to find a chart you want to use. It's useful, there is something in here to develop various parts of your campaign. I highly recommend the D30 Sandbox Companion, especially if you are into building your own worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/30/2013 11:16:21

Do you even have a D30? I know there is one somewhere in my dice bag... I can even remember where I bought it, not quite sure what I'd do with it!

Here is a collection of tables on which to give it a good workout. They are all aimed at helping the DM deal with all the vagaries of above-ground adventuring, and in particular to aid in the creation of wilderness maps for the party to wander across, not to mention the population of such maps with anything from scenic features to passing NPCs.

The really good thing is, that this product is not just tables. There is a wealth of information about how to use them to best advantage as well. Worksheets are provided to aid the world-building process, which can be a daunting task even if you are comfortable designing dungeons and their immediate environs. Indeed there are three of them, one for the general environment to enable a 'hex-crawl' exploration adventure, one for settlement development and one for NPCs. Used together, you will soon find the world taking shape, so that when the adventurers emerge from the dungeon there is something more than an inn to slake their thirst and somewhere to sell their loot and purchase supplies for the next trip!

In creating your world map, there are three levels of hexes: the 'atlas-level hex' that gives a broad overview, with each hex being 36 miles across and best used for countries or whole continents; the 'sub-level hex' that is around 6 miles across and good for wilderness explorations; and the 'detail-level hex' where a hex is but a mile across and you know exactly what is where. With systematic mapping, you can tell where anything is and shift focus in or out as needed to suit what is going on in your adventures. Each worksheet provides room for not only the map but your notes as well, anything from shopkeepers to wandering monsters and any other feature you want to record.

And then the tables. What do you want to create today? There are adventure generators, weather generators (those sheltered adventurers that have spent all their time on dungeon crawls will be surprised just how important weather becomes once you start an overland trek!), and even a nifty little section for determining how good their navigation is and how badly they have gone off course. Do not laugh, anyone who has seen my daughter getting lost will know how easy it can be! Characters out in the wilderness will need to eat and drink, and most will want to supplement whatever supplies they have with them with hunting and foraging - so there are tables for that as well.

If you are creating a map - whether in advance or on the fly - there are tables of natural features by terrain type, settlements and even a ruins generator to populate your map with. Temples, cults and magical places are not forgotten either, and it goes on: pilgrims, road encounters, castles and keeps, and even... a heraldry generator. Instant coats-of-arms at a few rolls of the dice. (The one thing it doesn't mention is the Rule of Tincture: do not place a metal on a metal or a colour on a colour - this just makes it easier to see what is on a shield, and so identify the owner, at a distance.)

As for settlements, there are plenty of tables to help there as well. Background, encounters, the composition of Watch or Town Guard patrols... and should said encounters go badly awry there's even a table of 'Methods of Torture and Execution" - don't think I want to go there! Moving on there are extensive tables for generating shops and taverns (even a tavern name generator and what entertainment or food you'll find there) and then a similarly-extensive set of tables for creating NPCs, including a separate section for sages...

Having looked this over, it looks virtually essential for anyone wanting to create a fantasy world (irrespective for the most part of rule system) who would like to take some of the donkey-work out of it. After all, you do not have to accept the results of any die rolls if something else would suit your intentions better, but as a starting point, a lot of the work can be done for you! Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Sandbox Companion
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2013 02:40:57

Tables of infinite inspiration! Either handpick or randomize the results from these tables to run great sessions with zero preparation! Or use this as a writing aid to create complex, multidimensional adventures, and even use it to develop entire campaign settings! Supplied here is more than enough for DMs to pick from so you can emphasize the details important to you and your group.

I strongly suggest using this along with New Big Dragon's other accessory, the d30 DM Companion. This set is one of the best DM resources I have ever seen!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG